ServiceDesk Plus Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,2 /5

About ServiceDesk Plus

Help Desk Support Software and Asset Management Tool includes, Knowledgebase, SLA Management, Ticket Tracking, Inventory Management.

Learn more about ServiceDesk Plus

Showing 173 reviews

Mark S.
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/05

"Basic Helpdesk Application"

Comments: Our company has been using ManageEngine plus ServiceDesk for our IT Helpdesk support system for several years now. Although this application has been reliable and used widely by our IT support team, it is limited on features and functionality. The support for the application from ManageEngine has been somewhat limited as well. If you are looking for a very basic IT support system, then ManageEngine's ServiceDesk might be a good fit. The application is just limited on what it can do and its ability to scale to fit our needs.

Pros: ServiceDesk Plus from ManageEngine is fairly easy to implement and provides the most basic needs of an IT support application.

Cons: ServiceDesk Plus from ManageEngine is very limited in features and functionality. It also has a fairly complex interface that is out of date. Our company has trouble tracking IT support tickets because of this limitation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/05
Peter B.
Director
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/27

"Sevdesk - easy to use bookkeeping software"

Comments: It has certainly saved us time on monthly bookkeeping and made a life for our accountant easier. It is a great solution for medium-sized businesses

Pros: It is really easy to use and understand with all the necessary plugins. The linking of documents is really easy with the bank statement import

Cons: There could be additional integrations to CRM systems, such as Hubspot etc. The CRAM is very basic and needs some additional features to be useful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/27
Andrew W.
Radpro
Hospital & Health Care, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/09

"Life changing"

Comments: My experience of using this software has been amazing. It has been like switching on a light to dispurse the darkness that has been sat over my work life for so long.

Pros: When I use this software my mind is suddenly fee of clutter, I feel smarter and have to work less.

Cons: The only feature that is missing is the ability to turn back time. With this feature, I would be able to start using Service Desk Plus from the very beginning.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/09
Eric O.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/04

"The AIO Servicedesk Solution"

Comments: as the title says "The AIO Servicedesk Solution", the solution has interconnected modules that include everything from ticket management, problems, changes and even inventory

Pros: All the modules ready to use since each one of this are out of the box so you can just simply install the SW and start to use.

Cons: Maybe more customization regarding request module, some tabs has no use in our org so we cannot move that

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/04
Basil M.
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2015/12/03

"Exactly as they advertise. Big 4's are a pain."

Comments: We used ServiceDesk in the ISP (Internet Service Provider) that I worked for. We nearly lost hope in finding good helpdesk software with ITIL compliance. We even considered building a home-made application. For two years, BMC Remedy gave us a hard time from a usability and performance perspective, in addition to their highly priced customization bills. Until, one day, a decent consultant forwarded a link to ServiceDesk Plus. ServiceDesk Plus breaks the myth that 'java server applications are slow' and really shows that a high quality product with good efficiency and performance can be built using Java. It's all up to the engineers (and when it's slow, its all their fault). One thing I learned from ServiceDesk; don't blindly trust Gartner reports when searching for good software. At the time of searching, Gartner Quarterly reports listed BMC at the top with no mention whatsoever of ServiceDesk Plus. I'm not blaming Gartner for corrupt information, I'm sure they have their criteria in place, but at the end, they're humans, they have their mistakes, biases, misinformation, etc.

Pros: 1. Light-weight and highly responsive. Intuitive interface.
2. Wonderful 'Solutions Knowledge Base' side feature based on articles and with an excellent search functionality. (We no longer use Media Wiki, however I'm doubtful about dropping MediaWiki).
3. The ServiceDesk API gives you unlimited abilities to automate and integrate with other applications. For example, we were able to integrate Nagios Network Monitoring tool so that a high priority alarm could automatically open a ticket on ServiceDesk Plus.
4. I admire the effort they placed on their online documention with their and searchable online you'll hardly need to contact support.

