Microsoft Dynamics GP Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3,8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,5 /5
  • Customer Service
    3,6 /5

About Microsoft Dynamics GP

Efficiently manage accounting and finances, distribution, projects, HR processes and customer relationship management.

Learn more about Microsoft Dynamics GP

Showing 120 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Systems Consultant
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/29

"Not quite caught up to newer software"

Comments: I have used Microsoft Dynamics GP for over 20 years for various companies. The distribution modules are pretty strong and I have used those in many industries. There are a lot of options available now for automation and workflows which save time as well as missed opportunities. I have also been able to connect Dynamics GP to many external industry specific programs, saving data entry and errors.

Pros: It has a very strong financial backbone. Users are forced to view and verify accounting data during transactions in many areas. Since the software has been around for many years, there are a lot of ISVs offering add-on products for various needs. The backend is strong in that it is MS SQL Server.

Cons: There are some features that do not automatically come as part of the main package. Reporting, operational and financial, has been all over the place and is still not where it needs to be. There is not a lot of remote capabilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/29
Basil B.
Production Planning Engineer
Textiles, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/01/16

"Microsoft dynamics GP is a good ERP software package."

Comments: Very good experience with this software.very easy to use and good speed

Pros: Microsoft dynamics GP has a very effective PP module.It is used for production Planning and very easily everyone can make Master production schedule & Material Requirement plans..

Cons: It requires more updates and developments

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/01/16
Meghan Y.
peon
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/13

"DO NOT USE FOR PAYROLL"

Comments: I hate it so much that I am writing this review on a Friday night, while I wait to see if I anything I or IT can do will make it possible for my workers to get paid on time next week.

Pros: Nothing. I even hate the cutesy "wait while we get things ready for you" splash screen.

Cons: This is a terrible, horrible, very bad way for people to turn in timecards. I don't know whether it is actually saving the accountants any time, but it has turned the bi-weekly chore of turning in my own timecard and approving my subordinates' timecards a nightmare. It is kludgy and confusing, and about every other pay period something breaks and it takes hours to figure out what is wrong. This is a universal experience with the system for every employee and supervisor I have spoken with, except that many folks have had worse problems--some of our employees have gone up to two months without getting paid! It's incompetence bordering on criminal negligence.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/13
Tiffany C.
Accounts Payable
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/19

"2 years in to using GP16 and am comfortable navigating"

Pros: Our company has been able to implement many customizations for our needs. Once you learn where everything is, there is almost no end to how you can view data. The smart lists are amazing for compiling what you need in particular.

Cons: The interface is not the most user friendly. There can be many clicks before you get to where you need to be.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/19
Matt W.
Junior Accountant
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/10

"Behind the times"

Comments: In today's world, there are dozens of better accounting programs out there for a similar price that operate on a cloud system and are continually updated so that you are never behind the times. GP just feels obsolete.

Pros: It is cheap and gets the job done. There is a lot of help online if you need to figure out how to do something.

Cons: It is the least user-friendly software I may have ever seen. The reports are awful, not in places you would assume, and they dump out to excel in a way that makes me want to punch something.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/10
Daniel G.
IT Director
Retail
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/21

"Use Great Plains for our Accounting needs"

Pros: Microsoft has developed and maintained a great product to help businesses with accounting. Easily integrates into our point of sale system. Also with a great history, it is easy to find resources to help in any need.

Cons: For us we only scratch the surface of the software. It would be great if they had a scaled down version.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/21
Marielis H.
Cashier
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/07

"Marielis hernandez"

Comments: Is an excellent program. I like how it works is very professional and easy to use.

Pros: I like how it works when it comes to placing orders

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/07
Michael G.
CFO
Building Materials, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/10

"Helpful"

Comments: great tools for organizing and managing your business

Pros: great support and training

Cons: very extensive, ie: lots of options

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/10
Alexa V.
Administrative Assistant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/11

"Best accounting Software I’ve used till date!"

Pros: I am completely in love with program, it has been great to use it. It has been very useful and efficient whenever I find myself in a hurry.

Cons: I can say not many bad things about this product. It has helped overall in its usefulness. The only thing I would not be he very happy about is it’s price.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/11
Michael C.
IT Coordinator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/31
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/31
Sazzadun nabi S.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/08
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/08
Taylor C.
Bookkeeper
Accounting
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/12

"Microsoft Dynamics GP - Solid Product"

Pros: This product offers are good combination of functionality and simplicity.

Cons: Nothing negative to say - this product gets the job done

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/12
Kevin J.
Owner
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/14

"I had problems with Microsoft."

Comments: I had problems with Microsoft. Specifically, Microsoft crashed on 05/16. Unfortunately, Microsoft Office had a virus. Once I removed that virus, then I may be in a market for a new Toshiba Satellite Laptop. Previously, I had owned my Toshiba Satellite Laptop since 2009. So, I owned that lap for eight years.

Pros: Microsoft Office was good for three things. First, Microsoft Office helped me keep organized. Second, Microsoft Office helped with finances. Third, Microsoft Office helped with communication.

Cons: I had problems with Microsoft.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/14
Alan R.
Student
501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/22

"Microsoft Dynamics is garbage."

Cons: It is very slow to use. It took me a while to learn how to operate the system. I have not had a good time with customer support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/22
Rebekah R.
Student
501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/22

"Awesome"

Pros: This product has been super easy to learn how to use. I have enjoyed the interface and the ease of use.

