Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,9 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,1 /5

About Jira

Jira Software is the software development tool used by agile teams to plan, track, and release world-class software. Try it free today!

Learn more about Jira

Showing 10 327 reviews

Cristian B.
Sr Software Development Manager
Semiconductors, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/18

"Jira for bug tracking and project management"

Comments: I highly recommend Jira for a bug tracking tool and especially for Agile software teams. For us it has really made a difference in terms of: team collaboration, Agile methodology adoption, decreased time to market of new projects/new features and on the overall teams' spirit. We have seen a wide adoption for the other departments as well, non software development.

Pros: We used several bug tracking tools in the past but Jira is by far the best one. What I like most:
- user friendly interface, provides a nice user experience
- Agile SCRUM/Kanban support out of the box
- extremely configurable on almost everything
- extendable through custom scripting, either built-in or via addons
- very collaborative
- there are thousands of addons in the marketplace; you can even write your own

Cons: Being so flexible to be configured, the learning curve for admins is a little steep.
The price is based on the number of users and if you experience wide user adoption in a big company, you end up in paying more for upgrading to the next tier, than if you would pay for that tier first time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/18
Verified Reviewer
Technical Operations Manager
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/12

"The Ultimate Business Productivity Suite"

Comments: JIRA has been an excellent tool overall - provides the perfect mix of task, project and issue tracking features that every company needs. I have worked with JIRA in two independent fast-growing companies and both times it has been the main driver of productivity.

Pros: The fully integrated task and project management boards with extensive levels of detail to run Kanban maintenance boards, complex sprints and even visualise recruitment pipelines. In collaboration with Confluence and BitBucket, the Atlassian product suite make the management of a growing software team seem easy.

Cons: JIRA has quite a steep learning curve for less software native users and can appear too complex for the average operational or commercial person. As such, it can be difficult to convince new people to use JIRA without extensive training and hand-holding. This could be improved by guided tours and a simpler interface for "new starts".

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/12
Luke A.
Account Director
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/09

"Best and most true to tradition agile project/product management tool around"

Comments: I have a (probably unhealthy) love for Jira and would need a lot of convincing to switch. It's interface is genuinely enjoyable to use and it aligns perfectly with agile product management methodologies, natively and in conjunction with its plethora of add-ons.

Pros: Jira is an immensely powerful issue management tool. It's JQL language provides ultimate flexibility to satisfy the needs of all roles on a product/project team. It's easy to use (if agile concepts are familiar to you and semi-intuitive if they're not), easy to deploy (especially if you're using Jira Cloud) and easy to integrate with.

Cons: The pricing model for add-ons. You could have a 100 users registered to your Jira instance, have an add-on that is used by a small handful of power users, and still be paying a license fee for all 100 users. Very annoying!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/09
Adam H.
Founder and CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/09

"Enterprise Issue Management for Teams"

Comments: Generally I love Jira - with the plugins and immense flexibility, it is the best issue management for software development teams that I have ever used.

Pros: Jira is highly configurable, allowing you to set it up exactly as your team works rather than having to change how you work for the software. It provides a huge amount of flexibility that is difficult to match in the crowded issue management category. This is the industry standard when it comes to software development and agile process management.

Cons: Only use Jira if you are ready to get stuck into the administration and management of the software - it takes a significant amount of setting up to get it right. You are rewarded with strong features and it is highly configurable but it can also have a managament time impact.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/09
Abhimanyu P.
Sr. Technical Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/09

"It's a well crafted tool for Project management and bug tracking"

Comments: The integration with some other applications make us happy. It delivers almost everything for a software company required.

Pros: Jira is a decent project management tool from my opinion. It's easy to configure as an Administrator. Our team able to release product quickly with Jira tool.

Cons: For technical guys it's very easy to use. But for business guys feel difficult to use in the first time. Because the UI looks confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/09
Rachel C.
Project Coordinator & Traffic Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/21

"Great for time tracking and task management, but some functionality is overly complicated."

Comments: As a project coordinator, I use Jira daily in a project management aspect, matching our planned work to progress completed by our teams. I maintain an overhead view of in-flight tasks and projects, and compare this data to outside sources we use for resource management, capacity to contract, etc. My most frequently used elements are a custom KanBan board which shows all in-flight, assigned issues for the entire company; as well as Tempo time tracking software and the reports tool.

