Document Control Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Document Control

Streamline your document authoring, editing, approval, and employee sign-off processes.

Learn more about Document Control

Showing 121 reviews

Heather F.
Quality Assurance Manager
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22

"We are a small to medium business, and this solution fits our needs perfectly."

Comments: MediaLab Document Control allows EyeKor the flexibility it needs for reviewing, approving, assigning, tracking, approving controlled documents. It fits seamlessly within our existing systems.

Pros: This is an affordable, versatile solution, that aids in keeping all training documentation in compliance. EyeKor uses it to approve training documentation, SOPs, and manage project specific training. It manages all sizes of groups that needs training with easy and the needed flexibility for our company.

Cons: Sometimes there are too many ways to do things, or options to do things are buried too deep. I do not like that I can not require training on minor versions of documents. Many documents I receive externally, I cannot determine how they number, and then numbering on the document does not match the MediaLab number.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Verified Reviewer
Medical Laboratory Scientist
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/24

"It's like switching from an analog watch to a digital watch. Great tool for any lab."

Pros: The ability to digitally store, manage, and keep track of your manuals and forms is WAY better than the old method with paper. There are multiple options on editing and modifying a document. No more are the days where you need to hound your lab director, supervisor, or employees to sign a document. The software will remind that person daily and there is a comment box that will inform what changes have been made to the document. You can also link the CAP inspection checklist to the manual so inspectors have an easier time finding the checklist item in question.

Cons: There is a learning curve to understanding and using the software. Still learning different functionalities of the software as I continually update my manual.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/24
Jennifer T.
Director, Technical Operations & Scientific Affair
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/29

"This is the best document control system that I have ever used for a laboratory."

Comments: This product simplified the review and approval process, and made true document control a reality.

Pros: Tracking of revisions and approvals is simplified by far. You can always look up retired documents for retrospective review, changes are tracked and highlighted for quick review, as are all levels of review and approvals. It's easy to get to one's to do list, and the system can be set up to send emails when there are actions for you to take.

Cons: Can't think of anything that I don't like. The vendor is responsive to requests for changes. When we have asked for changes, they have been implemented in a fairly quick timeline.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/29
Delanda B.
Human Resource Associate
Medical Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22

"Overall the experience with MediaLab have been very informative"

Comments: The experience has been great.We use the software on a daily basis. The software helps streamline the workflow of the organization and it keeps our documents in a centralized location. Employees are able to use the current version of each document. Assigning documents by groups and individual employees is also a great benefit of this system. Being able to assign compency test so Scientists and other staff members can stay informed and current is also a great benefit.

Pros: Overall, I like the system. I enjoy assigning users to review important documents. I like the assessment field and continuing education. The system helps our company with retrieving and maintaining documents.

Cons: Too many screens and it is not easy to toggle back and forth. The Help menu is also hard to get the information that you are researching.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Samantha B.
Director of Microbiology
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/09

"Makes document control easy"

Comments: The system has been easy for the staff to learn and controlled permissions provide document security. I also like the fact that all your company SOPs and worksheets are in one place!

Pros: Ability to organize the documents for easy retrieval by staff. Also the ability to keep up with timely review of documents so as to maintain compliance.

Cons: Sometimes hard to find how to control permissions and access. Can usually find it, but sometimes takes a while to get it right.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/09
Amber C.
Informatics Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22

"Great software; able to customize it almost any way you like."

Comments: Assists with managing polices & procedures. Helps out document control process become more standardized, streamlined, and paperless.

Pros: User-friendly features. The help menu on the side of the screen also helps a great deal. So easy to navigate we did not have to train staff.

Cons: Online text editors are glitchy. Advise using Word documents until text editor issues are resolved.
Wish the CE Administration Module had a backup...Would like to move orientation and training into there but there is no backups performed on it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Michael W.
Laboratory System Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/09

"Lab Procedures and Policy Tracking made "EASY""

Comments: With document control (if done correctly), our laboratory team can evaluate documents quickly and could identify concerns that could be used to improve the laboratory.

Pros: We enjoy the way it tracks and monitors the review and approval of documents. The flexibility of how documents can be organized. The ability to store all types of documents that could be useful for CAP Self-Inspections and CAP Inspections (Inspection Proof). We also like how the system can be used to collaborate between staff members on policies or procedures prior to sending them for approval.

Cons: The challenge was probably the initial setup. However, we were provided with good resources to help accomplish it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/09
Crystal C.
POCC
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22

"Easy"

Comments: a one stop shop for all things competency

Pros: Very easy system to use, customer support has helped tremendously. I appreciate the quick feedback when an issue has arisen.

Cons: I really do not have any cons about the software. I guess I wish that you could bridge the gap between compass being used for POC and general lab.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Leslie S.
QA ADMIN
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/11

"Do you like being organized?"

Pros: Pros: We have over 1000+ documents and MediaLab helps us stay in our CAP regulations. So many functions and the staff from MediaLab is always willing to help us out.

Cons: Cons: Sometimes MediaLab can run a little slow, I'm thinking when they have updates? Although, I'm in MediaLab everyday, all day.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/11
Richello D.
Sr Document Control Specialist
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22

"The interface is fairly easy to use, and the response time is quick."

Pros: I find the search function to be incredibly accurate and helpful. Uploading new and revised documents is easy.

Cons: Lack of customization for reports. It would be nice if we were to be able to sort / rearrange the the document list when viewing user sign off for training.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Jane M.
Clinical Laboratory Director
Hospital & Health Care, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/26

"MediaLab Review"

Comments: Excellent experience

Pros: It is extremely easy to use and very cost effective. Easy to show that staff have reviewed since an email is sent to them each time a policy is edited.

