15 years helping South African businesses
choose better software

About M1 ERP

ERP software for custom, mixed mode manufacturers, and make to order manufacturers.

Learn more about M1 ERP

Pros:

This software is highly customizable and provides freedom for the many integrations that we implement regularly.

Cons:

When the guys make mistakes, it can be difficult and tedious to find and correct mistakes. We made it clear from the start that one customization would be needed and would be VERY important.

M1 ERP ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3,7
Customer Service
4,0
Features
3,8
Value for Money
3,7

Likelihood to recommend

6,9/10

M1 ERP has an overall rating of 3,8 out 5 stars based on 100 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used M1 ERP before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (100)

Angie
Accounting in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Building Materials, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I love how easy the modules link with each other

5,0 6 years ago

Comments: Very happy. I'm glad I have been brought in a job that chose this software. Everyone that I've met and spoke with through tech support is helpful and personable.

Pros:

The ability to drill down between modules is wonderful. I've never used a software that allowed this so seamlessly.

Cons:

The lack of online inquiries through the internet from fellow users that might have experienced something that isn't typical to help others figure it out. This can be technical or a way to resolve a process issue.

Ronnie
Director of Advanced Manufacturing in Canada
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

E2 First 6 months of use Survey

5,0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall we enjoy the product, it has helped us reach a new company milestone and will continue to help us into the next company leaps in the future.

Pros:

The Manufacturing organizational aspect of the software is great! Helps keep the manufacturing workflow running smoothly without much intervention from administrative staff. Once the software is learned, it is a pretty intuitive and easy to use product.

Cons:

Ability to modify standard document layout should be included in the software and should not be an add-in. Especially working from a French/English Province we need the ability legally to have 2 languages shown on the documents but shouldn't have to pay for it. It would also be useful to have a basic functioning walkthrough tutorial for when you first start up E2.

Ken
IT Manager in Australia
Building Materials, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Do not buy this software in Australia - Dishonest business practices and terrible support

1,0 5 years ago

Comments: They installed the core system for one company to test, then couldn't get their optional modules to work, but still performed the agreed work to customize our installation (and charged us)... then finally gave up trying to get THEIR optional module to work in version 8, and told us that we had to upgrade to version 9 to get those modules to work. Then after we upgraded to version 9, they said that version 9 now no longer supported that optional module, or the custom work they had already been paid for. We have been promised repeatedly by their support team and management that they would fix the issues and get this up and working as soon as possible. Please don't fall for these lies like we did. Instead of trying to fix anything, their support department literally just 'solved' all of the 30+ support tickets in their system on with the same day with the message 'SOLVED: This function or a component that it relies on is no longer supported' with no option for further discussion... no refund for the optional modules or custom work we had done... and then they have the hide to say that they need to get us to sign off and accept the fact that they can't make that company work before they even install the core systems for any of the 6 other companies.

Pros:

Their sales team made a really good pitch, then went radio silent the moment we signed up, and quit 6 weeks later. Based on their pitch, we engaged them to provide version 8 of the core system seven companies, and a couple of optional modules for a couple of those companies, and a few custom modifications, we were assured this would be straight forward and ready to use in 8-12 weeks. It has been over 2 years and they been unable to even get one of those companies up and running as per the our agreement with them.

Cons:

The worst part about this experience? Everything that happened after they had our money... In all of my professional life I have never before experienced such intentionally dishonest behavior in a professional setting. Deciding to use ECi M1 has been the worst business decision that we have ever made. If you are in Australia, or if you intend to rely on the Australian support team, I cannot urge you strongly enough to stay away from ECi M1. They have repeatedly proved themselves incompetent and dishonest.

ECI Software Solutions Response

5 years ago

With hundreds of passionate M1 clients implemented throughout Australia and thousands more globally, we are sorry your experience has been less than expected. Version 9 is written in an advanced language and an early release that coincided with your implementation - the upgrade offering a more flexible and future-proof platform. We do continue to offer local support to all our clients to experience the benefits of M1 and happy to discuss a way forward with you.

Jeff
Quality Manager in US
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Transitioned from QuickBooks to E2 MFG

4,0 4 years ago

Comments: Having no prior first-hand experience with an ERP system myself, as a company we are overall very satisfied. The reduction in phone calls between offices throughout the day to gather bits of information, the elimination of duplicating work or "copy and pasting", the decrease in errors due to not having to transcribe information any longer are all very welcome improvements. We hired an outside consultant to help with our implementation project. While this had its benefits at times, the real strides and progress came when we would occasionally bring in a ShopTech employee for the day to help with troubleshooting, brainstorming, and otherwise "head-scratchers". Once you've had a session with an on-site ShopTech consultant that you like, only schedule that consultant for every other session! That being said, all interaction we've had with ShopTech support & sales staff, prior to and post Go-Live, has been positive, but our consultant was just top-notch during every single call, email, and visit.

