BMC Helix ITSM Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,8 /5
  • Customer Service
    4 /5

About BMC Helix ITSM

Radically redesigned to set a new standard for IT service management on-premises or in the cloud.

Learn more about BMC Helix ITSM

Showing 110 reviews

Timothy S.
IT Project Manager
Higher Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/25

"Complete Helpdesk and IT service management solution"

Comments: It is a single repository/database for incidents, assets, change requests and knowledge
You can easily track old tickets as well as you can figure out the approval chain, pending tickets and followup on tasks done and has to be done.

Pros: We upgraded to cloud based Remedy system which saved us the hassle of supporting the solaris server. Web-based and integrated with SSO solution
The software is highly customizable.
BMC's customer support are very responsive.
All branches of IT department use it for incident management, change management, asset management and knowledge management.
The approval workflows are easy to set and update.

Cons: customization of the application was a very long process specially if you need to use the most of it.
But once it is running, it is worth the pain.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/25
Frank M.
Operations Manager
Utilities, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/20

"Remedy Service Desk Review"

Comments: It suited us fine as an ITIL centric Incident, Problem, Change Management tool. We considered other options to add Config and Asset management but all were similarly hard to implement on an established nationwide network.

Pros: The ability to create customer scheduled reports from within the software without integrations to other external third party tools.

Cons: Configuration and asset management was hard to implement on a very large nationwide existing network. Discovery tools basically required you to define the network to Remedy instead of full discovery. There were third party integrations available for network discovery.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/20
Jose Q.
Support Services Manager
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/27

"All-in-one asset management under a single app"

Comments: We have consolidated all our ITOM operations under a single app, readily accessible across the organization.

Pros: Remedy Asset Management handles the complete IT lifecycle of endpoints and IT devices in general. What makes it more comprehensive is that, unlike other asset managers, it includes literally the COMPLETE lifecycle, including non-IT processes such as Procurement, Inventory, up to Depreciation and EOL (decommission or disposal). Being part of the BMC Remedy family, it also seamlessly integrate and expadn its capabilities with other related products such as Remedy ITSM and Remedy CMDB. Having said that, what I Iike most of it is the integration of all ITAM (IT Asset Management) steps in a single suite, and the representation, mapping and auditing of all assets in a single place. Normally you would resource to several different tools to achieve this.

Cons: One thing definitely open to imporvement is the reporting module. The reporting module could be definitely improved to add more options of building and scheduling reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/27
Verified Reviewer
IT Service Specialist
Pharmaceuticals, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/15

"Good ITSM tool"

Comments: I use this software withing ITSM and we use it to track tickets, problems and trends within service and its impact on business.

Pros: It gathers Incident, problem and knowledge management in one software and it doing it good. Tickets can be assigned ongoing change management items.

Cons: There is quite high entry level, so it takes some extra time to use it quickly and efficiently to support your business needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/15
Sandra H.
Remedy Developer
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/07/02

"Love Remedy ITSM 8.1.01"

Comments: I have been a Remedy developer since 1998. I was an early deplorer of 7.6 and 8.0 AND love ITSM 81.01. I deployed 8.1.01 in January 2015. Installing email to use Outlook was missed because the install was not clearly understood. The same happened with Web Services. Correcting these deficits caused an outage shortly after Go Live. Incident, Change, Knowledge, Asset & Release Management are deployed. DMT worked well for the foundation data with one exception - it is no longer possible to import Categorizations as Global; all categorizations are Company specific. SRM deployed quickly using the export/import method; painless and a big win for my customer. Incident, Work Order & Change Templates were created using data mining were included in IOC deployment. I love the People Management Console; it too, was a standard customization I added to previous apps. Multi-tenancy was simple to configure and deploy. While Work Orders are now a stand-alone form, the app is not as well structured as Incident or Change Management, i.e. there is no "Print" button on the WOI:Work Order form. With the ITSM Email Engine & Rules of 8.x, Remedy has nailed it! This used to be a huge development effort that took several months to complete, often delaying application deployment. The incoming email rules are well written and meet most customer needs. We have all of our tickets create Service Requests. We had to add some customizations because when the "Requested For" user is changed, all of the new customer info does not write to the SR completely. This is a big deal when the customer has access to the Request Entry Console because the new customer does not have access to the REQ. The Survey is confined to tickets created using SRDs which does not work for my customer. A custom Survey is in the works because the customer for every resolved Incident must receive a survey solicitation. The TMS:Task form still uses the "Classic" view. It would be nice to have this view updated to match the "Best Practice" view of other ITSM forms. The same for CTM:People. It would be great to have the option of having the last Task close a Work Order or Change Request part of application rules. This is a big issue with customers who always get caught unaware of the behavior.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/07/02
Jesus S.
Especialista en Redes
Telecommunications, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/05

