Workday Adaptive Planning Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,5 /5

About Workday Adaptive Planning

Business budgeting software that provides a company with the financial and operational information it needs to make better decisions.

Learn more about Workday Adaptive Planning

Showing 183 reviews

Lucas V.
Jr. Finance Analyst
Events Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/01/31

"Great integration for the Workday enviroment"

Comments: It's a great tool for managing datasets via your browser. Downloading enormous datasets for changing only one or two things just to upload it all again it's a big pain that Adaptive saves you from.

Pros: Adaptive is the next best thing you can have when managing large sets of data right from your browser. Instead of having to download big spreadsheets, it can do the heavy lifting for you right from your browser. Tools like pivot tables are easy to do and feature-rich.

Cons: When dealing with very, very large datasets, it can take some time for processing each requested step in Adaptive, giving you sometimes a lengthy loading screen.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/01/31
Sameer V.
Systems Accountant
Chemicals, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/14

"Adaptive User"

Comments: excellent tool for forecasting, budgeting and reporting

Pros: Very easy to use and set up as well, also easy to able to be deployed across the business and user training required is minimal.

Cons: to start with it is cloud based and very easy to begin with

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/14
Krystyna L.
Quality Assurance Manager
Information Technology & Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/30

"Adaptive Insights impresses even more than expected"

Pros: Our employees were used to working with Excel spreadsheets. We considered such an approach not completely effective, so our choice turned next to Adaptive Insights. There are no restrictions on the size of the documents. This program is synchronized with other applications, including such important for us solutions like SAP and Oracle. We like the high accuracy of the reports we can create on the tool’s base. It is also important that all data are in one place and don’t require much effort for their processing and analysis. Adaptive Insights is a multifunctional tool with a robust and well-thought-out suite of features. This application allows our employees to track finances, budgets, sales, resources, and labor contribution. With its help, our company’s managers are also able to collect divergent data, make various kinds of reports, build models, and make optimal business decisions.

Cons: It would be better if Adaptive Insights had an opportunity to filter for specific months while working with spreadsheets. This lack of functionality makes our work a bit confusing sometimes. We wouldn’t mind adding more advanced features to the planning tools as well. We believe it would behoove this product if it had several tutorial videos on how to use it to the full extent. Even though we find this tool user-friendly, it doesn’t mean at all that it is so for every company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/30
Brad M.
Sr. Director, Finance
Biotechnology, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/27

"Outstanding Planning and Reporting Platform"

Comments: We plan at a very granular level, and Adaptive's formulas and overall approach to modeling has made this tool a pleasure to work with. Like any new tool, it took our team a little bit of time (~3 months) of getting used to it, but this is simply a tool we can't live without now. In addition to the feature set, the customer support is outstanding. Very responsive to questions and highly knowledgeable on a variety of topics.

Pros: Feature set is very strong.
Customer support is among the best in the industry. Highly responsive to detailed technical questions.

Cons: Like any new platform, it took our team a few months after go-live to really utilize the power of the tool, but now it simply a resource that we can't live without.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/27
Robert S.
Accountant
Civic & Social Organization
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/03/10

"The software will change you life...Seriously!"

Pros: This suite of products have changed the way we inform our leadership of the state of our operations each month. We no longer spend days and days preparing dry financials. Now, we are generating useful statements in seconds along with instantaneously seeing that same financial and operational data visualized in Adaptive Discovery in our interactive scorecard. The ease of use, and the level of support are the two greatest things about Adaptive.

Cons: The tools do everything we ask of them, and more. The monthly load of data from our GL and the operational data from other source systems being a manual process is my ultimate least favorite thing. We are implementing the Adaptive Discovery connector so that the data will be loaded in the future at the push of a button. That should take care of it, though. I think if I had to identify my next least favorite thing it's probably the high bar that it sets for all of our other reporting from other systems.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/03/10
Stephen W.
Product Manager
10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/15

"AI Review"

Comments: This tool enables the user easily develop (with minimal time) a nicely tailored template for what-if and Actual situational planning, forecasting and reporting of a variety of metrics. Project / performance management is assisted greatly through liberal use of intuitive dashboards and analytical tools.

Pros: > Strong, secure environment - clearly developed with an appreciation of how to treat company sensitive data.
> Appropriate security levels are easily established and maintained.
> Cloud-based connectivity is the only way to go - AI does a nice job of leveraging this platform.

