Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4 /5

About Moodle

Free online learning management system, providing educators around the world with an open source solution for e-learning.

Learn more about Moodle

Showing 1 679 reviews

Eduardo L.
Teacher
E-Learning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/16

"My review of Moodle"

Comments: Excellent. I cannot go back to teaching without Moodle.

Pros: Moodle has been very useful when switching to fully online learning since March 2020. I have liked to use it so much that I have taken )and completed= the Moodle Educator Certification Program so as to make use of Moodle capabilities to the fullest extent.

Cons: I still find it difficult to handle Moodle Analytics, but then this is because I do not use it that much.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/16
Florian L.
Web devoloper
Media Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/25

"Capable to power a whole university"

Comments: While certain parts could be improved, the whole experience never feels overwhelming. Content can be grouped into weekly chunks to set the right rhythm for both teachers and students. Announcements and Q&As take place in discussion boards, with automatic email notifications for those who don’t want to check manually for updates. It is even possible to hold entire exams with automatic grading (for multiple choice questions) and an automatically generated score.

Pros: With not just employees but also students working from home, efficient educational software is more important than ever. Moodle is capable to power online teaching for a whole university, including online exams, file sharing, video uploads, discussion boards, surveys and homework submissions.

Cons: At the moment, there is no native video conferencing feature. We work around this limitation by pasting links from external platforms, like Zoom or Jitsi. It would be nice to have this functionality baked into the core, together with the possibility of referencing existing content inside the video call: documents, discussion boards, surveys, etc. Another pain point is the grading section. It is meant to calculate a student’s score based on homework submissions and online exams. Unfortunately, there are just too many figures relating to absolute score, relative score and more, so in the end it is hard to grasp what the final score is actually composed of.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/25
Verified Reviewer
Docente asociado
Higher Education, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/07

"An easy and practical virtual way for distance education"

Comments: Moodle, allows to offer an exchange space in activities for learning, these can be online or as a support for content management without using the web interface, also through the platform you can create private forums to stimulate discussions online or used as the main interface to perform exams and assessments.

Pros: This tool is also designed in free software is a multimedia program that explores the way to generate virtual ways of quality distance education through its virtual environments, the tool is one of the most used for this type of tasks or activities one of its positive elements is in creating private virtual environments where a group of students with their teacher interact online, which after defining the role of administrator capable of creating subjects and administrator, with the role of teacher with permission or without permissions allows to generate the educational base necessary to fulfill a course. Another positive aspect is the ease of making or creating questionnaires by subjects to facilitate the teaching-learning process and the different evaluative uses necessary to assess the student's progress.

Cons: The tool presents standardized content which prevents differentiating the treatment between advanced and regular students, as well as presenting differentiated content since when the group is created a signature and the access role all share the information according to the profile held by the participants, as to the interface this is not very friendly with the students since it does not have an iconography that facilitates the identification of the different options besides the menus are not intuitive that does not generate a pattern of habit on the actions within the program. layout is similar to a normal blog something that in my opinion could be improved to take more advantage of the online application.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/07
Pamela A.
Primary/Secondary Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/02/26

"Moodle LMS - Administrator and Trainer Point of View"

Pros: There are lots and lots of resources for help. Almost every page on the Moodle site has a link at the bottom of it taking you to the specific documentation of what you are working with. Moodle has a huge community of worldwide users that are extremely responsive to user forums, so help is literally a couple of clicks away. Moodle is easy to figure out, even if you have never used and LMS. The site I currently administrate is at http://classes.ala.org. As you land on the homepage, you will see the list of our different divisions who offer online courses. We do this using the categories feature, allowing each of our separate divisions to be represented on the single ALA site. What you might also notice is that the login for the site is a convenient eyebrow link. If you click it, there are a variety of options for setting up your own guest credentials in addition to signing in with your official credentials granted by one of the administrators. Most user issues are simple to troubleshoot. Moodle's no nonsense layout and intuitive interaction makes it pretty straightforward to figure out user issues. Error messages tell you specifically what a problem is in plain English (or whatever language you want to set up). Most user problems are rights related in the system. Moodle allows you to restore previous courses into new courses. The backup and restore feature pretty much does everything for you. Take out the user data from a backup and you can restore the previous version of a course into a brand new course with very little downtime.

