15 years helping South African businesses
choose better software

South Africa Local product

About Semper

All-in-one Property Management System for hospitality businesses to save time, increase revenue and improve guest satisfaction.

Learn more about Semper

Pros:

User friendly making it easy to do the reservations and train new staff.

Cons:

Can be a bit confusing at times, mostly with the stock takes.

Semper ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.2
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Semper has an overall rating of 4.2 out 5 stars based on 125 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Semper before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (125)

Suzette
Owner in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Professional & Efficient Service

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

The developers are continuously striving to improve the system.

Cons:

I love the system. It is user friendly. Only area that needs attention is the e-mail templates.

Alternatives Considered: Little Hotelier and Opera

Reasons for Choosing Semper: I did not switch form NightsBridge. You do not have LodgeManager on the list. My business outgrew the previous product and I needed something that had a module for my restaurant.

Switched From: NightsBridge

Reasons for Switching to Semper: Local developer, pricing and speedy response to enquiry.

Semper Response

2 months ago

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are busy changing the email templates and have introduced new correspondence documents that have been re-designed if you wish to implement them please get in contact with support.

Riekie
Director in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

No regrets

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: Overall experiences are very satisfied with good product and friendly assisting group of people.

Pros:

Semper is an easy to use excel base system that is very self-exoplanetary. The support team is very friendly and extremely patient. The system self can be adjusted to suit the company's needs to an extent. It is also very easy to correct errors. In general, both the reservation system and POS system is very user friendly.

Cons:

The financial side and reports can use a bit more attention.

Corne
Managing Director in South Africa
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A fragmented system lacking user-friendly application

2.0 7 months ago

Comments: Frustrating at best. I have to add that we had a junior technician who constantly impressed us with her service and willingness to help us. She was a breath of fresh air and I felt that she was a gem. The system truly disappointed compared to her desire to resolve issues.

Pros:

Analytics and reporting were good, although one needs proper training to make sense of the various reports.

Cons:

Fragmented nature of each of the functions within the system. It never felt comfortable to use the features as they didn't seamlessly talk to each other. Training was not beneficial and on-the-job training a hard task to accomplish. We employed 365Villas and couldn't believe how fast and user-friendly it is. We were operational with 2 weeks, whereas we took 3 months to go-live with Semper.

Semper Response

7 months ago

Dear Corne, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Semper. We appreciate your insights in helping us refine our services. We regret any inconvenience you faced with Semper's user-friendliness and cohesion. We're committed to addressing these issues, enhancing user experience, and improving onboarding. Your positive note on analytics is encouraging. We'll ensure our analytics remain robust and user-friendly. We're evaluating your comparison with 365Villas to enhance Semper's functionality and deployment speed. Your experience is crucial, and we're dedicated to exceeding expectations. If you have further suggestions, please reach out. We value your feedback and hope for the chance to serve you better.

Maryke
Director in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Concerned about Cloud Based Option

5.0 5 months ago

Pros:

It works very well for us as a reservation system and I like the reports available.

Cons:

I am worried about the Cloud Based option as I have received feedback from other clients that the information does not pull through correctly from Nightsbridge.

Semper Response

5 months ago

Thank you for providing your feedback. I'd like to highlight that our cloud-based system operates seamlessly, mirroring the functionality of the local server-based system. Notably, the cloud-based system boasts enhanced security measures and a higher likelihood of receiving bookings from Nightbridge or any other connected channel manager. This increased efficacy is attributed to its cloud-based nature, which minimizes interference and ensures a smoother operational experience compared to the local server.

Deon
Restaurant Owner in South Africa
Food & Beverages, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Easy to use system

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Enjoy working withe the program and the Technical support is great.

Pros:

Easy to use, Accuracy, Tools to prevent theft and monitoring.

Cons:

Some payment steps can be reduced The input procedure and update of stock items to be made easier

Semper Response

4 months ago

Thank you very much for the positive review. You will be pleased to know we are currently busy with implementing integration to payment devices that will greatly reduce the process of capturing payments. It will be available in the next release.

