Web Help Desk Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,1 /5

About Web Help Desk

Web Help Desk is an on-premises ticketing and asset management solution that simplifies your IT help desk processes and reduces costs.

Learn more about Web Help Desk

Showing 109 reviews

Sergey M.
Manager, Technology Infrastructure and Compliance
Hospitality, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/13

"Make your end user support structured"

Pros: I started using this software 4 years ago. From a very first moment I could really see a difference from other products. I liked an ability to have multiple locations, with each location having multiple points of contacts. With that, I was able to set up routings of my tickets so they would always reach a correct IT person. This is very useful, when your business is spread through multiple timezones. Another feature that I really liked is LDAP authentication. This allowed me to restrict access to only authorized users, eliminating a possibility of phishing emails reaching the system.

Cons: As the company grew, at some point my AD structure become very complex - multiple ADs not connected to each other. Unfortunately, at that point, I had to stop using this solution because it couldn't handle more that one AD efficiently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/13
Carsten M.
Senior Support Engineer
Medical Devices, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Very good experience setting up a system from scratch, from sales to Customer Service."

Comments: Better customer service

Pros: Software is very easy to setup, everything you need to get a support system up and running is there. Solarwinds Support is very prompt to respond to questions or issue that you may have. The reason I suggest Solarwinds Helpdesk was that I had been a user / admin on a system before. Thicket history is great, asset management is very good

Cons: The report module and the part and billing feature is weak.
Generating reports is not that intuitive and there is things that you cant get an report on.
Parts and billing, missing pricing features and invoice / packing list options.
Solarwinds is not so god at coming back to with feature request that you have submitted nor to let you know that bug have been fixed. There is to long between bug fixed / new releases is being released .

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Mining & Metals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/01

"Web Help Desk simply put saves your bacon..."

Pros: End to end is one of the best Help desk solutions i have used. I find the ticketing straight forward, the asset tracking awesome, the integration with AD and Solarwinds is great, it even does Knowledge base and surveys.

Cons: I wish it did a better job with parent / child tickets. The calendar is kind of pointless. It needs to sync with the technicians Exchange calendar, and there is no customization of the admin interface for like a Skin, you can not for admin purposes change the Logo. The users side can be modified but not admin.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/01
Kory M.
Systems Administrator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09

"Great Product! Does More Than Expected / Necessary"

Pros: SolarWinds is great for being a helpdesk ticketing system which is what we purchased it for, however, it does much more than that! It is a very useful tool for inventory, as well as purchase orders, and other items. It definitely has more features than we expected and we've been slowly incorporating more and more of these as we've used the product. I like the ability to add custom fields, a lot of products you are stuck with how they are configured out of the box, SolarWinds is definitely not that product.

Cons: The only real downside to SolarWinds has been the fact that some of the more advanced things such as Single Sign On (SSO) / ADFS were not very user friendly to configure, but we have successfully done it, and it does work quite well. The only other issue we have had is some off / on issues where if we reboot the server we have it hosted on, it will go back to being a trial license, but a simple call to Customer Support and the issue is resolved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09
Ross B.
Network Support Specialist
Education Management, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Has the features we need to make our support experience painless for our end users."

Comments: Time savings, and a good handle on what opportunities we have in our organization.

Pros: The ease of use is what has sold me. I was able to customize the experience to my liking without to much effort. We are able to track the metrics that we desire and it helps our team have a clear sense of what needs to be accomplished in a given day. From the techs to the staff, it has been a great tool that has eliminated a lot of time waste that we used to have.

Cons: Probably the biggest con that I would have is that there isn't a remote desktop client built in. Of course we are in an education environment, and cost is always an issue. We'd love to have the integration without the additional cost, but I realize that's not always an option.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Jonathan S.
Educational Technology Systems Manager
E-Learning, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09

"Solarwinds Web Help Desk is awesome and has tons of features!"

Comments: Asset and Help Desk Ticket Tracking

Pros: Web Help Desk (WHD) has two main features that I love. You can create help desk tickets and you can track assets.
WHD ticket system has a dashboard that you can create many different widgets on to see beautiful and detailed graphics. It also also has tabs to see your tickets, your group tickets, flagged tickets, and a search tab to see all tickets.
WHD assets system allows you to input your devices or anything that used like to allow users to borrow. Then users can request usage of the devices.
WHD has a very clean user interface. It is very easy to navigate and it is mobile friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09
Kevin M.
Systems Administrator
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"We moved from TrackIT! to Web Help Desk, and it is much easier to use overall."

