Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3,8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,9 /5
  • Customer Service
    3,4 /5

About Quicken

Rental property and personal finances management solution with tenant information tracking, income management, and expense tracking.

Learn more about Quicken

Showing 295 reviews

Fernando G.
Manager
Events Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/17

"I like it. I just don't like monthly fees or having to upgrade to be able to connect bank accounts"

Comments: Great experience. The technology is great. Just hard to keep up with the monthly fees for a small business.

Pros: I like it. I just don't like monthly fees or having to upgrade to be able to connect bank accounts for automatic upgraded on my financial statements.

Cons: Good software. Easy to use and practical. Helps you accomplish accounting needs in an easy way. Connecting directly to your banks helps you get things done faster.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/17
Roger G.
Property Manager
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/07

"USe it daily and have since the early 1990,s"

Pros: Puts all your finances in one place, updates all accounts with minimal keystrokes rather than having to go to each website yourself (Saving lots of time) works like an on-screen checkbook. See your net worth accounts and liabilities in one place. Navigation is easy as a click of the mouse.

Cons: Intuit, the author, recently sold Quicken to an Investment Group. When Microsoft dropped MS Money, Quicken became the Monopoly in the market. Now the new company made some changes and icons are different, some screens have pop-up windows that don't work right, and the internet is full of complaints from long time users. Most of the glitches I found are minor, but changes were made so that everyone had to renew in-order to be able to access all your accounts online with Quicken, a strategy they may use to continually force upgrades and fees! Watch for this. This is what happens when someone sees a chance to capitalize on a monopoly!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/07
Harlan E.
Practice Administrator
Medical Practice, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/01/05

"Quicken works for a smaller office or business"

Comments: Overall I like Quicken... it has done its job albeit more expensively than before

Pros: Quicken allows me to keep track of income and expenditures with a small learning curve

Cons: I have used Quicken for many years and what I dislike the most is that I can no longer purchase the software outright, without Intuit having their claws into my wallet. You have to purchase the seat for the software every couple of years, where before you didnt. You only had to upgrade, if the software had new features that you wanted

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/01/05
Brian S.
Owner
Hospitality, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/08

"Much better than balancing checkbooks"

Comments: One of my essential apps

Pros: I love this software pulling in transactions from my banking and credit accounts online. Each time a transaction is entered into the register I categorize it and add notes. It makes it so easy to go back and search for specific transactions and run reports. I can;t tell you how much time and hassle this software saves me. Besides that, I never have to manually balance a checkbook again!

Cons: I hate the upgrade offer popups that seem to appear about once a week. Oh, also the mobile version of the app doesn't work well for me.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/08
Julie S.
Interim CEO
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/02

"Great integration with my various accounts and bookkeeping software"

Comments: I love this. As a small business owner that has only 6 employees, but jobs from cost to cost, it's great to have such a versatile financial package that can be edited across clients and consultants.

Pros: This integrates with just about everything. Whether it's importing from office or connecting to online XML streams, Quicken is able to pull data intuitively and accurately.

Cons: It can be overly complicated. I think the same channels that provide wise ranging data integration also can create a confusing network of options, especially when there are multiple users in one file.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/02
Kozhi M.
CEO
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/22

"Quicken Review"

Comments: Best product out there. Tried others, including the now defunct Microsoft Money, and this is, by far, the best product for the money. Also, now that they are separate from Intuit, there are some great things on the horizon that will take them to another level.

Pros: Easy to use. Uncomplicated when it comes to inputting data. I like that you can use the mobile app and it syncs with the computer system on the desktop version.

Cons: It would be good to have it work without having to use a desktop version. We are so mobile these days and having to sync with the desktop is a headache.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/22
Steve M.
Economist
Industrial Automation, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/04

"Quicken for Home and Business"

Pros: Ability to maintain household records and part-time consulting business records in the same program. Ability to issue invoices and maintain accounts receivable. Maintain customer and vendor database. Maintain records of business related vehicle expense. Integrates easily with Turbotax.

