Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,6 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,6 /5

About EmailOctopus

Easy-to-use, affordable email marketing tool for businesses and individual creators wanting to grow and engage an audience.

Learn more about EmailOctopus

Showing 124 reviews

Teresa F.
Service Designer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/05

"Solid free option for creating campaigns and sending newsletters"

Comments: It was easy to start using EmailOctopus, create and send newsletters, and keep track of their stats. Wound up switching back to MailChimp because newsletters often did not reach many of the recipients with EmailOctupus.

Pros: - The free version is good enough for use in a small company
- Campaigns are easy to create, start, and track
- Mailing lists are easy to create, import, export and edit
- Easy to use, even for new users

Cons: - Emails often did not reach their target recipients
- Editor could have more features

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/05
Verified Reviewer
Manager
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/25

"Fantastic low-cost email host"

Comments: I needed an easy and inexpensive way to host email. This has done the trick and then some! Really pleasantly surprised.

Pros: Very easy to use, inexpensive. Great deliverability!

Cons: Doesn't have an easy way to segment your subscribers.

Vendor Response

by EmailOctopus on 2020/04/24

Hi there,

We have some good news on segmentation - we've just launched this as a feature so you can now segment your mailing list based on custom fields and the data that's most important to your business.

Let us know how it works for you.

Thanks,

Tom

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/25
Andoni S.
Coach for Inspiring People
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/29

"Good option to start with email marketing"

Pros: Integrates very easy with amazon ses and that makes the deliverability rate be so high!

Cons: The automation is very poor. You can't send emails based on behaviour but just with a delay of hours/days/weeks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Verified Reviewer
Online Performance Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/09

"Great value for tinkerers"

Comments: From what I know, it's mostly the work of 2 people. Which is impressive. The tool however feels very half-baked, compared to Sendy for example. I've used for a few months, then quit for another system that used the same Amazon SES infrastructure.

Pros: - Very clean and easy to understand interface.
- Once you get it up and running, it's a breeze to send emails.
- There's a free plan to start with.

Cons: - Hard to start sending emails - you have to be approved by Amazon, then request an increase in sending limits. It's a bit of a hassle.
- Automation features feel very shallow.
- The forms are nothing interesting, but they do work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/09
Koray cenk E.
Owner
Hospitality, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/28

"Great Solution for business"

Comments: I organize my emails very speedy and without spending much time.
And yes the best things is the price of all these services.
It is so economical.

Pros: I used another software and when you calculate prices Email Octopus looks best.

Cons: You should do some changes in the future for easy searching tools.
Also, i discuss this with you and you reply me kindly to do it in the near future :)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/28
Russell N.
Publisher
Publishing
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/13

"I was using another service, and I'm getting way better deliverability now!"

Comments: I can send emails for cheaper, with better deliverability.

Pros: I love the deliverability and the price. I'm paying way less than before and getting a lot more out of it.

Cons: I don't like the email set up. I think there should be a better email builder. Additionally, my click rate isn't as good as with my last service, even though my deliverability is better, which again, can be improved with making a better builder. I spent way too long trying to figure out the builder, and had to go into the HTML to make it work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/13
Koray E.
owner
Hospitality, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/02

"great"

Comments: i prefer first because of the economic, so it saves my budget.

Pros: low price and easy to organize all in their system

Cons: organizing email templates is so easy in their system

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Abs F.
Developer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/21

"So easy to use with great deliverability"

Pros: I have a large mailing list which became expensive on Mailchimp. I moved my business from Mailchimp to EmailOctopus. I haven't looked back since. It's very cheap and I get fantastic deliverability.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/21
Said H.
CEO
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/02

"Good software for basic campaign sending"

Pros: It does what it is for : sending compaigns with a good value for money

Cons: Lack of functionalities as for automation and possibility of team work

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Colin W.
Author
Media Production, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/28

"A Simpler & Cheaper Newsletter Option"

Pros: It's minimalist and clean—just the essentials, no unnecessary decorations. And that simplicity is tethered to a very usable interface, and an incredibly competitive pricing model.