Jaan-Mart
Owner in South Africa
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great great great

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: Wonderful!!!! Will always use and recommend

Pros:

Easy to use and understand and great service

Cons:

Nothing love everything about the program

Alternatives Considered: NightsBridge

Reasons for Switching to Semper: Love to work on Semper and everything I can do on the system

Semper Response

5 months ago

Thank you for the enthusiastic review! We're thrilled to hear that you find Semper great, easy to use, and appreciate the excellent service. Your endorsement and commitment to always using and recommending Semper are greatly appreciated. We're honoured that you chose Semper over alternatives like NightsBridge, and we're delighted that you love working on our system. If you ever have further feedback or need assistance, feel free to reach out. Thank you for choosing Semper!

Lindia
Personal Assistant in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

BEST POS FOR YOUR COMPANY

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Semper has made a big difference in our Company. Before we couldn't go back on daily reports or check sales reports and losses. Now we can do all of this and more.

Pros:

Semper is a very easy and reliable system to use in a restaurant, it has many different features and are very user friendly.

Cons:

So far there isn't any complaints or something that we don't like about Semper.

Semper Response

5 months ago

Thank you for your glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that Semper has proven to be the best POS for your company, offering an easy and reliable system with user-friendly features. It's great that you haven't encountered any complaints or issues with the system. Your feedback on Semper making a significant difference in your company, providing the ability to review daily and sales reports, is appreciated. We're honored to have been recommended to you by another satisfied company using Semper. We understand the importance of reliable support and are glad to have surpassed your expectations after switching from Lavu POS, addressing the challenges you faced with assistance. Thank you for choosing Semper!

Jacobus
Administrator in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

overall user

4.0 5 months ago

Pros:

All in one product. Need to understand the setup if the system and products but if set up correctly it runs pretty good.

Cons:

Most of the updates is for the web base.

Semper Response

5 months ago

We'd like to inform you that we're implementing a change to Semper to enable local access to the web interface. This adjustment is aimed at providing a more convenient and efficient experience for users. If you have any questions or concerns about this update, please feel free to reach out. We appreciate your understanding and look forward to offering an improved service with these enhancements.

Jaco
Jaco
founder in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

semper review

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: very good value for money, most additional modules are free and or very cheap

Pros:

ample reports easy calendar easy billing

Cons:

channel management very complicated and needs support inout

Brightone
Brightone
Commercial Controller in Zambia
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Latitude 15 semper Review

4.0 5 months ago

Comments: overall experience with Semper is 8/10

Pros:

Easy to navigate and a lot of assorted reports

Cons:

Accounting packages integration failure

Annaloice
Director in Namibia
Food & Beverages, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Rating for Semper AK

3.0 5 months ago

Comments: It’s been very stressful to use especially with lack of support after installation which is not what we were told when the advertising was done.

Pros:

I was told it will make me stress free when is come to warehouse accountability

Cons:

The lack of support when we asked our local product provider to see the errors that happen when we installed it. We are so concerned about this and now they are adding a new charge.

Zané
Manager in Namibia
Hospitality, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Semper feedback

4.0 last year

Comments: All our problems have been solved. [sensitive content hidden] is always a great help and always has solutions even if it takes her a few days she always gets it done.

Pros:

setting up all our own rates, can see all the bookings. We can call at anytime, and someone will answer. I always just work with [sensitive content hidden]. But I prefer to work with [sensitive content hidden] as she is always so friendly and willing to help. She definitely knows what she is doing and I always feel comfortable with her. She always has solutions and helps us very well.

Cons:

That the system has glitches like if I transfer stuff on the system it does not add up or subtract the items. If items are read it sometimes the system does not add it to stock on hand.I dislike it how you put people in management positions that can not do the job. Like [sensitive content hidden]. They do not know the system and always does something else than we are asking. I get very frustrated with them because they do not listen to what we want. If I call and it is 1 of them that is answering I will rather wait to speak to someone else even if it takes a day. Even on standby, you need to be profesional and [sensitive content hidden] can not be profesional.

