Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Mixpanel

Powerful, self-serve product analytics to help you convert, engage, and retain more users.

Learn more about Mixpanel

Filter reviews (95)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used Mixpanel before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (95)

Sushant K.
Sushant K.
Co-Founder in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple & effective product analytics tool

5 last month New

Comments: Overall, I'm pretty happy with the product. Since we had just launched the product in the market, we were not expecting too much from the analytics perspective. We were just looking for basic cohorts, funnels and customer-wise events data across different channels. All these can be solved via Mixpanel and the price point is definitely attractive. We also applied via startup program which saved us 1 yr fees as well.

Pros:

I always liked the simplicity of Mixpanel and the level of support & document available to make the entire integration fast & smooth. The feature of Funnels is very good and it definitely gives the ability to understand a lot of data points.

Cons:

Customer segmentation and the ability to slice & dice the cohorts data is something that can be improved for sure.

Ayoub K.
Ayoub K.
Marketing Lead in Morocco
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Hard to use at the beginning but it's a great tool after all

4 10 months ago

Comments: it remains a good and affordable tool after all i wish if they can approve their features more

Pros:

Segment integration, Open API, good campaign tracking , funnel reporting and great user reporting aswell

Cons:

rectoactive aliasing's missing, also it's not that much easy to use and navigate not user freindly

Verified Reviewer
Growth Marketing Lead in Israel
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great analytics software

4 9 months ago

Comments: I loved it. It's really easy to use and the Segment integration makes it an amazing analytics solution.

Pros:

The ability to get insights from data in minutes. No need to be an expert, it's really easy to use for any product person. Chart creation is really straight forward. Moreover, if you use Segment, Mixpanel will work great with it.

Cons:

I think the product is great overall, if I had to pick one thing I least liked, it's got to be the pricing.

Maxim L.
Maxim L.
Co-Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Tracking user behavior is a must but we're still figuring out Mixpanel

5 2 years ago

Comments: We build a SaaS product and need some way of tracking and analyzing user behavior. Everyone talks about and recommends mixpanel, so we're trying to figure it out.

Pros:

The new UI is really nice (visually), I love how graphs look like Mobile app is super snappy Integration is easy Automatic insights are actually useful

Cons:

Building useful graphs can be challenging and sometimes counter-intuitive. Of course, I could watch all their education videos, but I simply don't have enough time. I think there's a lot that can be done in the "getting started quickly" category. Also, I somehow can not pin a flow-diagram to the dashboard or even save it

Jovan M.
Jovan M.
Head Of Marketing in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Savvy tool for advanced product marketers

5 2 years ago

Comments: Without MixPanel we would wander in the dark without clear guidance.

Pros:

MixPanel offers very important metrics related to product analysis which creating our path to the improvement of our software. I especially helps us in customer acquisition, activation, retention, but also in revenue and referral activities.

Cons:

You really need to invest a lot of time to learn and understand how reporting works, how to create dashboards and other things.

David K.
Marketing Manager in US
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Incredibly powerful marketing tool with the best support engineers in the world

4 4 years ago

Comments: Great advanced marketing software that allows you to send REALLY effective marketing messages if you know how to configure.

Pros:

The marketing tool is INSANELY powerful you can configure marketing messages or campaigns based on almost any data you can pipe in. The support engineers are the nicest, best support engineers on the planet (they have incredible depth of knowledge and explain in crazy detail). We see our Mixpanel marketing communications perform 4-5x better on average than our general email marketing messages.

Cons:

It's so sophisticated and advanced it can be difficult to know where or how to get started. If you're looking for a "simple" marketing platform, this is not for you.

Verified Reviewer
Vice President, Client Success in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tracked our usage data effectively

4 2 years ago

Comments: Mixpanel is recommended but I would review your requirements to see that it's the right tool for your business needs.

Pros:

Mixpanel provided us with a wide range of product data that helped guide our business decisions. We could also export this data and provide to customers.

Cons:

We had a lot of issues with the reliability of the data based on how MixPanel captured it. It's also a very difficult product to use and requires extensive training to get the most out of it - even for a user that wants to access basic reports.

Hilary S.
Marketing Manager in Canada
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Mixpanel is a great way of learning more about customers

5 5 months ago

Comments: I use Mixpanel to determine how campaigns are working and how customers are performing according to my efforts. It's a great tool and easy to use.

Pros:

Mixpanel's Funnels function is my go-to tool. It's incredible to visualize data according to behaviour and cohorts. Mixpanel makes it easy!

