Netwrix Auditor Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,4 /5

About Netwrix Auditor

Gain complete visibility and control over IT infrastructure changes and configurations

Learn more about Netwrix Auditor

Showing 151 reviews

Kyle M.
Director of Internal Audit
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/20

"Great Website, Slick Interface. Awful Support"

Comments: IT reported the technical support was responsive, but my experience with customer support was very negative. I had several instances of emails going unanswered, sometimes but not always because my contact left the company and our account was never handed over appropriately.

Pros: The website trial shows off the features of the software while also teaching how to perform a user access audit. The user interface is very clean, user-friendly, intuitive, and snappy. The software comes with a lot of explanations for the built-in reports to help users understand what the report is used for. The software also makes it really easy to monitor the organization, with alerts for unacceptable actions or for unusual behavior above thresholds.

Cons: Our IT department spent a long time working on getting some of the features and reports working, with some success, but many reports and features were never fixed after a whole year of working with support. Apparently Netwrix support was responsive, but their fixes often failed to work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/20
Waqas S.
DEPUTT MANAGER ICT
Computer & Network Security, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/05

"SYSTEM ADMINS AUDIT TOOL"

Comments: Overall great experience and we are using it on daily basis.

Pros: Very easy to implement and support is readily available online. Integrat with Microsoft products and Windows.

Cons: Linux machines can't be aduited with it and SAP is also not covered, only Microsoft softwares supoorted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/05
Verified Reviewer
Lead System Administrator
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/24

"If you are held to a number of regulatory governances, Netwrix Auditor is for you"

Comments: If ever anyone is requiring a software that will audit their systems, I immediately recommend Netwrix because of the community presence (I have dealt with them primarily on the Spiceworks forums), and their amazing canned reports.

Pros: The amount of data you can collect about security events, group changes, object moves and deletions, system and file access (and much more) is astounding, especially considering the price. If I need to track something new that I wasn't thinking of when I bought this software, I only need to dig a little and there's something there already for me to utilize. The variety of things we can monitor from a system level is fantastic too. Windows domains, file servers, Office 365, VMWare, SharePoint, SQL and more...each type of audit task yields the same types of reports as the other. Easy color coding for quick visual assessment. Setting up is a cinch. The documentation has just about everything you'll need to get running, and the knowledgebase handles all the extra gotchas that you may run into if you have a temperamental environment :) Probably one of my favorite things about Netwrix Auditor: no-nonsense licensing.

Cons: I think that the UI change from the prior major version to the new was the most jarring. I suspect it wouldn't have been as difficult to understand had I started with the newest UI.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/24
Anthony J.
Director of Enterprise Services
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/12

"Netwrix Auditor (AD, File, Windows Server, Logon Activity Auditing)"

Comments: My Company has been using Netwrix since 2013, and it has been great for us. We love the reports that it generates around our Active Directory, Exchange, Windows Servers etc., including the alerts that we subscribe to for delivery. We've also used the Audit reports for our Auditing request, which we can produce in minutes with Netwrix, which used to take us days to put together. We've also used as a training tool to teach helpdesk level personnel, as it helped us capture errors that were done in Active Directory (and reverted back with the nifty Rollback feature), and that allowed us to customize training for an new employees while working in Active Directory. Wading through event viewer events is no fun and very tedious, enter Netwrix that makes much more efficient, as you can build reports on a specific object and/or date range. I can’t tell you how many times we've used it to trace a lockout of a user and where exactly the user was being locked out from - incredibly helpful, as this occurs with regularity. Netwrix has been absolutely brilliant for us, it's auditing, alerting and reporting capabilities has been and continues to be of great use for my Company. I must also give kudos to the Netwrix helpdesk, as there are very knowledgeable and have assisted successfully on numerous occasions. Highly recommend Netwrix for any company that’s looking to audit their internal systems, with great reporting and alerting for all your critical and non-critical systems.

Pros: Ease of installation and usage, Reporting, alerts, etc.

Cons: I noticed that the new version of Netwrix tends to eat up a lot more hardrive disk space, but this is due to fine tuning Audit. Without proper tuning, it will easily eat up 100GB - which is what I experienced.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/12
Glenn J.
Sr. Systems and Security Architect
Government Relations, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/19

"A lot of features at a good price."

