Costpoint for Government Contractors Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,8 /5
  • Customer Service
    4 /5

About Costpoint for Government Contractors

Industry-leading project accounting, labor management, manufacturing and business intelligence solutions

Learn more about Costpoint for Government Contractors

Showing 203 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Contracts & Subcontracts Lead
1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/24

"Use daily reports work well"

Comments: Just in time reporting

Pros: It combines accounting and contracts. Easy to use and run reports and pull data from system. Love the real-time reporting

Cons: The contracts model needs more attention. It could be more robust. It is really not functional out of the box

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/24
Matt M.
MAPA
Security & Investigations, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/01

"Brief Overview"

Comments: Overall, I like Deltek. It is an easy system to use and little training to be able to know how to use (very user friendly).

Pros: I like the display for the calendar, it is easy to add a new line for additional hours billed and keep track all hours. I also think it is easy to navigate the branching time charge. Some companies have a very complicated branching system making it very difficult to locate the correct time charge to add.

Cons: I think it would be helpful if time off, holidays, sick leave was able to be displayed from the main timesheet. It would make a one stop location to have all the information in one place compared to opening up other tabs to trying to locate your balances.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/01
Nastazija B.
Linguist
Government Relations, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/24

"Not a big fan of this program"

Pros: Accessible (once you have your credentials) from any computer. Easy to track your hours worked and if they were approved or not. Also the feature of used/unused leave balance is really helpful.

Cons: If you are not assigned to a project for a while, the whole access needs to be reset by HR, which is completely unnecessary. It is a bit annoying that every time you put in your hours worked you have to save the changes otherwise if you sign out and sign back in from another device you have to start all over. If HR has not uploaded the correct project code - you can't put any hours in at all. If you need to make changes of the hours worked, it is a hassle, because it's throwing error messages all over.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/24
Ray V.
Systems Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/29

"Easy Timecards"

Comments: Overall, I've been very pleased in my experience with the software. Entering my time is easier than software used in my last job, and corrections are easier to make. My time cards have been easy to read and understand when going back to review them!

Pros: This software allows a user to easily access their timecards and log their time. Saving favorite codes for items such as contracts worked, favorites, leave, etc. is a breeze.

Cons: I haven't encountered any issues thus far. There can be an overwhelming number of time codes depending on the company you work for.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/29
Ernesto L.
Buyer
Defense & Space, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/14

"Fair Weather Application"

Comments: Fair weather - not good nor bad just a system I have to use.

Pros: They're a govt approved system which is a requirement for companies in the defense and contracting industry

Cons: The platform is not intuitive nor user friendly and it's hard to get customer support w/o being charged extra. Not an open source.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/14
Verified Reviewer
Advocacy Relations and Communications Manager
Research, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/23

"Employees won't love it"

Pros: There isn't much to like about this software. It does let you save time codes to favorites, but that's the bare minimum and doesn't do much more to make the work of someone entering a daily time card easy.

Cons: The loading times seem slower than peer software I've used and the features to populate saved time codes aren't as good. Requesting time off is especially burdensome and requires several steps where it should really only have one.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/23
Karen C.
Payroll Supervisor
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02

"I have used Costpoint for 8 years. I have been able to learn a lot."

Comments: Reporting, payroll, versatility, project reporting and capture, labor capture

Pros: I love the versatility of this software. It does so much and we can pull a lot of different information. It's very detailed in most areas and we can hold notes as well. Since I work in payroll, I think that the people and payroll modules are most useful for me.

Cons: I really don't like that we can not accrue a non-cash fringe. We have asked and asked for this feature and it has never been considered. All our employees accrue fringe non-cash to use towards benefits.
I also don't like the way the employee garnishments are set up. Every time there is a change to a garnishment (such as the amount in a child support order), I have to stop the garnishment and set up a new one in order to preserve any history. It can be confusing for anyone else looking at someone's file. Also, the note field is to small, doesn't hold enough information for the order (like children or custodial parents) that used to be included in Costpoint 6. I was disappointed when this was removed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02
Jane H.
Financial Systems Administor
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09

"CP is good and user friendly"

Pros: Costpoint offers government contractors unparalleled project management, accounting, labor, reporting and compliance features so you get the exact capability you need to increase efficiency and improve profitability. It was built specifically for government contractors and has been adopted by thousands of government contractors and earned the trust of federal agencies and their auditors.

Cons: System bug, system not stable. Take long time to get customer service back some time. Field names and connections to other fields are not readily apparent. Takes years to become fluent in the program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09
David M.
IT Director
Philanthropy, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/28

"Work Smarter not Harder"

Pros: The Costpoint enterprise suite allows a complete set of tools that can influence critical business decisions in a vertical business. What sets this software apart from others, is the tools available to customize the software using Extensibility.

Cons: Limitations on customization unless you have in-house experience or willing to pay for consulting which is a consideration.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/28
Barbara Y.
Controller
Telecommunications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/21

"Controller"

Comments: Costpoint is a dynamic system with many features that are automated. We use it for not only our accounting system, but also our budgeting and reporting. It is complex and able to do many things, but the right people must be in place to ensure the system works for you and is used to it's fullest. We are only using some of the capabilities of the system, and have only started to unlock all the possibilities of the system 2 years into implementation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/21
Lisa C.
Director of Contracts
Information Technology & Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/22

"An Accurate Way to Track Time"

Comments: Easy capture of time to various charge codes and projects.
Easy to navigate between indirect and direct charges.

Pros: Deltek is pretty intuitive and is a good way to capture your time at work. I like the breakdown of multiple charge codes and projects and the easy search features.