Cons: Version 1.9 requires an older version of Java running in order to use the wysiwyg html editor (something that comes in handy for the introduction to the course and each section/Topic for the course) -- a version of Java is required, that if you are on Windows 7, has security issues that your Network Admin is probably blocking. The workaround not having an html editor is to open your web content editor (we have Drupal and Dreamweaver) and then paste the code into the setting fields. It is not difficult to do, just inconvenient. I am sure the current version 2.6 has this capability and more that we are waiting to upgrade to.
You have to dig a bit to get to the settings and permissions for specific activities. For example, a common user issue is with Student access to a forum. It is not obvious that some forums are specifically for teacher announcements (meaning that students aren't able to respond, just read the announcements). By the time I get issue, the course creator has a dozen or so forums setup with participants already subscribed, which means that it is easier for me to go into each forum and override the native rights. When you have scores of courses running each containing a dozen or more forums that each need to have permissions touched, it is a lot of work from the admin point of view. The lighter side is that with the proper training, or sandbox playing, creators can discover this nuance before its' too late.
The native chat activity doesn't really work in version 1.9. We use FlashChat by Host123 when our course leaders need a course chat room.
In version 1.9, there is not a lot of wiggle room in changing the look and feel of the courses. You can add, subtract and move blocks around, you can assign a theme, but it is not the most modern look and feel.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/02/26
Marco F.
Administration, Finance and Control Plant Manager
Pharmaceuticals, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/31

"Leading open source e-Learning solution"

Comments: We adopted Moodle in our company to setup an e-Learning plaform for training to both manufacturing and office employees (around 500). Most of our courses are related with production practices, quality and work instructions, and main supports are represented by professionally recorded footage, SCORM compliant. We're still at deployment phase, with massive upload of users (very convenient), definition of roles, and structuring of courses, but the platform itself feels very responsive, quick and efficient. Included features are very impressive, and can be easily enriched by available plugins, that allow a very tailored customization.

Pros: Moodle is the reference open source e-learning platform, with recognized robustness of its architecture and responsiveness of design. Offers very detailed configuration options, allowing complete customization upon your needs. Moodle community is extremely active, with wide availability of certified 3rd party plugins, and documentation for every step. Extremely good compatibility with most common media formats, and compatible with most common SCORM standard.
Being a pro-level platform, Moodle is ideal for both business and scholar deployments.

Cons: Require expertise in order to be installed on premise with proper secure configutarion (internal server / hosted VPS) and require training and documentation reading to really handle and customize the platform. Not for newbies.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/31
Verified Reviewer
Student
Financial Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/13

"Moodle Makes Students Life to be Easier Than ever"

Comments: I actually love the functions of this Moodle. It provides the best features for students to learn and review their lectures. Furthermore, it associates with other learning tools on its website. I strongly recommend students should use Moodle to improve their grades.

Pros: Using moodle will give you better control in your studying. I have a fantastic experience during my school year at York University with amazing management software as Moodle. It helped us organize folders in each course section, so you can find your course faster. Also, the appearance is straightforward to see. Especially, whenever the course in the progress meets the end, the course folder will be automatically put into the past section. It is really fancy. Moreover, every lecture of the course will be posted on Moodle before the class started. Students can access to read ahead of the lecture which giving them more information and understanding about the lecture of the day.

Cons: So far, I could not find any errors with Moodle after giving me a great impression with its neat and organized; except, there was one that causes annoying me which Moodle usually update its version, so I cannot access at the important time that I want to log in to Moodle.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/13
María gabriela C.
The best platform for education
Higher Education, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/07

"The best platform for education"

Comments: Once you know how to use it, it allows you to manage administrative times and processes. It is a neat platform, in which you can include many educational resources, such as quizzes, videos, exams and collaborative work, for an asynchronous modality course. It is still difficult for me to make use of all its functions, but I cannot deny that it is a professional platform.

