Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4 /5

About Moodle

Free online learning management system, providing educators around the world with an open source solution for e-learning.

Learn more about Moodle

Showing 1 756 reviews

Yashasvi A.
Owner
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/02

"Excellent for Students and Academics"

Comments: I have been using this as a student for a long time and have been a very user friendly and useful tool.

Pros: First i have used moodle as a student. It is free and have been very useful for organising all my modules in the university. It organizes assignments, class work etc.. Also there are informations areas and tools such as chats, discussions and all. gives you notifications when we get marks for are assignments or when lecturers make announcements. Find it more user friendly and organised that canvas to be honest.

Cons: All the features are not in use and there should be more guidence in using all the features of the software as even i, been using the software for more than 5 years doesn't now all its features. Sometimes the mobile version won't be updated and takes time to load.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/02
Jason M.
Information Mgmt - Computer Specialist
Education Management, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/12

"A wonderful solution that is affordable"

Comments: The Moodle community and documentation is amazing. Any problem or idea that one has, they can find a solution in the forums or ask questions that are answered.

Pros: I really love that it is open source and free. I have been able to implement it as a solution with very little overhead or equipment needs. I actually implemented its use statewide at an agency where I was before my current position as well.
It is very powerful and constantly improving. It is a SCORM compliant Learning Management System (LMS) that can compete with any other that is out there.
Any questions I have had or issues were quickly answered by the robust support community.

Cons: I cannot think of any negatives for the software. Maybe that one gets strange looks when saying they use Moodle since the name recognition isn't that widespread.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/12
Philip M.
De
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/02

"Moodle sets the right "mood" for my interactive classroom."

Comments: Moodle solves too much paper works and it eliminates slower grading of students' activities. One thing more I can immediately give feedback to all of my students' academic performance.

Pros: I have been using Moodle for quite sometime right now and it helps me eliminate laborious checking of students' work. Moodle does provide me with a complete and superb features of a dynamically designed Learning Management System (LMS). Moodle also provides a technologically equipped learning platform in which everything I need from quizzes, assignments, test and projects can be uploaded on Moodle. For me, Moodle sets the learning "mood" in my classroom and I definitely keep on using it.

Cons: I am using it until now and so I cannot think of any negative comments about moodle. It is a free and open-source software anyway, so there is no reason to not like it at all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/02
Verified Reviewer
Intern
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/10

"A Convinient tool to monitor your module activities"

Comments: The overall experience of Moodle usage is positive as It was really helpful to continue my educational activities and to monitor my progress in each course module. Apart from the small inconveniences described above, the platform was easy-to-use.

Pros: Moodle is a very useful tool to monitor and stay up-to-date with module related activities such as assignment submissions, getting course material etc. The platform further displays user progress on activities related to each course module which is helpful to complete relevant course activities.

Cons: Sometimes, there are errors when modules are categorized as past, current and future modules. Hence, sometimes it was a bit difficult to find the relevant modules in relevant places. I had to go through past or future module categories to find currently enrolled courses. So, it was a somewhat troublesome experience.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/10
Maja M.
designer
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/27

"Moodle or my school helper & assistant"

Comments: i ve used this for very long time in past, there are so many well to do homeworks that I ve uploaded there (for my multimedia sector University), also I find inspiration there and scripts to learn..
but now at my place.. Moodle was replaced with Merlin but I still love standard system of a Moodle platform :D

Pros: everything is well - organized by school subject/ year/ teacher
in college there is a lot of different stuff, so you need something like Moodle where teachers can upload scripts and homeworks for you - online (also edit&view uploades things) and also for students that they can find some homeworks with similar principles by past generations, which can helped them if they need some inspiration.. (my experience)

Cons: maybe maximum of upload (memory) possibility and some page errors sometimes
and you must have password for some subjects given by your profesor..

