Matomo Analytics Reviews

by Matomo

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,7/5
  • Ease of Use
    4,5/5
  • Customer Service
    4,5/5

About Matomo Analytics

Matomo (formerly Piwik) is the #1 open-source web analytics platform, used on over 1.4 million websites in over 190 countries.

Learn more about Matomo Analytics

Showing 21 reviews

Krzysztof L.
Marketing Director
Utilities, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26

"The best Google Analytics alternative"

Pros: This is definitely the best alternative for Google Analytics. I've been using it for a long time and more frequently than mentioned Google Analytics. It's not MA or GA to be used. I use them both. They give me different type of data. I totally recommend it.

Cons: Database swells as more data come. This is normal, but be aware.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26
Nick T.
Owner
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/04

"Awesome Open Source and Privacy-Conscious Alternative to Google Analytics"

Comments: Overall, Matomo is my favorite analytics platform. It does everything that myself and my clients need. The platform has been around a long time (formerly Piwik) and has proven to be very reliable. Using the API to create custom reports is also easy and super useful.

Pros: Matomo is open source and self-hosted. It's easy to setup, manage, and implement tracking. It includes many of the advanced features you'd expect in an analytics platform. The best part is that you're in control of your data and privacy.

Cons: There are a lot of premium features that are pretty expensive. I wish some of these were open source, standard features of the software, but I guess developers have to eat!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/04
James F.
Web Developer
Aviation & Aerospace, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/17

"Very good software for analytics"

Comments: Good experience, you are provided with the code easily and open source, you have all the necessary tools to take advantage of your analytics.

Pros: Take control of your analytics and install this open source projects that offers tons of free software to use and extra modules to work with, easily affordable for any business it improves your funnel, and much more features and heatmaps you can easily implement in-house.

Cons: The community is getting bigger, but at the moment you need to know what you install in your server and see all the code, better safe

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/17
Marcel K.
Medienkaufmann
Hospital & Health Care, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/19

"Alternative to google analytics but for not good enough "

Comments: We had problems to exclude the intern traffic. Some reports are wrong

Pros: - the data protection is very good because it is on the own server
- the reports are very precisely

Cons: - i think its very complicated to install the section on the website and to set the options and goals and so on

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/19
Stefan S.
Fundraiser
Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/03

"Reliable and powerful for analysing your visitors"

Pros: It´s not collecting your data and sending it to a giant corporation.

Cons: Not all information is transmitted by search engines, which is definetly there fault.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/03
Boris S.
Webmaster & Writer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/30

"An excellent telemetry tool"

Pros: I really appreciated the ease of installation, both as a solution and also the deployment on my sites. If you have already used competing solutions, the operation is intuitive.

Cons: The community is smaller than for some other solutions, so there are far fewer articles to explain how to take full advantage of the tool. That being said, the existing articles are well written and comprehensive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/30
Marvin L.
CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/28

"Awesome analytics for self-hosters "

Comments: Matomo offers a simple setup, a huge amount of features, steady updates and respects the privacy of my users. I really love Matomo.

Pros: - Free to host on-premise
- Many hosting companies offer a 1-click-installation for Matomo
- Easy & straightforward setup
- Comprehensive UX
- Managed paid plan for people that do not wish to host themselves

Cons: - Integration with Google, Facebook & Bing Ads not ready yet (but will be released quite soon)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/28
Misael C.
Developer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/28

"The Best Web Analytics"

Pros: I found out About Matomo 6 years formerly known as pikiwik and damn i loved it, it was giving and still giving me exact geotargeted data results and today its matomo , i love the new edits out, realtime data reports. Other than that, Matomo is a very good iff not better alternative to google's analytics and the rep. thanx

Cons: Note: try working on displaying keywords used by site visitors to our sites in search engine results. that functions is on and off. it needs some work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/28
David a. B.
Operations
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/21

"The alternative for in-house / intranet analytics"

Pros: We chose Piwik (Matomo) to track in-house analytics and be independent to other analytics tools.

