ACE Retail POS Reviews

by ACE POS Solutions

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,3 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,7 /5

About ACE Retail POS

ACE is a full-feature Inventory Management system with a built-in POS for Windows users. Installed Software, One Time Cost.

Learn more about ACE Retail POS

Showing 47 reviews

Joe R.
Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/26

"Excellent support provided by ACE"

Pros: We have been using ACE POS since 2009. Since day one ACE has provided excellent support with the initial setup and continued maintenance of our systems. I like that ACE provides seamless integration with our accounting software. The ACE Sales screen and inventory accounts are easy to use for any level of staff. We also maintain our Customer accounts and email lists within ACE. We have been using the webstore integration feature since 2011. ACE will upload items directly to our website, including adding the pictures and descriptions that are included in ACE. We have recently upgraded our website to Shopify. ACE will automatically adjust inventory quantities within Shopify which has saved us a lot of time. The active support that they provided during our transition to Shopify was unbelievable. Don provided a hands-on approach and provided quick responses to my many questions. I would recommend ACE for any retail business environment.

Cons: There are only minor issues that I can name as our overall experience has been positive. It would be great if there was a fast way to transfer inventory quantities between items. For example, if we have 1 PLU made up of a set of 4 widgets and I want to break this up into 4 individual PLUs, we are having to post this through the Purchasing/Receiving System so that the inventory cost values follow. Also, it would be nice in the Receiving system if backorders would automatically be shown for every item with zero items received. Right now we are having to scroll through each item in the purchase order so that the backorder number shows.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2018/08/03

Thank you for your kind words and support Joe! From our ticketing system we can see that one of our specialists has already been in contact with you regarding back-orders and how to utilize the built-in packbreak function within ACE Premium to break-up items that are sold as a combo and also individually.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/26
Andrea M.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22

"Great System, good customer service, Nine years and counting..."

Comments: The main benefit was easing my accounting burden! That was my initial reason for searching for a POS system.

Pros: I like how user friendly the sales screen is. Very quick to train someone to run the cash register, even someone who is not computer savvy.
I like being able to block employees from different areas of the software, so they can only access what I allow them to.
The reports are flexible and are great for assistance with re-ordering based on sales(if you don't already use the min/max qty option). Being able to quickly see which vendors products are selling the best is a huge asset to me.
The easy connection with Quickbooks saves me a LOT of time in my bookkeeping.
The customer service is good (and if for some reason you get someone who you may think is in training, they're honest and get someone else to fix the problem and do it in a timely manner). I have been enjoying this software for nine years.

Cons: I find it time consuming to find some of the features that I likely should be using but are not utilizing because I can't find it or I can't remember where to find it.
I would prefer the Help/user manual be part of the software not just online. When you don't have internet access on a computer that your employees are using, the help feature is inaccessible.
The yearly updates are a bit more expensive than I feel they should be. I don't need new features and any "fixes" should come with the original purchase of the product, but if I want it to continue to run on newer computer systems and likely need it reloaded on a different computer down the line (ie. changing from windows xp to 7 or 10), I would otherwise have to pay the whole amount up front a second time( and third time etc...).

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2018/06/02

Andrea, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We understand your wanting to have access to certain resources offline. We made the decision to move to online training resources as this way, we can maintain documentation more easily for customers. It also allows you to be aware of any updates. Besides new features, we need to maintain a development team to keep the software up-to-date for security reasons - e.g. Windows updates, PINpad upgrades, integrated solution updates. This is why updates are always included with annual support plans and include phone calls that you can use for support or training. We know that you don't always need the assistance but we have tried our best to keep our annual support plan pricing steady even though our costs of maintaining live support assistance around the clock and development in Canada continue to increase. Thanks again for your continued support!!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Nathan Z.
President
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/27

"Wonderful product, easy to use software, with fabulous customer service"

Comments: I've been using Ace Retail for 11 years, from when it first became available for Microsoft Windows (earlier versions were using the DOS o/s. There have been many improvements over the years, with the program just getting better and better. Some features are a challenge to use, including having a different shipping and billing address, but once you know how to use these features, they work well. In addition, many of my requests, including the ability charge local taxes for customers who live in other provinces, or the USA who visit our Winnipeg store, are greatly appreciated and functional. Recently the ability to process "card not present" transactions was added, which we love, for phone or Internet orders. I'm very happy with the stability and functionality of Ace Retail, and highly recommend it to any small to medium sized retail company. It may also work well for larger companies, but it's perfect for my company, Aviva Natural Health Solutions. Nathan Zassman,
President

Pros: Easy to use interface, has all the features a small to medium size retail company would ever need.

