Optimizely Reviews

by Optimizely

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,6/5
  • Ease of Use
    4,3/5
  • Customer Service
    4,4/5

About Optimizely

Optimizely is the world's leading experimentation platform, enabling businesses to experiment and personalize across websites and apps.

Learn more about Optimizely

Showing 86 reviews

Crystal I.
Marketing Content Developer
Insurance, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/01

"Optimizely is the tool taught in CRO classes"

Pros: I took a CRO course this past year and Optimizely was the go-to A/B testing software. Here's why:
#1: Super easy to use. You do not need to know how to code, anyone can set up a test and launch it same-day.
#2: Super easy to understand data. Optimizely essentially analyzes your data for you. Obviously, you should know your stuff when it comes to statistical significance when to stop a test (hint: not just when you reach statistical significance), etc, but the graphs and data charts are crisp and clean.
#3: Only what you need. I'm sure Optimizely has a TON of features, but I just used it for simple A/B testing. It worked well for this, and I wasn't bogged down with complex aspects that I didn't need. For someone who does want a more complex tool, I'm sure you can find that in Optimizely with more of the advanced features.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/01
Ciprian P.
Senior PHP Developer
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/05

"The best A/B testing tool"

Pros: The best A/B testing tool in my opinion. Light footprint, no screen flickering for variants, experiments easy to set up using the integrated editor and code IDE.

Cons: I can't think of anything I didn't like about this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/05
James P.
Founder
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/12

"Okay A/B testing tool - there are better options"

Comments: I got the ability to set up A/B tests on my website. Nothing too special, since there's a bunch of other software out there that will do the same thing.

Pros: I was attracted to Optimizely because it's a low-cost tool to run A/B tests on websites. Even though their prices have changed over the years, it's still one of the lowest-cost solutions out there. It's also easy to use, because the most time-consuming step is putting the code on your site. If you have a small website, you can get it done in a few minutes.

Cons: Preview mode is really buggy. I also wish there was a way to segment the results by audience. For example, if I'm running a different type of traffic to a page I want to be able to see a separate page of data specifically for that. The new goal setting flow is also buggy, but it is new. Hopefully they fix all the kinks as time goes on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/12
Zuzana B.
Staff Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/21

"An intuitive tool adapted to the needs of its customers."

Comments: It has been very useful at the time of performing the A / B testing, it adapts to the needs of the client, which is an ideal aspect and the reason why it has been implemented in the company, can be used on different platforms and devices without any Disadvantage providing mobility its use extends from a desktop PC to mobile devices without reducing its software potential.

Pros: It is a very simple tool that allows you to perform analytical tests on the web, its interface is complete, it is not necessary to apply a line of code which reduces some time in that aspect, has a good reputation and is also ideal for those beginners who work in web design since it does not require previous knowledge, from my point of view it is an ideal tool that should not be missing in any web development.

Cons: Its characteristics as well as functionalities are suitable both for different users and level of knowledge regarding web development, nothing to say about it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/21
Catherine C.
Marketing Communication Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/10

"Excellent AB testing tool!"

Pros: With this tool, you can check which web page or landing page is working best, thanks to the A / B tests. This option allows you to compare two pages with their different elements. In real time, you can see which one is getting more visits and more conversions. All this without having to have programming knowledge, since you will not have to write a single code. The page that gets the most interactions and the best results will be the one chosen. A good way to guarantee more success in each of your creations.

Cons: This software is very expensive, but it is really worth its initial price, everything else is wonderful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/10
Chad W.
Product Development Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/07

"Easiest A/B Testing Platform Out There"

Comments: I have been using Optimizely for over 2 years now. In my previous role I used another testing and targeting tool that was much more complex to use. Optimizely's user interface is intuitive and the statistical algorithms give you confidence in selecting a winner. The best part about Optimizely is it's support. They have a support line and they will work tirelessly until your issue is resolved. I recommend Optimizely's platform to anyone looking to increase web conversions or provide more personal web experiences.

Pros: - Easy to use
- Support
- Great UI
- Statistical modeling
- Large optimization community

Cons: The price is higher than some tools but you get what you pay for.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/07
Alexandra D.
Customer Data Specialist
Entertainment, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/15

"Still requires some features"

Comments: A product you can rely on. Good documentation and fact customer support

Pros: Easy to use, reliable and an overall well though product. I use it daily and it is my to go recommandation for AB testing

Cons: The fact that the metrics can't be filtered down by propertries and that you can't create your custom metrics based on existing metrics and properties in the Full Stack version

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/15
Gianni G.
CEO and Principal IT Security Consultant
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/20

"Optimizely is a great experimentation platform"

Pros: Optimizely makes it very easy to create the most appealing site for customers, because you can test several scenarios and determine the setup that has the highest conversion rate.

Cons: The problem with Optimizely is that it make take a long time to create the different variant for the tests.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/20
Sorin A.
Digital Marketer
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/26

"Gives Google Optimize a run for its money"

Comments: I've used Optimizely for clients' websites. It generally felt snappy and proved very useful, especially using analytics to prove theories and success.