"incident management tool"

Pros: It is a very good tool to manage incidents within your company, very useful when it comes to putting details in each affectation,
even if you want to download the data already stored for a while and the details you want

Cons: It really is an excellent tool, but at the time of programming and managing it can be a bit complicated for the end user, that is, you will need a specialist to be able to start up your tool 100%

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/05
Carl A.
IT Manager
Warehousing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/26

"Industry Standard for a reason"

Comments: Used this in the Air Force and as a Civilian and the program has been the best at tracking tickets and assets by far.

Pros: This product takes care of all parts of the IT Lifecycle
Great service management module with SLAs and ticket tracking

Cons: This product doesn't have issues that couldn't be fixed with a little customization

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/26
Adarsh S.
SE
Computer Software, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/11

"Excellent ticketing tool"

Pros: I used it extensively for trouble tickets and asset management, and I both worked well for me. I like the asset management portion the more because it provided very valuable information if properly used. I also like being able to create queries to filter out criteria of my own choosing.

Cons: I did not like the way task were added to a ticket. I found it to be confusing, and if I was not told that a task was attached sometimes it would get overlooked.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/11
Megha P.
Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/14

"Easy ticket management tool"

Pros: Service tickets made easy to handle.
Managing SLA and teaching incident is very easy
Changes and incidents can be handled without any fuss

Cons: Initial mapping is bit hectic.
Takes lot of time for higher queues

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/14
Riccardo F.
Business Process Manager
Utilities, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/09

"Easy to use!"

Pros: Excellent IT ticketing software
Excellent reporting
Able to get reviews right from the software (from end users)

Cons: Not very customizable
Very expensive
Not very end-user friendly
It can become very slow as more people use it

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/09
Damir S.
ITSM Team Leader
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/23

"Mercator review of Remedy IT Service Management"

Comments: PROS:
- big community of users,
- generally lots of best practices are incorporated into the tool,
- listed as ITIL compliant (but see below coment...),
- offers lots of ITIL processes,
- well-connected OOTB with CMDB, BPPM, ADDM, other BMC tools,
- mostly well accepted among users (if we ignore product defects).
CONS:
- very difficult to understand process steps in Remedy and SMPM and relate them to ITIL process steps. SMPM, Remedy and ITIL have 3 different versions of the process, with not obvious relationship between them. None of the consultants knew the answer to this...
- the tool has lots of issues, some of them are very serious (e.g. server hangs and crashes every 2-3 days, some of our users cannot log onto SRM console, ...)
- support by BMC is generally poor. Very difficult to get people who understand what the problem is and even more difficult to find the ones able to resolve it. Unsatified almost 100%.
- Remedy is generally very slow for people doing lots of updates in the tool. I have seen 2 different installations and both have slow response times
- some easy things are actually a science in Remedy. E.g. how to add a column to Overview or Incident Console.
- old and clumsy interface, looks like it was built at the beginning of internet
- unpredictable system, sometimes works nice for days, and then it just starts behaving strangly (flush-cash becomes a regular thing to do, both server-side and client-side)
- there is practically no support nor consultants in our area, which makes us dependent on near-shore consultants, which is not practical
- upgrade is a nightmare, even with small amount of customizations that we had. It took us 2 months to perform it, and we still haven't resolved all the issues occured during upgrade
OVERALL IMPRESSION:
- good tool, but that volume of bugs leaves a really bad taste in the mouth...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/23
Brian D.
Help Desk Analyst
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/20

"I love this software"

Pros: This is the first ticketing system i have ever used. I love it

Cons: Great software, only issue is it times out from time to time

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/20
David G.
Technician
Education Management, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/19

"Review of Remedy"

Comments: it allows us to obtain statistics on the number of tickets opened in the different groups created in the software.

Pros: Remedy is a good tool that allows us to follow up with clients on problems experienced by them and we can see how many times this client has had the same problem.

Cons: We use templates in the version we have and the main problem with templates is that they are duplicated by the number of groups we are assigned to.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/19
Rohit G.
Senior Associate
Computer Software, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/02

"Love the product"

Comments: Awesome

Pros: The way the software is design and ease of use.