Cons: Some functions, like correcting errors, or having a different shipping and billing address, could be easier to implement, but once you know how to do it, it's ok.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2016/09/27

Thanks Nathan! We appreciate and value your support. We have several exciting projects/features in the pipeline that should be of interest to you. We'll be sure to let you know once they are ready!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/09/27
Holly W.
Owner
Consumer Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/23

"A good option for any retail based business"

Comments: ACE has one of the best customer service teams I've encountered. They are very quick to respond to issues and questions and are very helpful. Our representative specifically has helped us many times and I would recommend ACE solely because of his customer service skills alone.

Pros: Since they partnered with Shopify, the website integration with ACE is pretty easy and straightforward. It is a very manual process to begin, but includes features like live inventory and auto syncing sales to ACE.

Cons: The software is sometimes hard to maneuver and figure out. The reporting system is sometimes over complicated and it takes a bit to yield the results you want. It doesn't have features like smart search or other things that would simplify finding products that could make it a lot easier to use.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2019/07/24

Thanks for your great feedback Holly. We're glad to hear that you're happy with our support services. Sorry to hear that you're having issues searching in ACE though. We will be contacting you regarding the existing smart search function in ACE. Besides having the ability to customize the inventory list view, it is also possible to search inventory by SKU, keyword, multiple barcodes, vendor PID and even custom tags!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/23
Christopher B.
ownwer - operator
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/16

"Store changing! A computer software system that is expandable and reliable!"

Comments: Tracking stock, doing pricing easily, scanning products.... customer accounts. im pretty happy.

Pros: Support. When something went wrong i had help right away to get things going again. Easy adding items. Generic POS parts compatible. Multiple stations. Good reports and labels. Nice layout. Worksheet price editing - amazing for having to change multiple prices in a flash.

Cons: Many features you may not use or understand. just ask. Manual covers most issues. Costs a bit to start. Multi line scanners are better than single line i purchased. Read Barcodes from any direction.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2018/05/22

Thank you for your support Christopher! We're glad that you are happy with the software and our support. There are a lot of features built-in to ACE. Please don't hesitate to contact us at [email protected] if you would like to schedule a training session to determine if there are other ways ACE can help your business.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/16
Carol N.
owner/partner
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/13

"A happy user of the ACE Retail POS"

Comments: The Ace Retail POS took our newly formed business from writing sales tickets to scanning our transactions with details for reporting and keeping track of our inventory. We have used ACE for 6 years now and are happy with the results.

Pros: The software is easy to use on everyday business transactions. After being instructed on how to enter our inventory on the matrix it works well. Monthly reports are of great value to retrieve information and balance records. The ACE support group have been an integral part of our success. They help solve problems.

Cons: I have yet to find any aspect of the software that is a problem.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2018/10/30

Thank you for your kind words Carol! We will continue to try our best to make it easier for you to run your business.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/13
Michelle K.
owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/24

"Overall very useful system."

Pros: Great support team. Answers all of our questions in a timely manner. Whenever we have issues they are quick to respond.

Cons: Our system was not updated for a few years so the process of updating took a bit longer than expected and we were without our system for a couple hours and it was difficult to handle customers at that time.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2019/07/25

Hi Michelle, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're so glad to hear that you are happy with the system and our support services. Yes, unfortunately, when updating from a much older version, there is the possibility of hardware being reset so it sometimes takes longer than normal as we would need to help you re-configure the settings again. As you are an active support plan member, we do encourage you to update at least yearly so that you get the new features and functions and aren't too far behind. To see the features and improvements we have available in every update, please visit: https://www.acepos-solutions.com/update-page

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/24
Dana S.
Owner
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/09

"Affordable with lots of features"

Comments: I have had a great experience with the program and lots of support and help from the team at ACE. Since starting the program in 2014, each year we find things we can implement to make our business run smoothly.

