Web Help Desk Reviews

by SolarWinds Tools

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,1 /5

About Web Help Desk

Web Help Desk is an on-premises ticketing and asset management solution that simplifies your IT help desk processes and reduces costs.

Learn more about Web Help Desk

Showing 123 reviews

Sergey M.
Manager, Technology Infrastructure and Compliance
Hospitality, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/13

"Make your end user support structured"

Pros: I started using this software 4 years ago. From a very first moment I could really see a difference from other products. I liked an ability to have multiple locations, with each location having multiple points of contacts. With that, I was able to set up routings of my tickets so they would always reach a correct IT person. This is very useful, when your business is spread through multiple timezones. Another feature that I really liked is LDAP authentication. This allowed me to restrict access to only authorized users, eliminating a possibility of phishing emails reaching the system.

Cons: As the company grew, at some point my AD structure become very complex - multiple ADs not connected to each other. Unfortunately, at that point, I had to stop using this solution because it couldn't handle more that one AD efficiently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/13
Steve B.
Director of Business Systems
501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Our experience with WHD has been ok to underwhelming"

Comments: It allows us to measure how busy our Help Desk group is, we can identify patterns more easily now helping us to resolve problem areas more quickly.

Pros: It allows us to get statistics on our helpdesk calls. Our data center is able to create tickets automatically. It is a repository for all help calls that we did not have before so management can get an overall picture. We like that we can build custom reports and dashboards. Creating forms that can ask a user for data is helpful but we have not implemented any yet because it is cumbersome.

Cons: The UI for the software is stuck in the 90s, very table oriented, Comments in the tickets have a lot of wasted space, we have to scroll constantly to see history. The table widths are not relative or resizable. Images are stored and provided to the user as links with generic names, half the time the link is a signature logo. Our users use screen shots in almost all of our tickets. Not being able to see the images without clicking on a link is painful. Also, we can not use the customizable forms because a user has to save their image to their local hard drive and then upload to the form. Many users don't have a clue how to do this so we have to use email. Because we have to use emails we get duplicate tickets because the software does not recognize a reply. Some of this is the lack of training for our users but if the UI was better we would send them directly to the website. We have compiled a list of questions and will be contacting SW to see if we are missing something in our configurations or if it is a lack of training. If we are not able to resolve most of these issues we will be looking for a different solution.

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds on 2017/05/31

We're sorry to hear of these difficulties you are having, but we are encouraged you plan to reach out to seek a resolution. We have a lot really talented people on our team that are willing and ready to help whenever you choose to tap us as a resource. As for you comments regarding providing instruction to your customers for common tasks involved in troubleshooting their issues, we have some advice. We suggest you create an FAQ to provide a set list of instructions to help with image capture and transfer to your help desk team. Alternatively, a solution like Dameware Remote Support from SolarWinds could lend a hand in the troubleshooting process, enabling your team to access an end-user's workstation and snap screenshots instead. The bonus is that it integrates with Web Help Desk. We hope this guidance is helpful. Looking forward to your outreach to address your other concerns.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Mining & Metals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/01

"Web Help Desk simply put saves your bacon..."

Pros: End to end is one of the best Help desk solutions i have used. I find the ticketing straight forward, the asset tracking awesome, the integration with AD and Solarwinds is great, it even does Knowledge base and surveys.

Cons: I wish it did a better job with parent / child tickets. The calendar is kind of pointless. It needs to sync with the technicians Exchange calendar, and there is no customization of the admin interface for like a Skin, you can not for admin purposes change the Logo. The users side can be modified but not admin.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/01
Carsten M.
Senior Support Engineer
Medical Devices, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Very good experience setting up a system from scratch, from sales to Customer Service."

Comments: Better customer service

Pros: Software is very easy to setup, everything you need to get a support system up and running is there. Solarwinds Support is very prompt to respond to questions or issue that you may have. The reason I suggest Solarwinds Helpdesk was that I had been a user / admin on a system before. Thicket history is great, asset management is very good

Cons: The report module and the part and billing feature is weak.
Generating reports is not that intuitive and there is things that you cant get an report on.
Parts and billing, missing pricing features and invoice / packing list options.
Solarwinds is not so god at coming back to with feature request that you have submitted nor to let you know that bug have been fixed. There is to long between bug fixed / new releases is being released .

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Emmanuel H.
Systems Administrator
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"In valuable tool to running our schools!"

Comments: It is how we manage our workflow.

Pros: There are several good things about this program. 1st, the ability to keep track of problems. This cannot be underestimated across two buildings with hundreds of laptops and other equipment. 2nd, the ability to maintain open dialogue with clients who need repairs. 3rd, the ability to sort issues by client, room, or situations and see the history of a problem, or a problem user.

