Microsoft Dynamics GP Reviews

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Microsoft Dynamics GP

Efficiently manage accounting and finances, distribution, projects, HR processes and customer relationship management.

Learn more about Microsoft Dynamics GP

Showing 109 reviews

Una H.
Controller
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/16

"Solid mid market ERP system"

Pros: It is a comprehensive solution, with solid add-ons to compensate for deficits in the core system. We run a manufacturing operation with deep. multi level BOMs and FIFO costing, GP manages it very well. AP, AR and GL are solid. The smartlists are a nice reporting tool, where you can drop the data into excel for easy analysis.

Cons: The front end has a clunky feel. On the back end trying to find the table the data is stored in takes a lot of time so the learning curve from a reporting sense is very long. The SQL tables are sparse - so you could end up having to add several tables to a query just so you can connect the one table you need. Report writing process is long and arduous initially. It is really expensive to upgrade. Other solutions in past lives have required minimal tech support to upgrade, this is a major process to upgrade and therefore very expensive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/16
Wassim R.
Consulting Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/18

"Reliable software"

Comments: Good experience

Pros: It's very reliable, scalable, has deep functionality and is well served by a large number of add-on vertical and other solutions

Cons: The user interface is quite old and does not resemble what modern day users would expect

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Arshad Z.
Senior Accountant
Philanthropy, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/15

"Easy to use, convenient to have web access, but lack of features"

Comments: A decent system to use, but was disappointing due to the lack of flexibility in terms of generating reports/export functions - not as great as I would have expected from a Microsoft product.

Pros: -Web access
-Single database
-Integration with a variety of reporting suites
-A widely use system since it is Microsoft based, and a huge community to get help with if there are any issues

Cons: Not truly web-based as it relies on the program to be housed on a server;
-Limited in terms of GL reports - cannot jump ranges of accounts, or have multiple ranges in a single report like our old system
-takes a while to load reports like SmartList Favourites, and does not have as much flexibility as our old system
-freezes quite a lot
-tax limitations on the Accounts Payable module
-Desktop version slow

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/15
Vinay M.
VP Business of Operations
Retail, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/04/24

"Needs better built in reports"

Pros: Good controls with audit trail. Has good importing function for Journal entries and inventory receipts to facilitate a 3 way match.

Cons: Needs better reports built into the system and not reply solely on Management Reporter. Preexisting list of reports added to smartlist.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/04/24
Diem R.
Accountant
Accounting, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/28

"This software is easy to function for daily accounting tasks"

Comments: I use this software for daily accounting tasks such as recording journal entries, keep tracks of payments and invoices. It is super easy to function the software. I have such great experience using this software and would recommend it to mid-size businesses.

Pros: This software is very easy to use compare with other accounting software such SAP. The price is reasonable. The worksheet is clear, understandable, less complicated. I would recommend this software to a medium size business.

Cons: The least things about this software is it cannot show the entire balance sheet of a period.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/28
Jennifer B.
Consultant
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/07/09

"I've used Dynamics GP to manage our business for a couple years."

Pros: I like the automation tools and the reporting. We can effectively and efficiently run our business and accommodate for growth without adding people to the accounting department. We also get real time financial reports for management.

Cons: Microsoft is always coming out with updated versions. I wish we didn't have to upgrade as often.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/07/09
Senando B.
MIS/I. T.
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/15

"Great erp software"

Comments: When you have dynamics gp your business is kn good hand.

Pros: Dynamics gp Is a great tools that helps our company to monitor the sales, production, accounting, inventory and financial status. With this application our company runs well with organize and realible date.

Cons: A non technical person cannot configure or install it on their own. We need expert ot licensed person to implement it which is I think another cost

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/15
Scott D.
IT Director
Accounting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/18

"Dynamics GP Finance and Manufacturing"

Pros: Sits on the MS stack and works well for the smaller growing business.