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/27
Verified Reviewer
Business Development Executive
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/25

"Trending Learning Management System"

Comments: With 1+ year's of experience, we found no hazzle using the tool and both students and the management are satisfied to provide education through this learning management system. All the tests and materials (including videos and other files are being shared) and the portal even works in low internet connectivity.

Pros: It's been over 4 years our organization is using the learning management system for education purpose. One of the best tool to distribute the study materials for the students and experienced no flaws from the tool so far. The students are happy and satisfied to provide education through the system which helps them to access the tool from anywhere and the configuration and logging in also an easy work. Almost all the files and videos are being distributed through the software.

Cons: The software application in the mobile or any potable device runs slow and the accessing of files and videos are bit tough compared to using in the computer. The mobile application could be improvised to sort out these issues as most of the students reply on their mobile.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/25
Rameez B.
Content Developer
Retail, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/24

"One of the better/best open-source LMS"

Comments: I am impressed with the Moodle. It may not have all the bells and whistles such as your paid for products, however, it is free software so don't expect too much. It gets the job done and is a wonderful step into the world of e-learning, especially if you are a company who is wanting to convert from hardcopy to online learning. Moodle will be a good indicator as to whether or not the conversion will be right for you.

Pros: Although this product may not have all the bells and whistles of a robust LMS, for a free, open-source product it is definitely a product/service I will recommend. Because it is free, you would expect the customer service and treatment to be sub-par however, I can honestly say that is not the case. I was assisted promptly with my issues and concerns and was delighted by the service I received as it was effective and efficient. My Pro goes to the service, not the product (Even though I do personally feel that this is a great platform for those who want to experience online learning but may not have the funds for an LMS)

Cons: Absolutely nothing I disliked about it. This is a free, open-source product, use it or don't use it but there is nothing to fault about it, only lots that can be improved on as time goes on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/24
Chethan M.
Technology Lead
Information Technology & Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/28

"Review of Moodle Learning Management System"

Pros: Moodle is a very popular learning management system (lms). Moodle is the most widely used learning software in most of the universities across the world. Moodle is a Open Source LMS which has also made it popular. Moodle has many nice features like configure wide range of quizzes with options to shuffle the questions on every turn, One can create many online courses with reading materials of various formats, Moodle also provides options to upload documents, Moodle Administration option allows manage the whole moodle lms. Moodle user management provides option to add users , provide access to required courses, quizzes etc. Moodle community is very active and there are many freely available plugins which adds many new features.

Cons: Moodle is popular and widely used and has very less disadvantages or demerits. As Moodle is a Open source, Full or Active Support from Moodle team cannot be expected and need to be dependent only on community or hire experience Moodle experts to manage the system. As Moodle is a PHP based open source software - it normally lacks good UI and user experience compared to other custom paid tools. to start using Moodle, one need to undergo some learning curve and training.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/28
Nipuna R.
Aircraft Maintenance Trainee B1.1
Airlines/Aviation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/31

"Students + Teachers = Smart Education"

Comments: As a Teacher/Instructor, I really interested to use this platform. It improved my efficiency in educational works.

Pros: Easy and user-friendly user interface allowed to navigate through course works and related data easily. Easy to setup as a instructor and can connect with students and update them easily.

Cons: Mobile app is sometimes not working properly with some devices.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/31
Shamal J.
Student
Higher Education, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/21

"Experience of Moodle as an University Student"

Pros: Moodle is a learning management system which is used in many higher education institutes. I'm using it as an user because my university also use moodle as their learning management system. Moodle also have a mobile app on both android and IOS. With the help of Moodle lecturers can maintain a course calendar. Assignments and other submissions can be collected through this. Lecturers can activate or deactivate submission links or set its deadline. Lecturers can add course materials to the moodle. Automatic email to the students can be send through moodle. Students can send messages to their colleagues through moodle. Students can maintain there profile using moodle as they can add their own profile picture such like that. Students private file management system is also provided. Students and lecturers can maintain forums through moodle. Course grading system can also be manage with the moodle.