Cons: On the 5+ years, haven't encountered a con.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/21
Henry C.
Professional Communicator
Nonprofit Organization Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/02

"Privacy"

Pros: The main advantage of Matomo is the protection of user data.

Cons: Not getting key words from Google searches.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/02
Farshad S.
Senior Product Designer
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/02

"Google Analytics Redefined"

Comments: Great I love it and totally recommend it. 👍

Pros: 1. You get to own your data
2. It's more clear and better UX
3. It's open source and you can host it on your own server
4. Since you own your data, you can use it for data mining and custom faster data processing

Cons: Nothing on my mind right now, I can say more plugins can be developed

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/02
Lav G.
Lead Software Developer
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/04

"Best Analytics Tool"

Pros: I have been using Matomo since it was called Piwik. They have helped us do everything that we used to do with Google in-house which sharing our customer data with Google.

Cons: Not much but would be nice of they can improve some of the db queries.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/04
Dave M.
Consultant
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/16

"Your data is yours"

Pros: If you've used Google Analytics (who hasn't at this point) the process for integrating Matomo into your site and getting reports will seem very familiar. That makes it easy to move off of GA. Since you are hosting the backend, you control who has access to the data and no third party can use it.

Cons: The reporting capability is a bit weak, but you can fully export the data in order to use anything you want, anything from Tableau to Excel. Using this with a non-traditional web page such as a React app will require more work to either understand Matomo's behavior and/or generate custom events instead, but this is also true for GA.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/16
Kevin dominik K.
President
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/31

"Great Open Source Software"

Comments: Using Matomo, then piwik, we were able to greatly improve the responsiveness of the website and react to the user experience. It also helps in defining KPIs for our Marketing.

Pros: Matomo gives you great inside into your unique visitors and their characteristics. It is great to see, how long visitors remain on the side and what actions they take.

Cons: With the number of metrics the software tends to slow down. Especially if multiple user try to evaluate different campaigns you can notice the strain on the hardware.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/31
Magnus H.
Producer
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/02

"Your own GA - self hosted, reliable and extremely powerful"

Pros: Ease of set-up, features & options, frequent updates which doesn't break things, fully featured tag manager, multi-site, speed of report generations.

Cons: It's written in PHP, I do most stuff in node.js

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/02
Tiberiu P.
System Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/08

"A great alternative to Google Analytics"

Comments: I implemented matomo for my personal website because I heard about it at my previous job and decided to give it a try. Since the number of visitors is really small, I rarely use the statistics generated by matomo but it's nice to have it.

Pros: Free
On premise installation
Easy to update
Great UI

Cons: With my limited usage of this software I found no issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/08
Léandre K.
Founder
Telecommunications, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/18

"Good experience with the tool"

Pros: Standalone, fully set of monitoring data and owner of data.

Cons: recurring error while trying to update or customize the tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/18
Martin C.
CEO
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/02

"Easy to use"

Comments: In my case I can keep the statistic of what place in the world, as well as what type of devices, or operating system, in addition to which pages interest my visitors more.

Pros: This software is a real alternative to bring statistics to your sites.

Cons: It has nothing wrong with this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/02
Kaloyan P.
IT Manager
Internet, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/29

"Great use for a self hosted analitycs"

Pros: Enhanced features and the level of details

Cons: Its a bit outdated the tables that the data is sorted but at least everything is in good order

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/29
Cort tafoya D.
Marketing consultant
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/15

"Matomo is neck and neck with Google Analytics"

Comments: Overall Matomo works great and can be a good supplement or replacement for Google Analytics.

Pros: Pretty much unlimited flexibility for what you want tracked. The interface is also easy to navigate.

Cons: Only that is doesn't integrate as seamlessly with Google product as Google Analytics. The tag manager product is a little bit harder to use as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/15
Salih T.
IT Specialist
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/12

"Best alternative to Google"

Pros: Easy to use, user friendly gui, secure and strong

Cons: Easy to use, user friendly gui, secure and strong

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/12