Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,3 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,2 /5

About Zendesk

Zendesk is the leading cloud-based help desk software built for better customer relationships.

Learn more about Zendesk

Showing 2 606 reviews

Ashley E.
Support engineer
Information Technology & Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/11

"The best professional ticketing solution"

Comments: I have had several smooth years using zendesk and really love using it for every ticket incident I have to resolve.

Pros: I can manage my tickets with ease using Zendesk. It provides me with the perfect user interface to easily navigate between all my tickets and incidents. This tool is also widely used making it great for training new colleagues and customers to use this for internal systems.

Cons: The software is great however it can take a couple of hours to get used to the flow of tickets and interfaces in comparison to some other CRM software. Once familiar this is not an issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/11
Laura R.
Senior SEA Specialist
Food & Beverages, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/04

"Really useful for large companies"

Comments: Pretty postivie. It's a great tool for Customer Care and the conexion with Facebook and Twitter allows for a complete ownership of the customer care attention.

Pros: The biggest pro the collaboration part. Zendesk allows to have more effective communication with customers and relevant stakeholders. This was a much appreciated improvement. A great feature is that you can integrated with the big social media platforms like Twitter and Facebook to allow CC to responde quite quickly.

Cons: It can be a struggle for small companies, so I wouldn't recommend it in that case. But if you are a medium size company I'd advise to get this so you can get use to the platform. Also merging tickets can be sometimes a struggle

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/04
Verified Reviewer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/25

"A mediocre product that doesn't get better as it grows"

Pros: I struggle to find good things to say. It works and rarely has performance problems. If you need very basic support ticketing and are just starting out, you could use it and be successful. We did. But the functionality and support for those organizations between startup and large corporation is nil. If we were a very large organization, I could see it being a valuable product.

Cons: 1. It is incredibly difficult to keep track of business users. When you are a SaaS supporting clients who have end-users, organizing tickets and documenting issues is very important to find patterns. This is not possible in Zendesk, at least at the Team feature level. There is not a central location for information for an organization outside of a Notes box that is basically a tiny sidebar textbox that allows no formatting to make notes over time readable. 2. There is no way to reference individual comments in a ticket because individual comments do not have their own IDs. This makes it very cumbersome to keep succinct notes and refers back to my first point. The only way we can review a client's history is through wading through a bunch of tickets with an endless stream of comments. I can't get a good timeline overview of their experience and issues, which is so essential to good issue triage. 3. Lack of features for those at the less pricey levels is pretty bad. There's no way to make our contact forms more customizable (like having a message to the person on the ticket - there is only limited description area and those are question/field based) and we don't have access to conditional logic on the forms. So we are left with clients just throwing issues at us without getting good information from them to get a one-touch resolution. The way Zendesk works it forces us to give lower-quality support. 4. There's no exporting your ticket information or running any sort of report if you are using the Team or lower feature level. These, to me, should be basic features as they pertain to the most basic of needs for any support team. Not only that, it ties you to the product and punishes you for leaving. We can't move to another product because we can't take our ticket history with us. 5. The features and performance is inconsistent. For example, there are "Triggers" and "Automations". Triggers and automations are the same. The only difference is the automations are time-based. But they don't tell you that in the interface - there's nothing telling you what is required to set up the automation in order for it to pass validation, only an error message. And by following the instructions of the error message, you can still get more errors. But there's nothing there to tell you the overall requirements so you can avoid errors in the first place. And in the Triggers interface, they leave out a large amount of placeholder options for seemingly no reason, so you have to go find the placeholder references for yourself. In my opinion, Zendesk doesn't have the user in mind. They put out new features and integrations, but the core product is so severely lacking that it seems like they feel they are operating on auto-pilot and their product needs no update itself. It's a shame, because it was probably was a good product with a lot of potential back when it first started up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/25
Verified Reviewer
R&D Support
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/04

"One of the best ticketing tool in the market"

Comments: One of the of the best

Pros: It's one of the best ticketing tool in the market because it's issue tracking in a systematic way helps solve the problems faster Also can view how many of them are viewing our ticket so we need not approach them unnecessarily

Cons: There are no cons till now.
The application is performing as expected

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/04
Sameer U.
Project Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/27

"King of Chat Support Software"

Comments: Though I'm not using Zendesk to solve my business problems, but I see Zendesk being able to solve problems for my customers. I recommend Zendesk to customers who want a top-notch customer service product for their website. This enables them to quickly answer customer queries, solve problems, and improve overall retention.