Pros: - Ease of use: Simple to get started experimenting and testing within the app. - Focused product: The key here is to have the experimentation and not feel left out by other features. - Fast: Neither the UI, nor the actual experiments felt slow. So I really appreciated that.

Cons: - The business model: It started of as a simple SaaS tool and balooned into B2B-ish enterprise land. Where you need to contact sales to even create a trial (if it's even available). - Not easy for beginners: Coming over from other a/b testing tools, it was using the same concepts I was used to. But I can understand why it might seem scary for some. - Not always user focused: The product seems more focused on its image and global standing than focusing on user needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/26
Katherine T.
marketing marketing
Internet, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/10

"industry leader in ab testing software"

Comments: ab testing landing page designs for conversion goals

Pros: offers ab testing, multivariate testing, and robust reporting and analytics as well as additional integrations

Cons: limited integrations with 3rd parties for visualization and data management platforms are not turnkey

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/10
Verified Reviewer
Web/Mobile Optimization Analyst
Airlines/Aviation, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/08/09

"Optimizely is the easiest yet powerful A/B testing tool"

Comments: We have ran optimizely for more than 2 years and getting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining, We have made some great sucessful test and started changing (more likely, creating) the testing culture. Despite of being so easy, it hold a great power allowing you to make changes to your website without knowing to much about web development. Overall its a great tool

Pros: Ease of use
Customer support
Code edition allowed
CSS changing allowed
Complete traffic control
Results with statistical significance

Cons: Not reporting incremental revenue per product (just total revenue)
Editor loading can be hard to get with proxy activated

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/08/09
Verified Reviewer
Conversion Strategist
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/31

"Very powerful A/B Split Testing software"

Comments: Optimizely is very reliable and powerful. The software has worked flawlessly over the 2 years I've used it. It has enabled me to run many profitable A/B split tests for a large UK brand.

Pros: Their tech is flawless. They've put a ton of effort on their stats engine - so you can trust their data. Because the software is so functional and powerful, you'll occasionally need to reference their documentation. Thankfully the documentation is very thorough, concise and helpful.

Cons: It's expensive. Not just subjectively. Relatively, within the split testing technology space, Optimizely is one of the most expensive options.!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/31
Verified Reviewer
Director of Product Experience
1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    2/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/08

"Very well marketed product, doesn't perform up to the hype"

Pros: I like the WYSIWYG editor and I like the user interface. It's relatively intuitive and easy to use, and there are a lot of features that you can customize.

Cons: We had some serious issues with flickering and lag time. The Optimizely team tried to help us fix this for over 9 months. At the end of the day, we gave up, and given the amount we were paying for this service, it was a huge waste of time and money.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/08
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/07

"Great testing tool"

Comments: Optimizely is one heck of a tool that every marketer should use. Recommended.

Pros: As a marketer, I love Optimizely for several reasons. 1. It makes testing a piece of cake.
2. Optimizing a website or any landing page for conversions is one of the best things Optimizely offers you with.
3. It is extremely easy-to-use.
4. Real-time a/b testing lets you monitor any two landing pages for conversions, clicks, and more.
5. User-interface is amazingly intuitive.

Cons: 1. It is expensive. Lowering the price a bit will make it affordable and a lot of startups and small businesses will then be able to use it.
2. It might hurt your site load time which will impact SERPs. So make sure what you prefer.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/07
Verified Reviewer
Senior Director of Digital Marketing
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/18

"Expensive, but does its job well"

Pros: If you've got the money to spend, I haven't found a more comprehensive solution than Optimizely for A/B testing websites. There's a decent amount you can test without being able to code, but fair warning: you're going to need a front-end coder handy for many more-than-basic tests.

Cons: Their test results are misleading; they've adopted the most generous tests of statistical significance so that it feels like you're having more successful tests more often. (I.e., results where there are actual differences between the test variances.) Just make sure you do the math yourself on the test results (using any one of many available online statistical significance calculators).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/18
Tim G.
Product Manager
Real Estate, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/10

"Great product for mid to large sized web businesses"

Comments: Optimizely is very easy to implement, and anyone can start experimenting with the product. To get the most value out of the product you will need to invest in managing a test backlog, test plans, and documenting the results of each experiment. It also helps to have someone with strong front-end development and JS skills to implement experiments as it opens up the capabilities of the product dramatically.

Pros: Easy to set up, easy to use, good professional support services available

Cons: Hard to get to all the functionality without investing development resources

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/10
Oleksandr T.
Product Manager
Internet, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/24

"A tool for website optimization"

Pros: The greatest thing about Optimizely is its setup mode. It is very fast and functions greatly both for websites and mobile devices. Your task is to add their code to your website and you can start optimization. What is more, this software tests everything from button colors to all titles. All changes and errors are depicted on your dashboard. All reports are clear and simple, so you will see everything in front of your eyes.

