Microsoft Dynamics SL Reviews

by Microsoft

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Microsoft Dynamics SL

Project management, job costing, materials management, service call entry, receiving, billing, and sales solution.

Learn more about Microsoft Dynamics SL

Showing 85 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Vice President and Controller
Design, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/02

"The system is good for a smaller company. As our company has grown it has become difficult to use."

Comments: As a smaller company it was pretty easy to get around. I have felt the upgrades have made significant difference.

Pros: It's basic set up isn't too hard to use ONCE you have had some training. The set up of projects versus general ledger is pretty user friendly.

Cons: The reporting piece is pretty limited without customization. We have had to rebuild the general ledger and projects. If we didn't have an EXCELLENT internal support employee we would be in great trouble.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/02
Mohammed I.
Entrepreneur
Business Supplies & Equipment, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/01

"Honest review"

Comments: The best programm I have ever used in this field

Pros: Designed to empower my employees ; make them more productive and the most important thing is basically it makes our work more easier.

Cons: Not suitable for small business because it's allitel bit expensive for just starting business

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/01
Yanli Z.
Finance Manager
Philanthropy
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/06/08

"Non profit organization experience"

Pros: Flexible and easy to use, customer service are very knowledgeable and you most likely have the same support person for each module. The turnaround is very fast, within 24 hours.

Cons: It would be better to improve reporting functionality

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/06/08
Yanli Z.
Finance Manager
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/23

"Dynamic SL accounting"

Comments: This is a great product for accounts receivable, accounts payable and general ledger. Not quite great for fund accounting, we have to twist it to work for us to manage the project, fund etc.

Pros: Easy to use, works very well with Microsoft excel. You can copy/paste from Excel to Dynamic for some of the data entry which is so convenient. Customer service staff are very experienced and helpful.

Cons: Reporting is a weakness. I have to work between Dynamic and Excel to manually generate financial statements.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/23
Julie O.
Controller
Retail
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/07/22

"Great product!"

Pros: We converted everything from Quickbooks to Dymanics and the transition was smooth.

Cons: Nothing. Really liked the product and they improved the software as customers suggested.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/07/22
Michael O.
Telecommunications
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/07/25

"Dynamics SL Review"

Pros: We love the flexibility of Dynamics SL and being able to customize it if necessary. Working with SIS has been great, and their team is very knowledgeable about SL and writing code.

Cons: Like any software, it has some quirks that one has to figure out, such as the attachment functionality. If you copy a JE that has an attachment, it brings the attachment to the new JE. However, if you delete the old attachment from the new JE, it also deletes it from the original JE as well. There's just quirky stuff like this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/07/25
Daniel R.
IT Director
Retail
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/20

"Good product"

Pros: The ability to manage all my financial accounting in one view. It's a great plus I. 2015

Cons: There is nothing I don't like about it. The service should be better

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/20
Janet L.
CFO
Plastics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/24

"Dynamics is great"

Comments: Its been great as I am able to get my reports and business analysis.

Pros: I like Dynamics as it one of the better ERP systems and is easier to use than the traditional ERP systems.

Cons: There wasn't anything that I disliked about Dynamics as all the features are available and is easy to use once familiar.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/24
Sagar C.
Marketing executive
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/08

"Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL"

Comments: It is a very efficient software for small and midsize companies which require project and product management.

Pros: Strong Distribution Series
Strong Financial Capabilities and Multi-company / Intercompany

Cons: The technology seems very old
It does not have other modules like Grant Management, National Accounts and Fixed Assets.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/08
Charlene W.
Office Manager
Philanthropy, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/19

"Microsoft Dynamics SL - Accounting"

Comments: This system is very easy to use in a menu driven sort of way. It has good features and not so good features. Hopefully, they are working on a fix for the not so good.

Pros: Menu-driven, easy.

Cons: Reports need to be customized, not able to do some year-end reports so you have to do those manual.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/19
Carl P.
CFO
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/04/15

"Soloman Review"

Pros: It does a great job of job costing and recording all the detailed transactions

Cons: To many extra processing steps, example, after you have entered a cash transaction, then you have to release the cash transaction, then you have to release it from the GL, then you have to post to the GL.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/04/15
Lynn B.
Dir of Acct & HR
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/20

"Microsoft Dynamics SL"

Pros: Microsoft is a large company so hopefully Dynamics SL will be supported and be around for a long time.

Cons: This accounting software does not come with canned financial statements and even though this has been requested for years, it is still not available.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/20
Charlene W.
Office Manager
Philanthropy
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/06/24

"11 years of satisfaction"

Pros: Microsoft Dynamics SL has a very user friendly AP/AR/GL data entry system. It is very easy to figure out and makes data entry a breeze. They have great customer service!