Comments: It has been used to show my company does take securing sensitive information seriously.

Pros: Netwrix Auditor audits a lot of different products such as SQL Server, Windows Servers, Active Directory and NetApp file servers. It is very consistent in its runs and produces reports and alerts that our US government clients fully accept. It has helped my company receive numerous accreditation for performing auditing properly.

Cons: It can be difficult to configure and sometimes fails during a heavy load. Although it may fail every now and then, it will go back and gather the information it missed in the last run and get backup to date on the audits.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/19
Jack B.
Chief Technology Officer
Computer & Network Security, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17

"Invaluable solution for our Microsoft Active Directory auditing requirements."

Comments: Ease of addressing our Microsoft audit/compliance activities.

Pros: Netwrix provides a thorough, easy to use interface to address supporting documentation for almost all of our Microsoft audit requirements. We have been able to easily produce the documentation and evidence for all requests from our audit team with ease. Something that used to take a considerable amount of time to compile.

Cons: Would prefer that the client be web based, as opposed to the Windows client that is used today. Additional detail in error reports to help identify exactly what is not working would be extremely helpful as well. We occasionally have to do quite a bit of exploration to determine exactly what component is generating the error.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17
Glenn J.
St. Systems and Security Architect
1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17

"Netwrix Auditor is a fairly easy software package to use. It also converse a lot of system types."

Comments: The software covered most of the system that we were required to audit.

Pros: Netwrix Auditor can be setup to audit most all of the systems that a company is running. It also allows, for one price to audit most of the systems that need to be audited. In addition you can audit systems that are not part of Netwrix by using the Integration API.

Cons: The primary con with Netwrix is that the documentation is not complete. It does show how to configure a basic system but then stops there. It should also show how to configure more complex configurations. This then requires you to submit a ticket which might take a bit to get a proper answer.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17
Paul B.
Technology Coordinator
Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/23

"Netwrix Auditor for Dummies"

Comments: We got this product to assist with our NIST 800-171 compliance with our aerospace customers. The logs and information it provides are invaluable.

Pros: It's very easy to configure most of what you'll want to log directly out of the box. The parts that are a little more confusing are easily done with talking to support. This is overall a great product and one that I've needed for years.

Cons: When you don't work with the setups on a regular basis it's sometimes time consuming to go back and make changes or add/delete things. Since it basically runs itself I haven't touched the setup in months.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/23
Azhar M.
Control System Coordinator
Government Administration, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17

"Now a days changes in AD is very important"

Comments: Like I said real time change alert is the best part of using this product

Pros: Real time notification of any changes in AD and successful and unsuccessful logins to machines, which tells administrators of unauthorized login tries and legitimate user problems even before users approach administrator

Cons: There has to be exception reporting options which lets administrator know as some thing is not right for example I particular user is not supposed to be logging into a particular server and if such action happens then administrator should be alarmed - such relationship database should be there

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17
Ronald M.
Assistant Director, IT
Libraries, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17

"An excellent product that continues to improve."

Comments: If we start to experience a problem that goes back to AD or Group Policy, we can easily determine what changed and remediate it.

Pros: The version 9 client is awesome. It provides a much easier way to drill into reports and events than ever before.

Cons: The activity summary reports that it completed with errors, yet neither we nor tech support has ever been able to identify the problem. Since there are no events missing, we have just let it go.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17
Dan B.
IT Security Analyst
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17

"Netwrix has allowed us to keep an eye on our environment."

Pros: The Netwrix auditor suite has many tools that come with the solution out of the box. This allows us to deploy auditing in our environment, as needed.

Cons: There are a couple of the new auditing tools in Netwrix that require a separate license. These tools should be included in the solution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17
Verified Reviewer
IT Operations Supervisor
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/24

"Netwrix Suite"

Comments: After getting the system up and running it has been a great tool for being proactive when monitoring our environment. The automated reports work great.

Pros: Automation!! Set it and forget it. Once you set up the items you want to monitor, you have the ability to shift your focus to other important items and then be alerted when the criteria matches your rules.