Cons: It should be stated that Optimizely has a few distinctive drawbacks that should be improved. Firstly, a preview mode isn’t perfect. There are cases when it is buggy and it’s rather annoying. Secondly, a function of testing in general lacks of functionality. Often, it is hard to set up and manage tests. Moreover, redirect tests work very badly. The same thing is with Metrics because it isn’t developed enough.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/24
Laura W.
Director
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/11

"Goldmine when it comes to experimenting - but not affordable for small businesses"

Pros: I've witnessed clever usage of Optimizely increase the revenue through cart checkout conversion by 15% by simply testing the removal of elements on the check-out page that are not essential. The set-up for the experiment was straightforward and required only some technical assistance at hand.

Cons: I'd have liked to continue using Optimizely for my own small venture, however the pricing makes it unaffordable for a small business. But that's definitely one to keep on the radar as it has powerful and comprehensive solutions for A/B Testing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/11
Verified Reviewer
Marketing Project Manager
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/10

"User-friendly AB Testing Tool"

Comments: Great AB Testing platform. Easy to integrate

Pros: We used the standard version of Optimizely for our website and campaign landing pages. It was very effective for A/B testing and and Conversion rate optimization (CRO). I appreciated that it allowed filtering of audience data and that is supports multivariate testing

Cons: The pricing model is too high as compared to other competitor products in the market. We did not renew our subscription after a year owing to this fact

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/10
Justin R.
Project Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/09

"Valuable A/B testing functionalities that are unmatched in other services."

Comments: The ability to A/B test anything, and I mean ANYTHING!

Pros: Allows us to A/B test versions of our websites and landing pages that we would normally not be able to test. A lot of website builders offer integrated A/B testing, but none of them can offer the insights Optimizely can.

Cons: For an A/B split tester, it is a tad on the expensive side, but if you ask me and my team, it is well worth the expense and has paid itself off many times over in optimized conversions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/09
Zsolt M.
Creative Services Designer
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/08/08

"Most advanced in its class"

Comments: Optimizely is definitely the most advanced and widely referred to as "industry standard" conversion optimization tool currently on the market. It's easy to use for beginners and incredibly flexible for the most advanced users/tests. Top notch support and community, always eager to help out and inspire new optimization ideas.

Pros: Robust, trustworthy, flexible, huge user base, huge knowledge base

Cons: Expensive, but only if you're not using it to its full potential.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/08/08
Verified Reviewer
Product Manager / Product Owner
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/12

"General usage of Optimizely"

Comments: We're using Optimizely to confirm our improvement hypothesises and our front end/design team wants to make changes to the UI. Using A/B tests with Optimizely, we measure different kinds of user engagement (search actions, registrations) and use the results to help drive design decisions. On-boarding and support from Optimizely was first-rate. I'd recommend for anybody looking to start use A/B testing for their front end.

Pros: - Test setup is fast and easy, without using lots of time and effort.
- Customisable metrics allow flexibility in monitoring and reporting of experiment performance.
- Constant updates ensure that experiments run cleanly on all devices and platforms.
- Intuitive user interface allows users to learn the platform quickly and efficiently.

Cons: - The previews often never load - this could just be our network.
- Having to routinely click the little shield in the address bar to load the editor is annoying - again I think this is just our network.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/12
Verified Reviewer
Consultor Tecnico - Java Developer
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/12

"Getting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining,"

Comments: Getting know the tool was pretty easy since the beggining, Despite of being so easy, it hold a great power allowing you to make changes.
With this tool, can check which web page is working best, thanks to the A / B tests. This option allows you to compare two pages with their different elements. In real time.

Pros: Is a robust and reliable application, easy to configure, easy to use, with good professional support services. I like the fact that you do not need to know how to code and allows us to concentrate on running multiple tests. Very intuitive and easy to use. For more advanced users, you can also access the raw code, which you can specify to those things that the editor may have done. I enjoy the Optimizely analyzes.

Cons: The URL does not have a bulk upload option for unrelated URL lists. It has matches of substrings and regular expressions that cover most other needs. The price is higher than some tools. It is difficult to reach all the functionalities without development resources.desarrollo.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/12
Josh H.
Senior Email Data Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/14

"Great tool for sample sizes and testing"

Pros: It was fairly straight forward on how to use it to ensure that we were testing adequate sample sizes in order to get significance from our testing.

Cons: One thing I wish it had was more information about different testing strategies or ways to optimize current practices.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/14
Verified Reviewer
Digital Marketing Supervisor
Automotive, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/23

"Introduced Our Team To World Of A/B Testing - Great Product"

Pros: - Absolutely amazing dashboard for analysis, really saved our team time vs. individually getting our developers to change one element only to find out it performed worse.. This tool will save you from that
- Customer support was great
- SUPER easy to use given it's capabilities
- Ton of features to utilize

Cons: - Incredibly expensive for what our team paid for BUT in terms of a cost/benefit analysis it's paid off (with the time we've saved going to our developers for A/B testing changes to the website, it'll pay itself off in a 1 year or so)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/23