Cons: > Some effort is required for setup as programming keys are built on a one-by-one basis and thus training is essential for the new user.
> From an international perspective, the consolidation of multiple currency / FX data needs additional development.
> MS Office connectivity is too limited and the user is tempted to use other sw apps where integration is superior to AI architecture.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/15
Sean N.
Analytics Supervisor
Hospital & Health Care, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/01

"Proactivity over Reactivity"

Comments: Our initial implementation was rough. Our 3rd party consultant tried to fit our unique companies into their cookie-cutter implementation package and it didn't work out. Since rebuilding on our own, we have a model that works well for our family of companies and we are able to continually improve in conjunction with frequent Adaptive Suite upgrades and continued learning.

Pros: Ease of use, customer service.

Cons: Web reporting

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/01
Chris W.
Sales Manager
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/28

"Great tool of value!"

Pros: User friendly and adaptable. Will help keep you organized and get the job done. Budgeting and forecasting creation was excellent. Helped with a focus on KPI's and benefitted from building dashboard. Great experience with customer service. Very friendly and quick to respond.

Cons: Set up took awhile. Slight learning curve. At times page loading slow. As a netsuite user I have had data integration issues. Adaptive did its job. No other complaints.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/28
Chris S.
Senior Financial Analyst
Financial Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/02/24

"Adaptive Planning Has Saved Us Thousands of Hours"

Comments: Have been using Adaptive Planning since 2012 for two different companies. The software has steadily improved to handle most of the complexities of our business. The user interface is intuitive and the way it integrates actuals from our accounting software with various versions of forecasts and budgets is a huge timesaver. On top of that, data can be easily accessed through reports or an Office add in.

Pros: The best things about Adaptive Planning are its ability to integrate actuals and budgets/forecasts, its reporting capabilities, the fact that it's cloud based, and the ability to create complex financial models to track and report on business in a dynamic fashion.

Cons: The only issue our company has with Adaptive Planning is that our business model is very complex and hard to duplicate in the Adaptive model. That is not Adaptive's fault, but more so in the implementation and due to ever changing and more complex expectations from management.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/02/24
Rick S.
Manager FP&A
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/03/19

"Adaptive Insights - Planning and Discovery"

Pros: AI allows for you to build a highly customized model for real-time scenario planning, forecasting and analysis of not only financial metrics, but on the overall operation as well. Through intuitive dashboards with visual analytics that provide drill down capabilities, users can easily participate in complete performance management. The software has allowed finance to become a strategic partner with the rest of the operation.

Cons: I have not found anything negative about this solution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/03/19
Flavio S.
Financial Controller
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/23

"Good product ignore you are a serious user."

Comments: Extremely flexible planning and reporting tool. Requires good knowledgeable about (I) the business, (ii) company's finance and accounting practices and (iii) ERP and ancillary systems.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/23
Elton L.
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/07/02

"Review on Adaptive Insights"

Pros: This product is quite user-friendly once you go through the product training. I particular like the report feature where you can design the reports you need, and it can replace all the Excel spreadsheets you need to create by yourself with all the formula links.

Cons: I think the product would be even more useful if we could fully utilize its budgeting function. However, this is mostly our internal issue rather than the issues with the product or vendor. One weakness I would point out is about the foreign exchange rate that can be applied to the B/S and P/L. The system basically provides two different rates per currency per month (EOM rate and Monthly Average rate). In reality, in B/S, you will have accounts that need to apply historical rates like fixed assets so none of these two rates can be used.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/07/02
Dan G.
Finance Manager
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/07

"Awesome tool for budgeting and forecasting. We don't even maximize the product and still love it!"

Comments: The ability to ditch Excel for our annual budget process

Pros: The ability to track payroll, depreciation, and other "sheets" to roll up in the data. Also, we load actuals from our G/L to help with forecasting. Overall, an awesome product.

Cons: Not to much to say here, but there are some complex formulas that need to be written at times. Need to be very careful the data is pulling from the proper sheets when creating a new version(s).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/07
Verified Reviewer
Senior Financial Analyst
Research, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/02/25

"Adaptive Planning is 100 times better than an Excel Spreadsheet"

Comments: Prior to Adaptive Planning, my company used 100's of complex spreadsheets for our annual budgeting process. The system is configured to do everything our spreadsheets did for us and more. No more formatting spreadsheets for each of our 90 depts...

Pros: Add assumptions one time and all applicable areas are updated.

Cons: Version protection could be better. Some changes in assumptions aren't version specific, therefore previously locked versions are affected. This is not good for companies that use prior budget versions for benchmarking purposes. The reporting module could be a little more robust but can give you some nice basic reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/02/25
Lenny W.
Management Reporting Analyst (Senior Level) - previsouly Analyst, Financial Reporting
Maritime, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/02/24

"Working with Adaptive Insights is a breeze"

Comments: We have been using Adaptive Insights for over 4 years. So far we are a happy camper. We are happy with our investment and choice. Adaptive greatly cut down our time in deploying and completing our annual budgets.

