Bokun

by Bokun, A TripAdvisor Company

Who Uses Bokun?

We provide software from all types of companies within the Experience sector from small single person tour providers to large international OTAs and resellers.

What Is Bokun?

The only online booking software you need to manage your tours and activities. Bkun is the leading booking management technology and reservation software built specifically for tours and activities operators. An all-in-one software solution including: website builder, online booking engine, channel management, inventory & resource management, exclusive B2B marketplace, and robust reporting.

Bokun Details

Bokun, A TripAdvisor Company

http://bokun.io

Founded 2012

Bokun Pricing Overview

Bokun has a free version and offers a free trial.

Free Version

Yes

Free Trial

Yes

Deployment

Cloud, SaaS, Web

Training

Live Online

Webinars

Documentation

Support

Business Hours

Online

Bokun Features

Tour Operator Software
Activities Booking
CRM
Central Reservation System
GDS/OTA Integration
Itinerary Creation
Multi-Day Booking
Package Creation
Payment Processing
Pricing Management
Promotions Management
Quote Management
Reservations Management
Resource Management
Vendor Management
Waiver Management
Website Management

Bokun Reviews

Showing 5 of 279 reviews

Overall
4,8/5
Ease of Use
4,5/5
Customer Service
4,7/5
Features
4,6/5
Value for Money
4,8/5
Maarten V.
Partner
Hospitality, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/17

"Best way to grow our business"

Comments: If you run a small tour operation I would certainly recommend getting onto Bokun, it gets you started faster and at the same time set you up for bigger stuff in the future.

Pros: Bokun delivers a system that integrates just about every functionality we need as a Food Tour company. I particularly like how we can easily find new partners to hook up to the same functionality. Using bokun we can give our clients a seamless experience and at the same time keep administration on our end as lean as possible.

Cons: Cons isn't the right word, the company has a few places to work harder on.
- Support could respond faster
- Support and new feature roll-out has to get more transparent
- E-commerce integration has to be enhanced. Up selling, down selling, cross selling are all in its infancy at this moment.
- Partner integration needs more work, the software currently doesn't work well with a model where brick-and-mortar tour agencies sell tours on behalf of us. (Ticketing displays incorrect messages to the end user, invoices can only be sent to one party, not to a different invoicing department, payments are not assumed to come in just before or just after the tour date).

Vendor Response

by Bokun on 2019/06/18

Hi Maarten,
Thank you for your feedback. We hear you loud and clear about each of your suggestions for improvement, and we thank you for taking the time to let us know. We are working on improving support response time, our new feature communications, and many product enhancements. Please do not hesitate to reach out to the support team with any other suggestions or ideas.

Best,
Bokun Support

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/17
Rae E.
Manager
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/26

"Immense value for money"

Comments: In my opinion BOKUN is the market leader for tour software that would suit ANY sized business. Their support is terrific and they are helping us grow our business with their channel manager functions. We have direct connections to major OTAs including Trip Adivsor/ Expedia and can also offer private booking areas for hotels and small retail travel agents with personalised pricing & currency.
So far anything that I've wanted when I started, or decided along the way that I've wanted- they've delivered. I'm obviously stoked with the product.

Pros: We have been using Bokun for roughly six months now. I spent 12 months trying and discarding other online platforms for tour sales because they were either too hard to use (even for a techie like me) or they lacked functionality. We were starting with almost no online sales and as a small business our budget was quite low. I was looking for a system with lots of functionality, connections to the OTA's and scaleable pricing. AND BOY did I find it!

Cons: There's nothing I don't like- just take note that with an amazing array of functions comes many moving parts. You need to be quite good to manage it all- but if in doubt their support is terrific and can take the hard parts off your hands.

Vendor Response

by Bokun on 2019/12/10

Hi Rae,
Thank you so much for your review! Please do not hesitate to reach out to us at [email protected] if you have any product suggestions or any questions in the future -- we're here to help!

Best,
Bokun Support

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/26
Redouane E.
Owner
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/16

"Bokun"

Comments: I love bokun I been using it and I'm using it and i will still use it

Pros: I like bokun because it gaves the chance to salle your tours and it very easy to use I really like it

Cons: There is nothing that i don't like about this software i like everything things they are also very helpful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/16
Verified Reviewer
Manager
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    1/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/15

"Technical errors & unfriendly policies"

Comments: We use bokun for booking of tour products via our website. However, after negative experiences with Bokun we are now looking for a better option - luckily there are countless better booking software products out there.

Pros: The possibility for resellers to gain access to your products.

Cons: Fairly many bugs in the system and exploitative terms & conditions. For tour operators: If a tour gets cancelled by the customer for whatever reason (sickness, travel restrictions due to covid 19, change of travel plans etc.) Bokun keeps all fees paid for the bookings if it is cancelled later than 1 month after the booking was placed by the customer. In total our company has lost about 10k NOK due to this policy, and we are expecting to loose quite significant amounts due to all the covid 19 related cancellations. While we refund the customer, being an understanding company that treats our guests with respect and doesn't take money for a tour that the guest cannot attend due to the world being in a crisis, bokun still takes the fees leaving the tour operator not only without income but with the burden of having to pay a fee for a booking that was cancelled!! At the same time their marketing strategy is trying to make them seem understanding and helpful to its users. Pure hypocricy! After having used bokun for quite some time now we have decided to look for an alternative booking system with less technical issues, provided by a company that values its customers and treats them fairly.

Vendor Response

by Bokun, A TripAdvisor Company on 2020/04/23

We are sorry to hear about your poor experience. Our support team is here to help. We believe that this particular issue has been rectified, but please do not hesitate to reach out to [email protected]

To clarify a bit, we only charge a service fee for bookings made on your website when using our online booking engine; all bookings from other channels such as offline, from OTAs, or travel agents come at no charge from Bokun. We don't charge a fee for cancelled direct online bookings that are cancelled within the same month as the booking. But we do not automatically refund for past fees you've already paid to Bokun for bookings made in previous months.

We do hope that clarifies, and again our support team is here to help always, and especially during this difficult time.

Best,
The Bokun Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/15
Verified Reviewer
Online Business Director
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/07

"Great features, with some annoying bugs"

Comments: Good value for money, good connectivity, good support. Product owned by large OTA is a minus in the long-term when operators are fighting to minimize OTA dependence.

Pros: The best part of this reservation software is the marketplace that allows you to contract directly with other suppliers and resellers of tours and activities. Live support is also a good feature that most other reservation systems don't have. The help articles are quite extensive as well. Product import from Viator is a great feature.

Cons: There are some annoying bugs and features that can leave you clicking around furiously to find a solution for quite some time, eg. the setting up pricing was a mess. The software is being developed constantly and it's possible that these issues have been fixed since, but I got quite frustrated a number of times when setting up the products.
Also, raising the commission from 0.1% to 2.9% without any prior notice was not cool -- I thought the agreement was that we were paying with data to Viator... and now we're paying both ways. The OTA-owned reservation systems are creating data oligopoly situations similar to that of Google which is not the right direction in my opinion.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/07