Pros: The price point was great for a POS with so many features.

Cons: When I purchased ACE Retail POS, the manual did not include info on each and every function possible. I see the company improving on this year to year. There are a ton of features that not every company will need so I could see how this is an undertaking.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2018/11/21

Thanks Dana for taking the time to give us your feedback! We appreciate your understanding and will continue to do our best to add more guidance for customers on new and updated features.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/09
Ehren B.
Manager
Furniture, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/15

"Simple, easy to use software"

Comments: We love that our inventory is easily controlled with this program; vendor purchases are perfectly integrated with the sales aspect. We are able to run reports on everything to be able to analyze all aspects of our business for any timeframe - sales, commission, purchasing, inventory, sales tax, buying trends and more! Very convenient.

Pros: Ace POS is a simple and easy to use program perfect for any size business; plenty of in depth functions built in for analyzing and accounting benefits too. Affordable price & exceptional customer support!

Cons: We found that some functions are only able to be taken care of via customer support like changes to a completed invoice or adding large amounts of data to the inventory or customer database. Not really a problem though because customer support is so helpful and always very quick with response time!

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2018/10/30

Thank you for taking the time to review us Ehren! We're so glad that you are happy with the software and our customer service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/15
Masrina H.
bookkeeper
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/15

"The technician is very helpful"

Comments: detailed report, faster check out speed, accurate report, easy tracking of inventory, multiple payment types and customer accounts

Pros: Affordable, good customer service, good software for retail, easy to use, has a really good inventory module, and good reporting

Cons: The settings are change whenever you do an upgrade, when you do back date transactions, the date on the receipts still shows the current date,

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2018/05/22

Thanks for your great feedback Masrina! We will let the product development team know about your comments regarding settings changing with updates. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to improve ACE!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/15
Izabela M.
Owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/15

"It works, but is not ideal for a butcher shop... had I known, I would have found something different"

Pros: Once learned, it is simple to use. Keeps track of staff and their activity. Good analysis feature. Attractive.

Cons: Can't connect a scale with a viewing screen.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2018/05/22

Izabela, thank you for letting us know your feedback. If you are interested in scale integration options for your shop, you may want to check the hardware integration list on our web site as we keep this list updated for customers: https://www.acepos-solutions.com/hardware

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/15
Rose G.
Owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/18

"The Customer Support team is amazing!"

Comments: Ace Retail POS has been a fairly good experience so far for us. I actually purchased the software a year ago and only just got up and running about a month ago as life got in the way. The support team at ACE were pretty amazing in helping us and continue to be a good source as we make our way through the ins and outs. We were basically up and running the next day after our QuickBooks data file was loaded into ACE, so it is very user friendly. Has a dated feel to the software but overall we are pleased with it.

Pros: The software for the most part is easy to use once you are all set up and going. Support team is wonderful in helping with any question at all.

Cons: It looks a little "old" and doesn't allow for multiple screens to be open so you must finish one task before moving on to another. Physical inventory counts are not as easy/efficient as I had hoped they would be but we will get there someday.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2018/12/20

Rose, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're thrilled to hear that you're happy with the support team and will do our best to improve our software offering to make it easier for you as we grow.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Krystan B.
President
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/10

"Review"

Pros: It is easy to use and navigate. Very User friendly.

Cons: Sometimes when we needed help we had to wait on the phone for a bit

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2020/02/14

Thank you for taking the time to review us Krystan!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/10
Verified Reviewer
Founder & Managing Director
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/18

"Ease of use"

Comments: Inventory management as well as cash flow monitoring and management.

Pros: All the features that we would need for our business can be found with Ace pos. Reports are very detailed and customizable.