Cons: Sometimes I have a hard time signing into the software remotely.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/22
Verified Reviewer
Accounting Associate
Defense & Space, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/15

"Great functionality but not easy to use"

Comments: Due to our type of work, it was a great product to use when working government contracts.

Pros: The software had great reports. It's payroll portion was very easy to understand and navigate while processing biweekly checks.

Cons: The software is not user friendly. It took quite some time to learn how to use properly and the reporting function is complicated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/15
Christy B.
GL Acctg Mgr
Accounting, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/23

"Worked in Costpoint for 7 yrs."

Comments: It makes my job easier. Less paper needed

Pros: Its security controls. Its checks and balances. It's user-friendliness. Its fixed asset module.

Cons: the Fact that you can't have more than one user in everything other than reports. The fact that you can't approve and postin the same window.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/23
Robert F.
Controller
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/23

"Still figuring out the kinks of the applications, there are still a number of things that need to ou"

Comments: A more interconnected truer ERP system, definitely an upgrade over legacy system

Pros: There are good controls if things are set up properly and once you figure out the logic of the different modules and how they interact with each other

Cons: Some of the screens are not intuitive. For example, only after trial and error was I able to determine the proper order of computing and posting Depreciation on the fixed assets module.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/23
Carmen M.
Sr Systems Analyst
Defense & Space, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19

"Costpoint Review"

Comments: Costpoint is our financial system and it works well for us tracking our government contracts.

Pros: How the different modules are integrated .

Cons: The way that hot fixes/patches are released, too cumbersome to apply at times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19
Cathy T.
Senior Business Analyst IT
Aviation & Aerospace, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/20

"Long time customer"

Pros: Customer support and responsiveness, ease of use

Cons: Nothing comes to mind. I have been using Costpoint and T&E for 20 years. Improvements have been made during this time. It is a good product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/20
Joshua H.
principal financial analyst
Defense & Space, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19

"Costpoint Review"

Pros: Ease of use. Thank you for letting me take the survey.

Cons: Iter-database iwo functionality with single employee doesn't function per the help screen.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19
Verified Reviewer
Talent Manager
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/25

"I've used CostPoint to track recorded work time."

Comments: It makes it easy to keep track of your recorded work time.

Pros: Once you get the hang of it, it's fairly easy to update your time keeping and sign, as well as check what your available leave balance is.

Cons: Adding new programs to your worksheet is not that intuitive, and some of the menu's can feel a bit complex and unclear as to what they accomplish.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/25
Fred R.
VP, Enterprise Business Systems
Information Technology & Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/20

"There aren't many good products in the Market, but dealing with Deltek is awful"

Comments: It does meet Government Accounting Requirements

Pros: It does have a lot of features that support Government Accounting. It allows us to enter very detailed levels of project string, ORG codes, and GL Account Codes for every transaction.

Cons: User Interface is terrible - still looks like a mainframe screen. Customer support while friendly is not very helpful. They always try to push a support ticket to their paid consulting services. I feel like they are always trying to get more money out of us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/20
Tara R.
Deltek IT Systems Consultant
Government Relations, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/15

"Great Solution"

Comments: Costpoint is the best solution for government contracting! No other software comes close to fulfilling all the requirements needed for tracking costs for the government at the great price Deltek offers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/15
Paulo C.
Manager of Finance
Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09

"Excellent software, needs additional features to improve in different areas, specially reporting."

Comments: We now really now the cost of projects. Some other system claim they can do that but they fall short.

Pros: Very user friendly yet very controlled. This software is a great tool for accounting because the design of the system matches its reality. Costpoint helps us tremendously to control costs.

Cons: Reporting could be improved. there is a good basic essential reports available on the system but there must be more options and flexibility so users can extract the most of it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09
Ken R.
IT Systems Architect Lead
Government Administration, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19

"Improved Support"

Pros: My review is from an administration standpoint. When I first started supporting this software, the support from Deltek was less than amazing. Over the last year, I have seen a vast improvement in the quality of the support personnel and the response time. Thank you for making my job easier!

Cons: Installing updates can be difficult at times. I would like to find an easier way to install updates.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19
Will F.
Director
Management Consulting, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/29

"Wow!"

Pros: I'm still looking. Give me more time, I'm sure it's there somewhere. My accounting department sold this to the company as an upgrade.

Cons: Ok. My firm used to use the time & expense for timekeeping and concur for expenses; great user experience there. Then we switched to costpoint 60 days ago. It reminds me of a slapped together MS Access database. The interface is awful, just awful. Why didn't Deltek just keep the time/expense user interface?
Deltek Time/Expesne had mobile options, I've yet to find that for costpoint (..come back, your going the wrong way!!). As a manager, approving sheets is no picnic either and heaven for bit I want to look at an employee across 2 pay periods (deltek expense you clicked an arrow, costpoint you double or triple your clicks for the same task). And then there's the Expense module in costpoint, oh my. I have no idea what I'm looking at sometimes. You have to download the attachments to view them instead of opening inline for quick reference (clunky). There doesn't seem to be any sort of natural workflow for the expense reports. There's a bunch of links and buttons that I don't need. And why not just have an approval button for managers? All I've ever found is a "perform selected task" button. Not intuitive at all from a company that aims at setting the pace. Or.... maybe my firm botched the rollout?

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/29
S W.
IT Project Manager
Computer Software, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/28

"Ease of Use and Flexibility through Extensibility"

Comments: Our company implemented a suite of products including Costpoint and Time and Expense approximately 3 years ago. After seeing applied changes and specific product roadmaps at Deltek Insight 2016, I'm excited about the direction of system improvements and enhancements to functionality and features that are either a reality now or coming in the very near future!

Pros: Web-based - accessibility anytime, anywhere. Ease-of-use over Oracle products I've used elsewhere. Customer support engagement through various channels.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/28