Comments: Easy deployment and configuration. Were also able to use the ticketing system for departments other than IT, such as HR and Maintenance. Our users were also able to adopt Web Help Desk with very little training. For users without an email address in our company WHD gave us a way create users so they could submit tickets, we did not have this option with other software.

Pros: Ease of use and access. Covers everything we need for a small/medium business, and runs great a virtual server. If you buy other products from SolarWinds it integrates with those too. The emailing of tickets is seemless, and it is easy to keep all communications within the tool. Integrates nicely with Active Directory.

Cons: Asset tracking is not as good as other tools. The reporting has a learning curve, and needs to have more options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Scott S.
IT Support
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"We use and set up this ticket system several months ago, and very pleased with functionality."

Pros: Easy setup on own server, good customization if your familiar with how java works. Easily add current environment with LDAP detection for domain objects. Can also easily set up assets via wmi, or even straight IP detection.

Cons: We've had a couple issues with software losing license key seeming inexplicably. Resetting and fixing this issue one time was simple fix, the other required a couple days waiting for support to reply, for it needed to be fixed on their end. Only other complaint with company comes in the sales team. Once purchasing a product form them, of which many are great, we all use remote support software from them which is fantastic. However, be expected to be bombarded daily with spam about future products. Also had experience with a slimy sales rep whom called office stating to the receptionist that I had contacted him for help with something. I had not.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Francis P.
Sr. Network Systems Admin.
501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/24

"Solarwinds Web Help Desk Review"

Comments: A lightweight combination of help desk and asset management features, SolarWinds Web Help Desk lacks a few features that larger organizations will need, but makes up for it with an easy-to-use user interface. Costwise, it is not very expensive.
Other compeititors such as LANDesk, Track It! are more robust and has more features out of the box. Pricewise, it is a lot cheaper.

Pros: Customers can get up & running in less than four hours. Navigating is easy, with large buttons and text. Scheduling reports is easy and shows a history. It is a web-hosted solution with support.

Cons: It does not track installed licenses. Depreciation is not built in. The application is lack of robust and not very customizable out of the box.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/24
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Mining & Metals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/31

"It has the potential to be the best helpdesk software on the market, and currently is really good"

Comments: Ability to tranck issues, support users in a timely manor, track time needed for projects to better forecast for future projects, reliability, friendly user interface.

Pros: User interface, integration with other SolarWinds products, Support, ease of install and management.

Cons: It needs some improvements and customization ability. I would like to see a better parent child ticket relationship established. It could improve the custom field settings greatly. Allowing for more of them in other places. Its needs better navigation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/31
Caleb J.
Junior Developer
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26

"Web Help Desk - Powerful IT Ticketing System"

Comments: Our company was in need of a management system to track employee changes and termination for auditing purposes. Web Help Desk so far is doing a pretty good job at automating the tickets and routing to the required departments and individuals.

Pros: Web Help Desk - is known to be a very powerful IT ticketing system which can also be used to manage IT assets. It is a simple and easy to use software for both the IT team and the end-users, which helps to resolve service desk reported or submitted issues fast and in return will make both users a happy camper. Web Help Desk service management tool takes the hassle and worries out of manually creating and routing tickets. Every Incident creation, escalation and task assignment are properly tracked throughout the entire process, which is done automatically and in return restores productivity back into the company.

Cons: I believe that the overall configuration process is a bit complicated and would be a plus if it could be made a bit simpler.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26
Jeffrey C.
Help Desk Technician III
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"I'm a daily user of the system and have not had any major issues."

Pros: I like it's ease of use in creating and editing the ticket types. This allows me to easily create plenty of different tickets for easy metrics and organization.

Cons: I do not like how the system works primarily off of the email system, having users able to CC the help desk email we assign to the system and generate multiple tickets for one issue has been an issue for our organization.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Christopher S.
Network Engineer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"We have had the web helpdesk for about 2 years. Has made our live easier using this easy to use app."

Comments: Having to not worry about slowness and random errors that we got from our old in-house solution. Web HelpDesk is easy to setup and use.

Pros: Easy to incorporate with AD. Easy to customize your own reports for management. I like how each user has the ability to modify there own dash board.

Cons: The color an theme should be interchangeable. I wish there was a switchable color theme. For the most part that is it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Adam A.
Help desk
Textiles, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Easy to use but missing some functionality"

Comments: Tracking and time savings

Pros: Customizing ability and ease of use for clients. Easy to track assets and update inventory. Reporting is very easy.