Cons: Wouldn't say that there are any disadvantages at the moment. Still haven't had a chance to use most of the features

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/18
Lawrence C.
Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center Asset Manager
Higher Education, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/29

"Impeccable Service"

Comments: ACE has allowed me to streamline my customer tracking, manage my free bag program, manage inventory and the reporting is robust, allowing me to analyze my business with the click of a few keys.

Pros: The software provides all the functions I need at an affordable price. Perfect for my small business. The best part for me is the staff at ACE who are always available, professional, knowledgeable, thorough, and friendly.

Cons: I really do not have much to say here.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2019/02/04

Lawrence, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're here to help you grow your business.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/29
Bonnie F.
Accounting Department
Warehousing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/15

"Very easy to use and great for our inventory"

Comments: Great inventory control and accounts receivables

Pros: The information you can store for customers, inventory and vendors. The fact we can email the invoices, orders and statements to the customers and the PO to our vendors.

Cons: Can not email to a vendor if the billing address is different. They still need copies of the invoices but we cannot email them because it goes to the billing address and that's it

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2018/05/22

Thank you for your review Bonnie! We continue to try to improve ACE and will let the development team know about your feedback regarding billing addresses.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/15
Arek H.
Owner
Building Materials, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/22

"It's ok but..."

Comments: I've used this software in three businesses since 2009, seems the company changed hands a couple times. For those who see no reason the renew your yearly license make sure that if you have an install file, that when you install it, its fully functions especially the reports as with a couple years back the version they gave you to install had the reports feature broken and you needed to contact them for the update file. This worked for some time as you could install previous update files without a valid support license but then the system changed and you had to get a pr authorization for updates. I'd still recommend this software but if you buy software you expect it to be 100% functional and re-install able to 100% functioning even with out a support license.

Pros: Pretty easy to use
Easy to set up up
Easy to configure
Good reporting features for sales and tax
Lots of options

Cons: Never any updates to the software, there use to be until they changed the system. At least as of a couple years back demo install file had bugs in it or on purpose so if your license expired and you have to reload the software once you imported the back up DB the reports wouldn't work. You have to contact them to get an update but since your support license is expired you couldn't get help unless you renewed for another year.. Lots of GUI bugs that have been around for years and have been reported on several times.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2019/07/25

Thank you for your feedback Arek. Yes, we are a different company now and we have invested in updating and maintaining the software so many of the bugs that were in the older versions supported by the last company have been fixed for the past several years now. We have also spent a lot of internal resources to develop and maintain new built-in and optional add-on features to help customers which is why updates are part of paid support plans. But rest assured, customers who are using versions of ACE maintained by our company can continue to use their software without an active support plan.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/22
Mateo C.
Informations Systems Coordinator
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22

"The software gets the job done."

Comments: It helps us keep track of our transactions and monitor our register.

Pros: It's been reliable. The software works as it should in the sense that every action is clearly labelled, and I don't think I've ever seen it crash.

Cons: It could be designed a bit better, but no complaints necessarily. Also, there are moments when finding certain transactions could easier.

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2018/05/24

Thank you for your feedback Mateo! We will continue to improve ACE so that we can earn the remaining stars from you ;)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Kathryn B.
owner
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/15

"overall good experience"

Comments: point of sale and inventory control are much improved!

Pros: it is easy to use and easy to train new people on it. Customer support is very good with this product very knowledgeable!

Cons: I wish there was an online manual to explore options that I don't use. Wish updates were automatic! and built into the software. like sage 50 accounting software is automatic within the program once you have paid your subscription!

Vendor Response

by ACE POS Solutions on 2018/05/22

Great to hear that you are happy with ACE Kathryn! And we're glad to let you know that there is an online knowledge base (general public one and exclusive portal for support plan members) similar to an online manual if you go to www.acepos-solutions.com > More > Support. Regarding updates, other ACE customers has also let us know that they prefer automatic ones. The reason why we have chosen to avoid this is because of the number of hardware and third-party integrations ACE works with. Many customers, like yourself, use other applications which can be mistakenly reset if updates are automatic (it happened a lot in the past). Currently when customers update, we make sure to double-check any integrations and hardware settings to make sure everything is smooth sailing. We will continue to try to find ways to improve this process for customers. Thanks again for your feedback.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/15