Costpoint Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,8 /5
  • Customer Service
    4 /5

About Costpoint

Industry-leading project accounting, labor management, manufacturing and business intelligence solutions

Learn more about Costpoint

Showing 193 reviews

Tina D.
Manufacturing Engineer
Defense & Space, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/01

"Easy-to-use but doesn't work for every situation"

Pros: I use costpoint daily at my job and the software is very easy to navigate. I have no issues searching for BOMs (Bill of Materials) and costpoint interacts relatively seamlessly with the systems that we use for engineering drawings and shop floor instructions.

Cons: A lot of the materials in the BOMs seem to be controlled by effectivity dates. This may work well for companies that have interchangeable parts with planned obsolescence dates, but the industry I work in has variable production schedules where it'd be preferable to control materials by engineering drawing effectivity.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/01
Karen C.
Payroll Supervisor
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02

"I have used Costpoint for 8 years. I have been able to learn a lot."

Comments: Reporting, payroll, versatility, project reporting and capture, labor capture

Pros: I love the versatility of this software. It does so much and we can pull a lot of different information. It's very detailed in most areas and we can hold notes as well. Since I work in payroll, I think that the people and payroll modules are most useful for me.

Cons: I really don't like that we can not accrue a non-cash fringe. We have asked and asked for this feature and it has never been considered. All our employees accrue fringe non-cash to use towards benefits.
I also don't like the way the employee garnishments are set up. Every time there is a change to a garnishment (such as the amount in a child support order), I have to stop the garnishment and set up a new one in order to preserve any history. It can be confusing for anyone else looking at someone's file. Also, the note field is to small, doesn't hold enough information for the order (like children or custodial parents) that used to be included in Costpoint 6. I was disappointed when this was removed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/02
Sandra O.
BRM
Military, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19

"Costpoint from BRM viewpoint"

Comments: Great software overall

Pros: Ease to learn and easy to use screen and download data

Cons: Incomplete error messages and missing edits.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19
Jane H.
Financial Systems Administor
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09

"CP is good and user friendly"

Pros: Costpoint offers government contractors unparalleled project management, accounting, labor, reporting and compliance features so you get the exact capability you need to increase efficiency and improve profitability. It was built specifically for government contractors and has been adopted by thousands of government contractors and earned the trust of federal agencies and their auditors.

Cons: System bug, system not stable. Take long time to get customer service back some time. Field names and connections to other fields are not readily apparent. Takes years to become fluent in the program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09
Harlan H.
Network Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/16

"7.1.1 Admin disappointed with the constant updates but the end-users like it"

Pros: Our end-users generally have zero complaints with the software. We use it for everything from purchasing and receiving to HR functions.

Cons: I'm not a fan of the new update model they have rolled out with 7.1.1. It seems there are constant updates and, unlike previous versions where you only installed the updates you needed to fix a particular issue, they now expect ALL updates to be installed. I realize they are trying to get away from the need for major revision upgrades by doing this but the load on the IT department is WAY more than it used to be for day-to-day operations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/16
David M.
IT Director
Philanthropy, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/28

"Work Smarter not Harder"

Pros: The Costpoint enterprise suite allows a complete set of tools that can influence critical business decisions in a vertical business. What sets this software apart from others, is the tools available to customize the software using Extensibility.

Cons: Limitations on customization unless you have in-house experience or willing to pay for consulting which is a consideration.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/28
Jeremy R.
Director, Financial Systems
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/20

"Great product overall for government contractors."

Comments: Efficiencies with back-office processes.

Pros: Heavily integrated. It offers a lot of features suitable for government contractors. Companies that rely heavily on projects and reporting will find the system very suitable for their requirements.

Cons: Very complex. The system requires a lot of hands-on interaction to become proficient. The integration is great, but with it comes a steep learning curve.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/20
John C.
Directory of Technology Operations
Professional Training & Coaching, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09

"Costpoint is a very extensive accounting package, with all the modules we need"

Comments: Excellent accounting and reporting

Pros: Customizable for our needs, especially in project management. We also own Cognos reporting, Costpoint Enterprise reporting and Time & Expense, and all of those Deltek products work together very well.

Cons: Some features are a bit non-intuitive, though they're features that aren't often accessed. Proper setup requires expert help.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09
Anne B.
Accountant III
Insurance, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/15

"Big fan of Time & Expense"

Comments: We moved from an Excel, paper-based expense reporting system to Deltek and it has drastically reduced the number of errors we see (and the number of expense reports we send back to employees for revisions). We are spending less time processing expense reports and employees are getting paid faster. Like any new software, there's been a learning curve with our users but overall, most people prefer this system over our old method of reporting.

Pros: Hard edits prevent people from making many of the mistakes we saw with our paper-based system, the approvals are automated and done electronically

Cons: You can't have more than one window open at a time (unlike CostPoint).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/15
Lisa C.
Director of Contracts
Information Technology & Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/22

"An Accurate Way to Track Time"

Comments: Easy capture of time to various charge codes and projects.
Easy to navigate between indirect and direct charges.

Pros: Deltek is pretty intuitive and is a good way to capture your time at work. I like the breakdown of multiple charge codes and projects and the easy search features.