Cons:

They let their Messages tool stagnate for far too long. They sold users on it and then barely supported the tool. It's good they are finally sunsetting it, but it took far too long.

Francesco G.
Marketing Analyst in Germany
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Complete system to track actions of users

5 3 years ago

Pros:

Pretty complete toolkit to be aware of all the actions done by users. It makes easier to manage the funnel of customers and improve conversion

Cons:

Integration requires a technical guy; the implementation process is quite fast though

Eri K.
Data Analyst in US
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Either some issue with implementation or something else

3 2 months ago New

Pros:

I liked that it was very intuitive to use. For example creating dashboards, product analysis (both web and mobile) and making funnels is very easy.

Cons:

There has always been an issue where we have trouble attributing events to client IDs when we bring the Mixpanel data outside of Mixpanel (for example our data warehouse). We end up having events that are missing or that are not attributed back to our clients.

Verified Reviewer
Account Executive in US
Verified LinkedIn User
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Mixpanel does the job

4 4 years ago

Comments: Worth testing out

Pros:

There are many features that are really cool and useful in this software. I really liked the functionality of these features.

Cons:

I feel like there were a lot of features, which is great but it is also kind of difficult to use. If it was easier to use, I would like it a lot more.

Verified Reviewer
Account Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Great for tracking web behavior

5 3 years ago

Pros:

Easy to use and set up. Easy for users to develop reports on online behavior from their websites. I heard of nothing but good experiences with CS.

Cons:

Expensive and sometimes reports can have data missing. Could be user error though.

Verified Reviewer
Desarrollador de aplicaciones para móviles in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very good features for tracking user traction.

4 4 years ago

Pros:

A lot of features that can pinpoint what users are doing and what not. Really has the power to get your app to a whole new level. Funnels let you visibly tell where users are dropping out so you can quick-fix it

Cons:

Configuration and integration seem to be a bit painful. Lots of boilerplate code especially if you want to track different screens, features or even app events to other platforms.

Verified Reviewer
Staff RN in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

My New Tie-Breaker (because designers don't always agree)

4 3 years ago

Pros:

Building custom reports and engagement metrics so I can test new photo gallery designs, and explore different lander pages based on how they click-through the site.

Cons:

Reports can be hard to create and really depend on proper input, I regularly have to sort through dirty data (wrong email, etc.) to massage it can get a more accurate report.

Verified Reviewer
Cofounder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Great for creating funnels, but not great at accessing specific data filters

3 3 years ago

Pros:

Setting up user funnels can be fun and when there is a simple standard user flow it works well to give you top-line metrics.

Cons:

When you have multiple user flow options the funnels become cumbersome to setup and it is easy to mis-represent reality if there are multiple user states. Also, I wish I could get to the underlying data (detailed data) that support the metrics to troubleshoot where I have potentially setup the funnels incorrectly.

Nicholas P.
College in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Mix panel was a tool that allowed for in depth analytical tagging

3 4 years ago

Pros:

This product has supreme visualization tools that allow for an excellent organization and presentation of data.

Cons:

I found it to be a bit too minimalistic, which could change over time if I seek to continue using the product.

Verified Reviewer
Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great analytics

5 4 years ago

Pros:

Nice one, lets you analyse you mobile app usage with simple integration and I like their dashboard too.

Cons:

Nothing

Amit A.
Associate Product Manager in India
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome tool for In-depth Product Analytics!

5 4 months ago

Comments: 1. Understanding the Drop-off & Conversion across different funnels in the product.
2. Measuring the product usage analytics across different plans to know the customers better.
3. To seek feature adoption by the users via usage analytics.
4. Creating a cross-functional dashboard to consolidate and present the crucial metrics, keeping stakeholders informed hassle-free.

Pros:

Seemless event and funnel segmentation analysis with a lot of crunching functionalities. Readily downloadable in CSV o PNG format. Integrating tracking code is hassle-free as well, given the exhaustive documentation & video tutorials available. Overall a pleasant experience!

Cons:

No auto-save feature in the Dashboard. You need to click on save every single time you add a report to a dashboard. Pop-up is damn annoying. It also has some sync issues where some of the events don't show up and need a hard refresh before it starts showing up again. No option to create a team/squad to collaborate on a specific dashboard. Doesn't have an extensive integrations bucket.