Semper Response

5 months ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're delighted to hear that you appreciate the ability to set up rates, view bookings easily, and receive responsive customer support. We value your concerns regarding glitches in the system and the challenges with certain team members. We are actively working to address these issues and appreciate your patience. Your input is essential, and if you have any further suggestions or encounter issues, please don't hesitate to reach out. We're committed to ensuring a positive experience for you. Thank you for your support!

Vernon
Owner in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Not happy

3.0 5 months ago

Pros:

Nothing, not user friendly, set up promises weren’t kept, waste of money

Cons:

Set up promises weren’t kept, blackmailed to accept or threatened to be tuned off

Semper Response

5 months ago

We're sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction. We take your feedback seriously and apologize for any inconvenience you've experienced. Your concerns about the system not being user-friendly and setup promises not being kept are noted. We aim to address and rectify any issues promptly. If you have specific details or additional feedback, please reach out to our support team so we can better understand and assist you. We appreciate your input and are committed to improving our services.

Gerald
Managing Director in Botswana
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Semper PMS property solutions for us

5.0 last year

Comments: We are extremely happy with the system and the support is exceptional.

Pros:

It helps us to manage our property remotely especially with the new browser version. The reporting system also helps with all aspects of the business.

Cons:

So far there is nothing that I don't like.

Semper Response

5 months ago

Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that Semper PMS has been instrumental in managing your property remotely, especially with the new browser version. We're glad you find the reporting system beneficial. If you ever have any feedback or questions, feel free to reach out. We appreciate your support and are delighted to provide exceptional support for your needs!

Victor
Duty Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Effective Guest Experience

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Semper Reservations and Semper conferencing are the core software that runs our Hotel. We very reliant on it as it is user friendly, effective and affordable

Pros:

The product itself is user friendly, we are able to add features to suite our needs. Payment via the online portal quick and the software updates itself automatically saving us time spent checking through our service providers (Bank). You are able to intergrate with any product with easy. For example as a hotel we intergrated with Pilot and Gaap POS systems in order to track payment and ensuring all transactions are in par with the existing features.

Cons:

Some time but not often, it does not generate the information needed for example generating occupancy rate , proper employee cash ups. However semper support is effective when the need arises to attend to these matters.

Nikki
Events and Guest Relations Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Not user friendly

3.0 5 months ago

Comments: I've used other POS systems and Semper is one of the least user friendly
steps are not simple
does not take into account the pressure from waiters side in processing orders as it takes very long and becomes frustrating to use - wastes time in waiting for simple tasks to be completed (e.g. waiting for the text box to open, merging a table, splitting a table etc.)
No easy to follow User Manual for Semper Conference especially. It's difficult to understand how to use the various functions, e.g. function sheet etc. (not activated on our side)

Pros:

Easy to check closed tables Easy to re-instate closed tables large icons for easy reading

Cons:

Not user friendly Reports are usually not very accurate or user friendly Too many steps to complete a simple task (e.g. split and combine tables) Very slow at times Has many "issues" and takes very long to process table merging or voids. Freezes often Not reliable Does not generate accurate reports Not enough training done No quick view user manual for beginners

Andrew
IT personnel in Uganda
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Responsive support

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: For now I'm satisfied, though need to improve and come up with new ideas in the next upgrades

Pros:

Itvis User friendlyAll in one packages, Pos and reservations syncing

Cons:

Yes there are features missing, like accessing stock and pos online

Semper Response

5 months ago

Thank you for your feedback! We're pleased to hear you find our support responsive and the system user-friendly. Your input about missing features is noted, and we appreciate your satisfaction. We'll continue working on improvements and welcome any ideas for future upgrades. If you have specific suggestions, please feel free to share. We're here to support you!