Cons: There are still some features on costlier competitors that I miss, but 95% of the time, these aren't an issue. And I suspect that over time, many of them will be added. I'm willing to wait because of the crazy amount of money I'm saving.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/28
Daniel P.
Sound Designer
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/30

"Great Service!"

Comments: I love it! I also love the customer support.

Pros: The ease of use and the transparency the service provides. Very user friendly and simple to use!

Cons: I can not think of anything off of the top.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/30
Maggie C.
Author
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/02

"Excellent Email Service and Excellent Value"

Comments: Excellent. The support has been fantastic, and it is excellent value.

Pros: Once I went through the learning curve, I found it much faster and easier to use than the other services, and I've been with the big three. I'd take Octopus over them in a heartbeat!

Cons: When you copy and paste text, it lands as a solid block. I have to re-enter the paragraphs. But all the other features make up for it. Also, there's no filter to check if there are duplicate entries in more than one segment, but I understand that's coming.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Dr. albert K.
Business Development Manager
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/02

"EmailOctopus Client Review"

Comments: We have tried several marketing platforms from Sendgrid to MailChimp but nothing beats EmailOctopus in terms of delivery rate, customer support and the pricing is great! This software is indeed value for money. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who wants to succeed in email marketing.

Pros: It is easy to use and the support is great! It is also value for money and the delivery rate is excellent.

Cons: Nothing much but just increase the number of templates. Also, add the ability for clients to download those who have read the campaigns and automatically engage these clients

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Katrina W.
Owner
Publishing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/02

"Everyone should switch over"

Comments: I'm a new business with a small budget. EmailOctopus helps me stay in contact with a large number of people without obliterating my profits so I have a chance to keep growing.

Pros: EmailOctopus offers everything I need to create and manage my newsletters at a price point I can actually afford. It's helping my early-stage business punch well above its weight.

Cons: Getting set up and designing emails used to be a bit more work than other platforms. Now that the drag-and-drop design tools and other features have been upgraded, most of these gaps have closed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Marzio V.
Lawyer
Legal Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/05

"Very good mailing service."

Pros: It's easy, inexpensive and works very fine. I love it!

Cons: I have not yet found something that I need and it cannot do.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/05
Ryan S.
VP, A&R
Music, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/12

"Love it!"

Comments: Stellar.

Pros: It's free if you're under 2k recipients, which I am. More importantly, it's easy to use, easy to set up good-looking emails, and I can customize anything. No learning-curve. It's a quick dive-in. Easy to update and modify my contacts list.

Cons: Honestly, I have no complaints. It's good.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/12
Thomas G.
Author
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/02

"Extremely efficient way to handle mailing lists"

Comments: Works really well

Pros: Cheaper than mailchimp, good dashboards, has bookfunnel integration api, great campaign and automation planning tool

Cons: mailing list segmentation has limited features

Vendor Response

by EmailOctopus on 2020/04/24

Hi Thomas,

We have some good news on segmentation - we've just launched this as a feature so you can now segment your mailing list based on custom fields and the data that's most important to your business.

Let us know how it works for you.

Thanks,

Tom

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Anja C.
Owner
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/29

"It's easy so I actually use it!"

Comments: I love how easy it is to use and if I have any issues, customer service is always excellent!!

Pros: I love how simple Email Octopus is to use. Because of this I actually send regular emails and stay in contact with my customers. I'm not ultra tech savvy so this is perfect for me.

Cons: I wish I could segment my lists more and have more ability to drill down and only send certain follow up emails to certain customers.

Vendor Response

by EmailOctopus on 2020/04/24

Hi Anja,

We have some good news on segmentation - we've just launched this as a feature so you can now segment your mailing list based on custom fields and the data that's most important to your business.

Let us know how it works for you.

Thanks,

Tom

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/29
Simona M.
Journalist
Newspapers, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/03/20

"A great value for the paid fee"

Pros: I switched from Mailchimp to Emailoctopus when my mailing list grew and I think it was a good, money saving choice. What's more, Octopus is easy to use and their customer support is great. I highly recommend their service.