Pros: Integration is seamless. Product quality and support is top notch. Administrator interface with statistics and easy controls make like easy. Zendesk is THE customer support software which works, end of story.

Cons: Can't think of any but that I suppose there should be a free version.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/27
Verified Reviewer
Billing Specialist
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/21

"Easy Inter-team Communication and Customer History"

Comments: I can't stress enough how easy Zendesk makes it to pass tickets back and forth between people and teams. My team gets a constant flow of tickets and we are able to keep them organized by time, urgency and topic. All customer emails and voicemails that are incoming to my department are received in Zendesk and it's very simple to either respond or make a note and pass along the ticket to the correct person. Zendesk contributes enormously to my company's efficiency and overall organization.

Pros: Zendesk allows my team (the accounts receivable team) to work seamlessly with the customer support team. On a daily basis, we pass tickets back and forth to accomplish both simple and more difficult tasks for our customers. The majority of our customer emails, voicemails and recorded calls are logged in Zendesk, so it's easy to search the history of any given customer to find out what they have contacted us about and who helped them. Zendesk makes it super simple to switch back and forth between emailing and making internal notes. A single ticket can contain customer-facing communication, a phone call recording and employee-only notes, all of which are vital to managing our customer accounts.

Cons: There are really only two things I don't like about Zendesk. First, I don't care for how it looks when two or more tickets are merged together. Instead of logging emails and notes from oldest to newest like a chain of events, Zendesk collapses one ticket into the other and you have to open both to see everything. It's just a little difficult to understand visually. Second, my company used to use a similar system called Help Scout and it was able to tell us when a customer had opened an email from us. Zendesk is not able to do that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/21
Neyda jose M.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/22

"Excellent customer service solution"

Comments: This software has been really efficient since not only it allows to give a good attention to the client but also it is possible to do a follow-up to the attention agents to know who stands out the most, who are available to take care of the client and this makes that not wait for any client but all are served in the best way possible and you can solve their problems in the shortest time, there is also no way to have a collapse in the channels as there are different channels of attention that can be chosen to suit each client, that is why I think Zendesk is a tool with great potential and can be used in any type of company regardless of the size of it.

Pros: Zendesk is a customer service software with very relevant features that make me like it, one of them is that it has an extremely friendly interface, since it can be customized which allows it to be easy to use, allows the agent to have information about who the client is, in this way the help process becomes simpler and faster, the client can choose because they want to be served because this software provides different channels as an option being all in real time, besides it offers a highly efficient ticket management efficient since agents can create different notes on the same ticket and even several of them can serve the same client making the process much more efficient and the best thing is that through it you can track users as well as the tickets which is a great advantage since an order is maintained.

Cons: Despite being extremely efficient in terms of providing the most optimal tools to make the customer service process simpler and faster and adjusted to the needs of each client, this software still has some things that should improve as is the case of providing plans that can adjust more to each company since their plans has a fairly high price, also the creation of reports is very efficient but it is not easy to use so it can take more time than expected to complete the same

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/22
Verified Reviewer
Research Analyst
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/31

"Zendesk has been crucial for the success of our CS team to scale in size"

Comments: Tremendous scaling benefits. Adding more users is not just easy, but we have recourse to ensure that our teams can grow at their own paces without worrying if the software can keep up. Zendesk can absolutely keep it; it does not even flinch.

