Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Splunk Enterprise

Trusted by 92 of the fortune 100, Splunk helps you investigate, monitor, analyze, and act on all of your organizations data.

Learn more about Splunk Enterprise

Filter reviews (135)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Splunk Enterprise before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (135)

Shabbir S.
security analyst in United Arab Emirates
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Complete Security operations with Splunk

5 2 months ago

Comments: Splunk data visualization and its analytics handling chunks of data is exceptional.

Pros:

Data visualization, Analytics skills with AI-powered and can handle data in TB/per day without any interruptions in services. Live dashboards, developing use-cases and their capabilities (correlation).

Cons:

complex architecture and efficient skills are required, financial is also not feasible for small and medium customers. no inbuilt query builders for beginners to understand the platform.

Gabe M.
IT Administrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A powerful log aggregation solution with immensely useful tools built-in for popular applications.

5 4 years ago

Pros:

- Free to use for small 500MB or less daily ingress, quite nice for small use cases and learning - No development work required to deploy and provide value. - Deployment flexibility: client agents are available to use, or clientless configurations for multiple OS platforms. It's also very easy to deploy, not just flexible. its a very simple affair. - Segmentation of logs: You can create separate instances of of logs to aggregate, based on organization needs. And those instances can have their own individual storage policies to optimize consumption of storage resources. - Configuration design: Thoughtful and mature documentation and design of the application regarding enterprise-class scaling on network storage. -POWERFUL tools: The user interface lends itself to learning more about your organization from the logs you collect, through metrics of trends of the logs being gathered. There are also specific modules/add-ons for popular applications to provide more value and event-based monitoring, all without having to develop in-house dashboards and intelligence of those logs. - Customization: You can create your own queries of logs, and event-based alerts. - Web-based GUI that clean is powerful - Sales/Technical Reps are top notch in fielding questions and evaluating environment for deployment. They were extremely helpful in helping our organization develop procedures and scaling our environment for expansion with our existing infrastructure.

Cons:

- Price: This product is not free for more than the minimal use. Pricing can be very expensive, relative to open source offerings. That is the trade-off you pay for not having in-house development of open source offerings. As this product is priced based on gigabytes of indexed logs, it is important to understand the scope of licensing necessary for your environment to determine if it is a good fit for your organization. - Watch your saved queries and hardware resources: Users have the ability to create and save queries. Like in database queries, some are more efficient than others. Large inefficient queries can be very resource-intensive. If you notice slowness in day-to-day queries, or navigation in the UI, or resource use in contention, keep an eye on saved queries and user practices.

Amit G.
Solution Architect in US
Telecommunications, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best tool for Distributed logs data analysis

5 2 years ago

Comments: We have several micro-services deployed in production which require to lookup application access as well as server logs and analyze data for their usage. We created several reports/charts for visualization. We use splunk as security logs tool to see the firewall traffic, tracing any vulnerable access, any database related crash ..etc.
It helps easily to find issue and fixed quickly by black listed in system.

Pros:

Splunk Enterprise is best tool to analyze the data based on different visualization. It help us to lookup distributed logs for micro-services . It enables field based lookup. For complex logging, we can use search query using expression. We can create multiple reports/charts for visualization such as a pie or bar chart for our data. Best feature what i like , We can visualize our search results and share them with others using dashboard panels. If Already have a dashboard, we can add a new panel from a report, clone from another dashboard, or add a prebuilt panel. Fully customization available. Interfaces is very flexible. We export it in different formats, or refresh it to visualize the newest data. Online Support is available through different community.

Cons:

Search query builder is fully based on technical. for Non technical users, its really difficult to lookup logs. Sometimes, error thrown by query builder is more difficult to understand. Deep Learning is required to use splunk for production data. For Large application installation, it need to manage more.

Verified Reviewer
IT Specialist (INFOSEC) in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Choice for an SIEM

5 last week New

Pros:

Provides a single location for collecting and analyzing logs. Provides ease of use for non-technical users, but powerful features for security and IT. There is an add-on/app for anything you could imagine.

Cons:

Some documentation is vague, and when certain things don't work, it can be difficult to find out a solution to the problem.

Robert F.
US
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Finding Splunk Before Splunk Finds You

5 6 years ago

Pros:

Splunk is more than a tool or a product, it is a big data platform. Splunk can be used as a simple log aggregator all the way to a Big Data engine to find efficiency in operations of the Internet of Things. Splunk is less about its abilities, and more about your imagination about what you can do with Splunk. That is the beauty of the platform. Splunk shines in providing operational intelligence about systems and processes. Finding out how your systems are operating, how your processes are functioning leads to quick resolution of problems and points to where budgets are best spent.

Cons:

Splunk is deceptively easy to set up and use. But like learning to play chess, you can learn the moves in half an hour, but take a lifetime to master. Splunk quickly provides value, but requires imagination and creativity as well as wide ranging knowledge of systems and processes to move to the next level. Not every organization needs that kind of talent to get a great return from Splunk, but the companies who compete and win will.