Cons: Sometimes I have a hard time signing into the software remotely.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/22
Verified Reviewer
Accounting Associate
Defense & Space, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/15

"Great functionality but not easy to use"

Comments: Due to our type of work, it was a great product to use when working government contracts.

Pros: The software had great reports. It's payroll portion was very easy to understand and navigate while processing biweekly checks.

Cons: The software is not user friendly. It took quite some time to learn how to use properly and the reporting function is complicated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/15
Omar A.
Production Planner
Military, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19

"Omar CP review"

Comments: It’s an easy to use software that has real-time inventory management that I find useful in everyday tasks.

Pros: The ease of running MRP once everything is set up.

Cons: User interface seems outdated. Friendlier screens can be used where you can finally use dual monitor support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19
Francis K.
Controller
Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/16

"Use of Deltek Costpoint in managing our projects and also developing and forecasting for new project"

Comments: Have had Costpoint since 1998 and found it to have helped the organization it business mission. Deltek Costpoint project based accounting system has been useful to our submission of the Incurred Cost Proposals to DCAA.

Pros: I like its flexibility in project management

Cons: The software is sometimes complex if you are new to it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/16
Christy B.
GL Acctg Mgr
Accounting, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/23

"Worked in Costpoint for 7 yrs."

Comments: It makes my job easier. Less paper needed

Pros: Its security controls. Its checks and balances. It's user-friendliness. Its fixed asset module.

Cons: the Fact that you can't have more than one user in everything other than reports. The fact that you can't approve and postin the same window.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/23
Mark S.
Software Developer
Government Relations, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/24

"Deltek is a reasonable timetracking tool"

Pros: It does what it needs to do. It is pretty simple to use and get setup, and allows you to track what needs tracking.

Cons: All time tracking is harder then we would like. Deltek at times needs work to be configured to be as helpful as I wish it could be.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/24
Heather M.
Senior Accountant
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/06

"Good product that meets our needs"

Pros: Deltek is always making sure they are improving the software. Lots of add-ons fit about any need or want the customer may have.

Cons: Pricing structure is not great for our small business. Add-ons are great, but come with additional cost (of course)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/06
Mary C.
Accountant
Accounting, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18

"Cost POint"

Comments: was able to eliminate spreadsheet processes

Pros: Ease of use and elimination of manual processes.

Cons: Reporting Feature a little difficult for me to manage.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18
Joelah A.
specialist
Research, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/15

"Intermediate CP7"

Comments: As a first time person attending the conference for the first time, I have learned a lot. the classes are a bit full but the speakers are great and knowledgeable

Pros: easy to access

Cons: I wish there were ways to merge (import and export items)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/15
Aparna M.
Financial Analyst
Accounting, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19

"Costpoint is awesome,"

Pros: cP works for our complex needs and reporting requirementz

Cons: It’s complex and some processes and setups are complex

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19
Lori C.
Accounting Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/15

"Accounting Manager"

Comments: Started with the implementation team and still working with it. Love the online chat feature...get an answer extremely quickly!

Pros: immediate updates, no longer having to wait overnight

Cons: ??

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/15
Paulo C.
Manager of Finance
Aviation & Aerospace, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09

"Excellent software, needs additional features to improve in different areas, specially reporting."

Comments: We now really now the cost of projects. Some other system claim they can do that but they fall short.

Pros: Very user friendly yet very controlled. This software is a great tool for accounting because the design of the system matches its reality. Costpoint helps us tremendously to control costs.

Cons: Reporting could be improved. there is a good basic essential reports available on the system but there must be more options and flexibility so users can extract the most of it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/09
Marianne K.
Buyer
Government Relations, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/20

"Total streamlining of the procurement process."

Pros: I like how easy the program is to use and how customizable each window is. I am able to move text boxes around to fit my needs and can save queries and window setup per my requirements.

Cons: There are several elements that are irrelevant to my specific job so I suppose I like those the least.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/20
Lynne G.
Accounts Payable Clerk
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/27

"Costpoint 7 is user friendly"

Comments: I am able to enter invoices more quickly and efficiently.

Pros: I think Costpoint 7 is very easy to work with and was easy to learn. It has helped me increase productivity.

Cons: Some of the functions in Costpoint 7 don't seem to always help with keeping a steady workflow or don't work at all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/27
Verified Reviewer
Program Coordinator/Research Assistant
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/01

"It’s great for Large organizations"

Pros: I like it’s features on login when used in a mobile browsing window.

Cons: It was very hard to navigate at first. The help section, while very robust, was a bit difficult to understand. I did a lot of “trial and error”, before eventually figuring it out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/01
Matthew K.
Financial Systems Manager
501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/14

"Matt's Review of Costpoint"

Comments: We began using Costpoint since 1998 after converting from System 1 which was implemented in 1986... In general terms the overall capabilities of the system are excellent, but it has not been without bumps in the road. The current version 7.0.1 has reached a good level of stability, something that the was a hallmark of 6.2. Some of the architectural decisions created continual upgrade problems and ultimately led us to a slowdown of our upgrade process. So, while the web version has some good new features, we hope Deltek will continue to return to a stronger, more stable product

Pros: Overall capabilities are excellent...extensibility is a KEY feature to add your own capabilities.

Cons: Customer support was lacking for the new version....it has gotten better, but there is always room for improvement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/14