BMC Helix ITSM Reviews

by BMC Software

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About BMC Helix ITSM

Radically redesigned to set a new standard for IT service management on-premises or in the cloud.

Learn more about BMC Helix ITSM

Showing 110 reviews

Antonio A.
Antonio A.
ITSM Specialist
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/06

"Former RAC and BMC Accredited Administrator AR System"

Comments: Using the BMC ITSM you can consolidate in a Suite the major task of the ITSM support staff based on ITIL best practices.

Pros: The Remedy ITSM Suites cover the main processs of the ITSM aligned to ITIL best practices. All the Application are integrated as part of the ITSM Suite in order to manage the different scenarios that normally needs to be handled by the support staff. Using the AR System Server as base the ITSM applications can be customized in order to give to the organizations complete and achieve thier functionality requierements. The license model of floating write licenses, lets the organization to share licenses pool.

Cons: BMC Remedy ITSM was born as an On premise solution, the cloud option is in the process to be a mature option. In Remedy you could achieve many thing but you need a lot experience with the product to complete it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/06
Shayne F.
Remedy Administrator
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/08/26

"Used it for 3 years in our corporation now and it has been great for tracking change and incidents"

Comments: Enterprise level, very powerful software which is very easy to use. As of Remedy 7.6x, you can make your own customizations to the application or even create applications of your own with their customized Eclipse tool. While a lot of OOTB features worked very well for us, we still needed the ability to customize and create our own forms and processes or even the ability to perform automation and self-service with other applications. Some items the learning curve is not bad at all and customizations can be added with little to no effort. Whereas others have taken quite a long time to develop and troubleshoot. One such customization which we developed was the ability to have placeholder templates for Change, Incident, Work Order and Tasks where we pass through variables via the SRM and it dynamically generates and populates the ticket with this information. We have full date automation, dynamic Task generation and the ability to dynamically modify the template on the fly based on the answers that the user passes through via SRM. So instead of multiple templates which are served based on "if-then" answers in the Process Definition, we have a single template which then gets massaged based on the user's answers. This customization took a decent amount of time to complete, but it reduced the amount of time of SRM and template rework to almost nothing. Of course with such customization, there are always risks of breaking existing workflow or failure during an upgrade. So when we upgraded fro 7.6.04 to 8.1, it took a solid month of work to check each and every form, active link, filter, etc to make sure that things worked with the new upgrade. But BMC's tools helped reduce both the time and work it took to get the kinks worked out and we had all of our environments upgraded and without the need to call in expensive consultants to assist with it. As with any piece of software, there are always going to be issues. However, we have found that 9.5 out of 10 times we contact BMC for support, their staff is more than knowledgeable and have us up and running again in short order. BMC's Remedy ITSM Suite is a great piece of software and VERY flexible to meet the most demanding of situations. After being a Remedy Administrator for 3 years, I can say without hesitation that it is well worth the price and would be a welcomed addition to any I.T. department.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/08/26
Tony F.
Datacenter Manager
Newspapers, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/01

"Great Tool for Large Datacenter"

Comments: we use Remedy incident and change management every single day as my team is a the datacenter support staff. It's crucial that we get notified immediately about incoming tickets and can access them quickly. Remedy does this for us and keeps our response time very low!

Pros: easy management for my team's incident ticket queue. can access from anywhere without a client app now

Cons: we frequently need to print incidents and change tickets to get all the info so we can travel to the datacenter and troubleshoot issues

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/01
Srajan R.
SE
Computer Software, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/11

"BMC Remedy"

Pros: Really like the tool and works good for cross vendor communciations. It has various flexi features with good integrations with emails and managing tickets
reporting works really good and helps maintain all changes for production and non production environment.