Chris
Reception Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Chestnut Country Lodge

3.0 5 months ago

Pros:

The flexibility and the many different functions within it.

Cons:

The slow speed at times when switching screens or saving.

Semper Response

5 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted to hear that you appreciate the flexibility and diverse range of functions within our platform. Your feedback is invaluable as we continuously strive to enhance our services.

Thabang
Operations Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Review

2.0 last year

Comments: Customer services is easily reachable although I do feel like we shouldn't have to call in so many times for a variety of issues. [sensitive content hidden] is quite amazing and always helpful; her product knowledge range is great and there is no issue she has been unable to help me with. She is empathetic and resourceful. A lot of us on my property actually like speaking to her mostly.

Pros:

I quiet like the calendar view and the dashboard.

Cons:

It is unnecessarily complicated on a lot of functions making it frustratingly unbearable at times.

Semper Response

5 months ago

Thank you for your review! We're pleased to hear you appreciate the calendar view and dashboard. We understand your frustration with certain functions and are actively working to simplify them. We appreciate your feedback on our customer service. We value your input, and if you have further suggestions or concerns, please feel free to reach out. Thanks for your support!

Kim
Owner in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Feedback from Blanco Guest Farm

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: Fantastic! I love everything about the Senpet system

Pros:

It’s ease of use and fantastic support! It is very difficult to make mistakes with the system!

Cons:

Group bookings aren’t our best and we would like to redesign the invoice template but everything else is great

Semper Response

4 months ago

Thank you very much for the positive review. It is much appreciated. You will be pleased to know that we have created new templates which are very modern. we would like to show you these and see if you like them.

itumeleng
C&E Specialist in South Africa
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best service

3.0 12 months ago

Comments: Average

Pros:

The support team is always so helpful ([sensitive content hidden] and [sensitive content hidden] in particular )

Cons:

The system is Very slowThe system is not user friendly

Semper Response

5 months ago

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're delighted to hear you appreciate our support team. We're sorry to hear about the challenges with system speed and user-friendliness. If you have specific suggestions or encounter issues, please reach out. Your input is valuable to us.

Suzette
Guest House Manageress in South Africa
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Honest feedback

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

User friendly and the office and [SENSITIVE CONTENT] are always available to assist

Cons:

Cant think of anything. The consultants leads one to what needs to be known

Semper Response

3 years ago

Wow, we really appreciate your positive words! Thank you, Suzette.

Tshepo
Front desk in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Staff

5.0 last year

Pros:

The system is user friendly and one can easily work around it.

Cons:

It can be bit complicated sometimes, when ever you move bookings around, it changes the rate or sometimes the rates just disappears.

Semper Response

5 months ago

Thank you for your review! We're pleased to hear that you find our system generally user-friendly. We understand the challenges with rates when moving bookings around and are actively working to improve this aspect. Your feedback is valuable, and if you have any further comments or suggestions, please feel free to share. We appreciate your support!

Temwani
Duty Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Bea has been excellent.

5.0 last year

Comments: i have gained lots of experiences with features it comes with

Pros:

Easy to use and assist in keeping track of goods

Cons:

nothing, everything is good. would recommend to have it.

Semper Response

5 months ago

Thank you for your positive review! We're delighted to hear that you find the system easy to use and effective in tracking goods. We appreciate your recommendation and are glad to know that you have gained valuable experiences with the features. If you ever have more feedback or questions, feel free to reach out. We appreciate your support!

Christabel
marketing manager in Zimbabwe
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Semper

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: not bad, can be easy at times

Pros:

Search option is easy. you just type name and you receive what you need

Cons:

changing rates for all rooms is tedious. If the other rooms can pick up the rates it will be better

Semper Response

3 years ago

Hi Christabel, The web based system has a new rate management facility where rates are linked to each other. Change one rate and all linked rates get updated based on a pre-defined rule when they are linked. all online channels can also be updated with the change. all you need to do is change the rate in one place.