Wolfram Mathematica Reviews

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Wolfram Mathematica

Technical computing system that provides tools for image processing, geometry, visualization, machine learning, data mining, and more.

Learn more about Wolfram Mathematica

Showing 144 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Student
Nanotechnology, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/08/24

"Wolfram Mathematica - the creative mathematician"

Comments: Wolfram Mathematica has been a boon for me as a student.

Pros: The vast adaptability in the scientific world from data interpretation to the heavy mathematical problem-solving capacity of wolfram Mathematica makes it one of the best software to use in this field. The documentation of the software is precise and well equipped for a beginner to adapt to. The wide applications make it unique.

Cons: The syntax of this software is different from widely used programming languages such as python and C.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/08/24
Verified Reviewer
Manager
Biotechnology, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/13

"A lifesaver for a lab with different levels of mathematical expertise!"

Comments: With this, you don't need to be able to develop complex programs to successfully complete routine calculation tasks. Our lab uses it to get accurate calculations for unit conversions as well as resuspension volumes, etc that usually take a while to calculate with excel or other data processing software. It's easy to use and can be customized given the right expertise.

Pros: This software maes complex calculations that are routine a breeze to complete. We used to use excel for our calculations, which required really complex formulas typed in to the formula bar that were easily corrupted by an accidental click. Additionally, you had to be really familiar with the spreadsheet already in order to use the formula. With Wolfram, we have automated much of our routine calculations, such as titrations and reconstitutions. The formulas are already built in and require very little calculation on the user's part. Everything as simple as converting millimoles to micromoles, all the way to more complex tasks such as calculating dilution factors, can all be done quickly and has improved both accuracy and productivity in the lab.

Cons: In order to make many of the calculations and formulas relevant to our particular needs in the lab, we needed a person who was highly competent with program design and logic. For the longest time we were stuck with only using the basic functions until finally someone more familiar with computers in general helped us to design custom functions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/13
Richard P.
Richard P.
Product Manager
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/24

"Wolfram Mathematica makes it easier to develop knowledge in the area of mathematics and programming."

Comments: The ability to develop equations and to learn step by step how to solve them. Wolfram made my job easier and more practical and helped me save time and to create new projects by using programming.

Pros: Resolution of equations well explained and organized step by step as well as graphs that are self explanatory and have the possibility to add annotations and to choose the type of graph to be used. It also has the possibility of storing data in the cloud and to access it anywhere. Wolfram Mathematica is great for programming and it gives the possibility of exploring other areas such as language and geography by using mathematics and programming.

Cons: Takes a while to learn the basics commands of some areas of the software such as introducing equations into the system or start programming if you are still learning.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/24
Tony M.
Materials Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/26

"Wolfram Mathematica"

Comments: Very good software.

Pros: It's fast and easy to create math equations and solve them. I have used this software for calculus when I was in college and it was very useful.

Cons: None. Very good software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/26
John d. K.
Founder
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/25

"Mathematica was utilized throughout my Calculus I, II, III, and IV course work."

Comments: Great software for any DBA to utilize.

Pros: Mathematica has a vast number of tools and resources for anyone seeking to better understand trends, environmental data, forecasting and solve complex multivariable calculus problems for homework.

Cons: Mathematica saved my 4.0 in college, no cons from me--I hope I get to use Mathematica again in my professional life.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/25
Verified Reviewer
Performing Singer-Songwriter
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/07

"Useful tool to have around"

Pros: I used Mathematica in my undergrad and continue to use it. First of all - it's the best graphing, master, super calculator you could ever have. With Mathematica one can quickly create graphics that are useable in presentations and reports. The graphics are attractive and professional. Wolfram also has a great team. I've recommended their Wolfram Alpha for people struggling with mathematics for years. Mathematica's language take a bit to learn, but with the basics you can hit the ground running with help from their massive support system. Great software overall. Plays well with Linux and Mac.

Cons: I have no beefs with Mathematica. I've heard people complain about inability to do what AutoCad can... but then just go use AutoCad for that! I've also heard it's not 'industry/university standard' 'Nobody uses it' but I think it's a shame if that's not the case now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/07
Eric U.
Student
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/06

"Overall wolfram is good and a great learning tool. Ithas the best visual aids."