Cons: Have to go into settings every time I need to add request types or new assets. I want to make additions right from the ticket screen or asset screen. Also I want the help desk calendar to sync directly onto my outlook calendar. Asset audit sucks. Want to know detailed info about the computers like software, o/S, memory, hard drive and it's a pain or doesn't pull the info most of the time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Dharmendra S.
System Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/09

"Good but need more improvements"

Comments: it's nice and effective
WHD is perfect for beginners you can grab everything with it

Pros: you can get each and every details while working on tickets
easy to track the details who all work on the tickets and what has been done so far
one of the best in the market

Cons: need high RAM usage, you'll not enjoy if you don't have good amount of RAM on the server

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/09
Melanie B.
Network Manager
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Very easy to setup"

Comments: The price point is low which enables it feasable to K-12 education. This also is very seamless to setup and customer support is great.

Pros: We love how easy it is to use for us and our staff. It is easy to keep track of reporting and to look up responses and past tickets.

Cons: Asset Management is not the easiest to add assets into. Longer process to add them in individually.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Verified Reviewer
Senior Technical Support
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/20

"Awesome program to do support tickets and track progress"

Pros: Allows end users to request and send tickets to Helpdesk and allows Helpdesk to document work and track everything that has been done

Cons: There has been few issues with the LDAP properly syncing with the database. sometimes creates multiple duplicate users. some functions have too many options

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/20
Braedan H.
IT Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/07

"Great Inventory and Ticketing System"

Pros: Super easy to navigate, and understand. Took me only a few days to understand fully how to get our ticketing system to work.

Cons: Few bugs in the software, not sure if it's the version I'm on, but very little to complain about. Does exactly what you need, and then some.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/07
Taylor B.
Helpdesk Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Solid Helpdesk/Service Desk ITSM tool with all the features you would expect"

Pros: Customizable to fit nearly all needs for a modern IT department with a need to track incidents, requests, and problems.

Cons: There are times when I wish the reporting functions were better. There are limitations to what you can report and dashboards. Wish there was an ability to make custom fields visible or hidden dynamically based upon selection of other custom fields on the ticket submission forms.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Andy S.
Desktop III
Management Consulting, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/26

"Awesome but dated"

Pros: Easy navigation and easy access to information, reports, as well has monitoring solutions built in.

Cons: Solarwinds lacks updates, and feature improvements, I have used this product for 3 years and have yet to see any big changes. Very dated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/26
David W.
Systems Administrator
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"A helpdesk product that integrates with Solar Winds? Yes, please!"

Comments: Help Desk ticket database with asset inventory

Pros: It integrates with Solar Winds and helps with asset control. The Helpdesk UI/UX is easy to read. It allows for Helpdesk automation tasks, IE: reminder events.

Cons: The assets aren't cleanly entered into the system from Solar Winds. Example: Out of the box, any device with both Ethernet and wireless connects show as two different devices.

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds on 2017/05/23

Your review brings up a good point: something often overlooked is the fact that Web Help Desk integrates with products that are part of SolarWInds Orion Platform. Glad you're taking advantage of this, because the benefits are sweet!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Jeremy K.
IT
Business Supplies & Equipment, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/16

"Very easy to use intuitive helpdesk tool to use."

Comments: Helpdesk management became much easier with this software. Ability to track and manage tickets made us more productive.

Pros: The ease of use and up to date GUI. The added FAQ sections which can also be visible to clients a plus as well.

Cons: The dashboards and reports. You only get a very select few options when it comes to dashboards. The reporting can get confusing as well which also has limited options of reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/16
Jamie B.
Principle
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/24

"Pretty simple helpdesk software if you are not looking to have many features"

Pros: Easy to use, not much to it if you want something easy. Interface is easy to use and get around right off the bat so you don't waste time trying to figure things out.

Cons: Not enough features to really be able to manage a large scale network. I used it with Activity Monitor and it seems like they need to focus a little more on the functionality on their software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/24
Jacob R.
President
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/26

"Great helpdesk"

Pros: Reporting is phenomenal when compared to other packages.

Cons: The SSL setup can be a bit complicated due to it being based off of JKS.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/26
Keith A.
IT director
Religious Institutions, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/29

"Review"

Comments: We were looking for a help desk system that was also our asset inventory. It was able to do both but not very well.

Pros: Overall the software had a lot of options and was easy to setup.

Cons: The server had memory issues often and support wasn't very helpful, other them telling us to reboot it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/29