Cons: It can take a while to pull up reports and perform other tasks. I would enjoy this more if I had more time to use it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/22
Verified Reviewer
Buyer
Machinery, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/25

"User friendly and versatile ERP"

Comments: I really liked using and implementing this ERP as users tends to like it and adpat very easy to it

Pros: I work for several years as a consultant implementing Microsoft Dynamics and I likes how user friendly this ERP is, is compatible with every Microsoft software, it is versatile and easy to use

Cons: It is not as strong in the manufacturing module as the most famous ERPs as it lacks on some concepts for manufacturing best practices, but for a small or medium company this ERP is more than enough

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/25
James X.
Senior Accountant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/14

"Senior Corporate Accountant"

Comments: I love GP. I have for years. I've been a GP consultant, and have been a user for eight years. Before making the decision to select an accounting package, ask such questions as: What types of financial statements do I want? How detailed do I want them? Do I want to create separate entities or will departments work? GP has a very simplistic, onboard report writer. But if you need the ability to customize your reports, you should consider FRx. I believe FRx may be called something different now. It has a very advanced set of allocation accounts that I highly recommend to anyone that has to allocate expenses.

Pros: t's role tailored software that's easy to implement and use
It looks and feels familiar to software your people use every day: Microsoft Office Excel, Outlook, and Word
It enables fast, relevant access to current and complete information about your business activities and operations
It goes beyond basic reporting and extends insight across your entire organization
It seamlessly integrates with your other technology platforms
It permits one to over 1,000 concurrent users
It's highly customizable with dozens of industry-specific solutions
It automates and standardizes recurring tasks
It's scalable, versatile and flexible

Cons: With respect to the allocations, once the expense is entered into the allocation account, you lose the ability to run any detail on just the total of the expense. It would be nice if you could run a trial balance on the allocation accounts the same way you can with regular accounts.
I've always thought security set up could be a bit simpler. It actually has gotten better through the years. Specifically, with eight separate entities, it would be nice to have a "master" setup where you could call up one group entity, assign the users rights, and then be finished. Currently, whenever I have a new user, I have to call up each individual entity and select all of the features I want the user to have. That means I have to do eight steps for each user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/14
Judith F.
Accounts Receiveable Technician / Rental Credit Officer
Industrial Automation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/06

"Microsoft Dynamics GP Manufacturing Rave"

Comments: I am a true believer in Microsoft GP products. This accounting software, although a bit cumbersome to initially learn, is well worth the education. The ease with which you can navigate from customer related transactions, to back end AR functions, and over to strictly financial entries, is incomparable. Many accounting software systems, although quick and easy, do not give you a clear overview of distribution and coding layout. GP allows you to clearly access what has been recorded, and makes it easy to reverse anything if necessary. The "Smart List" is one of it's finest features. This tool allows you to not only access reports, but to streamline, and create reports that are tailored specifically for your needs. I believe this is one of the best systems out there for processing of manufactured goods, and inventory control. I highly recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP - Manufacturing!

Pros: Report Building
Distribution and coding clarity
Easy navigation
Excellent Customer support

Cons: Product does bog down occasionally, if too many people are on it ( usually more a month end kind of issue)
Very detailed - makes for slower learning of system **However, in the end is worth the work**

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/06
Shane P.
Consultant
Accounting
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2,5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/03/04

"ERP with a familiar MS Office feel"

Pros: Microsoft Dynamics GP does a great job of integrating into the other mainstream Microsoft productivity applications many organizations implement, and it offers some great familiarity that helps someone new to the software feel more comfortable with using the application. Because it is a Microsoft product, there is also healthy mainstream/community support via online forums. And, of course, logical access is simplified thanks to integration with Microsoft's Active Directory but you may also opt for SQL Server database logical access as well.

Cons: Microsoft Dynamics GP is very light on Customer Relationship Management (CRM) features. Customer accounts and details can be stored in the software for invoicing and other accounting functions, but much is left to be desired. Microsoft instead points you to buying additional software, such as their Dynamics CRM product which integrates nicely with Dynamics GP but adds on additional licensing costs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/03/04
Linda R.
Procedure Control Manager
Banking, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/08

"Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Pros: This system is laid out like a folder on your PC, making it intuitive for most users to learn. The import/export functionality is robust and allowed my organization to seamlessly integrate external website sales into the order processing/accounting module. This was possible because the solution is sequel based.

Cons: In order to share reports, the solution requires SharePoint, and there are times when the system processes slowly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/08
Lauren S.
Accounting Supervisor
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/27

"Great software with great reporting functionality"

Pros: - ease of use once you know what you're doing
- ability to build smart lists, which is super helpful
- multi entity functionality

Cons: - no direct integration with tax software
- need to pair with reporting software to get accurate financial reporting
- need to log out to switch entities

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/27
Heather K.
Financial Analyst
Primary/Secondary Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/06/01

"Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Pros: Microsoft Dynamics GP is user friendly. It is easy to print trial balances and perform inquiries. Creating new accounts and entering journal entries are very straight forward. Management Reporter - the reporting package with Microsoft Dynamics GP is a step up from FRx.

Cons: One thing I find a bit confusing is creating smart lists. I'm sure with additional training, it would be much easier but this is the one area that I find not quite intuitive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/06/01
Sean A.
Controller
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/06/01

"Moved from QuickBooks to GP!"

Pros: Express Information Systems out of San Antonio, Texas worked REALLY hard with me and had me up and running in no time! I didn't miss the cut over and was even able to process my first payroll ON TIME!

Cons: A bit difficult to set up the way I needed it, but works great now!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/06/01