Cons: A little complicated to get things working at first.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/24
David W.
System Adminsitrator
Financial Services, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/23

"Great Product"

Pros: Has a versatile use for auditing and other tracking and reports.

Cons: Some things need to be bought in packs and you can buy them separate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/23
Majid I.
Sr. manager
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/18

"i have a complete knowledge of what is happening in my Infra"

Comments: complete knowledge of what is happening in network infra

Pros: it helps you with the various reports which helps you to track events in infra. able to record admin activity on server. alerts on some important events

Cons: Need more flexibility in terms of email alerts exclusion of specific systems from alerts. need real time dashboard atleast for domain changes which can be monitored on screen

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/18
Gregory W.
ISO
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/23

"Fantastic Value"

Pros: Very Easy to Use
More Reports than you could ever want
Findings are as detailed or concise as you want them to be

Cons: Nothing really stands out to me for negatives. I've been happy with Netwrix.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/23
Bill H.
IT Director
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17

"A great interface and set of features that allows small businesses Enterprise level insights."

Comments: Insights into things we had never had before, and several advanced security items that saved us from spending more momney on a second product.

Pros: An easy to understand, modern looking interface and sweet looking reports on a budget. Pretty easy to understand, and a lot of high level features. Great customer support and configuration assistance. Highly recommend the Jump Start package.

Cons: Well, it doesn't have "In the file" levels of changes that other (much) more expensive programs have. It can be difficult to whittle down the "noise" in Active Directory and other false positives, though thats an issue with all logging. A few of the settings are using confusing terms, but once trained it is understandable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17
Jason A.
Sr. Systems Administrator
Pharmaceuticals, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/24

"Great product"

Pros: Helps us protect our network from unauthorized access.

Cons: Reports sometimes take a little long to run.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/24
George A.
Project Manager
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/19

"Accessibility to tools, very useful and easy to utilize."

Pros: Easy to use software, liked the reports it has generated for within Active Directory and within the organizational structure.

Cons: Could be better in auditing other objects, having the ability to diagnose intrusion detections within AD.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/19
Hicham N.
CIO
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17

"Overall, the Netwrix Auditor Suite has exceeded our expectations and it simply works!"

Comments: The software helps us get a better understanding of our Security Risk Profile, and meet regulatory guidelines. It was indeed a great purchase, and helps us monitor various systems on our network.

Pros: Since we are in the heavily regulated Financial Services industry, we needed an Event Auditing solution that met the FFIEC regulatory guidelines. Netwrix Auditor and the related products work well.

Cons: There is so much information to sift through, but that is very typical of these type of products. If you invest enough time tweaking it ends working for you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17
Candice R.
CIO
Higher Education, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17

"Netwrix has the ability to do real time reporting which is needed greatly in our environment"

Pros: The program does Real-time reporting, Detects changes in policy (group), monitoring of AD, particularly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17
Richard R.
Senior Systems Engineer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17

"Netwrix has enabled us to monitor our systems with ease"

Pros: The built in reporting is wonderful. We have been able to get audit reports that are accurate in a timely manner.

Cons: I wish that it was easier to setup the monitoring. All systems are complex so I doubt this can be fixed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17
Daniel J.
Senior Network Specialist
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17

"NETWRIX is a must have system for any IT Administrator"

Pros: The ability to track high valued user activity and to have the ability to review any changes made in Active Directory, Group Policy and File Shares

Cons: Netwrix monitors a great number of items throughout your environment, but I really wish it would also monitor server HDD space and send notifications regarding its capacities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17
Simon E.
IT Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/07

"File Auditing made simple"

Comments: Netwrix File Server Audit was far the most straight forward and least resource overhead. It just worked straight away, created a plan and job done.

Pros: Easy to deploy.
Very customisable.
Support good.
Reasonable costs.

Cons: I haven't found a con as yet. The reporting can be a little confusing to start.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/07
Phil H.
it specialist
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17

"Works great, when it works. but trying to put in a ticket is hard to get everything corrected."

Pros: reports what is going on my network. Sends out easy to understand emails for everyone that needs them.

Cons: correcting issues with our application is difficult sometimes. I put in a ticket and it will take several days sometime for them to get back to me. I wish the reports were more like the emails. easy to build.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/17