Cons: The interface is functional, just not snazzy, and modern! I have always wanted an ability to printout a viable list of open jobs to give to techs. I just can't figure out how to do that. For instance, assign all AV jobs to one tech and send him/her a Task List...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Kevin M.
Systems Administrator
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"We moved from TrackIT! to Web Help Desk, and it is much easier to use overall."

Comments: Easy deployment and configuration. Were also able to use the ticketing system for departments other than IT, such as HR and Maintenance. Our users were also able to adopt Web Help Desk with very little training. For users without an email address in our company WHD gave us a way create users so they could submit tickets, we did not have this option with other software.

Pros: Ease of use and access. Covers everything we need for a small/medium business, and runs great a virtual server. If you buy other products from SolarWinds it integrates with those too. The emailing of tickets is seemless, and it is easy to keep all communications within the tool. Integrates nicely with Active Directory.

Cons: Asset tracking is not as good as other tools. The reporting has a learning curve, and needs to have more options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Scott S.
IT Support
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"We use and set up this ticket system several months ago, and very pleased with functionality."

Pros: Easy setup on own server, good customization if your familiar with how java works. Easily add current environment with LDAP detection for domain objects. Can also easily set up assets via wmi, or even straight IP detection.

Cons: We've had a couple issues with software losing license key seeming inexplicably. Resetting and fixing this issue one time was simple fix, the other required a couple days waiting for support to reply, for it needed to be fixed on their end. Only other complaint with company comes in the sales team. Once purchasing a product form them, of which many are great, we all use remote support software from them which is fantastic. However, be expected to be bombarded daily with spam about future products. Also had experience with a slimy sales rep whom called office stating to the receptionist that I had contacted him for help with something. I had not.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Tom M.
IT Director
Consumer Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/20

"Solarwinds Web Help Desk solved multiple issues in our stores"

Comments: As the only main IT person in our company, I was riddled with requests for help through the email, phone and in person.
With the Solarwinds Web Help Desk, everything is ticketed, rated and responded to by urgency need. Also, when I contact support on our software programs, I can put the replies directly into the ticket and respond to the associate who wrote the ticket with up to date progress.

Pros: Quick to set up.
Easy to operate.
All users have access to their tickets

Cons: Reports are rough to use, however I have been able to understand them after a while.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/20
Francis P.
Sr. Network Systems Admin.
501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/24

"Solarwinds Web Help Desk Review"

Comments: A lightweight combination of help desk and asset management features, SolarWinds Web Help Desk lacks a few features that larger organizations will need, but makes up for it with an easy-to-use user interface. Costwise, it is not very expensive.
Other compeititors such as LANDesk, Track It! are more robust and has more features out of the box. Pricewise, it is a lot cheaper.

Pros: Customers can get up & running in less than four hours. Navigating is easy, with large buttons and text. Scheduling reports is easy and shows a history. It is a web-hosted solution with support.

Cons: It does not track installed licenses. Depreciation is not built in. The application is lack of robust and not very customizable out of the box.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/24
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Mining & Metals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/31

"It has the potential to be the best helpdesk software on the market, and currently is really good"

Comments: Ability to tranck issues, support users in a timely manor, track time needed for projects to better forecast for future projects, reliability, friendly user interface.

Pros: User interface, integration with other SolarWinds products, Support, ease of install and management.

Cons: It needs some improvements and customization ability. I would like to see a better parent child ticket relationship established. It could improve the custom field settings greatly. Allowing for more of them in other places. Its needs better navigation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/31
Jeffrey C.
Help Desk Technician III
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"I'm a daily user of the system and have not had any major issues."

Pros: I like it's ease of use in creating and editing the ticket types. This allows me to easily create plenty of different tickets for easy metrics and organization.

Cons: I do not like how the system works primarily off of the email system, having users able to CC the help desk email we assign to the system and generate multiple tickets for one issue has been an issue for our organization.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Dan G.
Operations Manager, Integrated Technology
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Great product and very affordable."

Comments: It has been a very low cost, reliable solution that has helped us keep track of assets and help tickets. It also requires very little maintenance.

Pros: Easy to use and administer. Low cost. Fairly customizable. Integrates with other Solarwinds products.

Cons: The iOS app is not as useful as it could be. The app interface could use a makeover and it would be nice to have features like bar code scanning using the camera.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Christopher S.
Network Engineer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"We have had the web helpdesk for about 2 years. Has made our live easier using this easy to use app."

