Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3/5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1/5
  • Customer Service
    4.2/5

About ipMonitor

ipMonitor® is a lightweight, affordable, and agentless IT monitoring solution for your network, servers, and applications.

Learn more about ipMonitor

Showing 15 reviews

Todd I.
Manager
Internet, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/24

"ipMonitor by SolarWinds"

Comments: My techs love this software. it is run with Windows startup and their preferences and watched IP's load quickly and efficiently. They give anything SolarWinds a great big fat thumbs up! I on the other hand only know the basics of it, and know it gives me exactly what I want in regards to IP Monitoring on my desktop. (mind you my tech had to set it up for me...)

Pros: Very much a large and robust piece of software. Gives me a lot of abilities to manage my IP network.

Cons: Too many settings, didn't seem to have a basic user interface as opposed to having an advanced only user interface. Too many options for the layman.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/24
Jack E.
Managing Partner
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/10

"ipMonitor no longer an enterprise product"

Comments: When it was unhindered by the 500 monitor limitation, this was the best NOC product I've used to date. It was easy to configure, easy to monitor and act upon monitor status changes, and it required little administrative overhead once initialized. Now, with the limitations discussed above, it's relegated to an entry-level product for startups and small businesses.

Pros: The NOC UI is one of the most intuitive and actionable when configured correctly. Inexperienced NOC techs can quickly become proficient at responding to alerts or status changes with this system.

Cons: The limitation on the number of monitors is problematic for all but the smaller end of the SMB market. I expect this change was implemented to drive customers to the Orion suite, which is much more costly and time-intensive to administer.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/10
Bjarke V.
Head of IT
Financial Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/23

"Quick and easy overview of Up/Down status"

Comments: I started with IPMonitor, and quickly saw the business benefits coming from it, but later switched to the more comprehensive Network Monitor solution from SolarWinds which have much deeper reach into the network and server monitoring.

Pros: What I like most id the ease of use with SolarWinds IP Monitor. It is SO easy to get up and running, and it will deliver results right away. It's super easy to add new devices to be monitored, and removed once they are no longer needed. There is also a free version to try out before committing to a purchase.

Cons: The pre-build reports could be better, but with a little bit of extra effort, it's possible to create some pretty useful reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/23
Verified Reviewer
Customer Service Manager
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/18

"IPMonitor is a decent server monitoring solution"

Comments: I used this software from about 2005-2016. It was effective, but could definitely use some UI changes as it didn't really change much at all in the time I was using it. It was really good and detailed when it came down to identifying problems and running reports, but could throw some false alarms from time-to-time. I would recommend this if the price is reasonable, but could also have a learning curve for new users that is not ideal.

Pros: It was easy to keep track of server status' It had alarms you could set to go off if a server was having issues.

Cons: The interface was dated and clunky to use. It would throw a lot of false alarms sometimes.

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds on 2020/03/02

Thank you for the review. We're excited to confirm that ipMonitor has a new GUI (Graphical User Interface) released with Version 11. Our new GUI makes it easier to navigate the product and provides additional real estate on the NOC view. ipMonitor delivers centralized monitoring for small businesses and organizations, with three affordable tiers of monitoring, starting at just $1,495 with no recurring monthly fees. Try a free 14 day trial.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/18
Verified Reviewer
Network Administrator
Wholesale, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/20

"IPMonitor"

Comments: We have been using IP Monitor for the past 10+ years to monitor our IT Infrastructure (routers, switches, servers, etc). IP Monitor can be configured to generate alerts and a wide variety of reports

Pros: IPMonitor is extremely easy to set up and configure and is ideal for small companies that do not want to spend a lot of money for a network monitoring product

Cons: The one feature I find that is missing is an easy method to purge out historic data that is no longer needed or valid.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/20
Verified Reviewer
Senior SolarWinds Administrator
Computer Networking, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/20

"SolarWinds Monitoring your IP's"

Comments: ipMonitor's new management features make it easier to control and monitor large complex networks and to pinpoint issues in a timely manner. There's little to choose between ipMonitor and WhatsUp Gold for smaller networks, and either will do a good job. If you don't need WhatsUp Gold's scalability and ability to monitor distributed networks then ipMonitor is a good choice.

Pros: Ease of Installation and configuration
Great Dashboards
Great Reporting

Cons: can take a lots of time to probe a huge network to discover the connected devices and configure the required monitors
Cost is bit high in comparison with competitors
Can monitor only 500 networked devices

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/20
Verified Reviewer
Network Engineer
Retail, 10 001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/01

"Ipmonitor "

Pros: Simple, easy to use software that does simple monitoring well.

Cons: It is not being updated anymore and they really want you to switch to the higher priced orion suite. It is lacking on features and the ones it has are not well implemented or updated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/01
Abdul K.
System Admin
Government Administration, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/27

"additional features expected"

Comments: user performance and monitoring

Pros: good for tracking user log on and log off's

Cons: to complicated to access the consol, integraton of user ip is complicated

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/27
Jason Y.
sr net engr
Financial Services, 10 001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/27

"Solarwinds IPmonitor"

Comments: monitoring network routers and switches. making sure utilization is within normal parameters.

Pros: you're able to customize the dashboard and set threshold alerts.

Cons: sometimes it's hard to find what you're looking for.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/27
Aaron D.
Network Specialist
Oil & Energy, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/21

"SolarWinds IPMonitor"

Comments: Great product to find available IP Address.

Pros: One of the best software/programs to monitor IP Address in your environment. Easy to use and navigate.

Cons: The color scheme. Interface when adding a new subnet is kinda confusing at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/21
Chad H.
Network Engineer
Legal Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/20

"IPAM is a great tool"

Comments: I love ipMonitor. We use it as our go to verify active ports, IP usage and auditing, and for planning network growth. Also nice to scan the environment for any devices we aren't expecting to see.

Pros: Easy to scan your network to see which ports are active, nice repository for the whole company to utilize. Very customizable.

Cons: I wish it had easier integration with DNS.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/20
Stephan V.
Senior System Administrator
Computer Networking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/02

"ipmonitor"

Pros: easy to use, no difficult steps to add a new device/server

Cons: missing ipv6 support, submitted a request a few years ago but still no support... support costs based on no new features for the past years

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/02
Markus O.
CTO
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/31

"Reliable monitoring tool without any significant development"

Comments: If you can live with a feature set that was frozen around 6 years ago, this software will work fine for you. Don't count on the vendor adding any new features (IPv6, REST API, Mobile friendly display)

Pros: Simple to use, broad list of monitors available, running stable for years

Cons: There was no significant development during the last 5 years, but you have to keep paying the yearly maintenance renewal, otherwise the product will stop working. Release 10.8.2 was in 2013, then nothing happend until 10.8.3 was released in late 2018 with very minor changes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/31
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Building Materials, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/21

"Great entry tool for anysize network"

Comments: It is not something I use every day however it is something that is used as a double check and also to help me manage the network.

Pros: ease of use, the support around it and the way it integrates in to the other SolarWinds lineup of applications. Its very easy to understand and intuitive. I found that many of the features are exactly what I need to monitor the IP segments of my network.

Cons: Honestly there is not much. The cost could be a bit lower. I would like to see them package it with Network Performance Monitor (NPM for short).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/21
Derek I.
IT Manager
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/14

"ipmonitor is a good solution but keep your options open"

Comments: I've been able to monitor our infrastrucure with ipMonitor but now there are other options to consider.

Pros: ipMonitor is very flexible and can monitor your whole infrastrucure.

Cons: At times ipMonitor can be overwhelming to configure. There are lot's of competition for montioring software inclduing lot's of cloud options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/14