Pros: It is a robust and very complete platform.

Cons: It is not easy to take advantage of it if you do not learn to use it. You need to take a course to learn how to use it. It is not easy to take advantage of it if you do not learn to use it. At my university we have had to follow a course to learn how to use it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/07
Joshua F.
Teacher
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/28

"Moodle has been a game changer in organizing, delivering content, and facilitating learning"

Comments: Great features at low cost!

Pros: I've been using Moodle for 6 years in my practice as an educator. It has been a total game changer for me in organizing units/resources/assignments, assessment, and making it possible to teach effectively in a 1 to 1 environment. From facilitating online forums to creating end of term assessments, Moodle has made it easy to move the classroom into the 21st century through an intuitive, customizable, and easy to master, open source platform. I've used blackboard, desire2learn, and sampled other online class formats, but Moodle is easily the most cost effective and offers similar capabilities. There really is not much you can't do in terms of managing curriculum and assignments in moodle.

Cons: The one con of Moodle is feedback and creating assessments. While these features are possible and I do use them, I often have found other programs which do this better. However, they also cost considerably more which is something to consider. While some of the ease of use is lacking in moodle, and certain features can be a headache, I feel the benefits often outweigh other programs which do similar things at higher cost.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/28
Bahaddin D.
PhD Student
Higher Education, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/29

"Effective learning management system"

Comments: In this last year we switched to online education, Moodle is an effective program for both students and teachers. An open education opportunity can be offered in the courses prepared for students. Students can follow the lectures offered on the platform whenever they want and can communicate with the communication panel. Assignment feature in Moodle are more comfortable for both educators and students.

Pros: I used Moodle for an organization to implement an e-learning platform. Moodle leaves a free working space and offers the opportunity to make adjustments whenever I want. There are many options for creating and editing courses. In addition, tasks and assignments follow-up of the courses and user privileges are very well designed. The other good thing is the calendar that for students and educators can send reminders to students to keep track of important dates about the course when necessary. The fact that it hosts many file formats as required, which provides the possibility to add many elements, makes Moodle very effective.

Cons: Learning Moodle takes time. Necessary training must be taken to be able to use it effectively. I made use of the training videos available in their website.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/29
Chamroeunrith C.
IT Manager
Education Management, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/29

"Moodle Still the best platform for Distance Learning"

Comments: if we just using the moodle for normal use for internal school is fine, but if hosting for public is not so good with security and bandwidth as my experience and cost more on implementation, training, hosting services.

Pros: - alot of features if compare to another platform
- can coding for more module and integrated with many plugin
- more professional for higher education, especially for k9-k12, university.

Cons: well, moodle is require alot of IT resource to develop it according to the school need.
- teacher are require high knowledge of using it, also when hosting it slow and sometime during alot of access at the same time its slow.
- security also the concern problem for IT to consider too because its need to upgrade often for bug fix, and sometime during upgrade it caused error not accessible when we have the plugin integrated alot.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/29
Brayan agostinho D.
Consultor SOA
501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/13

"good web portal oriented to distance education where you can educate and learn from home or work"

Pros: Moodle is a good web education portal, where students can study and learn from home, work and much more ...
Moodle adds a large number of educational administrators where students can participate in a group or alone. among them we have: glossaries, lessons and it allows us to buy files like word, excel, pdf ....
It also includes a tool where tutors can share and add information on the website so that students can interact with it.
It also adds a chat function, both group and individual.

Cons: Moodle should integrate tools such as: video chat, real-time chats and a wider integration of files such as videos and audios.
At the time of uploading a file we also find the problem that should not be very heavy in terms of memory. since we have a limited amount of megabits (MB) to upload a file depends on the activity that is developed.
Moodle should also improve its interface and make it more comfortable for the user, it can be a bit difficult to use for some users.
Moodle continues to grow and I hope it will improve all your problems as several universities have adapted their service to teach distance learning.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/13
Verified Reviewer
Civil Engineer
Civil Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/16

"Moodle: A must tool for every undergraduate"

Comments: It is a great tool which connects everyone even outside the study room. It is a great tool for evaluate our self and easily track and evaluate ourself. Highly recommended tool for the students.

