Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,7 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,6 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,9 /5

About Calamari

Calamari is integrated with Slack, JIRA, G Suite and Office365. Track your HR records, vacation, PTO, attendance and manage timesheets.

Learn more about Calamari

Showing 375 reviews

Monika A.
Finance Manager
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/30

"Very simple tool that integrates easily with Jira, Slack and HR payroll software"

Comments: All in all the system improved our corporate life. Everyone finally knows how many day-off he can/may use during a year.

Pros: We like this tool, because it's synchronized with other tools used in our organization (e.g. outlook Calendar, Jira, Optima, Slack, Office365). It is very userfriendly and intuitive and can be customized the way we need. We have a lot of different types of agreements and hence a lot of different absence types - and the system enables to configure everything the way we need. Additionally we are delighted with a customer support.

Cons: Lots of possibilities to customize ( absence types, calendars, working shifts, approval processes etc.) makes the system more complex to configure and it looks difficult at the beggining, but - when you start to udnerstand different dependancies and how it's built - is stops to be a problem. Customer support is of absolutely marvelous, always responsive and very, very helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/30
Lisa A.
HR
Telecommunications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/16

"Calamari is a great and user-friendly time management product"

Comments: Overtime has been much easier to check with Calamari then with the system we used before. It takes less time to implement and gives every manager the possibility to monitor their teams. Users are quite happy with the system: easy to add and validate absences. The many possibilities to add the time in the clock in module, using or not the app, makes it very adaptable to every user.

Pros: it is easy to adapt to any situation, easy to modify and very easy to use. The implementation of the software might take quite long at the beginning, but once it's working, it takes less than 5 min to add new users, adapt their activity rate or week types. The leave module is very practical, especially because anyone can check the absence/presence of all team members. The integration with Outlook and Microsoft Office is a great advantage.

Cons: The only thing that could be improved is to add the possibility to set up a date when there is a change of activity rate or week type for an employee.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/16
Jay C.
HR Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/24

"Excellent HR Management tool"

Comments: On the few occasions that we have required support or assistance they have been extremely attentive both through the live chat feature and over emails. We've received 5 star service at every turn. Our thanks go to their team for being so responsive.

Pros: We use Calamari for a range of HR activities. The most useful features that we use on a daily basis include:
1. Absence Requests: Employees are able to request paid time off / vacations / unpaid leave etc in a formal and structured manner. The approval process is easy to calibrate and set up for managers. Provides an easy process where documentation can be added to support requests (such as medical leave notes).
2. Calendar feature: When payroll exceptions need to be considered, the calendar feature is an easy way to make any adjustments that need to be made. It also enables you to plan for staggering of vacations for employees inside the same department. 3. Employees: Easy to create a database of all employees where information from starting dates, salary etc. can be recorded and quickly accessed. 4. Reports: Functional and and easy to prepare using this feature.

Cons: As far as the requirements of our business go, Calamari offers all the necessary features (and additional ones) that we need. We have no complaints regarding the software that have come up in the time we have been using it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/24
Erik G.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/25

"Reliable, Use Anywhere in the World Boss tools"

Comments: Great the times I had questions support was fast, the app works across all platforms, and accessible anywhere

Pros: Its straight forward interface, even fixing employees times is easy, and the automation of the overall software is great, work hours, breaks, vacations, even after hours time tracking is easy, makes payroll fast

Cons: I only have one definition of what works and what doesnt work and Calamari always WORKS,

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/25
Shawn V.
Project Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/29

"Great Value Remote Time Management Software"

Comments: I enjoyed it and will continue to use it.

Pros: Great value for the money, easy to learn, easy to manage

Cons: Could use more functionality, such as "batch editing" of employees so that I can select 10 employees at once and edit them all to the same "schedule"

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/29
Julie W.
Business Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/04

"Incredible level of service"

Comments: We were using a spreadsheet to track employee leave before we switched to Calamari - we're a small organization, so the spreadsheet worked for a time, but this was a huge upgrade. It has everything we need and more to keep track of leave. Very easy to use, and I love the incredible level of support they offer. Can't wait to check out the time tracking upgrades they are planning to roll out.