Cons: Nothing major, but would like to see improvements in the following areas:
1. Provide a visual view of all entities in the system. Virtual Machines, Routers, Physical Servers, etc. using graphing tools.
2. Provide a searchable menu. For example, if I type "LDAP Authentication" this would show me the "Domain Controllers" in the setup menu (Similar to CPanel's menu search feature).
3. More help notes & tips on 'what to do next' and on 'keyboard shortcuts'.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2015/12/03
Aman D.
IT Business Analyst
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/13

"Easy implementation with highly intuitive configuration set up"

Comments: Good overall experience with purchase and implementation of the product. Easy to configure and use for both technicians and users.

Pros: Implementation and configuring was easy. Integration to AD to create user profiles. Intuitiveness of features for both the user community and technicians made it easy for all to use the product. Wholistic list of functionalities and features.

Cons: Apart from minimal verbiage changes that was not allowed in the application, so far most of the things are positive looking. You can submit a feature request for modification to the application.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/13
Verified Reviewer
Senior Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/24

"Servicedesk product at an affordable price"

Pros: The product setup & configuration is easy. Offers a good reporting tool. Can use used to connect to Office 365 to generate report for their usage. Reports can be exported into multiple file formats.

Cons: The interface could have been much much better. Adding of extendedattributes could have been made easier.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/24
Ryan P.
Network Engineer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/29

"The product has enabled us to more quickly and seamlessly provide support for our staff."

Pros: Workflows for tickets such as automatic approvals for new hires by a hiring manager
Multiple forms of entering a ticket (web, email, keywords in email)
Replying to user within ticket for a seamless end user experience
Separation of tasks within a ticket for different groups
Management of our contracts with automated reminders
Ability to import asset information and create relationships for identifying staff ownership of assets
Easily create solutions that both end users and technicians can refer to
Software is constantly being updated to meet needs of user base

Cons: - Support can take a bit to get back to you on issues
- It would be nice to be able to be able set up different support groups that could have tickets round robin assigned instead of the auto assigning applying to the entire set up technicians.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/29
Mike S.
Programmer/Analyst
Paper & Forest Products, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/07

"ServiceDesk Plus - Manage your Helpdesk with Ease"

Comments: it has been an invaluable tool these past years to keep track of our helpdesk tickets.

Pros: The software is great for tracking our IT helpdesk tickets. It provides easy to configure analysis options. Another plus is the option to keep and manage a knowledgebase of common solutions.

Cons: You have to be careful when assigning tickets from the main menu. I once clicked on the wrong check box when wanting just to select the very first ticket and thereby assigned all open tickets to one technician. Took us a few minutes to get all the tickets reassigned to the correct tech.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/07
Verified Reviewer
Sr. IT Infrastructure Engineer
Maritime, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/02

"Maybe the best ticketing system in the market. Great way to organize multi-located teams."

Pros: Reliable, yet easy to use ticketing system. Provides great configuration options, get hold of open requests, tasks, projects. Great way to organize teams.

Cons: Projects module still leaves a lot to be desired. Good for basic stuff only, although it is not meant to replace more complete (and expensive) project management solutions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/02
Kiran K.
System administrator
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/27

"Its just awesome"

Comments: This save my time a lot

Pros: user friendly and I am getting what exact output I want. Especially with SDP I just love it the way it is designed and the outputs are just awesome.

Cons: Office 365 I expected a lot of reports but unfortunately i didnt get the exact report structure that I need, which was a sad part for me with this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/27
Zia K.
Technical Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/12

"Value for Money"

Comments: I have been with SDP more than 5+ Years
They have very good features like Incident and Change Management.
End Less Custom Integrations can be done using Custom Triggers.

Pros: More advanced Features like Field and Form Rules

Cons: UI, Less API

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/12
Brown S.
Network Systems Engineer
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/09

"Good Ticketing System"

Pros: I like that it is a one-stop shop for ticketing, change management, and inventory.

Cons: Some of the developer features are a bit lacking and hard to grasp.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/09
Sam N.
Team Lead
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/12

"Convenient tool"

Pros: I was attracted to the fact that everything is standard. You want to make for yourself - tune, do not want - so work. True, then you have to adjust your tasks to standard functions. But as a starter package for beginners, administrators can be recommended, albeit with a stretch.

Cons: Many problems with databases. Very often the server is working because of this incorrectly, but it does hang. Technical support does not help much. In general, you can't do without your own knowledge and skills.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/12
Djohn T.
SEO-analyst
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/15

"I was impressed by the ease of use of the application"

Pros: First of all, I appreciated the ease of use of this application. In order to start working with ServiceDesk, it is not necessary to spend a lot of time for training, much less to attend courses.