Pros: I'm a Moodle user during my University life(2014-2018) and it’s a simple and useful tool for everyone. Normally every lecturer uploads learning materials through moodle and it's really helpful for everyone. It allows us to up-to-date with each module and lecturers also can tack the students that how often connected with their modules. Its completely free to use and there is a mobile application available which is easy to use. We also can upload and submit our assignments, quizzes & projects and it helps to track our process day-to-day. It's also a major communication tool between lecturer and student and it is a professional way to communicate.

Cons: Most of the people don know the actual purpose of LMS and it needs more advertising to attract newbies. Need some UI improvements to easy to use. Sometimes the page is laggy during upload and we need improvements in this department as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/16
Jennifer C.
Teaching Associate
Higher Education, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/17

"Moodle is great for course materials and management"

Comments: Moodle feels modernized and is user friendly as a course management tool from both the teacher and student viewpoints. I highly recommend it over the commonly used Blackboard which I previously used for 8 years.

Pros: Moodle is very user friendly and has an aesthetically pleasing interface. You can easily navigate between courses and sections of the same course. Assignments, grades, solutions, and other course information is easily input and uploaded to the system and viewed by students.

Cons: It frequently has outages for maintenance and upgrades. Although these are planned in advance and during times of low usage, it would be nice to use software that is reliable 24/7 for that student who needs to upload an assignment at the last minute.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/17
Verified Reviewer
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Higher Education, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/12

"It’s complex but useful in the end"

Comments: It is definitely worth using Moodle for sharing course material, keeping track of class schedules and grades. I’d recommend to every college to try this service but they should also provide training on how to use Moodle because it definitely takes time learn all the gimmicks of the website.

Pros: I have been using Moodle for the last two years for my own courses and also for the courses I teach as a graduate teaching assistant. At first the user interface looks simple and clean but there are so many functionalities and options you can play with! You can edit, calculate and publish student grades to all students or just to some people like the Professor who’s the lead instructor of that course. You can easily share and update course material on the website by using drag&drop. If you can get a hold of it, it is a great, flexible tool that you can tailor for your specific needs.

Cons: It happened to me and many users suffer from the slow learning curve to master the functionalities and options available on Moodle. It takes time to get a grip of it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/12
Elias alirio M.
Facilitator
Consumer Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/22

"From a User of Moodle!"

Comments: I enjoy taking my courses in Moodle! My experience has been positive, and I love how it helps me keep track of all my completed and pending to complete tasks.

Pros: I am currently studying my second career online, and the institution I am doing so has its program performed in Moodle. I like all the different types of activities Moodle allows me to perform, so these are things you can implement in case you were interested in using it in your institution. I participate in group discussions with my peers and we can perform peer evaluation. I am able to upload all types of documents from both my discussion posts, assignments and Journals. Moodle allows you to define tests for students in which you can decide if retakes are acceptable or not depending on what you are evaluating. It has a very reliable messaging system for instructors and students to stay communicated, and it allows you to give awards in the form of badges for accomplishments. It has so many different types of activities that can be implemented for a very interactive online classroom.

Cons: I am not sure why, but there have been times where some of my posts have been input in Moodle twice. It would be helpful to setan alert that would let you know of a duplicate post, so you could delete it before the permitted time for this was allowed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/22
Verified Reviewer
Directora de la Unidad de Formación y Seguimiento Docente (UFSD)
E-Learning, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/16

"Moodle, best impossible"

Comments: I have more than eight (8) years developing educational processes in the e-learning modality with the Moodle Platform and I can say that the experience has been successful and unmatched, I have managed to work with more than 500 students in a collaborative learning environment, most of them of them without experience in distance education and it has been very simple and very useful. It allows teachers an extensive use of resources to assist learning. It is very robust and safe. I recommend it without hesitation.

