QuickBooks Payroll Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,5 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,4 /5

About QuickBooks Payroll

Manages small business finances. Instant access to customer, vendor and employee information. Available in an online version.

Learn more about QuickBooks Payroll

Showing 597 reviews

Nicole O.
Owner
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/01

"Wouldn't Change A Thing"

Comments: The ability to do payroll myself, instead of having an outside company do it is of great value to me.

Pros: Ease of use, quick response to any issues or changes needed

Cons: Integration was easy, they walked us through everything step by step.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/01
Ruben M.
owner
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/20

"Customer Service"

Comments: Quickbooks Payroll has been easy to use. We just recently started using Quickbooks for payroll. If I would have known how easy it was, I would have switched along time ago. I do not like change much, so if it works why switch. Quickbooks has been working well for our business.

Pros: The software is extremely user friendly. I love the simplicity of it. And When I have an issue chatting online instantly is amazing. Today I had an issue with our address since we moved our office and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was amazing. He was genuine in asking how my day was and very understanding and friendly. He took care of my issue and made sure it would not come up again.

Cons: In the 5 years that we have been with quickbooks there is really nothing bad I can say about the software. It has been great for our business.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/20
Xena B.
director
Consumer Electronics, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/30

"effortless book keeping"

Comments: experience with payroll is really cool, the software actually calculate the holdings and make life easy for me, definitely a robo accountant that i don't have to pay a salary to.
Over all experience : just love it and wish i had it from the beginning of my business. For new users, make use of support. Don't hesitate to call , ask questions , ask again if you have to they will walk you through it. Like i say be dumb and learn it . take the time to do so because the end result is amazing . knowing your finances is straight can save your life. aka....sleep well .

Pros: it keep track of your income and expenses by simply attaching your bank account.
almost does your tax return. lol
save a lot of time doing your data entry thus cost effective, no need for a special person to enter all your receipts etc
keep correct info on all money related transaction and balance your check book , can keep your spending and saving on check. I can make adjustments by just looking at my balance sheet. almost cool for idiots to use. :)
perfect

Cons: if i made a mistake and had to go hunting for the problem, but i can just call up support and let them know ( how stupid i was ) and they just fix it. so not really a con.
for invoicing however , can take a little polishing up especially if i am doing an estimate and need to send it out, i must be extra cautious.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/30
Shawn R.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/19

"Quickbooks makes life easier"

Comments: We can do all our invoicing and payroll in the same place. I don't have to have a million different programs going at once which makes things much quicker and more smooth.

Pros: I like that quickbooks offers an app so we can access our account even when we are working on the road. It is a very user friendly program

Cons: I have found that the help feature is not always helpful, but once I get connect to a person they always answer all of my questions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/19
Craig M.
Owner/ CEO
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/05

"Quickbooks wins again"

Comments: Quickbooks has helped me to organize payroll and helped me to insure that PPP money has been used appropriately.

Pros: I really like how knowledgeable the customer service staff is. I am not an expert in payroll. Quickbooks customer service has been incredible at helping me to learn what needs to be done and where when it comes to payroll. I have many questions being a small business owner and quickbooks can usually answer any questions I have. Very happy with the service!!!!

Cons: Overall I am very happy with the software and customer support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/05
Davina S.
Owner/Office Manager
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/18

"Disaster Averted"

Comments: My payroll runs effortlessly every week and I really appreciate that my forms get filed with the appropriate offices and in a timely manner.

Pros: I really appreciate that payroll is an option with the software, there are many add ons and tools that make our job as business owners easier.

Cons: The only problem I have had has been the transfer to the new entity, I think there are a lot of different departments with a lot of different information. I was told that my information could be seamlessly transferred to a new company account and that was not the case.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/18
Oliver C.
Accountant
Pharmaceuticals, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/03/16

"Quick books payroll"

Comments: It freezes sometimes and slow in loading sometimes when you mix information.

Pros: Quick book payroll, this online payroll is super interesting and amazing actually this one is among the best.

Cons: Quick book payroll I am recommending this one mostly to small business and new ployees in different industry because it's easy to access .

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/03/16
Paul W.
President
Staffing & Recruiting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/16

"Good software but calling support...yikes!"

Pros: The software works flawlessly and was easy to set up. We never seem to have a payroll issue. Our accountant helps use when we don't know how to do something but we could probably find it on our own if we took the time.

Cons: The support department often ends up going to the wrong area or you need to speak to several people before getting to the right one. Each one needs to verify your information. The support department personnel usually have strong accents making conversations difficult.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/16
Heather O.
Office Manager
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/20

"Love QBO"

Comments: Great so far! So user-friendly!

Pros: Easy to learn, and I absolutely LOVE the chat option for quick help! Thank you for making that available!

