15 years helping South African businesses
choose better software

About Userback

Userback helps small teams understand user sentiment, and behaviour so they can gain the insights needed to build better, faster.

Learn more about Userback

Pros:

The ability to implement the feedback widget on any website is priceless.

Cons:

Some glitches with servers blocking the screenshot engine.

Userback ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

Userback has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 71 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Userback before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (71)

Viktor
Viktor
CEO in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use, feedback and collaboration tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: 90% of our usage is to collaborate with clients during web development. Getting feedback on designs, and more importantly, using feedback widget on the staging website to get clients feedback and make necessary changes. It makes the process extremely smooth and clients have no trouble using Userback to communicate with us. Saves a lot of time and back and forth emails, when conversations are linked to actual screenshots with clients' notes.

Pros:

We've used Userback since 2019. First started with placing it on the website and client portal, and then using it during website development to get feedback and collaborate on making changes with clients. It works really well and annotation tools are accurate and easy to use. Non-technical clients have no issue using it to submit feedback on designs and website changes. Makes life easy getting feedback, tracking implementation progress, and communicating with clients back and forth in the comments section.

Cons:

Honestly, it works very well. Haven't had any bugs, it offers the features we need, and support was responsive a few times I messaged them. They are always adding new features and improving existing features.

Stewart
Web Designer in Australia
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Keeps getting better.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I love how easy it is to get things up and running once I'm ready for clients to provide feedback. No stuffing around, and it only takes me a minute.
I don't even send videos to clients show them how to use the tool anymore, they are able to jump right in and start providing feedback without any direction other than 'Press the feedback button'.
Collaboration on feedback items is a breeze, and notifications come through without issue. Really happy with this tool!

Pros:

- Ease of setup. I've never had any troubles, just simply create the project, add the code to the website and you're good to go. - Customisable. Great options to customise the feedback tool to suit the brand and the type of feedback you need for a project. - Versatile. Being able to provide feedback on websites AND pdf's is great. I also like the look of the video feedback tool, haven't had a use for it yet but I can see how that would work well for certain types of clients.

Cons:

The only issue I have (and it's a small one) is the client account creation and use. I've found clients struggle or have no interest in setting up accounts and using them to manage their feedback. Providing a more pared back and clean sign-up process and backend for clients to use would be a winner. However I don't think any feedback tool has got this 100% yet. No issues with actually providing feedback though, that has been a positive experience for clients.

benjamin
Senior Developer in US
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for desktop, poor on mobile

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: We've drastically improved our review/client feedback process, as well as internal bug tracking and feature logging.

Pros:

The screen annotation and screen recording features.

Cons:

Github integration works one way. We need it to go back and forth.

Aisha
Aisha
Creative Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Rocky start beginning to smooth out...

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Great experience...I really trust software solutions that are hosted in the cloud instead of on my own via WordPress.

Pros:

Video feedback is excellent for clients who aren't computer savvy or just can't explain what they need into words.

Cons:

In the beginning, it was strictly for web mockups. But now, they've not only added the capability for print/digital design, they've also included video feedback.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Clients love it

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

A slick way to cut back on unnecessary emails and collect feedback for web design jobs.

Cons:

No white label, and it asks the user for feedback on their userback experience every time which is a bit annoying.

Fredy
Fredy
3D Visualization Artist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Architecture & Planning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great app for quick feedback requests on images and PDFs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We needed a way to request design feedback to clients and userback provided the easiest way to do it with the "designs" feature, so now is a relatively simple process to create a project and upload a design(jpg or PDF) that we can share with our clients, receive feedback and address it directly. Once the design has been updated we can upload a new version and request feedback again, until we get approval.

Pros:

Our primary use case is to receive feedback directly over images and PDFs and works great for that. And what I like is that I can upload a JPG, to a specific "project" and send a link to a client where they can annotate and comment directly their ideas and upload files if required to complement their notes, that has saved us some back and forth through email.

Cons:

The annotation tools are a bit limited for our use case, need a "freehand" style tool to increase the accuracy of the feedback we receive. Would be great to have the ability to set our custom domain. At the moment they offer the option to send email notifications from our own email but they do not have a way to implement DMARC so if using "quarentine" or "reject" you cannot use your email for notification, and need to use the generic userback email.

