15 years helping South African businesses
choose better software

About Thrive

Transform your team's learning with Thrive - the fastest-growing, all-in-one LMS that proves the impact of learning.

Learn more about Thrive

Pros:

Ease of use for internal comms and regular, repeatable L&D.

Cons:

Some of the functionality can be odd - eg why can't we get live information on points, some people really want to know where they are on the leader board.

Thrive ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4,7
Customer Service
4,8
Features
4,3
Value for Money
4,8

Likelihood to recommend

8,9/10

Thrive has an overall rating of 4,7 out 5 stars based on 79 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Thrive before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (79)

Andy
Andy
Digital Learning Specialist in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Thrive

5,0 3 years ago

Comments: The overall experience has been amazing, from first initial meet up at the learning tech show, through onboarding and beyond launch, every step of the way they have been honest and helpful and always looking at ways to push us and themselves with their product

Pros:

i loved the fact that it looked fresh, new and completely different to the product my company and I were used to. We needed something different and we got it, some of the key features for me was the User Generated Content - being able to let other people in the business upload content is something I wanted to explore both from an L&D point of view and to help improve the Comms across the business.

Cons:

The only negative I think is the versioning of content being uploaded, so you cant version a new SCORM package (but this is in production at the moment so they listen to advice and suggestions!)

THRIVE Learning Response

3 years ago

Hi Andy! Thanks so much for the amazing 5 star review! We love working with you guys at Brookson and are amazed at what you've achieved already. We love suggestions to improve THRIVE so please feel free to keep them coming and add anything you think of the Upvoty.

Lizi
Head of Organisational Development in UK
Real Estate, 501–1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The benefits of an LXP that’s eaten an LMS...

5,0 4 years ago

Comments: We truly can’t shout loud enough about how great both the system and service from Thrive has been! We have seen such a significant increase in engagement with learning from our colleagues whilst also helping to streamline our processes for managing learning compliance. Without thrive we wouldn’t have been able to respond so effectively to the impact of COVID-19; the platform has enabled us to effectively induct and develop colleagues during lockdown and to promote colleague wellbeing through this time, as well as helping to create increased opportunities for social connection.

Pros:

We really wanted a hybrid learning system that combined the ability to manage corporate learning requirements with the social learning aspects gained from an LXP. Thrive manages to deliver on both and provided a great LMS integration tool that took the pain out of implementation. Our platform is easy to use, easy to manage and saved us money in the process.

Cons:

Thrive is a relatively new platform so there were a few little aspects of the system that didn’t quite work as we’d expected or are still being developed, however the teams vast knowledge of learning tech and their ability to listen and respond to feedback has been amazing and the support offered throughout our first year with them can’t be faulted. There roadmap for system development is exciting and I’m confident that the added functionality will help make life even easier for our system administrators over the next few months.

THRIVE Learning Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the amazing review, Lizi! We love working with you and the team at Great Places. The LMS to LXP migration tool is something we're very proud of too... Mark, our CTO, is a wizard! Glad to hear your thoughts on our roadmap too, it's super exciting and we love when clients get involved! So, please do keep letting us know how we can improve to make your jobs easier.

Pamela
Business Analyst / Project Manager in UK
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Homepage and section granulation

3,0 3 years ago

Comments: So far easy to get back into software design and administration it has been many years.

Pros:

Easy to use, great new features on there way. Great customer service quick and resolved each time.

Cons:

Inability to section our customer content, lot of messing about tagging and setting up custom fields to ensure customer sess learning content, this should get easier soon. Sections not being able to subsection to make pathway left hand side menu be slicker and easier for learner.

THRIVE Learning Response

3 years ago

Thanks for the review! Sounds like you have some great product suggestions we'd love to take on board. Upvoty is our feature request tool where clients can request changes to functionality. Please speak with your CSM and we can get these added for you!

Andrew
Digital Learning Lead in UK
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 1 001–5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Thrive within The Gym Group

5,0 4 years ago

Comments: After bumping into the Thrive team at a learning and development event, we instantly recognised the value and quality of their content and were amazed by the variety within their course catalog. As the L&D team were getting ready to launch a brand new LMS within The Gym Group, the wide range of topics provided by Thrive really enabled our platform to be a one-stop-shop for company training and upskilling, especially during a time of the nationwide lockdown whereby remote learning and support was required with unprecedented importance for an unprecedented time. The content is visually pleasing, user friendly, interactively engaging and current. The team are always available for support and keep up to date with current affairs that has relevance to education within the workplace... best of all the price is unbeatable!

Pros:

Value for money Slick design Interactive engagement Innovative animations Variety of content

Cons:

We couldn't edit the content to our brand, although Thrive do offer a bespoke service when creating new content. We were unsure about the compliance courses being recognised by governing bodies.

THRIVE Learning Response

3 years ago

Hi Andrew! Thanks for the super feedback. Sorry you were disappointed about the branding! A simple, off the shelf solution is what allows us to keep offering excellent value for money. Our focus is to develop engaging content at an accessible price point so we try to keep customisation to a minimum. Interesting point about the recognition of compliance content though, we'll pass this on to our team!