Cons: There is still a lot of manual work to produce your monthly/quarterly/yearly financial reports. You are able to export the data into Excel to get the reports you need but there is not an easy/automated way to get those reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/06/24
Hanna B.
Full-Time Student
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/31

"Big Fan of the Functionality"

Comments: As a PM manager of a coffee shop, professionalism and communication is key. This program allows us to introduce and share a number of thoughts, maintain finances (such as projects on a budget), assign tasks where needed, and much more. These are important concepts that many other programs lack (in sum). I have been extremely satisfied with all Microsoft products, and this only affirms that appreciation for their quality.

Pros: Better budgeting options, assigning/creating specific tasks that allow others to be engaged and the business to grow.

Cons: More options regarding inventory would be a helpful addition to the program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/31
Jeff H.
Owner
Telecommunications, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/04

"Easy to use"

Comments: Very easy and user-friendly it has a very good layout and setup is easy.

Pros: Setup

Cons: Startup time

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/04
Elethabeth I.
Computer Technician
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/11

"Great software"

Comments: It is user friendly. It is easy to use and very helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/11
Hemanshu P.
CEO
Architecture & Planning, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/09

"MS Dynamics Review"

Comments: My experience has been mixed with this platform. It does the GL accounting part fairly well. IT has limited functionality in terms of effective project management. The system reports are very basic requiring extensive external data manipulation and custom report writing. It's a reasonably priced solution.

Pros: - Low Total Cost of Ownership
- Ease of implementation
- Reasonable GL accounting module

Cons: - PM capabilities are very limited
- Canned system reports are limited
- Multi-currency financials are challenging requiring third party solutions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/09
Nilesh K.
GA
Primary/Secondary Education, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/03

"Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL"

Comments: Great ERP system, used it for project management and reporting finance. Amazing for for cost allocations, markups, and pricing. It has a strong independent Users Group. Customization is very easy and contains a lot of otions for the same. Ability to Copy/Paste into Dynamics SL has always been a strength- especially from Excel. Documentation needs some improvement though (you can find more details online, that is always there!).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/03
Rajesh L.
Consultant
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/24

"Microsoft Dynamics SL review"

Pros: Finance is very powerful
Project Accounting is very good in it

Cons: Technical resources hard to find for SL as compared to GP

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/24
Ben B.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/08

"Dynamics SL"

Comments: We use Dynamics SL as our financial suite and it does a very good job. We utilize the Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, General Ledger, and Budgeting / Forecasting modules.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/08
John C.
Training Manager
Accounting
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/08/18

"Simplistic made more simplistic"

Pros: It really helped optimize our practice, the vendor has been very helpful with providing content utilized for training.

Cons: The price point was great for us because we do have budget concerns.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/08/18
Sazzadun nabi S.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/08
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/08
Justin C.
Recruiting
Management Consulting, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/27

"Microsoft Dynamics"

Comments: Microsofts POS system has been very easy to learn and very straight forward.

Pros: Was able to teach employees how to use system with great ease.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/27
Jeff L.
CFO
Philanthropy, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/10

"Tough to use, makes reconciliations a nightmare"

Comments: Investigate NetSuite. I've heard it's better.

Pros: -The biggest pro with Dynamics SL is the interchange functionality with Excel. Exports from Dynamics SL to Excel have the formulas pre-written, and the formatting isn't great but isn't crazy. Copy and paste a journal entry from Excel to the GL!!! Yes please!
-Subledgers are abundant.
-Useful and simple multicompany reporting.
-Good for project-based accounting I guess.

Cons: Where to start? CASH MANAGER AND BANK RECONCILIATIONS. The biggest thing that drives me crazy about Dynamics SL is that users can enter an accounting event, say a check, where the check date is different than the transaction date and both are different than the post date. In other words, there is no control function over periods!!!! One transaction could impact three different periods. Go back to the check example, where a check cut on July 1 could have a period post of June 30 and a transaction date of August 1. The check shows in the GL in June, Cash manager in August, and AP aging and reports in July. Absolutely horrible control for an ACCOUNTING system.
-Not user friendly or simple to use. My staff all have over a year experience and still don't know where certain things are in the system.
-Requires a lot of third-party support, which piles on the consulting fees in addition to the fees paid for annual maintenance to Microsoft.
-DSLUG [Dynamics SL user group] doesn't seem very user friendly either. My guess is that most outstanding organizations are on different software.
I suppose there are a lot of "hidden tricks" which make you valuable if you know the system inside and out, but since most users can't just pick it up off the street [even with an accounting background], they end up paying a lot to the consultants.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/10
Michelle W.
Financial Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/07

"We have been able to customize SL to make it work for our company needs"

Pros: This software is easy to pull any data you need through quick queries with the export to excel feature.

Cons: There is quite a bit of setup going into programming to get it to run the way you need it because there's different pieces to get the system to work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/07