Cons: The chart of accounts is difficult to maintain. It does not follow usual accounting conventions.It is difficult to save recurring reports. Printing reports is often confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/04
Dandy D.
Owner
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/02

"Quicken Deluxe to keep track of your income, Investments, Expenses, Debts and Loans"

Comments: Overall value of the software is very good, provided you keep your computer equipment up to date. Quickens new feature allows tracking by cell phone, which is a great feature when you are travelling and cannot sit at your home computer

Pros: Accurate tracking of activities in your bank account and credit cards, Investment status and loan balances

Cons: Phone support was phased out and for an old timer who cannot type fast, asking questions is time consuming and requires a lot of patience

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/02
Susan S.
Attorney
Legal Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/06

"Use for Personal and Busines"

Comments: Wonderful program for personal and small business bookkeeping

Pros: It is very easy to use and reports are easy to pull from the software. It is a very powerful software for the price. You can use an app like Dropbox or OneDrive to keep your data available from anywhere.

Cons: Support/help was unable to assist with creating a report that was complex - probably needed to use Quick Books instead of Quicken for this type of report

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/06
Amy B.
Gifted Teacher
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/24

"Quicken"

Comments: Over many years I have had very good success with using this product and would recommend it to anyone. I was very positive for my family when it was offered in an apple compatible version.

Pros: I have used this software for 15-20 years and have found it very useful to me personally and in a small business setting. It allows for personalization in selecting categories for income and expenses. It has been very helpful in keeping track of itemized deductions and investments.

Cons: I don't like that updates are not free with initial purchase. I don't like uploading data and just want it on my own computer and backup. Some of the new features with updates are not necessary to me. But, I can see value for others.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/24
Greg N.
Computer Consultant
Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/09

"Online BillPay is not functional"

Comments: If they resolve the BillPay problem, or if you confirm your bank will accept payment from Quicken through their DirectConnect feature, then the subscription/2019 version should be similar or slightly better than earlier versions. If you need BillPay, DO NOT UPGRADE Quicken until you can confirm they have patched their software to correct this apparent bug.

Pros: Subscription/2019 version is similar to older versions.
Tracks funds easily. Intuitive money management.
Allows download/sync with checking, savings, credit card, and investment accounts.
Subscription model is expensive, but will be offset by no longer having to pay monthly charges for BillPay.

Cons: Requires "upgrade" to 2019 version.
Requires deletion of old BillPay account and manual re-entry of all payee and account info during upgrade.
As of 2/9/19 BillPay is not functional. Have been waiting since 1/6/19 for account activation, so can still not pay bills through quicken using the subscription version I am paying for. Many other customers with same complaint. Support says still trying to resolve similar tickets from customers from December 2018.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/09
Philip H.
Project Manager
Education Management, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/24

"Quicken is useful for corporate and personal finance"

Pros: I find Quicken useful in several different settings, including corporate and personal finance. I most like that Quicken gives me an at-a-glance look at how we're doing and what we need to work on as an organization.

Cons: I least like that to get these at-a-glance reports, there's a lot of setup involved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/24
Debie H.
Self employed
Sports, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/11

"Using quicken makes my life easy"

Comments: Once you have everything loaded it’s a breeze to get through. Easy to find reports, updating is simple.

Pros: I love the fact that at any given time I can get on and know exactly where my Financial situation is at.

Cons: May be a little confusing to get things loaded and started up

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/11
Robert S.
Web Developer/Consultant
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/23

"Quicken is a user-friendly and easy to use"

Pros: Easy to setup and get started; data entry is easy as well; downloading/importing transactions from a financial institution is easy; default reports give you an idea of where you are spending your money; budgeting is informative; easy to run a business including accounts receivable; easy to categorize expenses and attach a document (image or PDF of a receipt)

Cons: The cost of this product can become annoying; once users get used to it though, people find it hard to change; if users can adapt to change easily and want to save some money, there are some online or open-source finance applications that are just as good

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/23
Anthony H.
Director
Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/31

"Fulfilling"

Comments: It is a very easy to use and friendly to those with basic account knowledge

Pros: Easy to in put and set up accounts and reports. it save automatically the work. Anybody can used it.

Cons: That reports need to be transfer to excel to be edited. You cannot print a final report with it directly

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/31
Patrick S.
Sr. Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/11

"Great tool for personal wealth tracking"

Pros: If you are looking for something to manage your personal finances, Quicken is a good choice. You can use as few or as many of the features as you are comfortable with to begin. As your life and your finances become more complicated and more diverse, Quicken is right there with you to grow as you grow.

