Web Help Desk Reviews

by SolarWinds

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Web Help Desk

Web Help Desk is an on-premises ticketing and asset management solution that simplifies your IT help desk processes and reduces costs.

Learn more about Web Help Desk

Showing 109 reviews

Dan D.
Systems Administrator
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Good but a bit outdated"

Comments: Being able to have a helpdesk software at a relatively cheap price. It's not perfect, but gets the job done.

Pros: It offers a lot given the price. You have a ticketing system, FAQs section, Reports that can be run on tickets / techs. You can also set up action rules that can automate tickets, for example reports being run. Integrates with AD. The layout is fairly intuitive and organizing tickets / categories / etc is easy.

Cons: Some features are half baked. Assets / Parts isn't very intuitive to work with and creates more problems than it solves. For example it will produce multiple entries based on a wireless IP and wired IP and there is no way to force it to use a MAC address which would make a lot more sense. I would say there is a fairly steep learning curve if you really want to get into advanced features. I didn't even know a lot of them existed until about a year ago. Support is hit or miss.

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds on 2017/05/26

We thank you for this very honest feedback. We clearly have some room to improve, but we are working at it every day.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Curtis H.
IT Support Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/11

"Web Help Desk has worked better than the past ticketing system we have. It does what we at this time"

Pros: Very easy to users to respond and create tickets. When users create tickets through the website it will list their IP Address of the computer they are using. You can set up a status on a ticket for waiting for a response. After the criteria of your choosing will send users email and after the criteria are met it will auto close the ticket. You can also use multi-approval chain works great. If you have sign off of more than 1 person will generate an email to one and if they approve sends to the other. If any deny in the chain will stop the process. You can also respond to tickets through email which goes directly to the user without having to log into the system.

Cons: There is no true purchase order. It's more like a tracking of POs you already have done in another system. IF you want to use then it has to add make and model. Sometimes when clicking a field it will randomly close and you have to back out the ticket and go back in. When ordering licenses the admin uses up a license. When searching tickets can only search by the last name. If you have assets linked to a user you have to set up manually for each user. The mobile app hasn't been updated for users, so do not use. If you want embedded documents or pictures in the PAQs have to use BBCODE, which if are a busy helpdesk won't have time to create.

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds on 2017/05/26

Just wanted to thank you for sharing this honest feedback. Without a doubt, we have some room for improvement, but it's comments like this that keep us on the right path.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/11
Rodney R.
Technical Services Director
Telecommunications, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/29

"Very cheap system, but not ITIL compliant"

Comments: Platform was installed upon my arrival into the company. As we improve the Services teams and tools we need to also obtain a ITIL solution, which WHD currently does not provide - especially around the company specific SLA report function. I was hoping to have the tool upgraded (offered to pay for this several times) but no responses from Solarwinds Sales or Marketing.

Pros: Cheap fees compared to other similar product platforms, easy to use for a variety of tasks that work.

Cons: SLAs - can be introduced but only globally (not per contract/customer) and not able to report on as only appearing in the history section when added (respond, restore, resolve). Asked support and was instructed this platform was not able to currently:
1. set up separate SLAs per contract/customer,
2. not able to get information out for reporting.
Also asked to cut and paste (keeping format) instead of adding attachments out of order which makes it much easier to follow instructions or details from our customers.
Feature Requests raised for these issues without result.
Taken this platform is not aimed at multi-nationals. Will be difficult to stay on this platform as automation of reporting per customer SLAs can not be done, taking too much effort to manually achieve.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/29
Chris H.
Systems Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/18

"Very robust on prem software."

Comments: Prioritization and organization for a single Help Desk user to control a 100+ user environment.

Pros: Complete control of all customization for you environment. You also have the ability to configure email ticket so you do not have to rely on VPN connections to submit tickets. We all know how reliable VPN's can be. For me the ability for Sales Reps out in the field to submit Help Desk ticket through email is awesome. They can do it right from their phone's email program.

Cons: I think that for the upfront cost of the software and the amount that you pay for yearly support and updates that the seat count should at least start at two people instead of just one. This is a setback with the upfront cost.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/18
Emmanuel H.
Systems Administrator
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"In valuable tool to running our schools!"

Comments: It is how we manage our workflow.

Pros: There are several good things about this program. 1st, the ability to keep track of problems. This cannot be underestimated across two buildings with hundreds of laptops and other equipment. 2nd, the ability to maintain open dialogue with clients who need repairs. 3rd, the ability to sort issues by client, room, or situations and see the history of a problem, or a problem user.

Cons: The interface is functional, just not snazzy, and modern! I have always wanted an ability to printout a viable list of open jobs to give to techs. I just can't figure out how to do that. For instance, assign all AV jobs to one tech and send him/her a Task List...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Tom M.
IT Director
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/20

"Solarwinds Web Help Desk solved multiple issues in our stores"

Comments: As the only main IT person in our company, I was riddled with requests for help through the email, phone and in person.
With the Solarwinds Web Help Desk, everything is ticketed, rated and responded to by urgency need. Also, when I contact support on our software programs, I can put the replies directly into the ticket and respond to the associate who wrote the ticket with up to date progress.

