ShapeNet

ShapeNet

by ShapeNet

Who Uses ShapeNet?

500+ member gym that sells memberships and needs to manage personal training and billing

What Is ShapeNet?

Since 2002, ShapeNet has been providing enterprise SaaS solutions to a variety of health and fitness centers. From small to medium sized service facilities, multi-site locations and chains to complex wellness centers. We deliver a full suite of integrated technology solutions. From billing your members, selling products and services, member self-help solutions, scheduling a class/training session on-line or through a club branded app, maintaining up to date member health profiles, and much more.

ShapeNet Details

ShapeNet

http://www.shapenetsoftware.com

Founded 2002

ShapeNet Pricing Overview

ShapeNet does not have a free version but does offer a free trial. ShapeNet paid version starts at US$99,00/month.

Starting Price

US$99,00/month

Free Version

No

Free Trial

Yes

Deployment

Cloud, SaaS, Web

Training

In Person

Live Online

Webinars

Documentation

Support

24/7 (Live Rep)

Business Hours

Online

ShapeNet Features

Club Management Software
Attendance Tracking
Billing & Invoicing
Event Management
Inventory Management
Marketing Management
Member Portal
Membership Management
Mobile Access
Online Bookings
Payment Processing
Point of Sale (POS)
Team Management
Visitor Management
Website Management
Attendance Tracking
Certification Tracking
Exercise Library
Fitness Assessments
Fitness Plan
Nutrition Program
Payment Processing
eCommerce

ShapeNet Reviews

Showing 5 of 44 reviews

Overall
4,2/5
Ease of Use
3,9/5
Customer Service
4,3/5
Features
4,1/5
Value for Money
4,2/5
Crystal C.
Owner
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/15

"ShapeNet Review"

Comments: I run my entire business through shape. I absolutely love it!

Pros: From the very beginning I was incredibly impressed with all the functionality. It does everything! It's easy to use, and the customer service is the very best across the board. They respond immediately and are so incredibly smart and know how to fix anything I mess up.

Cons: There is nothing I don't like. Everything is always taken care of.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/15
Bob D.
Person of Interest
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09

"Great experience using the system and customer support. Some issues with reports and functions."

Comments: Financial data capture, integration of schedule and facility use,trainer and customer data detail for measuring efficiency and productivity.

Pros: System features, data capture and reporting functions are excellent. System downtime is minimal. The financial data and downloads are a great feature excellent.

Cons: Needs better integration of features to allow easier and quicker data input during busy hours.
Too many features require replicating data entry such as; adding subsequent members of the same family requires , setting up rentals and closing multiple stations,closing adding members and closing out classes and members in them requires screen refresh on every attendee,payroll download is confusing. Field names and services do not match between system and system fields, Would like to set our own thank you letter.
Frequently new updates cause problems with current functions. Needs better Beta testing.
Downloading data supposed to go to Excel but instead always defaults to Unicode drives me nuts because I download a lot of reports and have to convert everyone.
Payroll summary picks up field that I don't want and have to reconfigure for every employee. Example the date field is always off by one cell. There is another field that has no purpose at all plus the classes pick up the class itself as if it were a person in attendance.
In the financial data the income categories should show number counts when applied to multiple categories. You can only get number # count data by looking at one category at a time.
When closing stations we should be able to close multiple stations on the matrix versus having to close each one then wait for the screen to update close the next one etc etc ad nausea.
The process of submitting a support ticket could be streamed lined.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09
Jennifer L.
Senior Accountant
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    1/5
  • Features & Functionality
    1/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/03/03

"Horrible Experience and BIG mistake (Owner, couldn't care less) "

Comments: Horrible Experience with this company. I'm shocked that they have any clients with an experience like this. I had elected to use this company for all of our . After not meeting the conversion deadlines, as promised ,we decided to not use their services and gave notice. It should be noted that they promised many features on the software that we required but found at the time of conversion that they were available but in the future. To make a long story short, they continued to bill our companies credit card even after notice was given not to. When we emailed the company's Owner regarding our dissatisfaction regarding the service from Shapenet and the unauthorized payments, he basically replied too bad but we never promised. So we were basically was charged for software which was never converted or even used. I would definitely do my research with software companies before you buy because this was a big mistake. The last software we had was great (Aphellion) and used for almost 20 years. Very disappointed.

Cons: Promises of features that were never installed.

Vendor Response

by ShapeNet on 2017/03/23

As the owner of ShapeNet, let me take the time to respond and clarify some points. I'm disappointed you had a bad experience with us, but you did demo the product several times and liked it. for the conversion, we clearly stated that we needed info from your team AND your team needed to verify data before you went live. your team refused to do that. after spending over 2 months on the conversion with minimal help from your team, you wanted your money back. I explained what we all agreed to. We all tried to work with you to provide what you needed. I even suggested a compromise where we would split the money you owed us. Based on your specific needs, we had good solutions for you. we wish you the best moving forward. as a reminder, I kept myself available to work thru any issues you wanted to discuss with me. Larry King - CEO

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/03/03
Bob D.
Admin
Sports, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/01

"Support from rep is OUTSTANDiNG !"

Comments: Shapenet software is outstanding. Even better is the support we have received and most recently the support from reps.
Rep has worked tirelessly to help us set up our payroll system and never ceases to amaze us with her responsiveness and involvement.
She and the entire company make us feel like we are their only client.
I would highly recommend Shapenet to anyone considering software for their fitness facility !

Pros: Flexibility to handle very large list of services, financial transactions and hstorical data. Most impressive however is their support staff. see comments below.
The company's willingness to implement customer suggested changes is unique in this business.

Cons: We would like to see league application software and understand they are working on this now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/01
Jason E.
Director
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09

"Many times we deal with server issues and a slow system."

Pros: We like the customizable program. It works well for our business purposes. Has many great features, some we use, some we don't

Cons: so many options, can be overwhelming for a new user. Proper training from the begnning of the use of this product would be beneficial.

Vendor Response

by ShapeNet on 2017/05/12

We appreciate the feedback Jason. we're very pleased that your are benefiting from our customizable software system. it looks like it is working well for your business. we agree with you when you mentioned that a new user can be overwhelmed because of all the great benefits that are available. we have re-structured our training for new and existing clients, which we feel is more effective. we are getting good feedback from our clients with our new approach. we have resolved the core system performance issues and your system should be running much better now.
Larry King
Founder and CEO

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09