Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,3 /5

About Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT

Financial Edge NXT delivers complete fund accounting features so you can streamline financial processes and demonstrate accountability.

Learn more about Blackbaud Financial Edge NXT

Showing 162 reviews

Chris N.
Manager, Information Systems
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/18

"Excellent!"

Pros: Easy to Use and access. I would recommend Raiser's Edge to anyone. Once you have aligned your system with Finance reports are really easy to produce.

Cons: Raiser's Edge has so many fields that can be used or created, if you don't have an established process things can get messy like any database.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/18
Lisa B.
Development Director
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/31

"Financial Edge: Ease in Monthly Reporting"

Comments: Financial Edge, once everyone on the team got familiar with the process, provided accurate and easy monthly reporting. It has safe guards against human error and asks questions through the closing process that allow you to correct any mistakes.

Pros: Financial Edge, coupled with Raiser's Edge fundraising software provides seamless financial reporting opportunities for non-profits. I would suggest that you partner RE and FE together to maximize the horse power of both products.

Cons: Financial Edge and Raiser's Edge have a learning curve if you have never used the software before. When converting from another software, work closely with your Blackbaud team to ensure a successful transition.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/31
Lisa T.
CRM Manager
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/23

"FENXT - Changing with the times"

Comments: Keep listening to your customer base. This is a great product and it's getting better all the time.

Pros: FENXT is a very robust product. This web-based product is being enhanced constantly. The folks at Blackbaud have been very responsive to customer feedback and if there is a functionality that isn't there, they do their best to make sure that if it's possible, it is implemented. Very happy with how the product has evolved.

Cons: My suggestion at this time would be to wait until features are closer to being released before announcing them. Very frustrating when you know that something you need is going to be added but then it take six months for it to be ready.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/23
Greg S.
CFO
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/04

"Great to stay up-to-date"

Pros: This was the best option for our organization as we have a large amount of staff that are in need of quick access to financial and budget information. Being a cloud system, this has allowed our staff to have quick access at any place in the world to stay informed.

Cons: Speed. I know a lot has to do with internet connection but even in places where we have fiber internet connection, the load time is lacking. This is a great opportunity area for improvement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/04
Nate R.
Accountant
Government Administration, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/16

"Good Software but Pricey"

Comments: Financial Edge does everything we need in office except for a few minor things. However, because the annual cost has gotten so high, it does not feel like we get much value for what we are paying anymore.

Pros: Software is powerful and fairly easy to use. Support is generally quick and helpful. Can do everything from payroll, to AR to AP.

Cons: Very expensive. Annual cost has gotten to the point where it almost matches what it would cost us to implement another software suite entirely.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/16
Karen T.
Partners in Mission
Religious Institutions, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/04

"eTapestry is very robust and comparable to RaisersEdge, for a smaller scale organization."

Comments: This is an easy to use software tool!

Pros: The query, reporting and newly added wealth rating features are easy to use and has assisted in the improvement of my interaction with donors.

Cons: Updates sometime cause changes in the queries and or account that need to be updated. If I do not check the updates, my reporting could go wrong.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/04
Rebeka S.
Program Director
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/02

"Financial Edge NXT"

Pros: Financial Edge NXT is fairly easy to use in that the search functionality is intuitive and the software has the ability to be quite comprehensive, depending on how familiar you are with working in it and how much information you choose to input. The more you put in, literally and figuratively, the more you will get out of it.

Cons: I wish that all of the Blackbaud programs would integrate easier across the platforms. I find that I need to open several programs to get comprehensive information.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/02
Charlene W.
Office Manager
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/19

"Financial Edge"

Comments: We are in the process of switching over to Financial Edge. This has been a quite a setup. The features that this offers for reporting are just insane! You may still need to customize a few reports but if you play with the system long enough you can manipulate what is there to work for you. The support team is amazing! They are right there to answer calls and if you are lucky enough to get a good one they might just share an email address with you.