Cons: No negative comments I think so far. Love the functionality.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/02
Greg D.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/26

"Review for ITSM"

Comments: We are currently using 7.6.04 of ITSM. So, I will give my comments based on that version: Pros
ITIL-based
Not as many tabs as in previous versions
Ease in getting between modules
Ease of moving between statuses
Making relationships is easy
Cons
Difficulty in getting to the categorizations
No Task Console for the IT Home page
Wish the screen was even more concise
Should be easier to get to Tasks for an Incident or Change
While I have listed some of the pros and cons on ITSM, my overall impression is that it is getting better. I look at what is coming with SmartIT and am really excited to see how my company will respond to the changes there. I am ready to see even more personas moved over to SmartIT so it would make it easier to make the switch over to that. Thanks to the BMC team for continually improving to make ITSM better within Remedy!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/26
Verified Reviewer
application developer
Computer Software, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/02

"review for REMEDY"

Pros: Good way of tracking the life cycle of your assets. Customisation options are also available. Customer service is also very good, responds on time.

Cons: However customising it is a bit complex. Other than that product is of good use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/02
Verified Reviewer
Student Assistant IT
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/11

"Feature rich, but only if you're experienced with it"

Comments: Easier ticket tracking and management, makes IT helpdesk job a lot more manageable.

Pros: Remedy is filled with features and the ability to customize it to fit your organization is really helpful. Even their old software till now is pretty useful for my organization

Cons: Complexity is high, you really got to be trained to use this software, and it's not for people with the faint of heart. Tho you might also want to update to their latest software, because legacy support for older software is pretty sparse

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/11
Pedro C.
Remedy Consultant
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/21

"Remedy"

Comments: I guess there a lot of changes to make Remedy better. The first one, migrations, delta data, between environments, upgrades, all can be simplified, Why not use some log o sql querys capture to reply in others environment. So you can take you sql querys and update info, developments, etc. Support, Centralized some ticket number around world, including partners, so BMC also can track and keep an eye on how partner attends. Communications, Inform everybody about fix, common mayor issues, no to wait we face the problem. Customization, Allow to add, or change some behavior thru parameter settings, no only thru development.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/21
Richard E.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/05/18

"Breaking the mold!"

Comments: For the first time BMC Remedy has a proven track record and a cutting edge "Head Turner" software. The design has been rethought and had a complete face lift. Typically you don't see a software suite of this magnitude make this many changes and improvements in one version. Like: The long awaited Smart Reporting which provides extensive reporting capabilities into your environment. A interface that used to resemble Filemaker pro now looks like Facebook providing intuitive user interaction. The only thing I see development wise still remaining is for SmartIT to support all customizations and workflows.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/05/18
Rakesh J.
Remedy Administrator
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/21

"Remedy ITSM"

Comments: Pros: Ease on integration, development, configuration. Cons:
Slow Performance of Web interface as compare to other tools
Incident, Change Problem UI are too bulky, most of the attributes are not used.
Upgrades are reall
Admin dont have thick client now
No Pre-built maintenance page or similar kind of pages.
Report creations are not to easy for end user prespective

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/21
Daniel M.
IT Director
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/28

"BMC Remedy Review"

Pros: BMC has come along way in the Service Desk role, a lot of positive changes, ease of usage of the dashboard along with analytic reporting.

Cons: Updates can catch you off guard, pay attention to your admin emails if any are announced. Support can be long dated

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/28
Charles R.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/01/08

"Complex product but lots of features"

Comments: Pros - very easy to customize, tons of features, Cons - very complex asset management, lots of admin duties

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/01/08
Tzachi S.
solution architect
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/21

"itsm review"

Comments: Great product without good support

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/21
Verified Reviewer
Global Incident Lifecycle Coordinator & Backup Team Leader
Human Resources
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/16

"I missed it, once we migrated to a different system. I still do. Great software!"

Comments: Work satisfaction and quality in performing daily tasks.

Pros: It was bulletproof. Rarely overloaded. Always running smoothly.
Remedy is for people who value professional work. It's almost impossible to make mistakes when routing. Data extraction is also possible and is actually pretty good, although a bit complex.

Cons: Exchanged with other systems is always flawed for some reason. I worked so far with 3 different systems exchanged with Remedy and the exchange was always problematic.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/16
Prachi K.
Project Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/05

"Essential and User Friendly Tool used for ticketing purpose"

Comments: Best Ticketing tool for business purpose. Gives us wide range of options to customize from.
breadth of services.
Easily understandable
Can generate reports according to requirement
Able to link tickets to one another easily

Pros: Able to create. update, resolve tickets easily
Able to calculate SLA.
Good process work flow
Able to link Incidents to problem and change requests

Cons: Too many fields are needed to be filled up for raising a ticket, thus its a bit time consuming for us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/05