Cons: Sometime I had difficulties to find my courses. Mobile app interface is little bit harder to navigate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/21
Ruwan D.
Student
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/21

"Manage your educational things with moodle"

Comments: Moodle is a learning management platform. Our university also uses moodle to manage the courses and modules. Lecture materials are updated in moodle daily to give us the educational things that we need to learn. Ex: lecture slides, notes, videos, reference ect.

Pros: This is not a simple platform. Users can customize this platform as required. We can follow its guide line and get a clear idea about it and then we can use it easily and effectively. Security of this platform is very good. We can create a password individually for our moodle account. Any kind of files can be uploaded or downloaded through this. Another important feature is that it has both mobile and desktop application .

Cons: Since this platform is little bit complex, it takes some time to understand this system. Sometimes downloading and uploading speeds are slow. You have to connect with strong internet connection to log in to the moode. Sometimes It is difficult and takes long time to upload large files.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/21
Samm P.
Designer
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/31

"Great for Colleges and Universities"

Comments: It was a great experience because it's where everything is. It was the HUB of online student portals. Easy to use and navigate, you can personalize the pages so sections that are more important to you are on your home page when you log in, and there is a teacher version so the teacher can keep attendance and track grades all in Moodle.

Pros: This software was easy to use but includes a lot of features. It is where students can take tests, quizzes, and they can be timed or untimed, you can look at your grade immediately so students don't have to wait and worry. All the text books and teachers are noted on there and you can hook up plugins for art portfolios and school email links so that students can have everything all in one place.

Cons: Sometimes it would glitch and if it did during a test or quiz, it would kick you out and you sometimes only had one try at the test so you would have to contact your teacher and hope she gave you another try on the test. Some teachers weren't that nice and you had to take the zero.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/31
Kenatu B.
Senior Programmer Analyst
Primary/Secondary Education, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/16

"Swiss Army Knife"

Comments: I can say that as a free lance ID I love this platform. Its open source and It has a lot of support. so much so that there are hundreds of plugins developed by third parties that make it a match for more commerically branded LMSes on the market. When I say support, I mean the community, there is no 24-7 support but there are so many users out there that any problem you may have has already happened to someone else and there is a solution just waiting in the right forum.
I do work in Camtasia and Movavi and I have not had any trouble getting my content to function within moodle. This along with Articulate Soryline and Rise is my swiss army knife to tackle any e-learning project.

Pros: Easy to use
More than hafl the cost of other platforms
Hundreds of Plug-ins
No problems with my own video content

Cons: Requires more than average techy know how. I really don't see this as a con but it is what it is. I believe tech knowledge is a requirement for every modern day educator, instructor, movitar, life coach or whatever you may call yourself. the level of tech expertise required should be required for everyone.
The simple UI is a plus for me but can be also considered a con. however moodle is so customizable you can deal with that too

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/16
Verified Reviewer
Preparadora Exámenes de Inglés
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/11

"Virtual Aula, with some limitations"

Pros: I'm preparing a virtual aula for my students, and after looking for a while for different options, I decided to use Moodle, The main reason is that it offers almost everything that I need for my classes while its use is totally free. You can create multiple kinds of accounts for different purposes, such as the administrator role, teacher role or student role. Each of them can only access a limited number of options.
Also, the variety of activities that can be included are more than enough to cover all the needs your students may have: from filling gaps to sending their own writings. Each student is given a personal account where they can keep record of their progress and contact their teacher privately.

Cons: What I like less about it is that it is not intuitive at all, you will need to either hire a professional or dedicate long hours to figure out how it works. On the positive side, it is a very popular software, and therefore you will find a lot of tutorials and help online. You cannot rely a lot on its official customer service as they seem to have a lot of users it is not very easy to contact them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/11
Robyn H.
Freelance Architectural Draughtswoman
Architecture & Planning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/22

"Moodle definitely increases learning quality."