Cons: For our small business the system is redundant. For example, we never use certain functions, but we can't turn them off or at least hide them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/15
Alan H.
Desktop Support Technician
Higher Education, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/10

"Way better Service Desk applications out there"

Pros: When it comes to bare basics, ServiceDesk Plus can get the job done. The sorting by order of attributes is easy enough. Simple ticket resolution is easy enough. Inputting attributes such as location and the nature of the request is easy enough. Picking up unassigned requests is easy. The asset search function is actually quite useful when doing a quick track of company assets.

Cons: The search function is nearly useless and if you have a LOT of tickets in the immediate archive, good luck finding it. The inability to search tickets by requester name is non-existent, the inline reply of ticket requests is extremely limited to the point that you might as well simply contact the client directly through your own company email rather than SDP itself.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/10
Nick Z.
Help Desk Manager
Public Policy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/13

"You get what you pay for"

Comments: When we paid for the software (before switching to the free edition), support was very hard to understand. While SDP is certainly usable, it has been growing increasingly unstable for us. When we have time, we'll likely look into a different solution, like Spiceworks.

Pros: The software is easy to configure. The price is right for a small shop (free for up to five users). If you just need something basic, SDP fulfills the basic needs of a help desk.

Cons: The page redirects are buggy. Clicking links frequently go 404 at random as it serves a page wrong. Instead of going to http://servername/workorder.do it will instead just try to go to workorder.do and not find the page.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/13
Christopher J.
Photograpger
Photography, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/16

"Best Helpdesk Platform for the $"

Pros: I absolutely loved the licensing for this system. For a small business, being able to get advanced helpdesk functionality for free was absolutely budget saving.

Cons: Some of the maintenance screens are hard to figure out. Feels like a bit more than was needed was added to the system. Overall, its always my first choice and I have used it at 3 different jobs over 20+ years.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/16
Debby W.
Owner/Consultant
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/13

"ManageEngine Service Desk Plus"

Comments: I have used ManageEngine for a few clients and have found the product amazingly quick to implement. It is an excellent tool for any IT Service Desk.

Pros: Ease of use and quick implementation. Fully ITIL. Easy to customize the screens. Excellent reporting and workflow.

Cons: Manual implementation of business rules - no functionality to import the rules. SLA / Priority Matrix is not very easy to customize.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/13
Nuno O.
IT Manager
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/08

"Powerful and Simple"

Pros: The best pro is the integration with other tools from ManagedEngine as DesktopCentral. The integration as give me a big return in time of deployment and helpdesk

Cons: Infinite auto response loop and too expensive for a small business companies. The language interface is not in portuguese

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/08
Dale O.
Infrastructure / Security Manager
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/04

"With several tech's its priceless, A one stop shop and integrates well with Desktop Central."

Pros: The effective integration with the other software solutions that manage engine offers. The ability to track any actions made by the tech.

Cons: Wasn't anything I didn't like! The service desk plus did just as it advertised and was continually updated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/04
Greg H.
IT Manager
Banking, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/16

"Decent product for the money"

Comments: This product was fairly easy to setup once we learned the basics. It integrates with AD well and the screens are highly customizable. It does not lend itself to customer tickets in an organization like ours with several thousand customer contacts. It is also difficult to ascertain the exact time spent on each case. Great product for the money.

Pros: Easy setup.
Integrates with AD.

Cons: Support is a bit difficult to obtain but appears to be getting better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/16
Malcom C.
IT Consultant
Computer Software, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/11

"Excellent software!"

Pros: What I really like here is you can manage to achieve good work with a huge number of clients. And it has a lot of option to manage.

Cons: Sometimes it is a little bit laggy but not the most of the time, maybe because of may long usage time range. But all in all great product out here!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/11
Randy W.
Director of IT and Operations
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/26

"Easy to use and is a very useful tool."

Pros: Ease of use and also the way that it flows with our business. The software has lots of pros to it and also can be used effectively.

Cons: Cost and the GUI still needs some additional enhancements but it is coming along with each build and update.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/26