Neha V.
Software Engineer in India
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great log analysis software

5 4 years ago

Pros:

Integrates with almost all the software seamlessly..where there is a software application that produces log, splunk can be easily integrated. Gives very powerful insights into the logs Alerts can be setup on the logs, and notifications sent out which is great again for managing the health of your application

Cons:

The query language, though powerful, has a learning curve. Particularly as one goes towards complex queries. If it could be made closer to natural language, it would be so much smoother to learn. Hope that will happen sometime in future.

Verified Reviewer
Systems Administrator in Luxembourg
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A tool that every sys admin needs to have

5 4 years ago

Pros:

I'm not sure from where to start in this case. We use splunk for many things but mostly to analyze the traffic on the network / firewalls. It provides us with a nice overview of what's going on. It makes it very easy to spot spikes on the network and it will provide you also with deep analyzes. For us it's an indispensable tool, probably the best tool we have.

Cons:

To search for something is not always easy, however there are a lot of forums online, so finding help is not that difficult.

Rob P.
CEO in Canada
Computer Networking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk vs Humio and Devo

4 9 months ago

Comments: The APIs and plugin are great. the parsers are just fantastic. It can log anything and everything.

Pros:

We have been using splunk for over 5 years now. nothing beats splunk in the market place. The only concern we have the pricing and the resource to support it. it's just too expensive

Cons:

Too expensive and it's too hard to manage. You have to find a very qualified and very expensive resource to support it.

Mark M.
Mark M.
Software QA Engineer 5 in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent logging and troubleshooting tool

4 3 years ago

Comments: As a software quality assurance engineer, I love that I can setup a single dashboard where I can then view the same data from any lane I select from a dropdown. If I see a problem in the Test lane, I can quickly check all of the other lanes for the same issue by simply changing the dropdown value.

Pros:

Splunk can give you extreme insights into how your systems and software are functioning. Not only is the search very flexible and powerful, the customizable dashboards give a status report at a glance into trends, problems and performance. You can also set up email alerts when errors occur limiting the need to have Splunk opened on your machine all the time.

Cons:

Splunk has a learning curve. They have extensive documentation but it isn't intuitive and some features are buried pretty deep. We have an onsite expert who holds bimonthly meetings to answer questions in a group forum.

Andrea O.
Office Manager in Italy
Financial Services
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

An excellent tool fol log analysis

4,5 6 years ago

Pros:

Splunk is a great enterprise-class tool for log analysis and troubleshooting of IT systems. Its graphics capabilities allow you to easily see trends that would otherwise go unnoticed. With a single click, you can retrieve information dating back months ago. Splunk is able to handle any type of input file and this allowed us to get very rapid prototyping cycles. Compared to the competition, it has integrated AD authentication, which fits in perfectly with our corporate security. The software is very fast, even on second-tier hardware.

Cons:

The license fee is a little too high. Some sections of the support site contain outdated information. Since the Splunk syntax has changed over the years, it's quite easy to find information that is no longer relevant. The "basic" charting options are somewhat limited, and the "advanced graphic" syntax requires a charting guru.

Parth P.
Parth P.
DevOps Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Monitoring Tool Splunk

4 5 days ago New

Comments: With Splunk anything identified with the application backend logs and observing, it's extremely suitable to utilize, in light of which we can make different dashboards. For server Monitoring, Splunk logs are not exceptionally accommodating. It totally depends on log explanations, assuming articulation isn't organized in standard organization, and it gives mistaken outcomes.

Pros:

Splunk Light is ideal for independent on-premise organization. Augment endpoint logging. Can find and store logs from a wide range of resources. Customization of dashboards. Making applications dependent on your requirements.

Cons:

Complex generally design. Long execution time. The instrument needs to incorporate AI to comprehend the framework logs and alarming ought to be founded on the auto learning.

Mattt J.
Pre-Implementation Onboarding Coordinator in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Splunk is great for finding things in server logs

5 4 years ago

Pros:

The server logs are all stored in the same location and you can easy subdivide them by application. So different servers or processes or whatever can be in different buckets. This makes troubleshooting easier.

Cons:

Sometimes depending on far back you are trying to go the product can be a little sluggish. Beyond that nothing.

Jean F.
CTO in Brazil
Telecommunications, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Splunk - Log management, analysis and action software

5 3 years ago

Comments: Identify and resolve quickly your operations and security matters with this great application.

Pros:

All in one solution to collect logs, analysis, diagnose and report. The application has a nice console where it shows all the necessary information with some very nice graphics and information.

Cons:

Free for 500M/day but a bit expensive if you need to collect more, or have the need to have more users logging in.

Damon D.
Damon D.
Engineering Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Worth the Learning Curve

4 2 years ago

Pros:

As a software engineer, Splunk helps me debug issues in my microservice applications. The Splunk forwarders are efficient and quickly collect logging from multiple server instances. The timestamp resolution is precise making it easier to track down race conditions. The reporting and pivot tables are powerful ways to visualize frequency of api calls once you learn the syntax.