Pros: I love the KabBan task view, our company uses this every morning for a company-wide standup meeting. We have set up a customized board with cards that display budget/due date/time spent/etc. and it has been invaluable to us during COVID-19, as we are all working from home and need to stay connected.
Jira's time logging via Tempo has some buggy elements, but has been absolutely crucial in maintaining a clear view of task progress and budget maintenance. The time logging tools are incredibly reliable and allow the perfect amount of editing control by both administrators and users.

Cons: It is a big pain not being able to assign more than one user to an issue at a time, especially when making Jira issues for meetings, as the purpose here is to provide an issue to log time against. It has also been difficult for our company to systematize and homogenize project structure, as there was such a large learning curve to Jira project setup, and we have a large number of open projects. The functionality between projects differs greatly, and I think a large part of this is due to complicated project setup and maintenance. While Jira is very developer-minded, and many of our developers like it, it seems a slightly less appropriate fit for our designers/strategists and project management team. I also lack the ability to export some reports I need, for example a clear Estimates versus Actuals report in CSV form.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/21
Adam F.
Chief Information Officer
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/13

"Jira software gives structure to our teams' progress"

Comments: I've been using Jira for around 10 years. It has the most robust Item profile, item searching with saved searches, workflows with form field dialogs, alerts, charts, etc.

Pros: We use Jira to manage our teams' agile sprints. It makes it very easy to track and document stories and tasks that need to be done. Whenever a new task comes in, it is easy to put it in the backlog to make sure we don't forget about it. Then in sprint planning Jira helps us organize and prioritize our outstanding items into our next sprint. As any changes happen (new items, progress through the workflow, etc.) we are alerted and can easily follow the progress. It's easy to see what other people on the team and on other teams are working on.

Cons: It's still relatively clunky to quickly add a task, either on the website or on the mobile app. It would be nice if most of the common settings could default so 5-6 fields that are almost always the same don't have to be filled out with every new item. Default to the project, current sprint, story or task, assignee, etc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/13
Glenn B.
Manager, Operations
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/16

"Great Collaboration Tool For Teams"

Comments: Great way to collaborate with team members and outside vendors on ticketing and projects, with a lot of integration opportunities. Would highly recommend to users not currently using JIRA.

Pros: It is a feature packed program that helps teams collaborate using a ticketing system. Much easier way to work with team members to fix issues, deploy updates and collaborate. Using this system between employees, departments, consultants and others we have been able to streamline collaboration on projects. It also has a lot of integration, including with Slack, to expedite notifications.

Cons: There is definitely a learning curve with this project and it can be a little hard to get the hang of, but once you do, the UI of the program will make sense.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/16
Tigran H.
Developer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/05

"The most Advanced Managment Software"

Comments: Overall this is the great software for Product-process management and for issue tracking.

Pros: Firstly Jira is the most advanced task management software in my opinion. It has tons of valuable features for issue tracking, has interfaces like scrum, kanban and etc. It has simple mode for an starting projects and very advanced for more complex projects. One of the great things it is the editable everything e.x statuses which helps to my my team to do process more likly.

Cons: Using the Jira API it has little drawbacks for example complex documentation. It does not have major language libraries and sometimes the the API is not stabile.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/05
Nitin S.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/20

"Test Management Tool"

Comments: Overall one of the best Free products in industries. Many companies are moving from ALM to JIRA due to cost and effective wider coverage.

Pros: 1. It’s freeware
2. Easy to customizable
3. Perfect replacement of HP-ALM
4. Easy to MAnage Defects, requirements/User Stories and TestCases

Cons: 1. We can search test execution based on Date=today , we need to use > or < operators (it’s defect in JIRA)
2. Defects can’t link to multiple EPIC.
3. No direct RTM report
4. Person must know queries to use the JIRA
5. Performance Issue

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/20
Prathamesh M.
Team Lead Manager
Apparel & Fashion, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/28

"Sophisticated and efficient project management tool"

Comments: Overall, Jira is a highly agile and effective for multi tasking and multi team project management. For large scale Agile Scrum, Kanban, and Hybrid Agile, Jira is the perfect fit for efficient project management. Training and good support can lead to better understnding for Jira users. A project can be managed efficiently using Jira.