Pros: Quick to set up.
Easy to operate.
All users have access to their tickets

Cons: Reports are rough to use, however I have been able to understand them after a while.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/20
Erik S.
End User Support Manager
Hospitality, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"A very robust ticketing system, with a lot of customizable options"

Comments: Better overall organization for our teams, which allows for more detailed collaboration and ticket resolution all around.

Pros: The software is very configurable including custom action rules, approval processes, inventory (software/hardware), and various queues that allow for customized responses.

Cons: The format of replies can be difficult to read/follow and is not very customizable. The inventory does not collect the user an asset is assigned to; while this is a typical WMI feature, it's not available for some reason in our current version.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Seth B.
Service Desk Team Lead
Consumer Services, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"I operate as an administrator of the system as well as running a help desk team out of the system."

Comments: It does what it says on the box - helps us track issues and tickets.

Pros: The pricing system is definitely a bonus when compared to other software solutions. You get a lot of bang for your buck. Out of the box it works fairly well, but we have a lot of specialized use cases that took more to implement. The administration features are fairly simplistic - could be good or bad depending on how you look at it, but as someone with minimal code/administration experience it's easy to jump right in and get what you need done. Bulk features is nice. Client and ticket history were a must for us as we have our HR team working out of this system in tandem with other teams.

Cons: 1. Lack of in depth customization. This extends to UI, ticket options, even the action rules are pretty railroaded in terms of what you can do.
2. Built in reporting isn't great. It also taxes the system from the user/technician side if you are running a large report (this is bad.) We ended up just throwing the SQL tables into Tableau to get any sort of granular information.
3. Systems other than the ticketing feature aren't fleshed out. Assets and FAQs both stink, even when compared to ticketing system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Brian B.
Sysadmin Lvl1
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Powerful Config Options"

Pros: The ability to sort tickets to different teams with ease. Web Help Desk makes our approval processes easier to manage and verify. Developers responded directly to forum requests.

Cons: Limited to a single tab per user. If links are opened in multiple tabs issues will occur. Still has some limits with approval boards.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Jeri R.
Helpdesk Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"I have been very pleased with the product"

Comments: As it should it helps keep up with work orders that users have notified us about and I can access it from smartphone which is very handy

Pros: It was priced well for the features it provides. It integrates with SCCM for inventory purposes as well as SQL and Exchange.

Cons: some of the interface is not as intuitive as I would like it to be. really very minor. I would like to create a ticket from the client information page. and have a save button at the top of the ticket too,

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/11

"Awesome Product"

Pros: Solar winds does it again - Web Help Desk command center, this software is amazing and easy to use.

Cons: The main con of this program is the look and feel of the user interface, when dealing with desktop guys it is best to have a "awesome" look and feel, make the geek feel cool!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/11
Verified Reviewer
Test Development Manager
Medical Devices, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/09

"Good ticket system for ICT department"

Pros: Web Help Desk is a modern solution for ticket based system. Modern UI and great reports.

Cons: The mobile interface is not keeping up with iOS development.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/09
Verified Reviewer
Technology Support Specialist
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/08

"Web Help Desk: Great when it works."

Comments: Easy to deploy on a vm. Old clunky software with no real promise of a future since Solarwinds bought them. Was a good product at one time, but look for someone else at this point.

Pros: Great Mac integrations. Being able to RDP into a client's computer from the helpdesk is awesome. Inventory and tickets in the same interface is also nice. Wish more low cost helpdesks would have these features in them.

Cons: There are long standing bugs in the software. Solarwinds has been less than helpful in fixing them. They axed the VM template because they didn't want to rework it to be secure. The interface is dated and their "redesign" was a fresh coat of paint over a mess of a program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/08
Verified Reviewer
IT Technician
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/16

"Review of SolarWinds Web Help Desk"

Pros: This service is very useful when setup correctly. I am using this service's built in inventory system at one of my jobs currently and it makes it a lot easier to keep track of the equipment that my department manages.

Cons: The only complaint that I have is that the ticketing system of this service is a little difficult to navigate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/16
Alex B.
Technical Support Analyst
Information Technology & Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Fast, Easy, effective"

Comments: Asset management

Pros: It is easy to see all tickets in the system, and who is working said tickets. Notes within the tickets are easy to add or edit, and the reporting is a great feature.

Cons: It tends to hang in my browser at times, which requires a restart of the browser. This happens both in Internet Explorer 11, or Firefox.