Pros:

Improvement of inventory tracking coming from an Excel-based, manual process that'd grown to be quite cumbersome. MFG's capabilities eliminated many spreadsheets and many hours maintaining those spreadsheets. Visibility throughout the organization of order status; pieces completed, what's in-process, what's already shipped, etc. Searchable criteria in MFG is quite robust. Prior to MFG we were only able to search via customer part numbers, this left a lot to be desired. Now we can search based on many, many more variables.

Cons:

The biggest hurdle/challenge in learning and implementing MFG was understanding a whole new terminology; allocations, transfers, material/job requirements, processing, etc. and how those functioned in MFG specifically. As well sometimes, certain terms are used interchangeably in certain places and this can lead to temporary confusion. There are many ways to accomplish a single task. This flexibility is nice once you're used to the system but can be overwhelming in the beginning.

Bethany
Production Orders Coordinator in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent product and service

4,0 3 years ago

Comments: So far it has been great. The support team in particular are amazing and they go above and beyond to make sure that any issues we have are taken care of.

Pros:

Helps immensely with organization and the customization options are excellent.

Cons:

It does not allow for a user to have more than one order open at a time, which makes it difficult for multitasking or referencing a previous order. This is one feature that we greatly miss from Job Boss. Also, the training provided could have been better, there was a lot of situations that the training did not cover and we had to learn on our own.

Sara
Engineering Administration Assistant in US
Machinery, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very detailed, excellent Tech Support

4,0 4 years ago

Comments: I am very happy my company switched from E2 Pro to E2 Mfg, this new system has much more versatility, detail, and is a lot more user friendly. Very happy with the new E2 Mfg product.

Pros:

This software is very detailed and makes it easy to make changes that keep production going. There are a lot of different steps to assist with making sure changes are correct, which helps with accuracy and decreases human error.

Cons:

I wish there was a grid in the Order Entry tab to search for the Part Number. When I need to see what orders are open on which parts, I have to use the binoculars to search and there is no part number available until I go into edit those orders.

KYLE
Controller in US
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Metalfab Manufacturing, Inc. Review

4,0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall its been really good, it takes a lot of figuring out, but it really does put all our information together and keep things organized in a way to produce usable data and reports.

Pros:

The ability to bring everything together in one place, where all management and supervisors can access it has been great. I like to ability to use shop floor terminals for data entry and the ability to generate reports from that data.

Cons:

A regular challenge I face is trying to figure out the right location or combination of steps it takes to change certain items within the system. There are not explanations of pathways. For example, the other day I wanted to pick specific lots of material for a job we were running. I thought I would be given the option right at job material processing. Nope. I can see the different lots, but the numbers are locked, I couldn't change them. After many failed attempts. I finally called support. Long story short. I have to process, go into details, unprocess the line, go into the sub-details and type in the amount for each lot. That's an example of a common frustration I find in the system. There are lots of locked numbers. I understand some are necessary, but others just don't seem to make sense. The process to then alter them does not always follow a discernible pattern. You can often find the same information in multiple spots, but finding the place it drives from is a shot in the dark.

Timothy
CFO in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

M1 - A very visual ERP

4,0 6 years ago

Pros:

M1 is incredibly visual; whether you prefer traditional forms or spreadsheet views, you can customize the navigation and data forms with ease. Search features are robust in the spreadsheet style views. M1 is also fairly flexible for customization regardless of programming skills. We can easily add fields to any module and forms can be manipulated to match our information flow. In our business every order is a custom order yet the straight forward manufacturing module makes planning and scheduling simple. Dashboards on the start screen are great to monitor daily activities. While most ERP implementations require significant work, the visual nature of M1 really helped us keep the project on track. The M1 implementation specialist spent time to learn our business and specific information needs. 9 months running and we are very happy. We have added several additional modules since the implementation and have linked M1 to our sales tax service provider. The suite of included reports are handy, though they need some customization when you start up. Export to Excel is very easy. We added Spreadsheet Server option to really increase the capability to share data with Excel. Security controls are very robust.

Cons:

At times customer service response is a bit longer than we would like though once they are working on an issue, they are great at resolving. Some of the included reports are fairly complex yet require customization in Crystal Reports. Best to have some working knowledge of Crystal reports. Some modules in M1 are not consistent with others - probably different programmers or different schedules for upgrading - however that slows the process just bit when you move module to module.