Pros: I liked all the resources and activities offered by Moodle. It is a platform of an impressive utility for the development of teaching-learning processes, it is very friendly, light, simple and efficient to use both for the administrator (a), teacher (a) and participant of the same. It allows collaborative work. It has billboards, forums, glossaries, calendars, chat, multimedia resources, among others. It is free to use and has nothing to envy to any platform. It is unbeatable.

Cons: It is very difficult to say that it was what I liked the least. There really is nothing that I did not like.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/16
Verified Reviewer
HOT¿BED Gallery Intern
Design, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/27

"A Good Software When Everyone Uses It"

Comments: For what it's worth, it was a decent one. It was easy to upload my files onto, which was really all I cared about. I went to an art school where we either submitted our assignments through Moodle, a class folder on the school server or physically. I don't have a bad opinion of Moodle.

Pros: It was the level-ground portal that balanced communications between my teachers and I. They shared their syllabi and let me upload my assignments to Moodle so I didn't have to worry about spending print credits on my paper, emailing my paper and hoping it doesn't get lost in their inbox, and other things College Me worried about. Funny enough, there was a forum feature nobody really took seriously—students had to respond to prompts for the sake of responding—and even that was easy to navigate.

Cons: Because not all the teachers used it, it wasn't an easy software to adapt to quickly. My liberal arts teachers used it more significantly than my studio teachers, and I get it: the work they're grading are physical drawings. On the other hand, my studio classes for which I created digital work for wanted me to upload my files to Moodle. My point is that Moodle functions well when a large body of folks use it well and consistently. Otherwise, students may get confused about things like assignment receipt and class participation that may lead to their grades lowered.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/27
Hubert B.
Student
Education Management, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/21

"Decent platform to unify module resources"

Comments: At my university Moodle is a go-to platform for module resources published by the lecturers. It provides a structured environment for them to do so, rather than departmental websites which vary in quality depending on lecturer's skill. A lot can be done through Moodle if the staff is appropriately trained, though at the beginning they often find it hard to use appropriate functionalities.

Pros: A consistent theme and organisational structure for all modules taught at the university;
An option to rename a file and provide a description on upload;
Assignments with constraints on file size, type and quantity;
Integration with Echo lecture capture;
A forum for each module allowing easy and scoped contact between course members;
Decent multimedia handling facility allowing interactive tutorials and quizzes.

Cons: Occasionally there are problems with accessing modules at the very beginning if the lecturer is not experienced with setting up the page. I believe this process must not be intuitive as lot of them struggle. Fine-grained access control makes it hard/impossible for students to peek materials available for modules they haven't yet registered for. Navigation through active courses is done through a bunch of blue links that feel like early 2000s web pages. A re-design of the 'Dashboard' would be a good idea. Reportedly setting up a clear folder structure for module files is not intuitive, some lecturers struggle. These are all minor but annoying drawbacks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/21
Verified Reviewer
Office Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/27

"Awesome open-source software for post-secondary"

Pros: Open-source software is always a plus if you have the resources and know-how to manage it. Hosting is also relatively cheap if that's what you need. Moodle also has a lot of great plugins and a host of online information and documentation so the help is there if you're willing to look for it. From a student's perspective, Moodle is pretty easy to navigate and holds all relevant student info, including class information, participants, group forums (good for studying/collaboration), quizzes, feedback portal, grades, etc. Very easy to submit assignments.

Cons: Implementing and managing Moodle is relatively easy if you have the available IT resources. If not, it's very resource-laden. Looks are a bit outdated and it would be nice for students to be more easily notified if other users comment on their posts/replies in the group forums without having to be logged in. Mobile capability could be better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/27
Marina C.
Director of Communications
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/07

"Good LMS with room for improvement"

Comments: At my university, Moodle was considered a step up from the previous LMS software that had been used. Nevertheless, the general consensus about Moodle was lukewarm at best due to the software's lack of intuitiveness and its navigational issues. With some improvements in those areas, I think it could be a great, rather than a good, LMS option.

Pros: Pleasant and clean interface, allows for user customization up to a certain point, has many of the features and capabilities that you'd expect of an LMS software at the university level.