Cons: The amount of Add-on's required to meet all our functional needs and keeping them aligned.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/18
Karen P.
Office Support Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/21

"Horrible experience with this software!"

Comments: Terrible software. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Pros: It seemed like it had a lot of features at the beginning that we were very excited to implement in our company.

Cons: All of the amazing features turned out to be not so amazing once we began to implement them. For one, everything was extremely complex and very non-user friendly. Second of all, we were promised that it would do more than it was actually able to do. And lastly, it had a ton of glitches that were constantly having to be ironed out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Russell M.
International Buyer
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/11

"Good for ERP, Bad for MRP"

Comments: When using great plains, I have found the software to be easily navigable, but fairly poor for being a robust ERP system. I work on the supply chain when I use ERP systems, and I wished it had better planning and MRP features. I ended up using spreadsheets as an MRP and planning tool!!

Pros: Easily navigable

Cons: Planning and MRP

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/11
Colte K.
Banking
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/02/11

"Like with most software, everything depends on the implementation"

Pros: Microsoft is continuously putting R&D into this product and there are a lot of add-on functionalities in the marketplace.

Cons: Microsoft didn't offer much in the way of recommending a good implementation partner.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/02/11
Tommy B.
IT Director
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/01/19

"Real Pain, keep dreaming of moving out."

Pros: Been supporting Dynamics GP for years, and I don't see anything good. If the migration wasn't so hard... This is a Microsoft application, using Microsoft technology, meaning it uses SQL Server as backend. Easy to backup, or copy company from prod to test. It uses SQL user, you can use it to configure your password requierments.

Cons: First, the way you need to install the client and dependencies is a real pain. From computer to computer, you just can't get it work correctly.
Also, they keep session opened, and when you GP crash, you need to "DELETE" the session, really?
Switching across companies is very... painful
They don't always ask to change the date when you keep GP open overnight. And when it does, if you switch companies, it won't change the date on the other companies if it was already open overnight...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/01/19
Allen V.
Sales rep
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/07

"East,reliable ,simple"

Comments: This program has made work easier.Its a multi funtion program that has help me so much.I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/07
Michael G.
CFO
Building Materials, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/10

"Helpful"

Comments: great tools for organizing and managing your business

Pros: great support and training

Cons: very extensive, ie: lots of options

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/10
Ed J.
Ed J.
Director of Sales
Chemicals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2015/09/15
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2015/09/15
Kevin L.
Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/01
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/01
Sazzadun nabi S.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/08
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/08
Kevin J.
Owner
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/14

"I had problems with Microsoft."

Comments: I had problems with Microsoft. Specifically, Microsoft crashed on 05/16. Unfortunately, Microsoft Office had a virus. Once I removed that virus, then I may be in a market for a new Toshiba Satellite Laptop. Previously, I had owned my Toshiba Satellite Laptop since 2009. So, I owned that lap for eight years.

Pros: Microsoft Office was good for three things. First, Microsoft Office helped me keep organized. Second, Microsoft Office helped with finances. Third, Microsoft Office helped with communication.

Cons: I had problems with Microsoft.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/14
Thanh t. N.
Senior Accountant - Full Cycle Accounting
Philanthropy, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/01

"GP is a functional product, but the user experience is not the best"

Pros: The software is relatively easy to use. The biggest advantage of GP is probably it is a Microsoft product, meaning GP works well with other Microsoft products, such as the Office suite. The learning curve is also not that steep if users are willing to learn through various blogs, videos (especially YouTube), and through Microsoft web site. The price is very competitive, comparing to leading-edge solution such as Intacct or NetSuite.