Cons: There is not anything that I dislike about this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/26
Mary alice K.
Health Coach Training Specialist
501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/24

"Admin and create courses for health care company"

Comments: one-stop administering of courses.

Pros: It is easy to create custom courses and assign courses to anyone, anywhere. I love the availability to reach our ambassadors via email to let them know they have new courses and have one place to admin their yearly competencies.

Cons: The sub-administrators have difficulty navigating admin functions, as they are assigned per course.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/24
Verified Reviewer
Senior Managing Partner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22

"This has been a really cost-effective way to organize our lab and maintain compliance."

Comments: This has helped us save an entire forest of trees. It has also improved tracking of our active documents in the lab.

Pros: Prompts to log in and review documents are very helpful. It's also great to be able to see who has accessed specific documents and for how long.

Cons: The UI feels really old and is very appealing. It is also not possible to approve items in bulk (as far as I can tell).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Nekohl M.
Assistant Director of Clinical Support Services
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/24

"Medialab is a good tool to utilize in inspections to organize policies and competencies."

Pros: The ability to have staff go into the software by assigning different programs, also the ability for upper management and physicians to sign off.

Cons: It is not the easiest program to understand and it training or motivating people to begin the process is not the easiest.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/24
Jill J.
QA Specialist
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/08

"Media Lab always helpful and responsiveness is great when I have questions."

Pros: Easy of use, robust, inexpensive, customer support is top notch. So many features have been added over the years at the request of the customer to make functionality even better!

Cons: Downloading documents for editing and then remembering to re-upload them. Linking only in body of document they were uploaded with them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/08
Dan W.
Ancillary Care Director
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/09

"Overall Performance"

Comments: Very positive.

Pros: Very user friendly for the end user. Great to communicate activities to the staff.

Cons: It took me a bit to get the hang of it but with more and more use it makes sense. Not crazy about the way the functions are designed and displayed on the screen.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/09
Sherry S.
Senior Quality Systems Specialist
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22

"This is a great tool for smaller groups. Flexible enough to fit most needs."

Pros: This is a great tool for smaller groups. Flexible enough to fit most needs, and accessible remotely.

Cons: The report generation is not always specific enough when compiling metrics. We are not using it for document approval routing, only training.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Verified Reviewer
POC Coordinator
Higher Education, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/23

"Really like the software. Does a good job of keeping documents in one place and tracks every change."

Comments: Better control of approved document versions, documentation that personnel reviewed the document, Inspection Proof lets us keep all inspection documents in one place for easy inspector access.

Pros: The different modules give use better control of keeping policies/procedures in one place and helps us keep up with review requirements. Inspection Proof module is really great for organizing all our documents for inspection time.

Cons: It can be difficult to navigate and instructions are not very explicit. Setting up the correct permissions can be tricky and the system will not work as intended if not correct.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/23
Sue S.
Technical Lead: Microbiology/Molecular
Hospital & Health Care, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22

"I love using Media Lab for our procedure document control."

Comments: Everything is was very easy to use.

Pros: I like to be able to make quick minor changes that are documented without having to be reviewed by a group of people.

Cons: I would like to be able to cut and paste from a document that I'm viewing to an email or another procedure. I cannot do that now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Tracey O.
Lead tech
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/16

"Nice tool"

Comments: The current document control process is cumbersome with many steps. using the computer to facilitate CAP requirements for review by staff etc is going to be a huge timesaver

Pros: love the ease of annual review and notification to staff. Can't wait until all departments are live so that we can rely on the program in it's entirety

Cons: is a little challenging to navigate, but perhaps the more we use the more familiar it will become

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/16
Roland N.
Medical Technician Supervisor
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22

"It was so easy to uploads the documents and update them as needed."

Comments: All documents are so easy to access / print uncontrolled copies as needed.

Pros: Easy of use, simple navigation. All the documents and SOP are so easy to be accessed when needed. Media Lab is very well designed.

Cons: N/A at this moment. It has been less than a year that my department choose Media Lab for documents control and SOP. I will update if I think of a part that I would like to see it displayed differently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Tracy L.
Senior Regulatory and Compliance Analyst
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22

"Not user friendly"

Pros: It's nice to have one place to store all our documents. Other than that, I really can't think of anything.

Cons: It is not terribly user friendly, and non-computer literate people have a hard time navigating it. I am constantly having to talk people through its use

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Jonathan M.
COO
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/15

"Works... but clunky."

Pros: All documents organized in one place
Due dates on documents

Cons: Crashes a lot
Clunky
Old interface
Back up not user friendly if you leave MediaLab

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/15
Jen D.
Admin Assistan
Medical Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/24

"I do not think Medialab is the correct program for us. It is not user friendly, to many emails"

Pros: I don't care for it. Could have been the way it was originally set up with the other user but it is not what I am needing.

Cons: It is not user friendly in my opinion, to much going on. To many emails are sent, my doctor is not a fan

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/24
Katie S.
Lead Certified Clinical Laboratory Scientist
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/24

"Pleasent thus far"

Pros: Fairly easy to use. I like the search functonality in which it separtates the different document types.
I am just learning about its functionality for training purposes. I feel the program is fairly easy to navigate once shown how.

Cons: I would like to be able to open a document on one screen and have another part of medialab open on the other. I currently have to sign in every time I would navigate through either screen.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/24