Pros: Customer support
Upload your data input or do data entry, you can do either.
Reports are easy to use and read.
Cloud-based = work from anywhere

Cons: We had some issues but with the help of customer support we are working thru them and putting them behind us.
Set up is a little pricey but in the end, it will be worth it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/19
June S.
Asst Accounting Supervisor
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/30

"Accounting Support"

Comments: The exporting from the cloud requires multiple steps.

Pros: The dashboard and real time updates enable us to get an accurate update on accounts. We can get an immediate picture of budgets etc.

Cons: Exporting excel spreadsheets and crystal reports is an issue. Files must first be saved to a cloud folder and then opened and processed on your hard drive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/30
Mark W.
Controller
Philanthropy, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/27

"Very good software for nonprofits of all sizes"

Comments: I have used Financial Edge 7 for Nonprofits after having used QuickBooks Online, Abila (fka Sage), and Microsoft GP Dynamics for nonprofit financials. I find Financial Edge to be the best of the four softwares that I have used. It is the most intuitive of the four that I have used. The biggest help to me is Blackbaud's outstanding support system. In addition to a great FAQ section on their website and many paid training sessions, Blackbaud offers a free chat service with knowledgeable tech representatives able to assist in most questions.

Pros: Intuitive mapping of how to complete processes, dynamic reporting and general ledger options, excellent support.

Cons: No ability to "drill down" into reports (something that is fixed in Financial Edge NXT), some slower processes in general.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/27
Randall M.
Associate Director, Database and Finance
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/23

"Excellent upgrade of legacy financial system"

Pros: Being able to add attachments easily, record journal entries easily, and add vendors easily are great. The report looks a lot cleaner, and having click-through capabilities on the reports is huge.

Cons: There are still features that have not been migrated, including some we use regularly. I'm hoping all AP and budget features are migrated soon so we don't have to keep toggling between the interfaces.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/23
Christine D.
Administrative Assistant
Accounting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/05/20

"I have been working with The Financial Edge program for 15 years."

Pros: The program does so much that makes me more efficient at my job as MS/US Administrative Assistant at an Independent school. Whenever I am stuck and can't figure out something, the people at Blackbaud are quick to lead me to an answer and they are ALWAYS personable & friendly.

Cons: There is nothing that I do not like. There are facets that I still need to learn or to master, however.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/05/20
Verified Reviewer
Controller-Retired
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/06

"Financial Edge by Blackbaud"

Comments: Overall had a very positive experience with it.....used it for years. Hardly any complaints.

Pros: Functionality.......covers just about everything one would want an Accounting software to do.

Cons: Times out on the user sometimes. A little complicated to learn but good once it is mastered.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/06
Samantha S.
Primary/Secondary Education
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3,5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/11/10

"Financial Edge is servicable, but not outstanding"

Pros: It is a useful product and, including the Whipplehill brand that Blackbaud recently acquired, it is one of the only tools that fulfills this purpose in the school market. It runs reliably and rarely crashes. I like that information can be easily added to data tables (titles, grades, relationships etc).

Cons: Financial Edge is not very user-friendly or intuitive to use. There are so many tabs and fields, and they can get very confusing. Also, there are some required fields that can be frustrating (I might not know the gender of a child with a gender neutral name). And while the looks of the program don't actually affect its functionality, the program looks very outdated which does not inspire confidence in new users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/11/10
Verified Reviewer
Donor Relations Assistant
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/14

"One if the easiest of the Black Baud software."

Pros: It tracks every transaction that you have made from online donation form, Raiser's Edge, and Raiser's Edge NXT. You can search by dates, batch numbers, names, and eve amount. So it is very versatile with how you would like to search things. Financial edge is really straightforward and easy to set up.

Cons: If you are in a work place that is really large Financial Edge sometimes goes really slow. i spoke to our tech about it, be he said it is just the website/software and our building.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/14
Jody M.
CFO
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/25

"Easy transition"

Comments: Very user friendly and love reports.