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds on 2017/05/26

We're so glad to hear you're able to use Web Help Desk with such ease and that you've enjoyed the ability to track ticket status among other functions. Depending on which version of the product you're using, this could be the cause of your browser-related issues. Here is a link to a resources to verify your favored browser is suited for your running instance: http://bit.ly/2rbhXle. If you're issues persist, we strongly urge you to contact our support team via the SolarWinds Success Center for more guidance.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources Operations Manager
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/02

"Small business friendly product"

Pros: We are very happy with the customer service provided by solar winds.

Cons: we do not have anything negative to say.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/02
Trang H.
Trang H.
Cad Draftsman
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/13

"A great service management tool for your business"

Pros: The Web help desk can be used by technicians and clients. The clients use it to submit a ticket and the technicians will provide an answer or solution to the clients. I think this tool is good for use in the company. The staff members can use it to report about their IT problems or request for assets that they need for their job.

Cons: It's a paid tool so you need to pay for it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/13
Jesse C.
Systems Administrator
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/26

"Easy to use after you get the hang of it."

Pros: At first, it can be a little difficult to use Solarwinds Web Help Desk. But after you give it some time, it becomes pretty easy to use. It is fairly customizable and decently fast as well.

Cons: It has a bit of a learning curve. The user interface isn't extremely pleasing to the eye. It would be nice if it had a built in chat option, or the ability to directly contact the customer through the tickets and log the conversation for future reference.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/26
Verified Reviewer
Reporting Analyst
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/25

"Great Ticketing System"

Comments: Their customer service is very quick and responsive, it is a very easy to use application and most importantly, helpful!

Pros: This software is pretty easy to use as a ticketing system. It provides parent-child ticket relationships that help you keep track of all tasks per department.

Cons: The minor thing that limits a user to get the full benefit of the software is that currently we are unable to assign checklists to particular child tickets.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/25
Norma C.
Research Engineer
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"great product"

Comments: My company uses the Web Help Desk to track their clients' issues with their aerial surveying systems. I'm an organization freak. This program provides a great way to organize each client & their issues. It is easy to use & didn't take too long to understand how to work in the program. The type of statistics we require are not available through this program.

Pros: easy to use, organization

Cons: will not email to google group accounts, could provide more types of statistics

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Dan P.
MIS Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Setup is hard, but after that it's a great product"

Comments: Very easy software inventory and end user management

Pros: Ability to set up software on end user machines. I am able to help end users very quickly, and our software packages are growing.

Cons: Initial setup was a pain. I had to quote out a SQL server and set that up just to use the product. Something w hadn't done in this environment

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
James M.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014/08/20

"Nearly abandoned by Solarwinds"

Comments: Lacking in common sense functionality. Lack of followthrough on feature update timelines. No analytics, no cross-utility between assets and tickets or users, no automated document creation based on ticket types or requests. The paid support seems present only to tell customers that functionality "does not exist at this time". One need only look to the customer forum "thwack" to see that most customers are looking elsewhere. Other than that, it is easy to use and configure.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014/08/20
Sergey M.
Sergey M.
Manager, Technology Infrastructure and Compliance
Hospitality, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/13

"Make your end user support structured"

Pros: I started using this software 4 years ago. From a very first moment I could really see a difference from other products. I liked an ability to have multiple locations, with each location having multiple points of contacts. With that, I was able to set up routings of my tickets so they would always reach a correct IT person. This is very useful, when your business is spread through multiple timezones. Another feature that I really liked is LDAP authentication. This allowed me to restrict access to only authorized users, eliminating a possibility of phishing emails reaching the system.

Cons: As the company grew, at some point my AD structure become very complex - multiple ADs not connected to each other. Unfortunately, at that point, I had to stop using this solution because it couldn't handle more that one AD efficiently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/13
Carsten M.
Senior Support Engineer
Medical Devices, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Very good experience setting up a system from scratch, from sales to Customer Service."

Comments: Better customer service

Pros: Software is very easy to setup, everything you need to get a support system up and running is there. Solarwinds Support is very prompt to respond to questions or issue that you may have. The reason I suggest Solarwinds Helpdesk was that I had been a user / admin on a system before. Thicket history is great, asset management is very good

Cons: The report module and the part and billing feature is weak.
Generating reports is not that intuitive and there is things that you cant get an report on.
Parts and billing, missing pricing features and invoice / packing list options.
Solarwinds is not so god at coming back to with feature request that you have submitted nor to let you know that bug have been fixed. There is to long between bug fixed / new releases is being released .

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Jeremy M.
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Mining & Metals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/01

"Web Help Desk simply put saves your bacon..."

Pros: End to end is one of the best Help desk solutions i have used. I find the ticketing straight forward, the asset tracking awesome, the integration with AD and Solarwinds is great, it even does Knowledge base and surveys.

Cons: I wish it did a better job with parent / child tickets. The calendar is kind of pointless. It needs to sync with the technicians Exchange calendar, and there is no customization of the admin interface for like a Skin, you can not for admin purposes change the Logo. The users side can be modified but not admin.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/01