Cons: Slow response, lack of integration with new tools (or may be our org done have that), Not so easy Reporting configuration

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/11
Kelly D.
Edge Product Management
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/22

"Remedy ITSM - Kelly's view point"

Comments: Pros -
* Consistent UI makes it easy to navigate.
* Fully ITIL Compliant and easy to explain how using SMPM
* Easily customizable to meet company needs and business processes
* Data driven configuration/business rules allows for less customization to need to be done
* Data load capabilities are getting stronger
* Default configuration of system variables works for 90% of companies
* Continues to add new sizzle in each release
Cons -
* No end to end data model so when you do have to do a configuration or customization change you don't know all the places impacted
* Limited Mobility solution - ability to show reports/charts on mobile devices. I think Smart Reporting in 9.0 will help with this. Ability to work tickets - you have Smart IT for the Service Desk. We need it for the resolvers.
* Upgrade is a bear if you have done any customizations.
* No support for multiple overlays. Unisys has done a lot of overlays for our improvements. If a customer wants to change something then it goes in our overlay, not a second level overlay. Consequently, when we do an update to our overlay, their customization goes away.
Overall General Impression -
Remedy ITSM is the most feature complete yet flexible tool on the market. Time to implement is far less with Remedy than the competitors. The open ability to integrate is a huge plus because in today's world everyone wants all the tools form multiple vendors to work together.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/22
Greg B.
Salesforce Owner
Medical Practice, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/09

"Works nicely as an incident management system"

Pros: Simple to use, nice interface, and helps me keep on top of all of my incoming and in progress jobs. I think once the SLA's are properly defined then it will check a lot of the boxes for ITIL standards.

Cons: As mentioned. If the SLA's are not configured properly then you can feel as if you are underperforming until you read that your SLA was breached at 4 in the morning on a Sunday. Also the change request can be cumbersome if you have not used the process previously.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/09
Verified Reviewer
CISCO TAC Engineer - Switching
Telecommunications, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26

"Great IT Support Tracker"

Comments: We are using this tool to manage all report for each user that is requesting assistance from IT support by creating a ticket. They are are to copy all relevant information about the issue that users is experiencing with the device and any of the peers from IT support can go directly to the users that is facing the problem and provide the correct support. We already know what we need to have in order to solved users issue since there is an initial description for that. We can also track who has resolved previous ticket and easily provide report and have a history for each of electronic product we internally provide support on the company.

Pros: ► We can easily track all tickets resolved. Also, track any particular behavior in case we face any bug or virus on multiple users reporting the same issue.
► Easy categorization for tickets.

Cons: ► GUI looks pretty slow.
► Sometime users report some slowness in the tool and this affects users experience.
►There are a few fields mandatory that for some users are annoying since there is no like an option for a quick ticket to report a particular emergency that wants our support ride away.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26
Gopi N.
Gopi N.
IT Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/29

"You need a better designer"

Pros: This software allows you to log tickets and assign to groups.

Cons: If the person, i mean the designer does not know what he/she is doing and does not cater to your needs, then it is going to be a pain.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/29
Razvan M.
Razvan M.
System Engineer
Information Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/09

"Works OK, but has some flaws"

Comments: I used Remedy in the last 3 years to process automatic generated incidents and changes. Overall it was a good experience, but you always have the feeling that you are using an older, obsolete software.

Pros: - A lot of features and options.
- Good (logical) interconnections between fields/tables etc

Cons: - The user interface could be better
- Some unexpected errors
- Horrible web interface (e.g.: multiple scroll bars in the same window, sub-windows larger than the screen size)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/09
Verified Reviewer
Technical Service Representative for the USDA Forest Service
Civic & Social Organization, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/17

"Remedy - crashing and burning constantly"

Comments: We use the Remedy Ticket system for helping with customers. However, there is a lot more we could be utilizing for what we're paying.
Remedy is great - when it works.

Pros: It works - to the standard that we need it to.
Highly Customizable.
Works - under a light load.
When it works, it works well.

Cons: Crashes often.
Not using to the extent that it's possible to use.
Several different versions needed for running at once.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/17
Patrick H.
Lead Technical Analyst
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/08/31

"ITSM Review"

Comments: Have been using the solutions for 15+ years, they are constantly improving. This has historically been good for the end users, not always for the tool admin side. This has been getting better with the last few releases, there is certainly room to improve. We have good staff internally that execute well, would like to see solutions to make their jobs easier without use of consultants. We have been using the CMDB (ADDM & SCCM feeds) for the past few years and am big fan of the solutions. Would like to see their usability with ITSM simplified. Perhaps simpler relationship creation. This is always a complaint from our service staff that it is too cumbersome, even though it's not difficult.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/08/31
Satish C.
Satish C.
Assistant Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/24

"There are better ticketing systems"

Pros: One of the initial ticketing systems, lot of fields for customization.

