Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,3/5
  • Ease of Use
    4,3/5
  • Customer Service
    4,7/5

About Municode

Integrated Technology Solutions to Make Civic Management Easier

Learn more about Municode

Showing 6 reviews

Dallin K.
Management Analyst / Clerk of Council
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/11/24

"Codification that saves time and money"

Comments: My organization has switched to Municipal Code Online (MCO) within the last six months. We love the control this software gives us-- rather than waiting weeks or months for a codification service, our code is current the morning after an ordinance or resolution passes. Not only is our code up-to-date, but the original ordinances or resolutions remain linked to the section of code they reference which allows us to see exactly what the code looked like at any point in our municipality's history. The MCO platform is also flexible and allows us to be more transparent. We're working on adding all the proclamations to the site and considering including council policies and land use information. We like that we can add as much as we want for the same flat rate. As a local government, we do feel obligated to gripe a little bit about the cost of MCO. It's only a 70 - 75% savings over our previous codification service. We would prefer it were awesome and completely free. Who wouldn't, right?! In this case, we'll just have to settle for the huge savings as an acceptable alternative. Finally, the people at MCO are weird. They are helpful and polite, they go the extra mile, they possess an inordinate amount of common sense, and they do a great job. I've never asked to have something done or to get more information without getting a thorough response in a short timeperiod. It's refreshing and increasingly unusual to find folks with such a strong sense of customer service. We're only six months in to what we hope will be a much longer relationship, but I highly recommend MCO at this point. I've also heard a bit about what they have planned for the near future and am excited to grow with them as they make all my dreams come true.

Vendor Response

by Municipal Code Online on 2015/11/25

Dallin: Thanks for the absolutely glowing review, and you have a wonderful turkey this week!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/11/24
Annette S.
City Recorder/HR Director
Government Administration, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02

"Easy to use and our codes are changed quickly."

Comments: Ease and ability to know myself that changes are done in a timely manner.

Pros: The ease of use, features, and functionality. Changes to our code are updated quickly at a cost that is reasonable. Also that our citizens can get to it from our website and navigate through it with ease.

Cons: That this product wasn't available sooner. That I haven't use the other books being offered to better what our citizen's are seeing. I just found out this past week that there is not enough room on the recorders page of our city website to post anymore minutes and agenda's. I wish I had moved the past ones over to the minute book (another book being offered by Municipal Code Online. When that is done I really won't have a Con.

Vendor Response

by Municipal Code Online on 2017/05/03

Thanks for being so eager to tackle ongoing code management on your own! We are continuously amazed at how much City Clerks and Recorders do for cities, and you are no exception. Keep us informed if you have any software suggestions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02
Jessica M.
Receptionist
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02

"Pretty easy to use, however there could be more features ."

Pros: Easy to use, I am able to get a lot done in a small amount of time. Pretty easy to navigate and I can do searches for specific phrases.

Cons: Copy and paste has to be plain text. It takes a little while to load once a lot of stuff has been loaded on.

Vendor Response

by Municipal Code Online on 2017/05/03

Excellent feedback, and I assure you more features are presently on their way that
will empower your team even more than they do already.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02
Michelle K.
City Recorder
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02

"MCO is a great product. The city likes the searchability of the code"

Comments: mobility and searchability at an affordable price.

Pros: Users like the ease of searching, whether by key word, title, or section. As the administrator, I like having the control of editing the code when amendments are made.

Cons: No online manual for code editors. We have to call or email and sometimes it takes hours or days to get a response.

Vendor Response

by Municipal Code Online on 2017/05/03

Thanks for your great feedback!

You can view our online manual for code editors at the following link

https://mco.municipalcodeonline.com/book?type=ordinances#name=3_The_3-Step_Codification_Process

If you need an immediate response, feel free to reach out at any time via our toll free number at 855-686-4263, or call my cell directly.

Thanks for having such an in-depth Resolutions Book. We show it off to other cities all the time!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02
Craig G.
City Manager
Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02

"Great product, easy to use."

Comments: We were able to get our ordinance changes out to the public the day after they were adopted.

Pros: The ease of making changes, updating content and real time publishing. The staff is always willing to assist with questions when the need arises. The conversion was very painless and smooth.

Cons: When we first converted, getting used to the new format. Took time to get copy and pasting in the correct format down.

Vendor Response

by Municipal Code Online on 2017/05/03

Excellent feedback, thanks!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02
Lacey B.
Recorder
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02

"Municipal Code Online has been great!"

Pros: Love that you can search by topics. Makes it so easy to refer people to do their own research on topics they are interested in or concerned about.

Cons: Formatting is different. Would be ideal to be able to copy and paste documents that have already been done on our end.

Vendor Response

by Municipal Code Online on 2017/05/03

Thanks for your feedback! We will be releasing some new features very shortly where you will be creating the documents on your end from MCO, making the copy and paste element totally unnecessary. We'll be in touch with you about those features, soon!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02