Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3,8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,7 /5
  • Customer Service
    3,3 /5

About MYOB Essentials

Small Business cloud based accounting software to automate payroll, client management, tax and all your accounting needs.

Learn more about MYOB Essentials

Showing 86 reviews

Adam K.
Director
Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/18

"not to bad...quit easy to use."

Comments: Customer service can be slow to respond. That said when you do get onto them they do know how to assist.

Pros: Simple and easy to use. A good range of add on products.

Cons: No real ability to grow with your business.
Its really only suitable SME

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/18
Ivan M.
Senior Bookkeeper
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/04

"A Solid Piece Of Software"

Pros: I have used MYOB for years, it's perfect for getting the job done, and easy to use.

Cons: Sometimes the ability to change or delete transactions is a little bit dangerous.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/04
Adam C.
Chief Accountant
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/16

"A very easy to use and follow accounting software, the flow of information is easy to follow"

Comments: This software is easy to use and organize. This software allows me to track and update information easily and in a timely manner

Pros: I like the dashboards that show the flow of information from beginning to end. Reconciling the bank is very easy to do as well as enter in new sales and purchases. It's also very easy to export data into excel if additional analysis is needed outside of MYOB.

Cons: Generating sales reports, P&Ls, and BS is a bit cumbersome. It would also be nice if it had a 'dashoboard' feature, like xero, that shows all the relevant information on one page. Having one spot to go to for most of the day's relevant information would be very helpful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/16
Mark S.
Director
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/26

"MYOB Review"

Pros: I like that it has been around for many many years, and the functionality has NEVER changed or been improved

Cons: The lack of development and modernisation of the product

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/26
Michele H.
Accountant
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/05

"ease of use"

Comments: Makes my work life convenient

Pros: Helps a lot with accounting work for clients. Myob essential version allows me to log in and work on in where ever I’m located (as long as I have internet access)

Cons: Only worked when there is internet access available, not available offine.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/05
Ellie P.
ADMIN & ACCOUNTING MANAGER
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/28

"Friendly user"

Comments: To be more flexible on forms and reports

Pros: Editing and backup easy to manage and restore function for any error or lost of data to be fixed easily

Cons: Cannot customise report and limited on letters and character to be insert. Control on printing page is not user friendly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/28
Karen Y.
manager
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/16

"MYOB for business"

Pros: I used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB seems the only one which is capable of doing accounting tasks in Australia

Cons: I used MYOB a few years ago. At that time MYOB online version seems poorly designed, not suitable for multitasking

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/16
Harinder S.
Managing Director
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/03

"Call center people don't know what they are doing or how to setup licence properly"

Comments: Horrible experience so far with MYOB, time I have waste every day to get my MYOB going is beyond limit as I have other things to do.

Pros: Overall software is not bad but support team is not trained enough to sort out all the issues customer might have. I know my licence issue not been resolved from last two months!!!

Cons: I'm trying to sort out my licence issue from last two months but unfortunately it is still keep going. I have to spend couple of hours on phone to get it sorted and they assure it won't happen again but after couple of weeks and sometime every next day it stop working and keep asking for renew your subscription.
I'm very much pissed off with support people as it seems like they don't know shit and I'm thinking to change to xero instead.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/03
Verified Reviewer
Professional Freelancer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/12

"Good software for offline accounting. you can work on Myob for all your accounting &and Bookkeeping"

Comments: Good for accounting & Book-keeping offline.

Pros: Its functioning is good. You can easily get your Accounting data customized by preparing P&L account & Balance sheet

Cons: 1. You have to take backup by your self no self backup facility.
2. Difficult to understand the reporting process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/12
Kerry F.
Director
Cosmetics, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/05

"Easy accounting"

Comments: I have used MYOB in different formats and found this the simplest and quickest to use and would recommend to anyone running a business.

Pros: Quick to use

Cons: Reports

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/05
Kirsten R.
Accounting Contractor
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/09

"A good option"

Pros: That it is pretty user friendly and you can do most functions you want to

Cons: You need to have a good understanding about bookkeeping

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/09
Ludovic C.
Ceo
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/18

"Very easy to set up and to use"

Pros: Payroll is very easy. Bank feed, bank rules and reconciliation help to save a lot of time. Very simple dashboard. Good support.

Cons: No scan of documents on the go. No app to use the software yet. Don't offer all the functionalities of the computer version

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/18
Dave B.
CFO
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/23
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/23
Low J.
Student
Education Management, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/05/13

"Great accounting software"

Comments: For accounting and statistical analysis of market survey data.

Pros: Feature-rich, more than enough features. Many built-in functions and formulae that can be used to speed up the process.

Cons: Design can be sleeker and more customisable, to make it more user friendly. Inability to charge bulk transactions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/05/13
Joe B.
DevOps Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/29

"Manual System Converted into Digital"

Comments: MYOB has changed the way we work, simplifies book keeping to take away so much pain

Pros: - Easy to signup and simple setup to get things started
- Pricing - Special offer for new start ups
- Invoice reminders
- Invoice templates look very professional
- Invoice shows when customer / vendor have viewed (SUPER HELPFUL)
- Intray for emailing receipts and tracking

Cons: - Not being able to invoice in multiple currencies, have to workarond this by invoicing in the charable foreign currency then after payment is recieved adjusting the template to the local amount that is received.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/29
Michael B.
COO
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/05/26

"MYOB keeps us on track and informed"

Pros: Ese of use, accessibility, features are simple, seamless integration, reporting functions, governance

Cons: None, it is clear and easy to use daily.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/05/26
Lee P.
Chief Financial Officer
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/22

"The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information."