Comments: Having to not worry about slowness and random errors that we got from our old in-house solution. Web HelpDesk is easy to setup and use.

Pros: Easy to incorporate with AD. Easy to customize your own reports for management. I like how each user has the ability to modify there own dash board.

Cons: The color an theme should be interchangeable. I wish there was a switchable color theme. For the most part that is it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Melanie B.
Network Manager
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Very easy to setup"

Comments: The price point is low which enables it feasable to K-12 education. This also is very seamless to setup and customer support is great.

Pros: We love how easy it is to use for us and our staff. It is easy to keep track of reporting and to look up responses and past tickets.

Cons: Asset Management is not the easiest to add assets into. Longer process to add them in individually.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Dustin H.
Senior Help Desk Technician
Publishing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Excellent setup and function. Provides a great and easy interface for clients and techs."

Comments: Auto assignment of tickets. Time tracking resolution and escalation. Email interface for clients and ability to reopen.

Pros: The automation of alerts and escalations. The ease of setting them up and how easy it is to maintain and update the system.

Cons: It seems a little difficult to pull reports and maintain ticket history for users or techs that have been deleted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Brian B.
Sysadmin Lvl1
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Powerful Config Options"

Pros: The ability to sort tickets to different teams with ease. Web Help Desk makes our approval processes easier to manage and verify. Developers responded directly to forum requests.

Cons: Limited to a single tab per user. If links are opened in multiple tabs issues will occur. Still has some limits with approval boards.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Apollo C.
IT Manager
Food Production, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Great product overall"

Comments: Organization of open tickets.

Pros: Easy deployment. Fairly robust automation/workflow (certainly room for improvement). Integration with other SolarWinds products works well.

Cons: Very limited reporting functionality. Much of the available customization is not intuitive...wizards would be a great feature addition.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Annette R.
App Support Spec
Real Estate, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10

"Easy to use and track tickets."

Pros: I like that end users are able to update tickets. We are able to provide FAQs to all end users. Nice to add hardware to user profile.

Cons: Not clear to end users that they must login to update or respond to their tickets through the helpdesk, users are responding in email instead.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/10
Jeremy M.
IT Director
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/11

"Awesome Product"

Pros: Solar winds does it again - Web Help Desk command center, this software is amazing and easy to use.

Cons: The main con of this program is the look and feel of the user interface, when dealing with desktop guys it is best to have a "awesome" look and feel, make the geek feel cool!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/11
Derek S.
Manager of Tech Operations
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/06

"Best Ticketing system"

Pros: It's great how this software can not only be used for tickets but for parts and inventory too. One other big feature is that you can create FAQ's from within your tickets

Cons: The biggest downfall is sometimes the support is not always the greatest and it does not intergrate with Jamf software very well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/06
Marc M.
system support
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/15

"web help desk itsm"

Comments: this helps with project control as well as user support. it helps us keep tabs on everything.

Pros: we use this product for trouble tickets as well as change management. once users adapted to the process it provided clarity to who truly owned a project and allowed the approval process to be streamlined

Cons: the cost for user licenses wasn't cheap. some customization options are not as clear as they could be. It took a while to find the features we wanted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/15
Verified Reviewer
IT Technician
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/16

"Review of SolarWinds Web Help Desk"

Pros: This service is very useful when setup correctly. I am using this service's built in inventory system at one of my jobs currently and it makes it a lot easier to keep track of the equipment that my department manages.

Cons: The only complaint that I have is that the ticketing system of this service is a little difficult to navigate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/16
Verified Reviewer
Human Resources Operations Manager
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/02

"Small business friendly product"

Pros: We are very happy with the customer service provided by solar winds.

Cons: we do not have anything negative to say.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/02
Mark D.
IT & Network Manager
Religious Institutions
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/26

"Great bang for your buck."

Comments: Pros:
(1) Easy to use - simple interface that didn't take long to master. Clean, crisp design.
(2) Very affordable - sales rep that I worked with was very helpful and gave us a nice discount
(3) Good features: Task automation, work flow, email threading (adding ticket notes via email),
(4) Solar Winds Thwack Community forums: Great resource for questions/answers, adding feature requests, and getting connected to other Web Help Desk users.
Cons
(1) Support can be slow at times
(2) Could include more customization
Bottom Line:
We feel that we got plenty of bang for our buck with Solar Winds Web Help Desk. We have gotten exactly what we envisioned out of it and more. The design isn't award-winning and there isn't a lot to customize, but at end of the day efficiency and tech/client communication is what we are after and we feel that this has provided just that. Ultimately, if you are looking for a clean, crisp, easy-to manage, task-management and asset tracking solution, then this is for you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/26