Pros: Jira is an excellent project management tool. It is the best option for bug tracking and agile project management. Multiple teams can use Jira at the same time leading to a lot of integrations. Teams including product strategy, product design, and product development can collaborate together leading to improvement in project. Each team can track their individual milestones, deliverables, and tasks using the filter and search functionality. If you are using an Agile Scrum framework, your daily standup meetings are well supported by using custom views. You can create your own custom views to discuss only the relevant issues of the tasks. This feature is time saving and efficient for a daily ten minutes standup. The other new features that make Jira a must buy are due dates notification, assignment allocation, labels, assigning priority levels to tasks, and developing epic links which displays the user story and the project progress. For Kanban framework users, Jira provides Kanban boards where you can turn on and off features that you want to display or hide from other members. Jira provides high flexibility with features that maintain the tasks and deliverable backlogs and these features are applicable to different frameworks. Sprint planning, releasing sprint, and organizing history is very organized in Jira. It can be used for any type of project management. Customer support is available for Jira, which is very helpful.

Cons: Jira has deficiencies on micro level. For a particular task, if you are maintaining the workflow, it is hard to customize the columns. Jira always displays all columns on a single view, more like a static view without scrolling. This leads to columns being smaller in width with smaller font size text, which sometimes become hard to read. Unavailability of scrolling leads to column being fit in a single screen browser. Pricing is also an issue. Jira is expensive and fits very well in the budget of big enterprises, but many for small sized firms it is a hard pass. Also, limited user excess to Jira makes it challenging to most small size companies. There is a trade off between ease of use and efficiencies. User has to have good knowledge of Jira navigation and customization before he can make the project management efficient. Customer support is helpful, but comes at an added price. Overall, customization, ease of use, and price are the biggest drawback for Jira right now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/28
Steve M.
Dir. of Dig. Marketing
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/31

"If you tried it before and got confused, it's way easier now"

Comments: We did an extensive search and ended up with JIRA for project management for my team and for our cross-department projects. We've been using it now with our marketing team for several months, and I had previously used it with product teams (developers), and the overall experience is that it provides the best PM experience for our team of all the options out there.

Pros: They've managed to provide easy to use projects, next-gen, that have most of the power but are SUPER easy to use. We love the new Kanban boards and the ability to turn off features and hide complexity wherever needed.

Cons: The next-gen projects are moving fast, but it feels like at this point you have to choose *either* power *or* ease of use. Classic projects (power) or next-gen (easy) are competing, so I'm hoping they will be able to eventually provide all the power in the easy next-gen projects.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/31
S. alexander Z.
Senior Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/09

"The defacto standard for Ticket Tracking and project management"

Comments: For usage in a relatively larger tech environment, JIRA has a been an indispensable part of my workflow. I use it every day to not only track my work but to communicate my progress to others (and vice versa) and to plan and resource our sprints. JIRA supports many features out of the box and offers plugins to expand its features. However, if I were in a smaller tech organization, the huge variety of features and customizability might be a bit overwhelming and I would look for simpler tools to get the job done. In larger engineering/product organizations, it is the de-facto standard for issue management and I highly recommend it.

Pros: - Very easy Kanban board and ticket tracking
- Linking tickets is very intuitive and useful
- team collaboration through pointing, filtering
- Full of features
- Expandable with plugins

Cons: - wish epic management could be done better. E.g., wish you could have epics of epics
- wish it was more intuitive to search past tickets, however reporting is available.
- Sometimes performance seems slow
- For people who don't need very complex task tracking, JIRA is a bit too bloated with features.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/09
Lee Q.
Sr. Web Developer
Building Materials, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/12

"Robust Project Management for Development Sprinters"

Comments: In the long haul, Jira came out on top as the definitive solution and point of reference for every part of the project. It enabled collaboration across many boundaries and increased communication and efficiency for all parties.

Pros: In one word, scalability. We were able to deploy and integrate our software development team contributions with continuous integration, QA testing, and sprint schedules. Project management of several groups was a breeze. Our teams were across 15 timezones and in-house.

Cons: It has a steep learning curve upfront. I came from Trello and a small in-house team so learning to use JIRA and apply it to a QA team with a remote user, a remote development team, a supervisor for reporting, and in-house developers was a bit of a struggle at first. Up to that point, every task was in Trello and we had no sprint schedules implemented.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/12
Sanjana R.
lead quality engineer
Hospital & Health Care, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/30

"Excellent tool for Agile Project management"

Comments: Overall it is beat suited for an Agile development team to track their stories being completed smoothly in a sprint cycle if your team follows Sprint SDLC.

