15 years helping South African businesses
choose better software

South Africa Local product

About Semper

All-in-one Property Management System for hospitality businesses to save time, increase revenue and improve guest satisfaction.

Learn more about Semper

Pros:

User friendly making it easy to do the reservations and train new staff.

Cons:

Can be a bit confusing at times, mostly with the stock takes.

Semper ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4,2
Customer Service
4,6
Features
4,2
Value for Money
4,4

Likelihood to recommend

8,1/10

Semper has an overall rating of 4,3 out 5 stars based on 119 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Semper before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (119)

Suzette
Owner in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Professional & Efficient Service

5,0 last month New

Pros:

The developers are continuously striving to improve the system.

Cons:

I love the system. It is user friendly. Only area that needs attention is the e-mail templates.

Alternatives Considered: Little Hotelier and Opera

Reasons for Choosing Semper: I did not switch form NightsBridge. You do not have LodgeManager on the list. My business outgrew the previous product and I needed something that had a module for my restaurant.

Switched From: NightsBridge

Reasons for Switching to Semper: Local developer, pricing and speedy response to enquiry.

Semper Response

last month

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are busy changing the email templates and have introduced new correspondence documents that have been re-designed if you wish to implement.

Maryke
Director in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Concerned about Cloud Based Option

5,0 last month New

Pros:

It works very well for us as a reservation system and I like the reports available.

Cons:

I am worried about the Cloud Based option as I have received feedback from other clients that the information does not pull through correctly from Nightsbridge.

Semper Response

last month

Thank you for providing your feedback. I'd like to highlight that our cloud-based system operates seamlessly, mirroring the functionality of the local server-based system. Notably, the cloud-based system boasts enhanced security measures and a higher likelihood of receiving bookings from Nightbridge or any other connected channel manager. This increased efficacy is attributed to its cloud-based nature, which minimizes interference and ensures a smoother operational experience compared to the local server.

Riekie
Director in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

No regrets

4,0 last month New

Comments: Overall experiences are very satisfied with good product and friendly assisting group of people.

Pros:

Semper is an easy to use excel base system that is very self-exoplanetary. The support team is very friendly and extremely patient. The system self can be adjusted to suit the company's needs to an extent. It is also very easy to correct errors. In general, both the reservation system and POS system is very user friendly.

Cons:

The financial side and reports can use a bit more attention.

Deon
Restaurant Owner in South Africa
Food & Beverages, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Easy to use system

5,0 last month New

Comments: Enjoy working withe the program and the Technical support is great.

Pros:

Easy to use, Accuracy, Tools to prevent theft and monitoring.

Cons:

Some payment steps can be reduced The input procedure and update of stock items to be made easier

Semper Response

3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the positive review. You will be pleased to know we are currently busy with implementing integration to payment devices that will greatly reduce the process of capturing payments. It will be available in the next release.

Lindia
Personal Assistant in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

BEST POS FOR YOUR COMPANY

5,0 2 months ago New

Comments: Semper has made a big difference in our Company. Before we couldn't go back on daily reports or check sales reports and losses. Now we can do all of this and more.

Pros:

Semper is a very easy and reliable system to use in a restaurant, it has many different features and are very user friendly.

Cons:

So far there isn't any complaints or something that we don't like about Semper.

Semper Response

2 months ago

Thank you for your glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that Semper has proven to be the best POS for your company, offering an easy and reliable system with user-friendly features. It's great that you haven't encountered any complaints or issues with the system. Your feedback on Semper making a significant difference in your company, providing the ability to review daily and sales reports, is appreciated. We're honored to have been recommended to you by another satisfied company using Semper. We understand the importance of reliable support and are glad to have surpassed your expectations after switching from Lavu POS, addressing the challenges you faced with assistance. Thank you for choosing Semper!

Brendan
Director in South Africa
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Semper

5,0 last month New

Comments: Very friendly and helpful support staff, they solve issues quickly.

Pros:

I can access Semper from the cloud and quickly generate a quote or invoice and also check availability from my laptop or smart phone

Cons:

I would like Semper to have more options of linking to booking engines like booking.com & Safari. Maybe they do but I was not advised. It would be good to move everything to Semper because Nightsbridge still handles online booking.

Alternatives Considered: NightsBridge

Reasons for Switching to Semper: The invoices were very professional and easy to use.

Jaco
Jaco
founder in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

semper review

4,0 last month New

Comments: very good value for money, most additional modules are free and or very cheap

Pros:

ample reports easy calendar easy billing

Cons:

channel management very complicated and needs support inout

Vania
Manager in South Africa
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent for calendar management

5,0 last month New

Pros:

Easy integration with online booking platforms

Cons:

Doesn't support local (South African) booking platforms

Alternatives Considered: NightsBridge

Reasons for Switching to Semper: More functionality at the time, like a payment platform

Brightone
Brightone
Commercial Controller in Zambia
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Latitude 15 semper Review

4,0 last month New

Comments: overall experience with Semper is 8/10

Pros:

Easy to navigate and a lot of assorted reports

Cons:

Accounting packages integration failure

Martin
General Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Product!