Comments: Moodle is the Learning Management System (LMS) of choice for the university that I attended. Dew to the nature of the course that I studied; Architectural Technology, we relied heavily on physical interaction with one another in our Department. So throughout most of the duration of my university career, our department didn’t really have a need for the software; that was until the world was hit by a pandemic. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, like many others, we had to opt for alternative learning methods. At first, I found it a bit difficult to get a hang of the software but that didn’t last long as pretty soon, using the software felt like a breeze. It was great having my learning resources all in one place. Being able to log into one site and immediately have an overview of tutorials, assignments, and tests for all my modules, made life so much easier as it exempted me from having to go through the hassle of manually bringing that information together. Managing my modules and my time had never been easier. I actually regret the fact that it took a pandemic for us to start using Moodle. I am under the firm belief that if we had used it earlier, my entire university experience would have been improved.

Pros: Moodle is the industry standard for Learning Management Systems (LMS).
Supports multimedia content creation and delivery.
Moodle offers flexibility in a way that it can handle learning management of various levels of complexity.
Made online learning easy and less stressful when the pandemic forced education institutions to completely cross over to online and distance learning.
Makes tracking progress easy for both educators and learners.

Cons: Has a very steep learning curve.
When starting with Moodle, one is very prone to user error.
The user interface needs work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/22
Eugene P.
Online School Admin
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/04/29

"Moodle for Advanced learning Experience!"

Comments: Moodle is the #1 choice for those who are serious about the educational environment produced by everyone involved in the school. When this software is used right it takes the burden away from the teacher in having to produce everything their self. Many software packages are pretty, but the question is this, where is their backend? If is not there, so it may look good 'on the cover' but it simply does not have the functionality of moodle. Moodle is a platform, and you can add the front-end features with other products.

Pros: This is the best software to implement when you need a lot of supportive materials that can be built up over the years that give this software its edge.

Cons: Although it is very powerful in the background, it lacks everything that is style and elegance. With moodle the software is for integration of the content materials across your whole network. That makes it perfect for teachers that can produce papers and research and moodle will keep track of ever comment, and stimultae discussions and thoughts, and over the years a school will have a 'flavor' and trend of thoughts and ideas which is the goal of a good online school.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/04/29
Candace O.
Student
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/19

"My school has used Moodle for as long as I can remember, and it works well within our district!"

Comments: Using Moodle has been--and continues to be--incredibly convenient for students and teachers alike in my district. Teachers can easily create online tests/quizzes that don't require the hassle of printing and making copies, then grading an entire stack of papers. Students can take the tests and quizzes with ease, and see the immediate results of the automatically-graded multiple choice questions (which saves teachers time, too!). Also, videos can be implanted into lessons, which is very convenient for pausing or rewinding at one's own pace if they zone out or don't understand the topic and need to hear the explanation again. My life as a student was made simpler with the use of Moodle, and I cannot recommend it enough!

Pros: Moodle makes online classwork incredibly easy to create (as a teacher), as well as simple to do and turn in (as a student). All the classes a student is enrolled in are clearly displayed, and classwork within each class is organized well. In addition, being able to immediately see how one did on a quiz/test (the multiple choice, at least) is very convenient.

Cons: When posting in a discussion/forum (my teachers called them "journal entries"), all students can see each other's responses. While this could be good for class discussion, it also makes it incredibly easy for a student to see another student's response, then copy and paste it as their own. (This happened with myself and another student, as she was copying my responses.) In smaller classrooms, this may not be much of an issue as it will be easy to spot, but in larger class sizes it can be easy for teachers to not remember every student's exact answer, and give the cheater the credit.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/19
Verified Reviewer
Mathematics and Computer Science Teacher
Education Management
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/30

"Moodle has been one of the best tools I have ever implemented in my high school courses!"