Pros: Consistency: Very few service outages and very little change in UI and product structure. Both of these things create a more familiar and consistent workflow. Robust: Robust is a buzz-phrase I try and avoid using, but honestly the robustness of Zendesk is one of the primary reasons we transitioned to it away from HelpScout in 2017. Everything is fairly robust; reports, ticket indexing, integrations, customizations, admin tools, inbox monitoring, and so on. Connectedness: Zendesk makes it super easy to have specific teams stay connected with eachother; not just the support team. We can have folks all across our company set up in Zendesk to help with JIRA reports, historical sales information through Salesforce from our Salesforce admins, folks on research teams, EAMs, and so forth. We can all play in this giant Zendesk sandbox together in our own corners with ease.

Cons: Innovation: Zendesk seems to have done all of its innovation years ago as the product has achieved a plateau of functionality of features Support: I very much dislike Zendesk's support set up. The amount of money you pay them seems to have a significant impact on your ability to get quick support help. Instead, they depend heavily on an open forum system where other Zendesk users try and help support eachother. Often these support threads turn into a bash-fest with poor attitudes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/31
Othmar B.
VP Marketing
Business Supplies & Equipment, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/05

"The easy ticketing system"

Comments: We utilize Zendesk as our core CRM and ticketing solution for email, chat, text and analytics

Pros: The open source and compatibility with common CX tools. The low cost / high value is a substantial factor as well

Cons: Service is not as great and difficult to get help if needed. Reporting is also not as easy to set up as advertised

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/05
Samantha N.
IT Project Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/09

"excellent tool, very useful."

Comments: Thanks to Zendesk, now everything is optimized and well organized, we can offer more productive and professional services to our customers.

Pros: The tool is easy to learn and does not require special technological skills. It provides a platform to build efficiency and responsibility quickly within a department. This has been an extremely effective tool for managing the high volume of emails that arrive, specifically for AP. Functions such as "Views" and "Reports" are excellent tools to control current tickets. The built-in spell checker is, in fact, a lifesave, You can easily track the previous ticket history in case you need to refer to a previous problem, you can combine tickets so you can know what to look for and to focus more on creating an answer, We have the macros configured to mark the tickets as spam, deliver them to another team, etc. I have more time to think about my answers and manage our inflow.

Cons: They could benefit greatly from additional email options and customizations, as well as solving some "bug" problems, since some of the features may be somewhat vague. Also, they need to improve notification to personal email because we do not have all of them and, sometimes, I can not see the customer's response on time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/09
Verified Reviewer
Game Designer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/02

"Zendesk is a simple and easy to use support ticketing system that can be used by anyone."

Pros: Zendesk has always been one of the go-to solutions for helpdesk software, but they've really streamlined their system over the last few years. It's simple and easy to use with straightforward options for even those who are new to using a helpdesk system. Zendesk is basically an email support system, where all emails sent will be routed to your Zendesk dashboard and show up as support tickets. Tickets are tagged with its own ID and even cross-referenced to see if a particular sender has submitted any tickets prior, so it's easy to check through the support history. There are also pre-defined responses, allowing for quick and easy replies for typical queries. Of course, these are actually what you might believe every helpdesk system should provide, but you'll be surprised at how much you have to pay and that some don't even have these options at all. Zendesk is actually very affordable and is easily scalable.

Cons: Zendesk is great when it comes to providing the basic needs for most when it comes to a support system. However, additional useful features come at a higher premium, and certain features like chat support is actually not directly integrated into a single dashboard.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/02
Kristen P.
Product Marketing Supervisor
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/02

"We've Strengthened Our Customer Support Thanks to Zendesk"

Comments: We cannot imagine our support teams without Zendesk. Customer requests are quickly delegated between our front office, technical support teams, and marketing outreach teams—and an agent can easily look up message history to view past conversations with other agents. It helps our teams maintain the personalization that our clients need while quickly solving their questions or help requests. The best part? Our customers feel genuinely supported and heard.