5,0 2 years ago

Comments: it works well and they have great partner support

Pros:

it works well and they have great partner support

Cons:

Online is still not there but I'm sure its a end-user problem at the moment (training)

Alternatives Considered: NightsBridge

Reasons for Choosing Semper: there was not product/partner support

Reasons for Switching to Semper: [SENSITIVE CONTENT] the sales reps was really helpfull

Semper Response

2 years ago

Thanks for the review, Martin. We're happy to hear you are enjoying the software.

Lisa
Owner Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Semper is the best!

5,0 2 years ago

Comments: The customer support from Semper is fabulous and they now have specialist support members who are very knowledgeable about the product.

Pros:

Semper Online is one of the easiest software packages that I have ever used and it has been extremely easy to convert from a server based system to this online one. It is extremely user-friendly and training new staff is now much easier.

Cons:

There is nothing negative about Semper although it can be tricky when the internet is down - but that's not their fault!

Semper Response

2 years ago

Thanks so much for the great review, Lisa! We are so glad you enjoy the Semper web system. Your review means a lot to us!

Nadia
Lodge Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User Friendly, with a Super Support Staff

5,0 last year

Comments: Always friendly and always helpful and willing to assist.

Pros:

The software is easy to understand and to use. This makes it a joy to work with on a daily basis.

Cons:

Sometimes the updates bring out more problems.

Semper Response

last month

Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that you find Semper user-friendly and enjoy working with it daily.

Zané
Manager in Namibia
Hospitality, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Semper feedback

4,0 8 months ago

Comments: All our problems have been solved. [sensitive content hidden] is always a great help and always has solutions even if it takes her a few days she always gets it done.

Pros:

setting up all our own rates, can see all the bookings. We can call at anytime, and someone will answer. I always just work with [sensitive content hidden]. But I prefer to work with [sensitive content hidden] as she is always so friendly and willing to help. She definitely knows what she is doing and I always feel comfortable with her. She always has solutions and helps us very well.

Cons:

That the system has glitches like if I transfer stuff on the system it does not add up or subtract the items. If items are read it sometimes the system does not add it to stock on hand.I dislike it how you put people in management positions that can not do the job. Like [sensitive content hidden]. They do not know the system and always does something else than we are asking. I get very frustrated with them because they do not listen to what we want. If I call and it is 1 of them that is answering I will rather wait to speak to someone else even if it takes a day. Even on standby, you need to be profesional and [sensitive content hidden] can not be profesional.

Semper Response

last month

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're delighted to hear that you appreciate the ability to set up rates, view bookings easily, and receive responsive customer support. We value your concerns regarding glitches in the system and the challenges with certain team members. We are actively working to address these issues and appreciate your patience. Your input is essential, and if you have any further suggestions or encounter issues, please don't hesitate to reach out. We're committed to ensuring a positive experience for you. Thank you for your support!

Karla
Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Semper Support Review: [sensitive content hidden]

5,0 3 months ago

Comments: The support service from [sensitive content hidden] has been consistently excellent.

Pros:

Consistently proven to be incredibly helpful. His knowledge and responsiveness have made resolving issues a smooth and efficient process. I appreciate his dedication to provide excellent assistance.

Cons:

I currently find the support service to be outstanding, and I can't think of anything that needs improvements at the moment.

Semper Response

2 months ago

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're thrilled to hear that Semper consistently provides excellent support. We appreciate your acknowledgement of his helpfulness, knowledge, and dedication. If you ever have further comments or suggestions, feel free to reach out. We're here to assist you!

Bronwan
General Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Extremely User Friendly and Great Support

5,0 8 months ago

Pros:

I have worked with Semper at Multiple Properties around South Africa and even opted to have Semper implemented in Botswana. I would not use any other PMS in future.

Cons:

In my opinion I have not yet found any fault with Semper in order to advise on any improvements required.

Semper Response

2 months ago

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you find Semper extremely user-friendly and appreciate the great support. It's fantastic to know that you've chosen Semper for multiple properties and even implemented it in Botswana. We're grateful for your trust and loyalty. If you ever have any suggestions or further comments, feel free to reach out. We look forward to continuing to serve you!

Christoffel Jose
Property Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Booking System

5,0 6 months ago

Pros:

The accounting section is very helpful, the basic understanding of booking your rooms and sales split is very handy and easy

Cons:

Export reports not really for debtors use, have to use another method to get accurate report totals

Semper Response

2 months ago

Thank you for your positive review! We're pleased to hear that you find our booking system great, especially the helpful accounting section and easy sales split. We appreciate your feedback on the export reports and are committed to enhancing our features. If you have any specific suggestions, feel free to share. We're here to provide an even better experience for you!