Cons: Old & Static. Not so dynamic and flexible

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/24
Verified Reviewer
Principal Member of Technical Staff
Computer Software, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/25

"Trouble ticketing system"

Comments: It allows us to keep our day to day operation in order.

Pros: It allows integration from many other softwares through webservice API. We could open/update/close tickets easily with no issue.

Cons: We had a hard time installing the software on window server. I believe it should be easier to do it on a linux OS.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/25
Alec W.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/21

"Comprehensive Solution Flexible to Meet Unique Demands"

Comments: Remedy features a solid set of ITSM functions. One can use straight out of the box or customize to meet the most demanding requirements. It is easy to get loss in all the possibilities of the product. We are now showing how IT provides value to the business. I have enjoyed the support from BMC in developing a robust ITSM solution. They have able to revolve various challenges we have encountered. The one area that has been a challenge is integrating Remedy AR into RemedyForce. The tools have not been perfect as would be expected. They are resolved eventually but would expect better coordination between the two products.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/21
Michael C.
IT Director
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/03/18

"Deliver great improvements with BMC Remedy"

Comments: We're using the on-premise version of Remedy. As we don't allow (and the good thing is, it's also not needed) any customization, we're saving a lot of money in Remedy operations and can easy participate from every new release.
The reliability is outstanding, we don't had any outage for 4 years in a row now.
Process maturity is very high and we have ISO 20000 auditors who check this every second year.
The end-user experience (self-service) could be improved. Even that the process flow and option are very good, the UI is not state of the art.
Some out-of-the-box reportings could be improved / be more flexible.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/03/18
Douglas T.
Lead Developer & Architect
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/23

"ITSM - Prime Time"

Comments: After reviewing ITSM 8.X I am impressed, it is easier to use, has better performance and is more intuitive. Much improvement over previous versions, will be rolling out pilot this year, looking forward to using it and additional things in the pipeline for next release.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/23
Vinayak S.
AGM
Information Technology & Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/11

"Good buck for small org"

Pros: The Tool is easy to implement and maintain

Cons: As compared to others this tool like suitability for various areas but not bad for small enterprise

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/11
Verified Reviewer
Software Developer Intern
Consumer Goods, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/03

"Remedy Review"

Comments: Overall, I wouldn't recommend Remedy for IT Service Management. I believe there are better solutions available that are user friendly while also being visually appealing.

Pros: This software has a very simple layout that makes tracking information down an easy task. The filtering within the application is great and allows for extremely specified results. I like the priority emails that are given based on open tickets. This process allows teams to stay on track to complete requirements and continuously close open tickets.

Cons: I don't enjoy how the UI visually looks. The application has a very outdated look that doesn't appeal to you visually. I have found difficulty when trying to close Incidents because of status issues. This has been my biggest issue because Remedy will want me to enter twenty different status boxes in order to close a ticket or I will receive multiple errors.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/03
Emir O.
Emir O.
Expert associate
Telecommunications, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/19

"After 5+ years i still dont like it"

Comments: Neutral, it works stable when you give the system enormous resources. System is quite complicated from licencing perspective, user handling, reporting, creating autoassigments, maintaing knowledgebase, problem management handling etc.
Actualy when you try alternatives you figure out that system is not that bad. But in 2020 it looks like it's from last decade from perspective of resources, flexibilty and integration posibilites.
Support forum is the worst. You are basicly on your own. When you implement any kind of improvement you often create 3-4 problems that you have to solve. Mobile aplication exist only on paper. It is abandoned by vendor i thing from version 1.
Last updates still have part of system based on Adoble Flash so beware of Decembar 2020 when Microsoft, Mozilla drop support.
After 5 years of using i'm still puzzled by database structure that creates so many problem for integration with 3rd party reporting systems.
Smart Reporting and Birt reporting are basicly the worst reporting system ever. Slow, unresponsive, require enormous resources just to run basic reports.
Personaly i would never choose it as solutin if you have any requirement for custimization. To expensive, to complicated.