Cons: I wish QBO supported Deposits for Customers. There are some customers that we require 50% down for material before starting their job, and QBO doesn't support that. It's the more complicated part of this system since we have to "trick it" per-say.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/20
Kevin B.
Manager
Medical Practice, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/30

"QuickBooks to the rescue"

Pros: Quickbooks makes small business accounting and payroll a walk in the park. The user interface is well laid out and obviously carefully constructed.

Cons: Intuit customer service is poor at best and doesn't strive to win returning customers. Their Direct-to-Consumer pricing also is poorly managed and could use some enlightenment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/30
Barbara C.
Financial Assistant
Religious Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/26

"New to online payroll"

Pros: It is too soon to tell. I'm just setting up payroll. I do like to videos and community chat for answers to questions

Cons: It isn't quite intuitive, yet. I have to study each step. Once done, it's easier than the desktop version

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/26
Martha B.
Office Manager
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/18

"Full Service Payroll"

Comments: Quick and Easy with great customer support

Pros: Full Service Payroll offers superb customer support. Always thorough and always helpful!

Cons: The one thing that I would like to see is the Online version have the same type of reports as the desktop version. They are much easier to customize and read.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/18
Matt D.
Owner
Entertainment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/30

"Helpful"

Pros: The ease of use is the main reason I like this software.

Cons: The price of this software goes up significantly once you put your time into it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/30
Edmund C.
Head Operations
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/01

"Payroll"

Comments: Due to support it is much better now.

Pros: Tech Support [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was outstanding and promotes what tech support should be....promote and compensate ahead of her peers....huge credit to your company

Cons: 3rd Party software hour entry is cumbersome

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/01
Owen A.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/17

"Great Tool and Service"

Comments: Love it!

Pros: Ease of use. It's really easy to navigate and it integrates well with other applications I use.

Cons: I really can't think of anything I don't like at this point. Ha! I'll be sure to let you know.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/17
Nikki C.
Executive Assistant
Music, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/28

"Smash Studios"

Pros: Easy to maneuver the site without having to call in to ask.

Cons: You have to call multiple times to get something rectified. Customer Services gives you NOs immediately without looking into it. Very few do.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/28
Nina T.
Manager
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/20

"Jacob Lake Inn"

Comments: I like the continuity of the same information and filing.

Pros: It is easy to use and fairly flexible. I like the convenience of full service.

Cons: Nothing in particular. It works quite well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/20
Karen J.
Bookkeeper
Law Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/02

"Use of Payroll"

Pros: The software is user friendly and the payroll is very easy to process

Cons: I don't really have any issues with the product. I wish the Direct Deposit Limit increase was a little bit easier.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/02
Ailyn mae E.
Finance Associate
Accounting, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/17

"with quickbooks payroll you can easily pay your employees"

Pros: I like the features of this application. it is easy to use and you can save time in doing your payroll reports

Cons: Quickbooks customer services is very accomodating and they really expedite issues to solve it on time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/17
Joel G.
Payroll Department
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/01

"Very helpful online staff"

Comments: One less thing to worry about when filing tax forms etc

Pros: User friendly program, staff very helpful and friendly when needed. Solution to the issues were handled very professionally.

Cons: nothing at this point, but if I do encounter any issues, I will definitely let you know

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/01
Alexandra S.
Office Manager
Hospitality, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/25

"Very good product!"

Pros: What I like most about Quickbooks is it's simpleness. If you did your own payroll, you would know exactly what I'm talking about. Quickbooks payroll has been the easiest and most effective payroll tool I've utilized.

Cons: The only problem I would say I've had is that it sometimes lags. It can make my computer really slow at times and also, it crashes from time to time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/25
Alisha B.
owner
Consumer Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/11

"Payroll"

Comments: The customer service is top notch. very knowledgeable staff.

Pros: It's very easy to use and it takes all the guess work out of everything!

Cons: Overall the pros outweigh the cons in my opinion

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/11
Claudia R.
Accountant
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/17

"Payroll"

Pros: This is pretty easy to use and very convenient.

Cons: I have multiple account s for under the same company and I'm unable to have complete access to all the accounts .

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/17
Tara D.
Admin
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/18

"QuickBooks Payroll Easy To Use & Affordable"

Pros: The QuickBooks Payroll is affordable and came with the QuickBooks for MAC software that I was using. It is easy to use. It is very helpful in calculating tax/withholding information and became very useful at the end of each quarter or year when paying taxes and printing W-2's and 1099's.

Cons: I still wrote my own checks with the QuickBooks payroll software. I was using it for around 10 employees. It would be harder to use if you had more employees in your company. It may be better to use an actual payroll company in that case.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/18
Daisy Z.
HR Manager
Facilities Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/17

"Customer Service"

Pros: It's very easy to use and customer service is always there to help you in any way!

Cons: So far I haven't had any cons when using this program

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/17