Jane
CFO in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Excellent software for small manufacturing businesses

4,0 6 years ago

Comments: I know it's difficult to launch a software and continually upgrade it to meet the customers needs. Not only from a development standpoint, but from a tech support standpoint. The team at Shoptech has always been friendly and very willing to help. The tech support team has some strong players on it, both in software and hardware, and that is making a huge difference in the customer experience.

Pros:

Overall, the product is very easy to use. The modules "talk" to one another and the data flows with ease. Our A/R and A/P departments use the software in conjunction with purchasing and sales and their experience has been positive. The data collection system is very user friendly for the employees on the floor and provides great feedback and reporting for the management team. The quick analysis reports, or dashboard reports, provide a snapshot of what's going on in your business at a quick glance.

Cons:

There are nuances to the software that only a "seasoned user" would know exist. If the user is unaware of the nuances, the data could be skewed, or the user could be stopped in their tracks, or worse yet, the action of the subsequent user could be negatively impacted. To that point, the overarching concern I have is that we have a lot of tribal knowledge when it comes to E2 MFG and if an employee chooses to leave our company, the next hire will "learn" the software, but they won't really "know" the software for quite some time.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Machinery, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

M1 gets the job done but there are better options to be had

3,0 5 years ago

Comments: Everything from sales and marketing data, to employee data as well as financial data is housed in our M1 system.

Pros:

All the data you could ever need about your business can be housed in M1, between the data and the custom reports that can be made, it is a valuable tool to have.

Cons:

Its clunky to use, most things take too many clicks to find and it feels like you have to go out of your way to find what you are looking for. It takes some work to make it user friendly in the least bit

Grant
Consultant in Australia
Mining & Metals, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Awarded the worlds worst service and product

1,0 6 years ago

Comments: Don't waste your time and money

Pros:

Technically it works and some of the functions are understandable. But the setup, service and basic norms affiliated with software are missing

Cons:

Terrible service and backup. Only 1 technician that knows what he is doing and he is across NZ and AU and he is not allowed to give out his direct contact details. Recently logged a ticket on the 3rd of May and got first response on the 4th June! If you want to know your GP and other profitable forecasts or set up a half decent quote and reporting be prepared to have to spend a whole lot more.

Raven
Administrative Operations Manager in
Defense & Space, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

E2 Mfg System Review

2,0 5 years ago

Comments: E2 Manufacturing System has helped to bring the company into the technology age. E2 MFG is better for a simple manufacturing shop rather than a multi-layer full business. Unfortunately, we have outgrown E2 and are now having issues with certain aspects.

Pros:

This software has a nice interface with easy to follow tabs.

Cons:

Very limiting software. Certain processes are too rigid and do not follow company system. Constant need to call customer support due to glitches or other defects in code.

Glen
Managing Director in Australia
Oil & Energy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

No Support in Australia

2,0 5 years ago

Comments: Due to the poor / complete lack or support and problems with the installation we are about to change to a new ERP system. This would be the worst investment my company has ever made.

Pros:

No ad-dons, no cost for view users, i.e. unlimited clock card entry PC's.

Cons:

Absolutely poor support if any. Referred to external consultants as ECi M1 could not supply technical support.

Jessica
Project Manager in
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Used in a manufacturing facility - great for showing detail, time cards, completion percentage, scheduling, purchasing, etc.

5,0 7 years ago

Pros:

The outside service function is fully developed to allow for estimated cost and lead time to roll up for quoting, and actual to roll into job cost.

Cons:

Server based - not internet accessible. Would prefer links rather than the "where used" functionality. Works very well, but you have to dig a little for connected items.

Aaron
Vice President in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

M1 ERP Review

4,0 8 years ago

Pros:

The training and implementation was fantastic. The product is well suited for our needs and the cost tracking functionality is great. The greatest strengths of the software are inventory control, cost/labor tracking, and reporting.

Cons:

The accounting functionality and process can be burdensome. While it does get the job done, incorporating a FIFO system with real time cost of goods sold entry would be much more advantageous. Currently M1 only offers average, standard, or last cost of goods sold, which can really make things difficult if inventory costs change. Additionally, not having "real-time" financials is frustrating. You don't get the "actual cost of goods sold" until an accounting entry is made, so you cannot track financials daily or weekly unless your accounting department has time to make this entry and reconcile it on that same interval. Granted, moving to the COGS program could fix this issue, but the additional work and potential for mistakes makes it easier to wait for financials.