Cons: The synchronization feature of Quicken can be flaky. Most of the time it works well, but if a financial institution changes their login process, Quicken can hit a wall and stop updating. The online forums are a great place to help you get through most problem situations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/11
Luis G.
Physician
Civic & Social Organization, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/09

"Quicken has lost its way"

Pros: Quicken allows for standard management of finances and in the deluxe version has a host of features including budget management, investement management, and more.

Cons: The problem with Quicken in today's age is that it has passed through many corporate hands and the core problems have never been fully addressed. The system is glitchy. The connections to banks and financial institutions are sometimes inaccurate. But worst of all, the platform has changed to a subscription model where previously owning the software allowed for many years of use. After an "update" in the fall of 2017, my 2016 version stopped working. Online support stated it was a problem with the update and we needed to reinstall, but when we did we could no longer download our transactions. This was a scheming and greedy way for Quicken to try to push users into the 2018 subscription model. With that kind of treatment of it's customers, I'd recommend you go elsewhere.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/09
John R.
Manager
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/20

"Easy to use efficiency of tracking"

Pros: Quick click for access to most account information generate reports quickly for accounting. Great product!

Cons: Took a little while to get accustomed to use, but overall great program!! Really don't have any negative comments about this program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/20
Robert M.
Owner/operator
Food & Beverages, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/12

"Quicken Desktop Software"

Pros: Software allows for multiple company use. Download bank transactions with ease. Multiple reporting options.

Cons: Not user friendly with multiple companies being open. Takes time to download transactions but may be on banks end.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/12
Lois A.
Accounts payable, receivable, bookkeeper, Mother to owner, of site support for all items working directly with owner.
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/13

"Quicken for Small Biz"

Pros: Ability to get reports.. plus the ability to generate you own. I often use the same reports and i can save my own

Cons: The side bar seems to get in the way. I feel as if I am sometime chasing it to work in my register.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/13
Ronald Y.
Orthodontist
Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/04

"Quicken for personal use"

Comments: Highly recommended for everyone to use for tracking their personal finances. You can check your net worth growth annually. Check and to help keep track of your investments. Prices of stocks and values update automatically. Annually you can update the value of other investments.

Pros: Easy to set up. Simple to check your net worth, investments, loan balances, check accounts, etc. I have used Quicken for personal tracking of investments for 40 years. I have recommended Quicken deluxe to my son and nephews for tracking their investments & annual net worth growth. Some investments update automatically (stocks).

Cons: Sometimes too time consuming if used for personal checking accounts if several checks are written. I enter my checks in bulk at month end to make it easier and less time is required. New updates for Quicken are available every year. I usually do not update every year.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/04
Verified Reviewer
Author
Publishing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/18

"Great, simple, easy to use accounting package allowing me to easily do end of year taxes"

Pros: Easy to use
Memorizes transactions
Easily download transactions from banks and credit card companies
Easy to print end of year report for doing taxes
Easy to customize reports
Easy to "FIND" transactions
Great way to reconcile monthly credit card and bank statements

Cons: They changed their pricing, so now you have to pay for an annual subscription, but still worth it!
Connecting with credit card banks could be a little simpler.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/18
Tim P.
Owner
Real Estate, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/31

"Quicken 2018 release is the worst software ever!"

Comments: Someone had best get control of the QA of the software. I would really hate to see this product die after all these years.

Pros: It used to be easy to use and very helpful. It can track your personal bills as well as track rental expenses.

Cons: Extremely buggy. Features that used to work are broken or just removed entirely. There used to be a cool interface showing what bills were coming up - that's been removed and replaced with a simple list. Linking to bill accounts just blows up the whole program and it crashes. Some of the totals don't appear to update when you make changes. All of this, and they've changed to a subscription model, so you can still pay full price, but just receive a year's worth of buggy mess.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/31
Luc m L.
Director - Human Resources
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/26

"Longtime user of Quicken"

Comments: Poweful accounting software with a very strong reputation.

Pros: Quicken has been around for a very long time and stands as a reputable data/budgeting software. it has great ability to output onto various formats which I like

Cons: Not easy to use, and can be somewhat proprietary. I find the user interface not as seamless as I would like however since I've been using it for so long, I've gotten accustomed to its user design

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/26