Cons: Moodle is definitely not the most intuitive software (although, I'm not sure that I could really say that about any of the LMS softwares I've used). The navigation menus in particular could be improved, as I often found it difficult to arrive at the page that I wanted to and consequently had to memorize the appropriate routes through the software's menus.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/07
Verified Reviewer
Computer Science Student
Higher Education, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/18

"Pretty good at what it does. Went through several iterations while I used it, overall would recommen"

Comments: Good overall, I'd recommend it, though I'm not sure what the alternatives are. Also, I only used it as a student, not sure what's it like for professors/TAs or other users of Moodle.

Pros: I only used it as a student, but it satisfy my needs as one, and worked well overall. There were a few bugs along the way, but it allowed me to easily submit homeworks/papers/projects from my computer (there was no app at the time, or a mobile website, though that might've changed since I used it), communicate with professors or TAs and view and download courses' related material.

Cons: No mobile-optimized website or app, at least when I used it was the biggest annoyance. This meant that I couldn't upload things "on the go". Also, no external services like Dropdown or Google Drive integrations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/18
Melanie W.
Student
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/17

"Easy to use software that is helpful in managing education"

Comments: Overall, Moodle is really helpful to use. I was able to organize and manage my documentation, as well as assignments, in one convenient place.

Pros: As a student, I was an end-user of this software for 2+years during my graduate degree. I have used other software for similar situations in the past and found Moodle to be very user-friendly. The design is intuitive and information can be located easily when needed.

Cons: I wish the calendar functionality was more robust and that the university would implement this so that notifications and events would work through notifications.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/17
M. serhat D.
Senior Software Engineer
E-Learning, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/17

"Still a leading CMS in e-learning"

Comments: If you have a team that can take care of Moodle maintenance and upgrades, then give it a chance. If you are planning to do everything by yourself, I wouldn't recommend Moodle, because it requires system administration.

Pros: Moodle is free and open-source. Just because of this reason, it's still the default choice of many educational institutions. It's a quite feature-rich platform, with lots of plug-ins and themes. The number of possible 3rd party integrations is high.

Cons: Moodle is easy to install, but not easy to configure and maintain. It's a quite feature-rich platform, and therefore it requires some system administration. It's not an install-and-forget software, you have to configure the platform carefully and take care of updates.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/17
Sandra C.
student
Education Management, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/14

"Moodle is a good e-learning platform, easy to use and rather ergonomic."

Comments: Some things can be improved but the overall experience is positive.

Pros: The content is separated into different modules, with the possibility to integrate videos, take online exams, share files, create surveys, submit assignments and exchange in discussion forums around the course topic or organization.
A checkbox system is present to notify you of submitted assignments and progress in learning modules.
It also has a messaging system that allows communication between students and teachers.
One of the interesting features is to allow the administrator to monitor course participation and track the activity of each student on the platform.
The administrator also has the possibility to create content that will only be visible to himself and therefore hidden from the students.

Cons: Teachers must have a good knowledge of how to use the platform and this is not always the case. Support would be interesting for those who are not familiar with the platform and its various functions.
The platform lacks a videoconferencing function.
When submitting assignments, there is a file capacity limit that creates many difficulties because it is impossible to submit all the requested work. We therefore have to send our excess jobs by email, which is a pity. It would be more convenient to have a document size limit rather than a maximum number of files.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/14
Zachary S.
Program Coordinator, Center for Theological Writing
Primary/Secondary Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/05/26

"I help our writing center use our LMS to deliver classes and resources"

Pros: It has a robust ability to deliver many different kinds of course content and smoothly and flexibly integrate and grade various kinds of assignments. The gradebook feature allows us to calculate grades just the way we need to.

Cons: Changing settings within a course can be unwieldy, and there is a lag time every time a setting is changed, which makes making many changes in a work session fairly time consuming.
When assignments are uploaded to a link in our LMS, confirmation emails and upload logs do not give the file name for each time-stamped upload, only the fact of the upload, making it difficult to tie different files to different upload details for the same assignment link.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/05/26