Salvatore
President in US
Defense & Space, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

E@ makes it easy

5,0 4 years ago

Comments: Since 2009 and going

Pros:

The software allows you to quote and then enter and order using that quote and then invoice right in one platform, easy peezee!

Cons:

The RMA portal needs a little revamping

Bill
IT MGR in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Works great for us

5,0 4 years ago

Comments: For the most part, E2 does all we want it to.

Pros:

Great support from knowledgeable employees at Shoptech

Cons:

The level of user customization could be a bit more in depth

Stephen
IT in US
Industrial Automation, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Bait and switch, dishonorable

3,0 3 years ago

Comments: There are good people in ECI's M1, however as a company they don't keep the contract:
They don't provide support within 4 hours (other than an email saying we will try to get back to you in 2 or 3 business days).
They don't even attempt to fix bugs within 30 days.

Pros:

Customizable, easy to backup and restore databases.

Cons:

Buggy, not maintained properly (outdated reporting, security practices), not user-friendly overall (they obviously do not have UX staff).

John
President in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

M1 has been great The design was with end users in mind

4,5 9 years ago

Pros:

The low cost of overhead to run M1 is its best feature. It is very robust, and runs day after day with minimal support required. M1 is very user friendly and intuitive. Also, the use of Crystal Reports on an SQL database allows for easy modification and development of reports that then are easily run from inside M1 giving users a seamless feel. We have had excellent support during implementation and post implementation.

Cons:

I am anxious for continued development of the manufacturing floor scheduling.

Robb
President in US
Plastics, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Couldn't implement what they promised at sale

1,0 3 years ago

Comments: Very disappointing. Couldn't actually get it to work. Continued on with current system. Understood that they couldn't get there even though they promised they could at time of sale. But then they ghosted me and said all sales are final even though their experts said they couldn't do what they said they could do. Not very good ethics in my opinion.

Pros:

Built on SQL database so lookups are simple

Cons:

We were sold a list of things during the sales cycle that they weren't able to make good on come implementation time. Then turned their back on me and ghosted me like I didn't exist. About as bad an experience as I could have dreamed up. Be very careful with this group. All sales are final, even if they can't deliver.

Dave
Production Manager in US
Consumer Goods, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

E2 MFG Implemented 3/4/2019

4,0 5 years ago

Comments: As Production manager, I have so much more data available through E2 than I had access to prior to implementation. I have been able to customize some of the standard reports using Crystal Reports and find it very easy to export CSV files for analysis in Excel. Overall the synchronization between QuickBooks and E2 MFG has been smooth.

Pros:

There are multiple ways to perform functions within the software. The access to data through QuickView and report hyperlinks makes finding the information very easy.

Cons:

Once a job is "In Process" making changes becomes very difficult. The lack of being able to use UPS ground freight pricing has added extra work onto our Shipping department. Hopefully, the interface will be completed soon.

Leslie
Contracts Manager in US
Aviation & Aerospace, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Compared to three other ERP/MRP systems

5,0 4 years ago

Comments: Having used a couple of other ERP systems, I find that E2 gets it right. E2 is easy to use, but not so much so that you still don't have to grow into all it can do.

Pros:

Ease of use. This software has all the bells and whistles that other ERPs have, but with an easier to use set up. If your system is too complex, or you have more than you need, it becomes difficult to use. I also appreciate that there are training sessions on line. Watching them has given me ideas about what else this system can do.

Cons:

I would have liked an "old school" hard copy manual that I could read through and highlight.

Jeff
Cfo in US
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fr finance

3,0 4 years ago

Comments: Workable for start up

Pros:

Work stations and scanning job orders was good

Cons:

Reporting and finance Reporting difficult and Ul was not good

Mark
US
Plastics
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Installation of ECi M1

4,5 9 years ago

Pros:

This ERP software is very intuitive and very flexible relative to the previous software from Made2Manage that my organization ran for the past 24 years. The input of transactions is straightforward with minimal training, and searching for almost any data is substantially easier.

Cons:

The only issue we've had any challenge with so far is with the conversion of our old Made2Manage data, which was an old FoxPro version into a pure SQL format. Some data came across easily, and some data didn't come across at all. We could have come up to speed running the new software much faster if we'd have been able to convert our M2M data in a more timely fashion.

David
Controller in US
Oil & Energy
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

M1 a change to a real system

4,0 8 years ago

Pros:

I will have to compliment the trainer and the ECI Conference held in Orlando. I felt that all areas were fully addressed. Obviously as time goes on, more comfort and trust is gain in the product. Having been on Sage previously, I like how this is a real financial package although it can be cumbersome at times. I still have lots to learn about the entire package.

Cons:

There is no refresh button.