Cons:

Splunk forwarders that collect the data from applications can sometimes hang and need to be restarted. The amount of traffic that can be collected has maximum caps based on your subscription.

Nirdesh P.
Senior Associate in US
Telecommunications, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome tool to check cloud based system logs

5 3 years ago

Pros:

- Can create charts / Graphs / Table for quick results

Cons:

- At times it becomes slow, when I use my splunk in multiple windows (i use around 6-7 splunk windows at a time)

Rafael P.
Administrator in Poland
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Splunk Enterprise

5 3 years ago

Pros:

A very high-class product. Integration with other systems is great. The system can analyze a lot of information from many systems at the same time.

Cons:

Very good product with almost no drawbacks. I believe that the manufacturer may reduce the restrictions for the free version

Harish G.
senior software developer in India
Financial Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Thumbs up for error log collection and be able to query on that logs

4 4 years ago

Comments: 1) time! (directly proportional to number of servers to manage)
2) graphs gives you lot of information and act quickly.

Pros:

1) Querying the logs with ease. 2) Statistics on the logs gives you greater insight into whats happening with your system. 3) Group error logs by type, by server.. etc. 4) Professional interface.

Cons:

does what it says, no question about that but learning how to query took some time in the beginning. so, a small learning curve there.

Verified Reviewer
Solution Designer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great reporting tool

5 3 years ago

Pros:

I like that it's incredibly easy to create reports and dashboards. You don't have to even know the schema of the database it's hooked up to because splunk will guide you through the creation. I've used lots of report building software and Splunk blew me out of the water.

Cons:

I wished it would take SQL queries when I first started using it but I got used to their query structure quickly.

Naveen C.
Naveen C.
Senior consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use monitoring software

5 7 months ago

Comments: So far great experience with splunk to monitor the health of the application in the production environment and test environments.

Pros:

We use splunk to monitor the health of applications in the test and production environments. It allows to create queries to see the specific event.

Cons:

Pricing of the license is high especially when the number of users is more and also support from splunk is inadequate when there is a issue

Rachana P.
Student in US
Education Management, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent product

5 2 years ago

Comments: Very effective for planning and management. We use it very frequently in our work and until now i never had any issues with the software performance or understandability. Has a very good learning curve.

Pros:

Ease of functionality and combining it with open source technologies provide a lot of features.

Cons:

Nothing that i dont like as of now. I think its pretty good since its easy to understand.

Trang N.
Trang N.
Senior Test Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Complete solution for Log centralization

5 2 years ago

Comments: We use Splunk to collect logs information for our application which deployed in AWS, it collects the application logs directly from Application EC2 and also integrates with CloudWatch, Load Balance and other AWS component to collect AWS logs relate to our Application, we also get the log from AWS billing report to track our spent in AWS.

Pros:

Splunk has very strong query language event complex commands like Join, subquery or aggregate which much the same with SQL query with good report UI to display result. Set Splunk system is easy with install Splunk server and its agent in every node then configure logs location to collect. It provides many built-in Apps to collect logs from other popular tools such as AWS, Salesforce, Kafka...

Cons:

Splunk query language is quite hard to learn for new user and its query error is too generic for troubleshooting.

Ben W.
Information Systems Analyst in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

good software...clumsy syntax for queries

4 4 years ago

Pros:

There are TONS of capabilities. The software can handle a lot of data and is able to produce query results in a short amount of time.

Cons:

The software is difficult to use (I didn't have to set it up) and the query structure and syntax is very clumsy and non-intuitive.

Verified Reviewer
Sr Software Tester in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent tool for monitoring errors and issues

4 3 months ago

Comments: Quickly gets me the data I need to investigate problems

Pros:

I get daily reports with trending issues and potential bugs that allow me to quickly see what issues need to be addressed before they become problems. The aggregated data logging also allows me to get the additional data I need to identify the root causes of problems and share that with other team members

Cons:

Sometimes it can be difficult to filter down to the level of data I need.

Dilraj S.
Dilraj S.
Sr. Software Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Splunk: Helping turn data into actionable insight

4 last year

Comments: All in all, an awesome metrics gathering and reporting tool, which makes sure you do no get lost under chunks of data generated by your platform.

Pros:

Splunk provides a very flexible solution for helping you gather huge amount of data and then setting up alerts and configuring reports which helps you in converting data into an actionable insight.

Cons:

UI/UX is really good but sometimes queries for gathering data can have steep learing curve on the Splunk.

Davesh M.
Davesh M.
Junior DevOps Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent, industry standard tool for log aggregation

5 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent and reliable albeit slow place to turn when investigating an incident, logs are easily available and sortable leading to quick and accurate determinations

Pros:

Complexity of queries to discover very specific correlations, date and time range accuracy, beautiful graphing capabilities

Cons:

Can be extremely slow when searching over log dense applications, indexers can quickly get overwhelmed leading to missing data