Pros: The ability to change variables and see how it effects the graph is a lot of help when trying to understand a function and how the vdidderent variables change the graph. Also just seeing a accurate representation of a equation in a graph, whether it's 2 dimension or 3 dimension, makes learning the material much easier.

Cons: A moajor con for me was the inability to get wolfram to work properly. Every time I needed to open something on wolfram I would have to manually open it with wolfram instead of just clicking on the display and having wolfram open it automatically. I would do this every time and was very annoying after the first 10 times. I don't know if wolfram doesn't work well with Macs or maybe it's older Macs. Nobody could get it to work properly and I'm still stuck doing it the long way.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/06
Merzel mark G.
Teacher I
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/08

"Wolfram Review"

Comments: My overall experience with Wolfram Mathematica is that the software is great mathematical software but I hope that this software can run even without an internet connection. It can give a big help for those aspiring students who want to explore mathematics and science including the professions and occupations related to it.

Pros: It is a great software that enables to solve mathematical equations and expressions including those in algebra, geometry, calculus, number theory, and many more. It covers all of the branches of mathematics and even information technology and computer. What I like most about this software is that it capable to show the answers in just a few seconds.

Cons: The least like about the software is that it can run only with strong internet connectivity in a place. It cannot be run in offline mode.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/08
Olga cecilia G.
Lawyer
Legal Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/12

"A free math tutor"

Pros: Everyone can understand mathematics with this app, it helps you with equations, graphics and stats. I really like that they show you how to do the problem, making it easy to understand. As soon as you have master it everything about this app is great

Cons: Wolfram has a really hard interface, even people who use this app daily has trouble when it comes to using the interface. Wolfram can be really difficult to use for new people

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/12
Verified Reviewer
Graduate Student
Education Management, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/04

"Good for Math or Engineering Students"

Comments: Except for the price, I really enjoy Mathematica, it really helps me do math better.

Pros: Mathematica supports a lot of useful functions for serious math people. It is also a useful tool in a classroom setting.

Cons: I got it for free from the university. But after I graduated, my license expired. I was considering buying it but it was just way too expensive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/04
Simol S.
Engineering Associate
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/28

"Definitely one of the cooler intro to visualization"

Comments: Pretty much visualizing the boundaries and thresholds of certain spatial naps

Pros: A stepstone to nathematical computing, it allows for variable visualization and variable plots at any sort of selfmade or exported query you may have

Cons: A lot of different functions and multiple ways of plotting could be difficult to understand for the first time user

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/28
Verified Reviewer
Software engineer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/12

"Top mathematics tool for in need of high end results"

Comments: super functions, algorithms, Wolfram Mathematica is very broad

Pros: I like that their software system usability options are super wide, from algorithms, super functions to live data.

Cons: Their pricing option could be better - for students it is quite expensive so they should reduce price from there.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/12
Anil A.
Anil A.
Sr. Research Engineer
Chemicals, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/16

"Impressive tool"

Comments: My overall experience is great. Wolfram language is like a swiss army knife.

Pros: I mostly use Wolfram Mathematica for quick calculations, visualizations and some mathematical modeling.

Cons: Mostly, for long programs, it might not be straightforward to debug and understand where you made a mistake.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/16
Verified Reviewer
¿ídící letového provozu - ¿ák
Airlines/Aviation, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/10

"Superb software for calculations"

Comments: It is excellent software for mathematical calculations and even for research (in mathematics, physics, technology...).

Pros: You can do various calculations. The built-in functions are optimised for even smoother calculations. It is also quite easy to define your own functions. The number of definitions is growing with every version of the software. You can plot various types of graphs.

Cons: It is a bit heavy calibre, and the loading of the programme take some time. So for simple calculations like additions or multiplication, I usually prefer simple Calc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/10
Verified Reviewer
Technical Product Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/18

"Incredibly powerful"

Pros: I cannot even describe how powerful this tool is as I only use it for data visualization. Though to my understanding, it can help in pretty much any industry. From medical imaging, to financial modeling, this tools list of features are seemingly endless.

Cons: None to report! I think some may say that it can be tough to learn at first but I found it to be pretty intuitive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/18
Morgan D.
Student
Civil Engineering, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/09

"Wolfram solving your calculus headaches!"

Comments: I used Wolfram frequently as a student in calculus courses. It has helped me complete homework assignments.