Comments: I think I stated most if not all the benefits in the "pro" section. It's a great time saver once courses are set up.
I can see the stats on my students' involvement with the various parts of it.
I can cut down paper work by having files submitted electronically.
I can use rubrics of my own design to quickly grade programming assignments
I can mark up PDF submissions on the screen to give feedback.
I can moderate discussions and teach students how to speak in a forum setting.
I can provide more opportunities for students to think and produce more creatively.
I can enjoy creating my own materials!

Pros: Moodle allows me to provided a blended learning environment for my students. I use it for AP Statistics, AP Computer Science A, AP Computer Science Principles, and Integrated Math 1. I can post assignment schedules, additional readings, links to off-site materials, etc. just as I did in my web pages in the past. However, it also allows me to assign "lessons" that my students do interactively online, discussion boards where they have to write their thoughts coherently, and assignments where students upload files for me to review and grade. It has become an important communication tool for me to use with both students and parents outside school hours. No student can say they forgot their book at school or don't remember the assignment because texts and assignments are online in Moodle. Parents can see what their students are doing in my class academically and not just the grades they receive. Moodle has become more important to my teaching than the textbook. All resources can be found in one place and students can interact with the materials, each other, and me in class and outside class. We have even implemented a computer lab and device reservation system for teachers in Moodle which has saved our librarians a ton of hours of work each week.

Cons: Moodle is not intuitive to the novice. It took some time for me to learn how to use its many features and implement them well. I have been doing this for at least 8 years, but I am still learning more about the system and its capabilities. As the server administrator, doing upgrades has always been problematic. I don't think an upgrade has ever gone smoothly. The reason I stick with it is because I haven't found a LMS that can offer me as much as Moodle. Plus, it's free and we can run it in-house.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/30
Michael D.
Head of Education Technology
Education Management, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/27

"The ultimate toolbox for educators"

Comments: I have been involved with Moodle for many years as a user, administrator and developer. Be careful about the hype you hear from commercial vendors, they will often understate the prevalence of Moodle around the world, which dwarfs other systems many times. The community involved with this product have a common aim: to help educators; money is rarely their driver.

Pros: Moodle is, hands-down, the most functional and malleable learning management system available. Moodle can do everything we want it to do.

Cons: Sometimes you have to reduce functionality to make it useful for some people. It is possible to turn off features to achieve that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/27
Aman S.
Teaching Assistant
E-Learning, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/20

"Moodle up the way"

Comments: Overall experience with google is under satisfactory as compared to Blackboard and Canvas. It is the least help application I have ever used.

Pros: The software is an online education learning module software. It is mostly used by universities and other educational institutes. Overall the software is very decent, it offers a variety of features, plagiarism checker, and other variety of features. It does not have any option of predicting grade which is offered by Canvas. As a T.A. I would as it is a decent software but there are better softwares than moodle.

Cons: The software does not have a fully functional mobile appliation which is offered by Blackboard and Canvas which are other learning management systems. Moodle is also sluggish and courses appear later and from time to time there are bugs in the application.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/20
Dianne V.
Consultant
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/29

"Superb solution but difficult to set up"

Comments: I consult to clients who have tried to implement Moodle and recognise it's value but are struggling to get a practical, organised system. There are human issues of acceptance and the system isn't used, or the opposite where they have "created a monster" that is unwieldy. Once the system is structured correctly, and staff are trained in the right way to get the most benefit, it is always beneficial. Expensive paid systems force the client management team to go through a formal process of implementation including culture and planning, but a free system is often simply installed without strategy planning about how it is going to be used.

Pros: Moodle is opensource, and therefore inexpensive and low risk to test. If a company is considering eLearning, this should be your first option as a pilot. No pre-planning is as good as actual experience. The difficulty does not lie with the software, but that an eLearning system is a complex activity and is expected to meet the needs of very different users - different education levels, different technology capabilities and with different learning methods. Moodle shows if your company is ready for eLearning, and quickly gets you up and running. A lot of older training materials are in PDF, powerpoint and other formats, and Moodle allows "drag-and-drop" and importing of zip files or SCORM files.