Pros: Our technical and purchase support teams faced the challenge of increasing support requests as our company grew. No longer was it manageable or logical to respond to customers through a Gmail alias. With the overhead in delegation and our tricky queue needs, we found Zendesk to be the answer to our administrative woes. Not to mention our answer when it came to a tech support agent taking a well-deserved day off without worrying about their email coverage. With fluid delegation and available API integration, our support teams increased their response and decreased the average time to resolve tickets, all contributing to more satisfied customers and increased, company-wide collaboration.

Cons: The greatest challenge was forwarding a message into Zendesk while ensuring that the support personnel remembered to change the sender from the forwarded company address to the customer's address. After some investigating, our technical support team found Zendesk's developer portal to be of great value and integrated a macro that automatically changes the field. This challenge hasn't been an issue since. Zendesk is extremely customizable, and, for that, we love it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/02
Sharon V.
Digital Marketing Specialist
Photography, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/05

"Perfect ticketing system and chat box"

Comments: The ticketing system and chat have been a great addition to our website. It allowed us to provide our clients with another way to communicate with customer service when they have questions. It was very easy to install on our website and it is very easy for new employees to understand the software, so training is minimal.

Pros: The ticketing system to help customers is easy to use for employees managing it and also for customers, UX is well taught. It also offers services the complement their main product like their chat box which is very useful to answer quick questions for current and potential customers.

Cons: It was a little confusing at first how the ticketing system is separate from the chatbox, it makes sense that they're separate but just trying to figure out how to access the chat from the main panel was a little confusing when I first used it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/05
Jesse M.
Support
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/14

"Steep Learning Curve, but Worth it"

Comments: I think it provides incredible power for cross-team collaboration within an organization and makes client-facing communication a breeze. Some of the functionality can seem a bit clunky/ non-intuitive when learning the system, but with thorough training and time, these can be overcome.

Pros: There are a huge number of integrations and apps that can be added to the software making limitlessly customizable. My organization uses dozens of other programs and services that had available connectivity options with Zendesk prior to our adoption of it, and was a large part of our decision to move to Zendesk. it allows for direct and personal communication with clients while allowing other internal users throughout the organization to review, learn from and share tickets.

Cons: Learning was tough and there are a lot of small nuances that take getting used to and can be annoying at first, but once learned are hardly noticeable. Certain functions such as ticket type can be a bit confusing. For example, I am still not 100% sure what, if any, functional difference there is between "Question" and "Task". If there is some way to notify me when a task is due, I have yet to find it after using the software for nearly 2 years.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/14
Alisa R.
Client Success Manager
Consumer Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/06

"Zendesk is Functional: Customer Service...not so much"

Comments: Overall, my experience has been good. It's a popular platform for a reason as it contains popular features such as reporting and analytics, easy transfers, and visitor history.

Pros: I really like their chat. It gives customers the ability to rate their support and our support representatives can request that feedback as well. I also like the variety of notifications. One is just downright cute (it's like a cow mooing). My reps easily transitioned to using this chat as we made the move from another platform.

Cons: Not that it matters a whole lot, but the UI isn't aesthetically pleasing. Also, and ironically, their customer support could use some work. I often have to reach out a second or third time to get attention.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/06
Zach M.
IT Manager
Real Estate, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/21

"Zendesk makes our IT Department look like the heroes we are!"

Comments: We used to use a free IT support system. Zendesk has dramatically changed how we approach IT support. The set and forget mentality that is Zendesk. We used to deal with disorganization and random people stopping us in the hallway. This would result in us forgetting to address the issue and add further frustration for our end users. Zendesk is so easy to administer and even easier for our end users to put tickets in.

Pros: Zendesk makes it easy for our end users to put in requests for support. We can receive tickets from multiple mediums; email, text, web portal, and app. The mobile app is amazing. Our support technicians are able to respond to tickets from anywhere via the app. Any company who is serious about providing exceptional support needs to be using Zendesk.