Userback Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for the feedback Fredy. Really great to hear that Userback is saving you time when managing the feedback process with your clients.

Nasser-eddine
Nasser-eddine
Président in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Must have for Digital Agencies

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Streamline my customer's feedbacks in a simple interface and in a unique tool.

Cons:

Until now, nothing is missing, at least for my needs.

Romeo
Romeo
Owner in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Userback easily streamlines client feedback and sign off

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

They are constantly looking at new features and innovative ways to add value to existing users; the software grows as you use it.

Cons:

Most of the things I didn't like have been overcome with updates, but the general onboarding of clients was a little clunky, though is much more straightforward now, even for client's who aren't so technically adept.

Michał
Michał
Owner in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Graphic Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Opinion of a regular user

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The tool allows you to easily communicate the customer with the team creating the product. Thanks to it, we save a lot of time.

Pros:

Ease of use. Even our clients can handle userback.

Cons:

At the moment, I don't see any defects in the product. It is constantly evolving. Contact with the creator is very good. Nothing to complain about.

Leonardo
Leonardo
Founder in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Stop the Come and Back Madness. Move to Userback

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I started using Userback about 6 months ago, and it totally changed our workflow. Before Userback we had to screenshot projects, send to customers, wait for the feedback, make changes, screenshot again. Now multiple this for multiple products and you will suffer with major hair-loss. :/ With Userback, here is the workflow. 1) You install the snippet, 2) Send the link to the customer, 3) The customer takes notes on the screen, 4) You review the notes, 5) Userback will automatically upload to your project management tool, like Basecamp. It's super simple to use, and even customers that are clueless about technology will thank you. Make the switch, at eikonikos, we love it!

Cons:

I can't point anything negative, maybe, I would request the team to add more integrations.

Matt
Dot Commando in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple to use, clear feedback that avoids the back and forth.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I can't say better things about Userback. It's one of those rare products that really deliver on what it is intended to do. But over and above that, make improvements and add features that are actually useful. All without moving away from what it is meant to do - Make the feedback process quick and easy to perform. Make the feedback being provided clear and concise that pinpoints exactly what is needed. It's also really simple for us to add to our products. For our websites, when clients are logged in, we add the JavaScript so only they see the widget. In our apps, we provide a feedback role so managers can designate who is allowed to provide feedback directly to us. A simple IF statement in our case allows us to manually load the widget as needed.

Pros:

Honestly, there are many pros for Userback, I could write a lot here. The software is a huge help to our business - Clear concise feedback. Saves so much time to know EXACTLY what a client wants and make any adjustments straight away. - Simple to integrate and match our branding - Clients are impressed when shown how they can provide feedback - It's a quick and simple process to provide feedback. Users spot something amiss, click a feedback button and you get feedback that's almost perfect and unambiguous. Rarely do you need to ask for further clarification. - The Userback team are very active in developing new features and enhancements We needed a system that we could integrate into our products to make getting feedback quick and easy for our clients and us. Userback really nailed that and have only gotten better. The software has really evolved beyond expectations. It now handles feedback for client designs. Allows video feedback and recently started providing things like the console logs and events from the browser. It's filling the needs for which it was intended, but they keep adding new features that really benefit our business.

Cons:

Some of the pain points I originally had were; - User notifications when replying to feedback were opt-in and usually not set. Meaning I would need to follow up via email to get them to check my comments. - Each project I had to create the feedback widget from scratch (with the same settings) - While it was easy to use, the interface was a little clunky and needed some initial training for clients to make things clear. Userback have addressed all of these issues now - The reply mechanism is more of a ticket system to resolve issues - You can clone the feedback widget from similar projects - The user interface is much more refined and clear. Really simple to provide feedback. My biggest issue now is finding the time to evaluate some of the new features Userback have developed and decide if we will integrate those into our workflow.

Kenton
Technology Supervisor in US
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Userback insights after using it DAILY for the past two years

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have 15 school websites and Userback has quickly become a critical tool for external and internal users to provide feedback. Internal staff LOVE the ease of use and improved workflow to provide changes to our websites, especially being able to annotate and add comments directly on pages. From my seat, as the administrator, I LOVE that I no longer have disconnected emails that often lacked key information to make timely changes to content. The process couldn't be easier for all involved. It also solves the need to provide status updates as users can opt to receive notifications.Lastly, I was also able to integrate Userback with Basecamp to streamline tasks. Hands down, Userback lands in the Top 5 applications within our environment.