Cons: This is difficult to set up, particularly if you want to make use of the assessments. You need to define your users and your strategy up front or it can become a muddle with different departments adding "courses". In a way it is almost TOO is easy to use, and individual departments create a "course" and add new categories, and dump hundreds of file with no categorisation. Most Moodle systems will need to be reorganised and "cleaned up" regularly if allowed to grow organically.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/29
Clyde eugene M.
Departmental Chair
Higher Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/22

"Robust LMS"

Comments: Overall, I would say Moodle has been great, since I have now mastered many aspects of the LMS. The first few months were painful, but it was all worth it.

Pros: Moodle is a robust LMS that we use at our university. It exceptionally manages student learning by offering the tools that educators need to teach in the 21st century. The quiz creation tools are what won me over from a competitor in this space. My reluctance to jump on board was further eased by discovering just how customisable it is. Admins can install new plugins that add extra functionality (and there are plenty of these to choose from) as well as themes that spruce up the interface (it may be necessary depending on your taste). There is also a very supportive community backing the Moodle project and the support of this community is indispensable to anyone looking to fully maximise their use of the LMS. Moodle also updates the platform ever so often, and as I write, they recently updated to Moodle 3.8 (I have work to do to update my site on v3.6).

Cons: Moodle is a beast in terms of functionality and this, unfortunately, is its biggest drawback. It is not an easy job trying to onboard new faculty members with no background in IT. It has a somewhat steepish learning curve that can certainly be tackled but not without exerting some effort and patience. The UI is also not as inspiring. I am glad that recent updates have really modernised the look and feel of the LMS but other competitors excel in offering an intuitive out-of-the-box experience. This can be easily overcome by theming the LMS and Moodle has done well in allowing this though it needs an experienced professional to do this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/22
Eugenio C.
Professor
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/30

"Great tool if you have an IT department"

Comments: Very good but expensive to edit all features one by one because It people need to work a lot

Pros: You can edit the source code and modify everything inside the platform if you have a professional IT department.

Cons: There are not prebuilt features all centers use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/30
Verified Reviewer
Web Developer
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/25

"Moodle E-Learning Software Overall Review"

Comments: So far, my colleague developers and I are excited about Moodle. We're currently customizing it (creating courses, students, faculty members, enrolling students in their courses, branding, carrying out training for both faculty and students) to suit our University's standard as we will deploy it for our students this academic year 2019/2020.

Pros: - It's built with the common language PHP and MySQL which makes it easy to customize (by Developers)
- It has so many detailed features built-in, such as setting the date a course will begin and end, methods for learners to enroll in a course, the timezone of the learner, and more features.
- Many plugins (such as video LiveStreaming, quiz modules, assignment modules) are present which provides even more features to the software.
- It has detailed documentation for Developers and General users on how to carry out functions on the software.
- Moodle is so far one of the best e-learning software which fosters the distant learning culture and is so helpful to learners for example in areas with a socio-political crisis.

Cons: - A fee is required for any least additional functionality the client wants to be added on Moodle.
- The codebase is so hard to understand especially for non-Moodle Developers hence making it difficult to customize Moodle by yourself or team developers if they are not an expert.
- Moodle is strictly course-based, making it hard to integrate and synchronize with say, a platform already built and used by a school, in this case, our University.
- Email sent by the Moodle system to users always land in their spam/junk folder or doesn't even get sent at all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/25
Dipen C.
CEO & Founder
E-Learning, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/06

"Easy to made learning platform"

Comments: My overall experience with Moodle is really worthy. me and my team are creating new class, courses and tests on Moodle and it takes very small amount of time. Course management is really nice and User interface of Moodle is really understandable to students.

Pros: 1. Free and effective open source learning.
2. Create easy assignments and learning management as per subject and as per class.

Cons: 1. Bulky and heavy User interface.
2. No end to end security provided.
3. No option to signup user accounts automatically.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/06