Cons: I'd like to get more data and figures about every specific recipient behaviour.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/03/20
Pete S.
District Associate
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/10

"EmailOctopus is a Great Inexpensive Option Among a Field of Competitors Pricing Out Small Nonprofits"

Comments: It has been easy, affordable, and effective to get our email campaigns going with EmailOctopus. It really is the right solution for us.

Pros: It is the price and simplicity that drew me to EmailOctopus and make it the right solution for our organization. While it lacks some of the advanced features of competitors like MailChimp and Constant Contact, it has the features that we need to manage our email campaigns. List management, simple segmentation, basic email campaigns, and a simple editor that makes it easy to create good looking emails is exactly what we needed.

Cons: I wish that we could do a little more with the custom fields in the member lists. For example, you can't include dynamic content based on a field on a subscriber's profile except for the contents of the field itself.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/10
Mo C.
Content Writer & Social Media Manager
Publishing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/29

"EmailOctopus is the best value for email marketing hands down!"

Comments: EmailOctopus lets me email by list affordably, quickly, and easily. It enabled me to reach my customers regularly with a high deliverability rate, virtually no spam complaints (EmailOctopus is integrated with Amazon SES) , and the price cannot be beat. Forget the rest and use EmailOctopus!

Pros: EmailOctopus is easy to use, has a clean and simple to use interface, and has the best price for email marketing that makes it affordable. I tried many other competitors, and EmailOctopus is the best by far.

Cons: I'd like to see the ability to segment email lists and more ready-to-use templates.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/29
Ryan B.
Trustee, Area 7
Higher Education, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/28

"Best Email Service Anywhere"

Comments: Outstanding. I have so much control and flexibility to use this service for so many bulk emailing applications and I can scale up or down to mirror my busy seasons. I have been thrilled with this service for years.

Pros: I have been a user of EmailOctopus for years and have seen the company, services, and functionality grow and develop over time. The customer service has been extraordinary whenever I have had questions and I have always received highly respectful communications from this company. They know that your success makes them succeed as well so they are in your corner every step of the way and they treat customers fairly at all times. The ease and flexibility of this web-based program are outstanding and I have made recommendations in the past that have since been implemented. What the service is now is a godsend for anyone needing to send bulk emails whether frequently or occasionally because they allow you to scale up or down to your needs, which I see as further proof of their customer first philosophy. The setup is easy if you follow the instructions or ask for any help and once you are setup with amazon and email octopus, you can be confident that you will achieve everything you desire with this service. Best of luck to you all in future endeavors.

Cons: None Exist. Try to change my mind. This service is outstanding.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/28
Ian R.
Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/10

"I Only Use This Software Because it Works"

Comments: I ave never really had any issues with Email Octopus and only have good things to say. If you are using something else for your email services, I highly recommend you check this out. They are easy to use, very affordable, and the service is clean/not bogged down with a bunch of stuff that no one uses.

Pros: Easy to use dashboard, all the basic features I want without all the fluff of the other software out there, and the price is WAY better than most

Cons: It can be a pain to set it up with AWS. I would recommend getting an AWS freelancer to set it up for you initially if you don't know how to work with it

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/10
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/06/11

"Simple mailing lists"

Comments: I don't think I've ever had a better experience integrating with an API than with EmailOctopus. Their email support is also one of the best I've ever dealt with.

Pros: I like how quickly I was able to set it up. I also frequently give their API documentation as an example of a perfectly written document. While composing a new campaign, the UI doesn't get in the way and I'm able to just get down to work.

Cons: I couldn't figure out a way to "merge" multiple user lists, or send a campaign to users from multiple different lists at once.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/06/11
Brian S.
CEO
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/01

"KISS for email marketing"

Comments: I use it to send a weekly email to my former ukulele students (300+). I also send out 'tech tips' to authors on a semi-regular basis.

Pros: What I love most about email octopus is the simplicity of it. The interface is minimal by design which doesn't derail me when I just need to get an email out to my lists.

Cons: I would love it if they supported markdown.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/01