Cons: I am a big fan of anything on the Cloud. Our controller spends lots of time to upgrade GP through different version over the years (GP is hosted either on premise or through third-party vendor's server. Of course the upgrade or any troubleshooting is not that bad with the right support from a third vendor. However, this is not value-added function in accounting/finance. If I have a choice nowadays, I will go with Intacct or NetSuite. With a Cloud solution, users will have very little downtime. With an on-premise solution, at least in our experiences, we have lots of downtimes. Also for some reasons the software requires us to reboot the backend server from time to time due to software bugs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/01
Carson G.
Accountant
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/27

"Dynamics GP High end accounting software thats usable"

Comments: Great product, huge upgrade over SBM, but could be so much better if they streamlined the processes, and made it easier to find help in setting everything up. typical microsoft where user friendliness is a concept they simply dont understand

Pros: Can do most everything you can think of, workflow makes sense, cheque writing and invoice entry features are easy to use, once youve got the report functions figured out, can customize them to your needs for the most part

Cons: way too many keystrokes to perform the entries you need to make, some reports such an income statement are incomplete with no way to create them the way you want, error messages are pretty much useless unless youre an experienced user, even then, they can be difficult to cipher, looking for answers for how to do things is very poor, and because they keep updating/changing the interface without warning, many of the steps shown are out of date, thereby useless

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/27
Shane P.
Consultant
Accounting
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/03/04

"ERP with a familiar MS Office feel"

Pros: Microsoft Dynamics GP does a great job of integrating into the other mainstream Microsoft productivity applications many organizations implement, and it offers some great familiarity that helps someone new to the software feel more comfortable with using the application. Because it is a Microsoft product, there is also healthy mainstream/community support via online forums. And, of course, logical access is simplified thanks to integration with Microsoft's Active Directory but you may also opt for SQL Server database logical access as well.

Cons: Microsoft Dynamics GP is very light on Customer Relationship Management (CRM) features. Customer accounts and details can be stored in the software for invoicing and other accounting functions, but much is left to be desired. Microsoft instead points you to buying additional software, such as their Dynamics CRM product which integrates nicely with Dynamics GP but adds on additional licensing costs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/03/04
Tony C.
PLM Admin
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/04/09

"Very Powerful Tool that can be Difficult to Use"

Pros: Overall, Microsoft Dynamics GP is a powerful and complex accounting and financial management tool. My favorite parts of the software is that the reports are customizable, and there is a lot you can do with them. Another positive is that the forms and records offer a tremendous amount of detail. An important feature of MS Dynamics GP is the multiple dashboards available, though they can be overwhelming. One of the more useful ones is the Business Analyzer, which gives multiple options of which KPIs and other bits of data are shown and displayed in separate windows. These can be re-sized and moved around on your monitor so that what you need to see can be seen when you need to see it, if that makes sense.

Cons: The main negative is that it can be difficult to use. The processes for doing thing are not intuitive and are unlike other similar systems. The entire user interface feels like something from the early 2000s. Compared to some of the similar products, I believe Dynamics GP would require a bit more training for the general user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/04/09
Ron C.
CFO
Philanthropy, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/24

"Great Program"

Comments: Very good program
Functionality is better than any program I have used

Pros: Extremely easy to use for a variety of situations. Never had any unexpected errors as we did with other programs. Used it for 23 Branches and 15 program areas.
The ability to design your on statements with the report writer was great

Cons: Pricey
Needs its own budget program.
We had to design one and import/integrate the numbers in which was a headache

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/24
Desiree K.
Administrator
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/03/01

"GP Dynamics"

Comments: I have been using Great Plains product for over 25 years. It was one of the first companies to offer flexibility for company growth without limitations.

Pros: I love the security , and reports that can be created and exported to excel. Works great with Microsoft office suite since it is Microsoft owned

Cons: Learning curve getting use to. Very detailed setting up. Requires partner to install and support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/03/01
Anthony G.
Controller
Philanthropy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/06

"User friendly, would like more ability for slight customization."

Pros: Ease of usability. Like the ability to reconcile to General Ledger functionality. The ability to paste Journal entries.

Cons: Lack of customization. Would like ability to do small customization. Able to update accounts with ease.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/06