Comments: For a small firm with limited reporting requirements it is okay but for any jobs with Work Breakdown Structure requirements it comes up short and becomes a limiter for the company. I get very frustrated with the after sales support system. It is not customer focused and leaves you wondering why you pay for it.

Pros: Good basic internal controls so novice bookkeepers can run day to day.
Easy to install and set up.
Reasonably cheap for what you get.
Handles GST well.

Cons: Not the best for Job costings.
Payroll system ordinary serious reporting drawbacks as far as information flow to the General Ledger.
Tends to freeze in reporting production which can lock out users.
Support service is very poor, you get the feeling the staff could care less in resolving issues.
Interactive screen supports not used you have to send a file and wait for a response.
Wait time on the phone for support is very bad.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/22
Joanne R.
CEO
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/23

"MYOB - easy to use, does what you need"

Comments: Offers features that I need to do to manage the Company Financials. Support has been great and responsive.

Pros: MYOB is intuitive for the user to use, easy to use, simple to setup, has all the features you need to manage the Company finances. Also when regulation changes it quickly incorporates those changes and explains easily how to use the feature.

Cons: MYOB can get quite slow around EOFY - needs more grunt put in place around these times for cloud hosting. There is no live chat within the application for support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/23
Matthew K.
Director
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/18

"Don't start your business accounting with a regrettable decision, look elsewhere!"

Comments: Underwhelming to say the least. I was partially sold on the fact that they have a customer service number to assist if need be, don't be fooled by this either, the call centre workers are rather unfamiliar with the MYOB product (unless I was unfortunate enough to speak with their newest member each time) and all my queries had to be looked up each time and they read answers from a screen which I could find on-line myself , they weren't able to elaborate nor answer any further questions I had outside of what was written in front of them.

Pros: Reasonably easy to use but have found Xero to be much better in almost every way.

Cons: Limited features and limited expandability compared to Xero. No was to have a back up of accounting file on your computer. If or once you decide Essentials ins't for you, they do not offer a way to transfer to their own Account Rite product nor do they off to export data to Xero. They will give you 1 month access as a read only before all data is deleted off their server unless you pay $25 Per month for the remaining 5 years you're required to keep the data

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/18
Chris F.
Tech/manager
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/09

"This is great accounting Software thank you"

Comments: I have been using this software for over 10 years it is a bit expensive but works well
Especially after it went to cloud based

Pros: And I like if anything goes missing my computer gets Stolen or burns or virus then I don't lose everything because it's on the clouds

Cons: The cons are that it is too expensive for what it is

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/09
Kate L.
Accounts Administrator
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/25

"Accounting software to begin with"

Comments: Good for small business and do not need to worry about back up when you are using cloud version

Pros: Have most of the function and very stable software.

Cons: The platform looks a bit old fashion and payroll function is not easy to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/25
Liam G.
Electrician
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/11

"I really like using MYOB for my Business as it makes everything very easy and carefree"

Pros: I like MYOB for my business as it is intuitive and it combines many different softwares. It is a 'one stop shop' for all my business needs which is what I need when I am very busy

Cons: What i like least about MYOB is that other softwares are more competitive in price. I stay with MYOB as I am used to the functionality off it and dont wish to change.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/11
Jason P.
Director
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/27

"Ongoing extortion, third world support, buggy and terrible reporting"

Comments: A can't imagine a business could do worse than this product, go elsewhere and save yourself the hassle.

Pros: It didn't fail on install... that's about it!

Cons: I paid for the full version of the software and not even 12 months in they are forcing me to pay for a subscription service as well! Having disabled single touch payroll for offline users they have made the software obsolete. Support is terrible and slow, you'll quickly get sick of the on hold music. Doesn't matter once you've identified yourself as soon as you're transferred you'll have to do it again. And the reporting is a waste of time (and paper), you can't even print a list of employees with their birthdays!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/27
Mark R.
director
Maritime, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/17

"Absolutely disgraceful back up service."

Comments: A very unprofessional company. I have been using MYOB for over 5 years and have found the service disgraceful. The service is the worst of any company I have ever used. They take forever to answer a phone call and quite often after waiting u to an hour for hepl, the phone is disconnectred. I need to call them agaion and try for help.
I did not leave hoping for MYOB to improve its service. Also the work to find an alternative. Just now i spent 3/4 hour and they hung up after the wait.

Pros: Nothing. Very bad service. No service. The software was very hard to use. I accepted and learned more. No ease of use.

Cons: The complete usability and back up service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/17
Martine H.
Principal
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/06/07

"MYOB Accounting and Payroll Software"

Comments: Bookwiz Bookkeeping has been operating since 2000 and over the years we have used many accounting software products. MYOB is hands down the best Accounting & Payroll Software solution for our clients and we highly recommend it. We now have nearly all of our clients online and with features like Bank Feeds and Pay Super we have been able to really streamline the bookkeeping and payroll process for our clients which they love as it saves them money. We also love that MYOB caters for the very small business operators out there by have a very affordable and easy to use solution for them which is MYOB Essentials.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/06/07