Anna
Learning & Development Manager in UK
Law Practice, 501–1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent Learning Platform - combining the features of a LMS & a LXP

5,0 2 years ago

Comments: Change to a more modern learning culture
Providing learning in the flow of work - access to content at the moment of need

Pros:

AI - recommendations, ease of use, constant improvements to functionality and new functionality

Cons:

The standard reporting but understand this is set to improve in the coming months

THRIVE Learning Response

2 years ago

We are thrilled that you rate us so highly Anna! It's been a pleasure working with you through your switch from Kallidus, and if you ever have any ideas on how we can improve, our customer operations team are all ears!

Nate
Nate
Training & Development Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

THRIVE LXP: a Top-Tier Product with an underdog attitude

5,0 2 years ago

Pros:

The product itself is world-class. The team at Thrive and their support make it galaxy-class. They go way above and beyond to ensure that implementation happens smoothly. They not only support you with the technical side, but they also empower your team to make the most of the product and leave you with a fantastic game plan to be successful with the tool. Simply, they care about their customers.

Cons:

It's designed slightly different from older LMS/LXP/LRS software. So, it's more of a mindset change than any faults with the platform itself. I'd actually say that this is most likely a long term advantage for them.

THRIVE Learning Response

2 years ago

Hi Nate! We are so glad you are enjoying your THRIVE platform and that implementation was a smooth process for you! We are committed to improving our platform and customer service at all times so please reach out if you have any feature requests or things you think we can improve on!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Management Consulting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A good combination of the basic LXP and LMS functionality that lots of customers will need

4,0 3 years ago

Comments: Easy to Set Up. Straightforward features. Clean look and feel. Some features could be improved as with many learning systems, for example the social features around discussion and commentary are missing some vital aspects.

Pros:

Combines a lot of LMS and LXP features a good product for entry or mid-level learning system users. Levels of innovation with features such as broadcasting. Good price point and customer focussed sales team. Simple and straightforward as it does not come with a lot of functionality which is not really needed compared to many other bloated and overly expensive Learning Systems.

Cons:

The mobile experience is new and needs more development to help make it sticky. Challenges around social .

THRIVE Learning Response

3 years ago

Thanks so much for the amazing review! Phase two of the THRIVE mobile app is in full swing, so new developments should be revealed very soon. Hope that's helpful, thanks again!

Mike
L&D Business Partner in UK
Financial Services, 5 001–10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great LXP

5,0 7 months ago

Comments: Great, but as usual its the people not the product that make the real difference

Pros:

The UGC options, data and ease of use. Variety of content types it can support

Cons:

Goals are a bit fiddly and can be complicated for managers to assign easily

Harbens
L&D partner partner in UK
Government Administration, 5 001–10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

great platform

5,0 7 months ago

Comments: Really great and positive experience from our initial demo via [sensitive content hidden]
, through to ease of procurement (which is usually difficult in our organisation!) and now implementation.The team are aCredit to thrive!

Pros:

We are currently in implementation phase with go-live in a couple of weeks. I really liked the service fromImplementation team nothing it too much trouble or hassle for them.They explain everything thoroughly and happy to re-explain if we did not fully understand.They really have made the whole process easy for us so thank you!

Cons:

Non! Everything and everyone weDealt with has been a joy to workWork!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Game changer

5,0 7 months ago

Comments: Excellent. The team are always there when we need them!

Pros:

User experience and impact data dashboards

Cons:

Some language support missing / auto translation

James
Head of Learning in UK
Media Production, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

LXP with potential for greatness

5,0 3 years ago

Comments: The experience has been collaborative, supportive and attentive. In the main the relationship and work together has been strong and the team at THRIVE has been at pains to understand our strategy and direction and to adapt to our plans.

Pros:

The product is branded as we prefer. In addition, we have complete control over the day to day look and feel. It doesn't look like a third party piece of software.

Cons:

The MI / insight and ease of access is the biggest challenge.

THRIVE Learning Response

3 years ago

Hi James, thanks for the kind review. We've been blown away by the engagement at Sky. Insights are something we'll continue to develop. If you have any ideas or suggestions to add to our recently launched analytics dashboard, we'd always love to hear them

Laura
Senior L&D Partner in UK
Food & Beverages, 5 001–10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Join THRIVE Tribe! You won't regret it

5,0 3 years ago

Comments: I have never in my 15 year L&D career worked with an organisation that is so open, encouraging and receptive to client feedback and thoughts on builds and needs. Which are then not only listened to, but are considered, weighed up and where appropriate implemented in such a short space of time! It truly feels like a partnership than a customer relationship, hugely influenced by the fantastic people you have.

Pros:

Super intuitive platform that is a nice place to be, not only for users but admins too. Now that's not something everyone can say about their LMS/LXP solution...! Honestly, what more could you need. Getting your colleagues to want to be there is the biggest hurdle us L&D communities face.

Cons:

It doesn't matter, if it's something other clients agree with - it get's developed, along with many other innovative enhancements seen in the short 1 - 2 years we've been Triber's!