Cons: There is not much that I do not like about Zendesk. However, I believe they need to focus on building a better knowledge base mechanism. We would like to be able to take a helpdesk ticket and its resolution and easily publish this to a knowledge base. This is not possible currently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Dan C.
Director Of Information Technology
Wholesale, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/30

"Excellent Helpdesk as long as you not an ITIL shop!"

Comments: We needed an easy to use ticketing system for our IT Team, and Zendesk has proven to be an excellent choice for us.

Pros: Zendesk is easy to deploy, integrates well with many of their approved apps, and is easy to use for incident management. The interface is intuitive, the cost is low, and the value is high.

Cons: Zendesk is not ITIL compliant out of the gate. You'll need to configure the software to meet ITIL standards.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/30
Anthony F.
Infrastructure Manager
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/15

"Great service desk tool, but lacks some basic functionality"

Comments: In all, Zendesk is a great platform to service customers, both internal and external. While I have gripes like the above mentioned missing forwarding, I like that the controls are abundant enough to allow for workarounds to be put in place. This level of control has also lead to some really creative efficiencies produced by my team

Pros: Zendesk is easy to configure, has a good amount of options, and was very easy to migrate to for my team. I particularly like the level of granularity you can get from the GoodData reporting, and the level of control you can have over your ticket flows through Automations, Triggers, and Macros

Cons: Unfortunately, you can find some basic functionality is missing, such as forwarding a ticket to a third-party from within Zendesk. I have had to set up a seperate form with triggers and email channels in order to achieve a bit of a hacky version of forwarding, but it really isn't ideal. Also, the reporting is switching to a paid in-house model (moving away from GoodData) which feels a bit like having to pay for a feature I have always had access to. Time will tell on that one though

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/15
Nathan S.
Digital Marketing Manager
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/25

"Zendesk - Great for Support Desk but Not so great with functionality"

Pros: Having used Zendesk as an alternative to other options, here are my thoughts on it: 1) Zendesk is good at integrating multiple communication channels into one place. Unlike other options, using social media channels is included in the cost. With Zendesk the social media channels are included in the per user cost, so you are only paying for other features like Knowledgebase or Live Chat, or the bundled option.
2) Cost per user is fairly reasonable compared to other solutions we looked at. For us the cost per user was really important because while we may need fancy features, we wanted to make sure we did not end up spending more money for features or services we really didn't need.
3) Third party app support - We were able to choose and integrate with third party tools using the App directory. This helps to add functionality that may not be included in the core Zendesk product.

Cons: 1) Not sure why but most companies have very poorly designed mobile apps, Zendesk's apps while ok are still not as good as using the web platform.
2) Using social media channels, you are not able to attach documents or media, you can only respond using tech. This would be ok if you do not need to share documents with potential clients but for sales people its not great since we get a lot of our business from social media channels.
3) Unread Support tickets -Not sure why this is a thing, but for some reason Zendesk will show every administrator/user support tickets as unread even if someone else is responding to a ticket already.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/25
Matthew F.
Systems Administrator
Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/04

"Affordable and simplistic help desk ticketing system"

Comments: Helps everyone focus on the work instead of the work order creation process or any other oddities in the work flow that is created by alternative ticketing softwares.

Pros: It was clean and simple and it allowed you to be as complex as you want on the back-end of the system, while only showing as much info to the end-user as desired. If you needed some special integrations or features, Zendesk most likely had something to offer, but the best part about Zendesk is how simple it is because it makes you really focus on the work and not waste time inside the ticketing system itself or doing any other workflows that may be necessary with alternative software options.

Cons: Zendesk feature request team did not seem to have much power over what features get implemented and which ones do not. Their support was great, but I found dozens (if not hundreds) of simple feature requests that had been open for multiple years.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/04
Sarah O.
Marketing Coordinator
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/06

"Great chatting software but widget could use some work"

Comments: Overall the Zendesk Chat software has helped boost the communication between our business and our customers. We like that we can supply answers right away to people, although it can be a little time consuming if you receive a lot of chats during off-business hours. The history of visitors is helpful though if you miss and chat and still need to get in contact with the customer. I don't know if there are any better chat apps out there, but if not this is a pretty good solution.