Pros: - Quick and easy to consolidate all accounts for all business units
- Status tracking is made easy
- Superb customer services

Cons: Would love to see the changes in future releases:
- Ability to import formulas rather than having to manually set up 1000+ formulas in Adaptive;
- Ability to line up notes in reports

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/02/24
Billy M.
Financial Analyst
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/27

"High learning curve; good product for reporting and planning"

Pros: it could integrate with database, and have live data. It has feature like discovery to produce dashboard. Has regular new features rolled out.

Cons: the setup takes a long time, and it is not very good for non-profit. lack of update/training for customer to learn new features

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/27
Scott K.
Senior Financial Analyst
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/05/10

"Great Cloud based budgeting/forecasting/analytics solution"

Comments: We're about 2 months into our implementation of Adaptive Insights, and I can see that it is a great solution. We've been able to connect to multiple databases and bring all our data together under one house- which is huge for us. We're setting up driver-based forecast models, and the is great. Our forecast models were in Excel before, and they were getting to the point that they were becoming unsustainable with the growth we've been experiencing. Adaptive appears to be a great solution for creating scalability in our models. It allows multiple users to access their individual portions of the company's forecast and to make their own inputs. This software is a must for growing companies who want to keep their forecasting and modelling in line with their growth.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/05/10
Rick S.
Manager, FP&A
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014/08/21

"Adapt to Adaptive"

Comments: As a FP&A analyst, I have implemented Adaptive Insight's cloud based planning software multiple times across several organizations. Each time, our end users found the tool to be intuitive while increasing the accuracy of their forecasts and budgets while minimizing the time spent in completing the task at hand. Regardless of size, complexity or organizational structure, the application can be easily customized for any organization to produce a full set of financials. Coupled with dynamic reporting and visual analytics both with drill down capability in addition to the ability to quickly crank out various scenarios based upon key financial/operational metrics, Adaptive Insights is a must for any organization that has to produce forecasts. Evolve from excel and adapt to Adaptive!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014/08/21
Shivakshi C.
Software Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/09

"Adaptive Insights"

Comments: There is nothing else out there that is even close to Adaptive Insights. Perfect solution for planning, consolidations, reporting and analysis. Nobody else is even close to it. Appropriate for multiple users, in multiple locations and security is of major concern as the security provided by them is amazing.

Pros: User Friendly.
Amazing user interface.
Simple and very poewrful.
Amazing customer support.
Data Integration.

Cons: Cost is high.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/09
Maria belén G.
Senior analyst
Automotive, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/06/17

"Business Intelligence Planning"

Comments: We started using excel for our budgeting processes and felt that much time was being spent in formulating instead of analyzing. With Adaptive we have become a driver based company and the excecutives can have all the information at hand any where. We are able to do different scenarios in minutes and has saved some much of our time.

Pros: It´s adaptability

Cons: The formulas can sometimes be difficult to create. You really need to know the language

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/06/17
Brian L.
Sr. Mgr Taxation and FP&A
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/11/18

"Versatile and Powerful Planning Software"

Comments: Adaptive is a very powerful FP&A software. The pros are the ability to customize it to meet virtually any planning need you have. The security options are very good compared to other products. The cons are the lengthy learning process to get accustomed to it, and to be able to build it or adapt it to meet your needs, but that is only because it is such a powerful tool. It is very worthwhile to pay for implementation services at least early on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/11/18
Thomas P.
Directer, Finance
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014/06/03

"Adaptive uses Adaptive"

Comments: I'm a member of the FP&A group at Adaptive. We -- of course -- use Adaptive internally to plan, report and manage our business. For a fast growing tech company where plans are constantly changing the tool is invaluable. We are able to easily run different growth scenarios and assess the cash implications, and the tool is easy enough for department heads to participate directly -- each manages their own P&L complete with headcount and expenses.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014/06/03
Jake j. D.
Sr. Manager, Revenue Accounting
Computer Software, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/03/16
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/03/16
Antony W.
  • Overall Rating
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/07/16

"Very Positive Experience with Adaptive"

Pros: This is a very user-friendly product that allows you to customize your report layout. The vendor is very supportive.

Cons: The thing I like least is probably that the product does not follow the same logic as MS Excel.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/07/16
Barry B.
Assistant Buyer
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/30

"Powerful aid in planning effectively, visualising performanc,e monitoring results, intuitive"

Pros: Adaptive Insights is called 'adaptive' for a reason - it has a dynamic response to data and reporting- it takes planning, budgeting and forecasting processes out of the realm of slow and manual planning. You can personalise and generate self-intereactive dashboards and charts.

Cons: Its use of Java slows down responsiveness at times dependent on the browser or version of Java installed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/30