THRIVE Learning Response

3 years ago

Wow! What an amazing review! Thank you so much for your kind words, Laura! We love working with you and the team at Brakes and are in awe of what you're doing with THRIVE LXP. We would love to have you back for another webinar soon too :)

Dylan
L&D Director in UK
Real Estate, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

iwg

5,0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy of user to end point user, great support team and account management

Cons:

I would like more flexibility in layout. Better search engine and tagging

THRIVE Learning Response

2 years ago

Thank you for your review Dylan! We're so glad you are enjoying your platform and that your switch from Fuse is going well! We are constantly looking for ways we can improve our UI, so please reach out to your CSM and they can get relay any of your suggestions to our product team!

Nestor
Organization and Capability Partner in Philippines
Human Resources, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

An LXP for today's times

5,0 4 years ago

Comments: The THRIVE team really sets you up with success and collaborates with you to set up your ideal site for your needs. More than a transactional relationship, they really hold your hand for at least the first 6 months to ensure engagement and results from their platform.

Pros:

Even when setting the site up, THRIVE has intuitive building blocks that allow users to fully customize their site. This has allowed me to run training workshops, host learning and onboarding sessions, and overall just communicate with people while centralized within THRIVE.

Cons:

As a new player in the market, there are some features of THRIVE that are still in the pipeline that haven't yet been released as of yet to end users. However, they are true to their promise of continually innovating with great agility and it won't be long before they catch up to the big players soon.

THRIVE Learning Response

3 years ago

Wow! Thanks for the amazing review, Nestor! We love working with you guys at Viventis and are so happy that you love THRIVE LXP.

Natasha
Learning and development assistant in UK
Museums & Institutions, 1 001–5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great LXP

5,0 7 months ago

Pros:

We really enjoy the functionality to assign mandatory training to all colleagues, and the reporting dashboards.

Cons:

We think that some of the events functionality can run smoother.

Stacey
L&D Facilitator in UK
Hospitality, 1 001–5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Connecting the wider business

5,0 7 months ago

Pros:

The ability to connect and communicate to our teams in a variety of locations

Cons:

The mobile app logging us out frequently (although this has now been solved), this caused confusion within our workforce and them having to remember or ask about the URL.

Robyn
Talent Manager in UK
Plastics, 1 001–5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great overall and great service

5,0 7 months ago

Comments: Positive!

Pros:

The platform is fairly intuitive from an admin perspective and offers a good end user experience. The Thrive team are great to work with, very responsive and super helpful.

Cons:

Mobile app could offer a better service to our deskless workers.

Lewis
Learning Development Specialist in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Training Enablement

5,0 7 months ago

Pros:

Learners can be more pro active with learning and show accountability

Cons:

She more pro active with the skills and suggest potential new skills or skill development

Laura
L&D Manager in UK
Aviation & Aerospace, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Content user

5,0 7 months ago

Comments: Great customer support

Pros:

Ease of use, value for money. Good range of content.

Cons:

Manual adding of content to own LMS - would be great to interface

Kimberly
Senior Partnerships Manager in US
Cosmetics, 501–1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

So Useful !

5,0 3 years ago

Pros:

This tool not only allowed connectivity pre-covid but during Covid it allowed for employees to feel connected, participate in learning initiatives, learn more about company efforts and receive more communication from executives. Pre pandemic the tool was super helpful for our global company to strengthen culture and inclusivity across the whole globe as well as create a community of learning and development.

Cons:

Companies that use this software will need to plan efficiently to create content for the platform with their leadership and marketing teams - it's incredibly useful but needs time and planning to generate the results

Giulia
L&d coordinator in Italy
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Amazing

5,0 7 months ago

Pros:

The visuals, the campaigns, user friendliness

Cons:

Some times looking for courses can be a bit overwhelming given the huge choice. So maybe improve filtering

Ian
LXP Manager in UK
Government Administration, 5 001–10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Everyone should thrive

5,0 7 months ago

Pros:

Ease of use. Team behind the platform; friendly, knowledgeable and want to help.

Cons:

N/A so far. Its the unknown as things stand as we are still in early days.

Jak
Learning specialist in UK
Information Services, 501–1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Love thrive

5,0 7 months ago

Comments: Amazing

Pros:

Everything has thrive has boost our learning

Cons:

Nothing as thrive has done so well and loving it

Fiona
Global Talent Management in UK
Biotechnology, 1 001–5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Putting FUN back into learning

5,0 4 years ago

Comments: Great team , very responsive and friendly. The content packages were straightforward to load and competitively priced.

Pros:

Bright, bold and a little bit different. Micro learning is the way to go and what Thrive does really well is make the content interesting. Using colour, interesting stories and interactivity, these training put fun back into learning.

Cons:

We would like more titles in the catalogue.

THRIVE Learning Response

4 years ago

Hey Fiona! Thank you so much for the 10/10 review, so amazing to hear you think we put the fun back into learning. We're aiming for 200 titles by the end of the year and would love to hear any suggestions for new modules you might have!

Carolyn
L&D manager in UK
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Innovation at your fingertips

5,0 7 months ago

Pros:

Innovation to meet todays and tomorrows opportunities and challenges while staying human in a digital world

Cons:

Nothing yet but I am not shy to let you know