Chris
Reception Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Chestnut Country Lodge

3,0 last month New

Pros:

The flexibility and the many different functions within it.

Cons:

The slow speed at times when switching screens or saving.

Semper Response

last month

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted to hear that you appreciate the flexibility and diverse range of functions within our platform. Your feedback is invaluable as we continuously strive to enhance our services.

Thabang
Operations Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Review

2,0 8 months ago

Comments: Customer services is easily reachable although I do feel like we shouldn't have to call in so many times for a variety of issues. [sensitive content hidden] is quite amazing and always helpful; her product knowledge range is great and there is no issue she has been unable to help me with. She is empathetic and resourceful. A lot of us on my property actually like speaking to her mostly.

Pros:

I quiet like the calendar view and the dashboard.

Cons:

It is unnecessarily complicated on a lot of functions making it frustratingly unbearable at times.

Semper Response

last month

Thank you for your review! We're pleased to hear you appreciate the calendar view and dashboard. We understand your frustration with certain functions and are actively working to simplify them. We appreciate your feedback on our customer service. We value your input, and if you have further suggestions or concerns, please feel free to reach out. Thanks for your support!

Jean
Management in South Africa
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple to use

4,0 last month New

Pros:

Relatively easy to use, logical process. Modifications to bookings are generally easy.

Cons:

Refund process, no opportunity to rectify or change once committed, forced to do work arounds for incorrect or amended entry.

Semper Response

3 weeks ago

hi Jean, You will be pleased to know that we have re-written the refund process which will be available in the next release.

Suzette
Guest House Manageress in South Africa
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Honest feedback

5,0 2 years ago

Pros:

User friendly and the office and [SENSITIVE CONTENT] are always available to assist

Cons:

Cant think of anything. The consultants leads one to what needs to be known

Semper Response

2 years ago

Wow, we really appreciate your positive words! Thank you, Suzette.

Sarika
General Manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Makakatana Review

4,0 8 months ago

Pros:

We use it daily. Quick functioning and easy to view

Cons:

The search function does not display all reservations searched for in that name

Semper Response

last month

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that you use our system daily and find it quick and easy to use. We appreciate your feedback about the search function and will look into improving it for a better experience.

Phelokazi
manager in South Africa
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Semper booking system is the besy!

5,0 2 months ago New

Comments: Semper booking system covers all aspects of what is required in the hospitality industry.
the software is stable and reliable at all times.

Pros:

very accurate! it keeps track of all booking information. semper consultants are always there to assist.

Cons:

nothing that i like the least about semper booking system

Thato
Reservations Team Leader in South Africa
Hospitality, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The Best Support Team

4,0 7 months ago

Comments: Helpful and polite team.

Pros:

Automatically emailing corrospondence documents.

Cons:

Unable to generate the Excel sheet for the daily sales report.

Semper Response

2 months ago

Thank you for your positive review! We're glad you appreciate the automated emailing of correspondence documents and the helpful and polite support team. We've noted your feedback about generating the Excel sheet for the daily sales report. If you have further comments or suggestions, feel free to share. We're here to assist you!

Martin
Martin
Operations Manager in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Semper review

3,0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Semper is cloud based, you can use it anywhere.

Cons:

Semper has glitches or is offline that creates issues

Semper Response

last month

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you appreciate Semper's cloud-based accessibility. We apologize for any glitches or downtime and are actively working to improve reliability. If you encounter issues, please contact our support team. Your input is important to us.

Gerrit
Director in South Africa
Food & Beverages, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

All-in-all, a good functional option

4,0 last month New

Comments: My experience is limited to POS and Stock Control only. We do not use the reservation function for our Guesthouse. Overall, I am happy with the product since it largely does what we need it to do.

Pros:

Fairly easy to use and well suited for smaller restaurants for both POS and Stock Control. The support I have received in the past has been exemplary and problems have always been resolved fast and satisfactorily.

Cons:

It would be nice to have more buttons displayed on the home screen. Having to scroll through button lists take up unnecessary time and lead to mistakes. Out of stock items are not displayed on the "Stock on Hand "report. A zero would help to assess at a glance that a product is out of stock. Dockets and Invoices are not customizable. When using formatted dockets, column widths are too wide leaving very little space for product descriptions - this, by the way, is the only support ticket that has not been resolved. I miss the ability to be able to log into the system remotely via an app in order to perform functions that are not permitted by on-site staff. Currently I need to come into the restaurant to resolve problems when I am at the restaurant.

Semper Response

last month

Thank you very much for your feedback.It is much appreciated. we will make a change to teh docets to include more information as you request. I am not sure if you are aware that we have a hosted version where you can log-in at any time and view all tables, sales etc. You can also make change from anywhere.