Pros:

Userback has been one of the best applications for us, and one of the best purchases in the past two years. We have Userback integrated within our Wordpress websites and Basecamp project management application. The ability to have VISUAL feedback generated from any page has been a major convenience and improvement in our workflow. All stakeholders are able to provide feedback directly from any of our school websites without leaving the website/page, opening email, or using separate screen sharing applications. As an administrator, I receive notifications when feedback has been submitted/updated. I am also able to see everything within the Userback dashboard (each of our websites has its own project so I can quickly see the specific site AND PAGE of the submitted feedback). The latter two components have saved an incredible amount of time in follow up communications and managing tasks related to our websites. I have also been impressed with Userback's evolution of features in its two years of use within our district.

Cons:

Userback is mostly intuitive. I created a one page guide with screen shots to "walk" end users through the basics. If there was something an onscreen that could do this, that would be helpful. For the tradeoff in all the other areas Userback has saved me, I can handle a simple tutorial.

Angela
Sr Business Analyst in US
Events Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Wonderful Tool for User Feedback

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall great. Biggest concern is as we grow will this product be scalable?

Pros:

Very customer friendly. Easily allows the user to access, write issue and provide screenshots and/or videos.

Cons:

The customer does not have access to a portal to track open tickets. It is cumbersome to access the export of the list of feedback. Integration will Jira sends easily but does not update back to the original feedback. Metrics for time to resolve needed.

Userback Response

2 years ago

Thanks Angela! We really appreciate your feedback. You'll be interested to know that we're currently working on new features to help customers and end-users monitor and view their open tickets. Watch this space :)

Sheikh Ali
Production Manager and Strategist in Pakistan
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best Feedback tools out there

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is an amazing product. Userback has helped us internally figure out a way to effectively highlight problems and content gaps and get those issues across to development and design teams efficiently and accurately without having to explain the issues again and again over various mediums. This has improved client relations, internal processes, work quality and for the client side we can actually give access to clients on various projects so they can also comment and give instant feedback on improvements and changes. Fantastic product guys.

Pros:

You can distinguish the content, image, video or section on a webpage that needs to be changed. You can easily change those sections. You can also add comments to tasks.

Cons:

Honestly there is not a lot missing in this software but sometimes when you are working with multiple screens and the window is not maximised the screenshot or selection could be missed in the final task. But that issue can easily be fixed by maximising the window

Duarne
Sales and Marketing Manager in Philippines
Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A must for Web Design and Development Businesses

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We used to spend hours during a project on the phone with customers trying to understand and find the issues they were pointing out, now they can do it by themselves or we can make notes right on the website live during the call. No more screenshots with notes on them and the hassle of misunderstanding what the customer was requesting to be changed.

Pros:

It is so easy to upload and link our development sites and then send a link to our customers for review, or even internally for our QA to check our work. It is one of the best software packages for saving time and allowing us to get accurate customer feedback.

Cons:

There is not really much that I do not like about the software, with the single suggestion that the alert emails NEED to have a preview image so that you know what you are looking at, this is helpful for businesses that are getting multiple designs for review each day. Otherwise, you are clicking through and opening each one to see what it is. Everything else is awesome :)

Adrian
QA Manager in Switzerland
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy and practical to use tool for both bug traking and customer feedback

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Internal and external users are filling in issues easier than before. Having integration to Azure DevOps helos as well.

Pros:

Easy to fill in a bug , a feedback or a new feature. Good integration with Azure Dev Ops. Also, we consider it correct price / quality.

Cons:

Having posibility to have more lines (Enter) for Desscription field, when adding a bug, would be a nice improvement Interface imprivement could be made, for managing issues

Albert
webdeveloper in Germany
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Userback is really helpful and fun to work with!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: All in all, we are very happy with Userback.
The implementation and use of Userback are very important as they are quick and easy. The resulting benefit can therefore also be grasped very quickly.
If there were support inquiries, these were answered / solved very quickly.
We really enjoy working with the tool and have little or no complaints.