Pros: It is easy to customize your own team board for managing the user stories/bugs during a Sprint. It helps to keep the development team and Product team on the same page about the progress of the sprint. It is easy for the product team to view the history of a ticket and tag people in their comments if they have any update or questions. The flow of ticket and child-tasks across the board from "To-Do" to "Done" is very easy. You can create your own dashboard and offers built-in bar graphs or pie chart demonstration. The mobile version is smooth to use as well. Defect management is very easy. It's integration with TestRail, Confluence, Octopus and TeamCity works like a charm for the need of my project.

Cons: The UI gets a bit overwhelmed because it tries to display all your columns in a single landscape view. Accessing an old completed story or a closed story can be a pain.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/30
Abinadi R.
Technical Project Manager II
Computer & Network Security, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/10

"All you need for your day to day projects and tracking initiatives"

Comments: In general, this is a highly recommended tool it fits well with any type of organization and it could be customized accordingly which is great. I love that you can make recommendations and they listen to you and implement the changes which are great.

Pros: This is our main tool for tracking and monitoring out day to day activities in the project management world. it is pretty solid and intuitive and it has helped the team productivity greatly. It is simple to use and out of the box it simply works just fine

Cons: I would like to have more control over automation options and APIs that I can use to control it. in general, it is good enough however if you are in CI/CD environment it will need more love that you would like to automate it

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/10
Christopher B.
Freelance Web and Software Developer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/25

"Great for users, hard on administrators"

Pros: I use Jira products both as a user and as an administrator. As a user, I find it very straightforward. I like how easy it is to do things like update my tasks, see the team's work, add files to items and connect between the various tools like Stride and Confluence. As an admin, there is a lot of customization I can do regarding workflow. My team has changed as we've grown and fleshed out both our development and QA process, so having that flexibility to modify the Jira workflow has been incredibly helpful. I also like the fact that Jira integrates with virtually every other major piece of software, such as Slack.

Cons: Most of my complaints with Jira software comes from the admin side. Because it has so much customization, it's often hard to know where something is or how you need to modify it in order to customize it. The documentation leaves a lot to be desired, and searching the web usually takes you to outdated documentation or a community forum post. Between the two, I usually can find what I need. Generally, the biggest gap between documentation and what I'm doing is that the UI has been updated and things moved around. The actual information is solid, but entire menu items have disappeared or been renamed. Oftentimes, I think I have found what I need and roll the dice and check this box or press that button, and it works. I've never run into anything that couldn't be immediately undone.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/25
Mariana F.
Quality Assurance Engineer
Financial Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/10

"Not so easy to use but it has all that my team needs to keep track of work in an agile team"

Comments: Keeping track of a Sprint, a project, a quarter or a year of work is easy. Working on an Agile team, JIRA makes my life better. It has all an Agile team needs to work together on the same or different features.

Pros: That they are constantly improving and releasing new features that make my life easier as a QA working on an Agile team. My team relies on this software of keep track of what we are doing. It has lots of nice features that we use such as to link issues to one another, link tickets, put labels of versions to be released, link to pull requests on Git Hub and scale priority and story points.
My team also uses a lot the Stories, creating Tasks under them. It's also nice that I receive emails whenever I am watching a ticket in specific to keep track of it.
My entire company uses JIRA across different boards and when you want to contact a team in specific it's easy to just open a ticket or link it to another.
As a QA I also use the filters a lot to find issues that are assigned to me or have been reported by me.
My team also creates boards separating them by Sprints. Which is a very easy feature to use, it considers the back log and it's pretty simple to have a Planning or Retrospective section looking at it. We're happy with the features that JIRA offers.

Cons: The person that organizes the board and tickets need to know a lot about the software to be able not to let it look messy. It's easy to create unnecessary tickets and put them on different places and end up losing track of it. Also, it's not easy to configure the boards to fill in correctly the burn down or any kind of chart.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/10
Gus S.
CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/05

"JIRA Revioew"

Comments: Great tool. Integrates into our tech stack and allows us to move through our development process quicker.

Pros: Manages all of our tasks and makes it easy for our members to view.

Cons: Would like to see a bit better UI and design. Seems dated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/05
Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/06

"Scrum aligned project management solution"

Comments: Amazing experience and seamless implementation of the platform, Jira software help us correctly defined our work processes as the whole platform is aligned with Scrum agile methodology; it also has integration with Slack that helps us keep the team informed with any change on the Kanban board, we also identify trends and now we define accurately the sprints total user stories according to our team velocity, which we wouldn't be without Jira analytic section.