Sapph L.
Marketing strategist in Canada
Professional Training & Coaching, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful, comprehensive tool to track and analyze user actions and behavior patterns

4 2 years ago

Comments: It's a powerful analytics and marketing tool that helps you track and understand user behavior (who are your power users? which sources did you acquire them from? what's your churn rate? etc.) and make important business decisions about what you should do more of, what's working and what isn't.

Pros:

Once you set it up properly, you can use Mixpanel to track every granular user action. You can save numerous details with each event that's important for you to know such as device, browser, country, campaign UTM, etc. Mixpanel provides you with several types of reports you can analyze data with such as Insights (break down user actions to show how many share X, Y or Z detail such as campaign UTM) and Funnels (conversions between user actions). You can also use Mixpanel to send notifications (email, push, in-app) to users based on their actions. It's a very powerful analytic and marketing tool.

Cons:

Lately, Mixpanel has made quite a few UI changes. Some have been helpful, others less so. Example with a recent funnels UI change: if you add a breakdown (which breaks down each of the funnel steps by a specific detail like country), Mixpanel adds several different colored bars to the funnel, which makes it very difficult to visually see the conversions between each step. I'm not sure if they do any testing with users before launching new features or UI but their user experience would benefit a lot from it. Mixpanel also does get expensive as you track more user actions (events), but it's only powerful and useful when you track every user action, big and small. Otherwise, your analysis would be based on an incomplete picture and cause incorrect findings.

Shrishtee S.
Software Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An Exceptional Analytic Tool

5 10 months ago

Comments: We have been tracking user events and Mixpanel has proved a great ally for that. It's easy to use features had made it stand out than other products in the market. I have been using this more for than six months now and not for once I faced any difficulties. It wasn't any arduous for me and I would suggest people who are looking for a great analytic tool to try this one.

Pros:

Intelligible software it is, with user friendly interface. A new user doesn't have to be perturbed much to understand the functionality of this product. All the features are quite comprehensible.

Cons:

There is nothing in this product to dislike. The price might bother a few people but in the comparison to the other analytic software out there the price of this product is very much acceptable, making this product affordable than others.

Aman K.
Aman K.
Business Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Go to tool for Dashboarding

5 4 months ago

Comments: Overall I am really satisfied with the software for my daily use. It really is a value for money and makes working really easy.

Pros:

This software gives you the functionality to fetch data directly using SQL for the charts. The ability to calculate the ratios of metrics helps make the dashboard really informative. Apart from this, the user UI is really easy to use and also it loads the data in real time really fast.

Cons:

There is not much to dislike in the software but yes some more features/charts option can be added to get the maximum from this.

Fayssal J.
Fayssal J.
CEO in Tunisia
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

I use Mixpanel every single hour a day, 7 days a week and 365 days a year !

5 3 years ago

Comments: It's the simplest way to track app usage.

Pros:

Sign-up was too easy and the free tier is very generous. Installation was time consuming but this is mainly related to our codebase. Segment integration is working like a charm. The best app for setting up analytics for SaaS apps.

Cons:

Emailing user experience should be reimagined and made much more intuitive to match the amazing user experience of the whole app.

Ciprian P.
Senior PHP Developer in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

A great user research tool

5 2 years ago

Pros:

A great user research tool for generating highly-targeted audiences and identifying user activity on-site. If properly set up on a high traffic site, it can separate valuable traffic from noise in less than 30 days.

Cons:

Events get registered a bit late or not at all. This issue might be fixed now.

Magnus O.
Magnus O.
Customer Service Team Lead in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Better than Google Analytics

5 3 years ago

Comments: Unlike Google Analytics, Mixpanel tracks everything and can help you understand your customers better

Pros:

I know a company that uses Mixpanel to track everything a customer does on their platform, including where they left off and also encountered an error. Mixpanel also shows you a customer's location. You can also send targetted customer messages with Mixpanel

Cons:

You will need a software developer to implement Mixpanel on your app or website. It's not something you can set up easily.

Verified Reviewer
Growth Engineer in Spain
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Great functionalities but not for its pricing

4 2 years ago

Comments: Great overall experience on the setup and tracking of information. But the happiness lowed down when we started needing more complex things and the pricing went up skyrocketed based on our users database despite the fact that not all of them are qualified leads for us.

Pros:

The easiness to track information and the possibility to analyse it based on segments teams was great. The customer support has always been active and answered fast.

Cons:

When we started needing more complex features, we found out that the pricing was too high and couldn't afford it. For the functionalities provided, we found that competitors much better suited our needs.