Pros:

Short and sweet: - Easy to integrate - Easy to use - Easy connection between customer and agency - Good looking - Full responsive - Many Features (planed Features)

Cons:

- Customer group should not belong to the team members, as you have a limited number of users and the customer only gives feedback. - However, the customer has a better overview of the feedback in the backend. - Customers should be able to see their tasks one below the other to avoid duplicate tasks.

Jess
Digital Project Manager in New Zealand
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A critical tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The customer service is great. We have suggested improvements or raised bugs in the past and always been impressed with the response.

Pros:

The software is customisable. We use "status" for issue and bug tracking, moving tickets into sprints, beta and live, and the backlog.

Cons:

When searching for a ticket using it's ID, I find it a little annoying that I have to open the status that the ticket is in to access it. If an ID matches, I would prefer to be delivered it immediately.

Userback Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for the review Jess! Really glad to hear that you love Userback. That's really good feedback too about the ticket ID. I'll pass that on to the team.

Neil
Creative Director in UK
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Understanding and getting feedback has never been so easy

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We could do such an amazing job for our clients without this one product

Pros:

I like this because its so easy to use for my clients, there is no real leaving curve, just click and type

Cons:

Although we use this globally for all sites, it would be nice to have a section on each site to be able to let the developer see the feedback on the site, rather then going to the main Userback account to read and reply..

Joe
Innovation Lead in Singapore
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to implement, looks great and customers love it

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Userback is really simple to implement and customise in your application allowing you to collect detailed user feedback with screen annotations so your users can actually communicate their issues to you visually. We also use it internally when we are QA'ing new feature releases amongst our team or wider organisation and it is extremely efficient and effective for this.

Cons:

At the price point what you get is feature rich compared to more expensive alternatives. A great additional feature (which we'd pair more for) would be the ability to add micro surveys to certain features we are testing.

Mike
COO in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Essential Tool For Web Designers

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I made some suggestions as to how the tool could be better. They enthusiastically welcomed the suggestion, said they were going to implement it and told me how I could improve my process with their tool to get me closer to what I was asking for in the meantime.

Pros:

Being able to quickly deploy a tool that allows clients to easily leave feedback on aspects of the website has been invaluable. It saves so much time going back and forth with the client trying to explain exactly which part they're talking about. It's almost as good as being able to sit in the same room as the client while they go through the site. I also like how you can leave it in place, hidden on a live site til someone follows a specific link to activate the feedback widget.

Cons:

I don't like that it loads the whole feedback widget in hidden mode.

Mohamed Saad
Web Developer in Morocco
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Really helpful tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Love using this tool, sometimes I need to teach to my customer how to use it. It would be nice if we could have french translations for the videos.

Pros:

Being able to have my customers comment my work on their website without leaving the page is just fantastic. Userback gives me all the information I need to be able to fix the glitches that may appear on my clients browser.

Cons:

I'd love to be able to integrate Userback in my workflow using webhooks, still don't know how to do it.

Paul
Developer in Australia
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Save all the emails

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I can't imagine not having the service going forward.

Pros:

Having to get feedback from clients can be a tremendous problem. Emails showing up at all hours and having to collate all the information. Once I offered them this service it all just worked. A picture say a thousand words is so true and I could use their system to run through the feedback and make the needed changes. You just mark them as complete and move onto the next one. I’ve been using the software for over a year and have seen changes to the usability. The developer is listening to the feedback.

Cons:

At the start it wasn't obvious for the client to understand what they had to do. You also had to click a save button to send through the feedback. This has all be improved over time.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Lots of great insights from users

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Userback let's users easily give us feedback in-app, which is super useful. This has resulted in some interestig insights that I don't think is easily replicable without Userback. The ability to draw and take screenshots with the feedback is what makes it so helpful for users to express their ideas and give good feedback.

Cons:

Nothing I can think of. It was easy to setup and deploy.

Jay
Web Developer in Philippines
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feedback gets more easier to response

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: it is awesome, this makes my tasks and feedback easier to response

Pros:

I like the most is the feature that allows you to scroll every feedback in an easy

Cons:

Selecting the Project on the top side of the software.