Pros: How the whole platform is aligned with the Scrum methodology and the seamless implementation not only for the on cloud solution but the actual usage with the developers, managers and stakeholders, as it has a nice interface and everything is well segregated according to the user roles. Jira also comes with a vast variety of built-in reports to analyze your team velocity, burndown, burnup and more key primary indicators to support decisions of the project directory.

Cons: Can't said there is something that I don't like, but if there is something worth mentioning is that some custom widget/components that you add as options for your user stories details are extra and not included with the platform licencing price, however, some components are totally worth it and deserved to be bought.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/06
Franklin W.
Frontend Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/06

"Great for software product management"

Pros: It's pretty much the standard if you are in a software development company or starting one. JIRA allows you to manage big applications that take several weeks or months to complete. It shines when you use it together with scrum (although kanban can be used).
We use it daily in our team and pretty much depend on it. You can use the insights feature to determine how much work a team can do, which is great.

Cons: The UI is not always intuitive. Sometimes doing something simple can be hidden or badly placed taking some getting used to. It's also not really recommended for small and short lived projects, since it can get over-complex. You might want to take a look at Trello (Also from the same company)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/06
Richard S.
Software Engineer
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/16

"Great for large organizations, incredibly flexible, but not often difficult to use."

Comments: It helps my team and my company keep track of all the features and bugs we are working on, and is a powerful project planning and organizational tool. The integrations with GitHub, Zendesk, and Power BI are incredibly valuable, and help automate much of our issue management.

Pros: Jira works incredibly well for large organizations, allowing each team to have their own workspace for projects, epics, user stories, and bug tracking.
It is incredibly flexible, allowing each team to customize the fields that appear on each issue. This lets the teams customize their workflows, and makes it possible to manage very diverse teams such as art, development, and marketing all within the same system.
It has very powerful integrations with tools like GitHub, ZenDesk, and Power BI, which helps automate issue tracking and provide organization-wide statistics and analysis.
Flat-fee pricing for small teams is very competitive for the amount of power it provides.

Cons: Way too much overhead to actually get started. Jira is so flexible that you have to invest a lot of time to get it working the way you want.
The layout of the interface isn't very intuitive and can take a lot of time to learn. They sacrifice usability for flexibility, which is a blessing and a curse.
This tool is far too complex for a small company or team, although it may be a good choice if the company is growing quickly or manages very diverse teams.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/16
Yaruby M.
Desarrollador Java Junior
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/13

"It allows the organization of activities in a dynamic way, it also facilitates the estimation of time"

Comments: Greater organization in the planning of activities and approximation in the execution times of the development of each of them, together with the application of the agile methodologies implemented for the development of the project.

Pros: The dynamic structure to organize the activities and the income of the estimation of the execution times of each task, since it facilitates the application of agile methodologies in software development projects.
Jira also allows the inclusion of those responsible for the development of each activity, in addition to notifying the person in charge of supervising it, facilitating an early detection of impediments and / or progress during the course of the tasks that are carried out.
Also, the integration of Git provides valuable help when verifying changes in the development of the source code. It also has the possibility of sharing information through files of different length (.txt, .pdf, word, .mp4, among others) in order to provide greater ease of understanding to the person responsible for carrying out the informed task.
In addition, this tool offers precise search filters, saving time in the handling of the interface to focus on what the user wants to obtain.

Cons: 1- The synchronization time of Git with Jira slows down with some internet connections, limiting the use of the benefits of this tool in some users.
2- The user has a lot of freedom to make changes in all the modules of the tasks. Although notification of the change should be a hierarchy of charges to perform them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/13
Lea M.
Systems Analyst
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/13

"User friendly interface"

Comments: Overall, this helped our large project remain very organized for many years before and after transitioning to a new website and software. There's a lot of insight when it comes to analyzing the number of tickets, who is responsible for the ticket and what state the ticket is in. Compared to other ticketing programs, I strongly prefer this one.

Pros: JIRA is a very easy to use interface for tracking tickets for various projects. I have used the product for over 3 years now, and I love it. It has so many options to choose from so the tickets can remain organized. Additionally, users can create custom dashboards or see a generic dashboard which separates the tickets in an easy-to-read manner.

Cons: At first, it was somewhat complex to understand what everything meant as a beginner user. However, after working with the software for a week or so, I had a full grasp of how to use it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/13