Pros: This has helped boost our customer service on our website a lot! We frequently get visitors chatting on our website and it helps us keep our email inboxes less crowded, we spend less time on the phones, and we answer customers more quickly. We think the function is a great customer service tool and we would highly recommend adding a chat box to your website to boost communication. The app is also great for answering people right away, and their customer service can be helpful depending on your issue.

Cons: As a backend user of ZenDesk chat, it can be fairly annoying when people are chatting you at all hours of the day. Also people can get very impatient if you don't answer them right away. The app definitely helps with that, and you can always put on an "away" message and get back to people later, but your work hours during the day/evening can definitely stretch out if you decide to answer chats during off-business hours. I also think the widget needs some work. If you're using Shopify, I'd recommend installing the app instead of pasting the widget code in your store theme since it can be difficult to customize there.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/06
Verified Reviewer
Service Desk Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/20

"Zendesk from a Helpdesk Manager's Perspective"

Pros: It is best in class period. I did a ton of research when selecting our new ticketing platform. Go live was generally uneventful and easy, the process of creating and standing up everything as well as internal testing took a month. I really came to Zendesk for its analytics and its ability to expand with tons of app integrations. The analytics really allow me to dive into valuable buisness metrics such as time to first response total time spent per client per month - resolutions times - tagging I could go on and on.

Cons: You are essentially alone in standing up your Zendesk account. To the uninitiated you will be spending a looooot of time reading Kbase articles and blog entries to get things just right. I really wish Zendesk would have an on boarding where someone would work with you to get what you want out of the program - especially from a reporting standpoint. Programming some things in their insight platform can be maddening even for some versed in programming logic.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/20
Michael S.
Business Intelligence Analyst
Information Technology & Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19

"Good CRM for Support"

Comments: Definitely a learning curve when getting set-up, but it becomes pretty powerful once you learn the functionality available.

Pros: It's very customizable and can be adapted to suit your needs. It also has quite a bit out of the box for KPI's and measurements.

Cons: It can be difficult to capture some data if you have operations across multiple contact channels. You will also most likely need to purchase add-ons to get some calculations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19
Verified Reviewer
SEO and Customer Management
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/23

"Best tool to manage all your customer contacts in one place"

Comments: Definetely this tool helped us to save time when dealing with customer's requests

Pros: We have changed our customer service tool already a couple of times as they were laggy or not that easy to use. We have found in zendesk a good solution to manage and go through all our clients contacts in no time as it is very easy to browse through tickets, in terms of tags, topics, date or agents who dealt with it. It is easy to integrate with other crm or quality assurance tools.
Chat and telephone tools works very well and there are metrics for each channel so can you can always have the work monitored.
In terms of personalizing the profiles of the agents it is very wide as you can choose the skill, languages or importance of the ticket which make the navigation and work division very easy for the agent. We are all happy

Cons: So far I don't have any complaint regarding Zendesk, but it can be a bit pricy for small companies. it Worth every penny though

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/23
Brad B.
IT Manager
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/01

"Ticketing Made Easy"

Comments: We have moved our complaints and daily customer service workflows into the system to provide better visibility within the company (multi-site) and to streamline our processes in order to reduce time to respond to the customer, paper, and time spent accomplishing tasks.

Pros: Zendesk has a simple solution that has extreme power on the back end. Users find the solution easy to use and to manage their daily work...while Administrators can build almost any kind of work flow they need. Additionally, Zendesk is constantly improving the product to challenge the market place.

Cons: Sometimes the feature that you need are not there, but the development team is open to suggestions and ideas on how to make the product better. Be active in the forums and you can see your ideas get programmed into the system to make it better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/01