Pros: Robust, ITSM compliant, fairly great integration posibilites

Cons: Where do i begin?
Database structure is nightmare for maintating, creating reports and to actually understad inner workings of system.
Reporting sofware lacks some basic stuff.
Upgrading production system is a 14 days nightmare.
Some basic stuff like creating user level reports based on who did what in which time are imposible.
It has almost no room for adjusting, user interface is upgraded from version 7.5, 8.1 until version 9.1 but is substandard compared with cloud based solution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/19
Jorge G.
Jorge G.
Customer Support Engineer at Cisco TAC
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/20

"Great ITSM Tool!"

Comments: Remedy ITSM has been great to implement our Service Desk Service from Scratch.
With it we can keep track of the ticket´s progress, and improve our Support Platform 100%.

Pros: Remedy ITSM is great for Service Desk administration due to it´s great flexibility and customization.
It has everything you need to fine tune your Support Service, and keep track of the process with all the Reports functions it offers.
It being design for Backlog Management, Problem, Knowledge, Incident and Request Managing with a very reliable platform and server

Cons: At this point, Remedy ITSM could feel outdated along the amount of others ITSM options out there.
It´s not very easy to use therefore it needs a Learning curve.
When the ammount of tickets on the database gets huge, it could be somewhat slow to pull out old tickets and to process some reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/20
Diogo T.
Diogo T.
Helpdesk
Telecommunications, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/17

"incident management tool"

Comments: All the demands of you, which need to be met by technicians, are registered in ars remedy, there are two ways to perform the registration. Via the web, having access to the tool, or contacting the helpdesk, the first level technician records the customer demand, this demand is received by the responsible area that continues the service. The process is correct and follows the itil methodology, but the tool is outdated and problematic.

Pros: The tool centralizes all of the company's IT demands, and that's a high point. We have a preview of all upcoming and upcoming incidents, changes in progress,

Cons: The tool has constant problems. In basically all areas, from browser interface to architecture issues. Bus error, requests, database information retrieval

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/17
Nilesh K.
Graduate RA
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/17

"A simple change management tool"

Comments: Use the 80/20 rule. It does meet most needs, however you will spend 80% of your time reaching the last 20% of your needs if you let it. Think outside the box and use integrations.

Pros: It has a simple interface.Easy to navigate around.We can access it via a web portal which makes it all the more easy and Id say more accessible anytime anywhere.You can trace the change easily which is a huge plus unlike some complex interfaces.

Cons: At times if we have a complex process i.e dealing with multiple user information can get a bit tedious.I wish I could export search results too since i always had a problem of copying and pasting stuff which was annoying.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/17
Adnan L.
Project manager
Computer Software, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/06

"Decent SD tool"

Comments: Room for improvement for User experience and interface for making it simple to new or non technical work force

Pros: Decent Service desk tool for logging, tracking and monitoring of incident, change and problem tickets in a IT service management environment

Cons: It could be more user friendly and intuitive in terms of the user interface and user experience for non technical workforce who are new to ITSM or service desk environment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/06
Josh K.
Josh K.
Customer Service Agent
Retail, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/10

"One of the Best Incident Trackers!"

Comments: I worked 3.5 years for 1-800-WAL-MART and used this software to track every single customer incident that happened in Walmart stores in the U.S. and beyond.

Pros: I love how intuitive it is. The software flows just like you'd expect.

Cons: It was something I used at Walmart corporate office when I worked there. No complaints at all ... even from a user at the largest company in the world.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/10
Murtaza S.
App specialist
Information Services, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/02

"Remedy the best ticketing tool"

Comments: I am using this tool from last 7 years and happy with this ticketing tool.

Pros: Its very nice tool for logging ticket and raising incident. Change, outage management can be used with remedy. Its best and most used in IT industry

Cons: its typically slow. It should be fast to use like Jira. rest all feature are very good

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/02