Pros: easy to use and set up company with multiple funding streams. I am able to run multiple reports that work well with my financial statement requirements.

Cons: I am unhappy that I cannot scan invoices and attach as backup to bills as I can do in QuickBooks. I have to have my own scan file to use instead of using the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/25
Jaclyn L.
Controller
Philanthropy, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/14

"Evaluated system to replace legacy general ledger system"

Comments: Do your homework when looking for a new general ledger system. Make sure to ask a lot of questions and ensure you get the answers you are looking for. Also- check references for the system to ensure it can do what the developer tells you it can do.

Pros: The system seemed slick and able to integrate with other vendors (they had marketplace partners that they integrated with). I also liked the system in that it linked with the Development software that we currently use. The system also offered nice dashboard capabilities and reporting that appeared to be easy to customize. In addition, the system was cloud based on would come with frequent updates (that would not result in software changes on individual workstations and data transfers etc.).

Cons: When evaluating this product I found that the customer support was less than stellar (and that was when they were trying to sell me the system). I asked several questions related to system capabilities surrounding specific processes the agency had (and whether the system could make those processes more efficient). I did not receive timely responses or in some instances any response at all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/14
Melissa S.
Development and Events Specialist
Philanthropy, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/21

"Wonderful Reports"

Pros: The reports and dashboards are very helpful in providing a snapshot of fundraising efforts. The software is intuitive and easy to use. It's also helpful to be able to log on remotely and work off-site.

Cons: The price is high, especially for smaller nonprofits. There is not as much functionality as Financial Edge.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/21
Rebekah S.
Chief Development Officer
Environmental Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/27

"Great product, but installation and set-up support could be a lot better"

Comments: Integration with Raisers Edge, easier financial reporting, jazzier charts and graphs.

Pros: The integration with Raisers Edge is critical. It's helpful that the interface is so similar to RE, making it easier to understand.

Cons: The set-up support leaves a lot to be desired, but once you are up and running, the support is fairly good.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/27
Emily V.
Development Services
Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/28

"Easy to use"

Pros: There is a lot of training available for Financial Edge. It integrates smoothly with Raiser's Edge and it is easy to teach new people without having to do ALL of the training.

Cons: If something is not set up properly at the beginning it's a lengthy process to correct. It is very possible to correct and Blackbaud is very helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/28
Claire D.
Philanthropy
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/10/28

"Financial Edge grows with us"

Pros: The accounting system can be easily expanded to cover additional modules (GL, AP, AR, Cash Receipts, Fixed Assets, etc.) and the system itself can be easily modified to meet additional funder reporting needs for tracking various fields of data.

Cons: It's expensive, but worth it if you can find a good financing deal!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/10/28
Stacey V.
Information Systems Manager
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/30

"Amazing"

Pros: One pro of FE NXT is that you are not having to use an old clunky software anymore. You can use FE NXT from any location.

Cons: On thing that I like least is that not all the features are up and running yet. But Blackbaud is always improving. I would like to get away from using Citrix.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/30
Tony B.
Accounting
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/10/28

"Great product for comprehensive school operations"

Pros: The unified database between FE and EE, and all of the submodules, is vital to our operation. The unified SIS is a strong point.

Cons: There are some processes that are a bit complex and could be simplified.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/10/28
Deenah M.
Philanthropy
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/11/13

"The best nonprofit accounting software"

Pros: It's easy to navigate within all the modules of the software.

Cons: There is nothing that I have come across that I don't like about this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/11/13
Victoria W.
Director of Finance
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/30

"Financial Edge is indispensible for us"

Comments: We have been able to run a very busy finance office with only 1.5 employees for several years now. We also have been able to do much more efficient and flexible reporting to business units (detail) and to board management (summary).

Pros: The NXT online service is very easy to use and very flexible to our needs for reporting. The support is good, most reps are very responsive and I love Blackbaud University.

Cons: It's really expensive. And requests for customization are hard to get through. But it's overall so easy to use that we can live with the small tweaks for now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/30