Pros: The best features of Wolfram Alpha at the free level are the simple search bar for calculation. It was extremely useful in calculus 3 courses, mainly because it presents integrals and derivatives of equations. My favorite aspects is that it provides graphical representations of the equations, which is a visual learning tool.

Cons: I have tried out using Wolfram for non-mathematic topics, including historical figures. The presentation style of these, including showing the "queries", is not preferable to a simple web engine search about the person you are looking for.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/09
Connor L.
Student
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/01

"Frustration City"

Comments: I've had to learn Mathematica in college to supplement my calc 1 and 2 experiences, yet learning Mathematica is far more difficult than calculus. Often Mathematica code won't run for entirely unexplained reasons. The program is often unintuitive and aggravating, and for a program touting its usability, this is unacceptable.

Pros: Mathematica has the potential to solve nearly all the math problems one could imagine.

Cons: However, while Mathematica has the potential to solve large problems, it rarely ever serves to solve the most basic problems. Mathematica requires the user to be specific in a way that only a programmer would appreciate, things like case and spelling tend to be an issue; therefore, Mathematica is utterly useless to anyone who isn't a programmer. This, then, begs the question: why would a programmer need to use Mathematica? They don't.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/01
Ivan P.
Ivan P.
Programmer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/14

"Good for solving mathematical problems"

Pros: Its really useful for solving mathematical problems and I really like the way it gives the answer step by step also I find it easy to access the documentation although its not very helpful.

Cons: Its kinda hard to begin using it at first, I had to include a lot of google searching because i found it hard using the documentation although it was easy to access it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/14
Sam N.
Student
Business Supplies & Equipment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/13

"Makes hard math easy"

Comments: Great powerful app/software that makes hard math easy

Pros: It is a really powerful tool that can make large equations and problems solvable in a quick short time

Cons: The learning curve and user interface are not the best and can take time to learn and to use to the full capability.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/13
Adriel O.
Adriel O.
Chief Statistician
Research, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/08/14

"Not worth the Price"

Comments: Not worth the money - get SageMath instead

Pros: It makes symbolic algebra easy for laymen

Cons: Any features in Mathematica are replicated and performed much better by free software, like SageMath or JACAL. The syntax also lends itself to erros, which can be resolved only by copy-pasting the exact same syntax from another source

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/08/14
Jordan B.
Electrical Engineer
Defense & Space, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/03

"Great Because of Direct Tie to Wolfram"

Comments: I will stick with matlab, it is overall much more easy to use.

Pros: The general use of the software shares similarity to python and matlab. However, the syntax does differ. Because it is tied to wolfram alpha, and there are so many resources available it makes it easier to get stuff done. Also, since it is based on normal mathematical equations, unlike the matrix desgin of matlab. The programming is on the more straight forward side.

Cons: Sometimes has clunky syntax issues, and this can prevent clarity in writing the equations. It also, runs much heavier than matlab does.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/03
Rafael C.
Industrial Engineer
Medical Devices, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/06

"Wolfram Mathematica user review"

Comments: Solve almost every mathematical problem that I try to.

Pros: This software can solve differential equations in the simplest way.

Cons: Is not easy to learn how to use the whole software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/06
Verified Reviewer
ML Engineer
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/28

"Pretty good for basic functional programming, wonderful for general knowledge."

Pros: The extensive knowledge graph maintained by Wolfram, easily accessible from Mathematica. Also, the number of predefined functions.

Cons: 1-based indexing, seriously, it's confusing and unnecessary. Enforcement of a functional paradigm (at least it's difficult to do anything else)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/28
Kevin N.
Process Development Engineer
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/29

"Wolfram Mathematica is an excellent high end computing software"

Comments: We are able to model interactions of our prototype devices with cells/tissue to better develop our technology.

Pros: This software is very powerful and allows us to accurately model cellular interactions with prototype devices in the R&D stage.

Cons: The learning curve can be somewhat bumpy but once the team understands the software's capabilities, we have not had issues.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/29
Kyle S.
Retreat Coordinator
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/13

"I used Wolfram for a college course."

Pros: The sheer power and seemingly unending capabilities of this program are truly astounding. I don't think there's anything it cannot do.

Cons: It directly relates to the pros - there's so much it can do that trying to figure out how to use it all can be quite overwhelming.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/13