Pros: The customer service is some of the best I've experienced. I took a video tour when I was considering the software, and the person who helped me with that was great, following up with me and going out of her way to make sure I had all the information I needed.
The software is easy to use, and if you get stuck they are happy to help you out. They also do a lot of the setup for you, which is wonderful. The pricing is very reasonable, and the leave tool is more than we need for our small organization.

Cons: The time tracking software didn't have all the features I was looking for at the time I was comparing tools, so I only chose to use Calamari for the time tracking tool. I want to reevaluate next year though, because they are adding more features and it'd be great to have everything all in one place.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/04
Tatiana M.
Office Operations Specialist
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/06

"Calamari is user-friendly, intuitive and their support is incredible!"

Comments: Calamari helped our team automate the PTO request and approval process, eliminating a lot of manual work.

Pros: A couple of features that really made a difference for us were the integrations with Google calendars and Slack. The reports available for managers and administrators have also been a big help for our team!
Customer rep did an amazing job with setting up the account, and he really helped us customize items that were important to us. In addition, the Calamari team was able to build and change a few features that were essential to our team. It is clear to us that this platform is always evolving, and that Calamari is committed to delivering what customers need. We are very happy with what we have seen so far!

Cons: The only thing we would really like to see is an integration with Google Team Calendars. We rely heavily on Slack to warn teams about absences, and unfortunately, this is not something that can be done via Calamari at this time.

Vendor Response

by CHROBRUS on 2017/06/10

Thanks Tatiana for this stellar review:) and as you mentioned at Calamari we are committed to delivering what customers need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/06
Nicholas G.
Business Development Director
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/16

"Works"

Pros: Overall once you understand how to use it, Calimari is very straightforward to use

Cons: It would be nice if the price was a little bit less, there are other packages that do not cost as much

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/16
Janaya H.
Executive Assistant
Investment Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/28

"Edenhurst Capital review of Calamari"

Comments: The customer service is excellent and the system is easy to use

Pros: The software is incredible simple to use for employees and admin, the interface is clean and intuitive.

Cons: There are a few leave accrual options not included, eg. accruing leave over a 1 year period as opposed to annually. I use a simple work around and allocate a future accrual on the day required but it is extra admin and can fall down if I forget

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/28
Olivier L.
Operations Manager
Oil & Energy, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/14

"Great affordable app for Small and Medium business to easily manage staff leaves"

Comments: We have implemented Calamari ~6 months ago and it allowed both employees and manager to track people leave a lot more easily than just using spreadsheet and accounting software which not everyone in the business has access too. We got rid of the leave forms thanks to Calamari and just that was a big win as it tracks everything and is still easy enough to manually override when required. The phone app showing your current entitlement is loved by our employees who used to never know how much leave they had available. It's also very easy to request and approve leaves thanks to it. However, more functionality on the phone would be welcome, especially for managers and admins. For the price point, we consider Calamari provides exactly what we need and has excellent customer service.

Pros: - Simple to configure
- Easy interface
- Mobile app for request/approval
- Office 365 integration

Cons: - Layout of some areas like the calendar could be improved.
- Phone app needs more functionalities.
- Granular admin role required (currently either employee or full admin).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/14
Mikołaj W.
Finance Director
Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/10

"Please, choose Calamari. It helps them to develop the app rapidly"

Comments: Very good application to manage people absence. A source of information of free days for the people. Very useful.

Pros: The app is very easy to use. Good and comfortable integration with another software.

Cons: Colours only nothing else :-)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/10
Ben R.
Project Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/07

"A fabulous system for nearly all of your HR needs"

Pros: Great UI, fabulous customer service, easy to use from a team setup and approval process, and it now include a lengthy list of 3rd party integrations such as O365 and JIRA etc. A must have in the workplace!

Cons: There could be some better intergration with JIRA but there are multiple systems out there and it's hard to cater for all items. A public roadmap would be amazing!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/07
Jill C.
Human Resources
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/16

"A simple and elegant solution for our PTO / Leave management"

Comments: Visibility for managers to track time off.

Pros: I like the simple and elegant UI, it integrated to Google Suite and Slack with ease. My colleagues giggled about the name and had no idea what I was talking about at first. The designers liked the logo. Awesome customer service!

Cons: It doesn't seem to show true YTD absences, only all approved (which can be in the future). But they seem to constantly roll out updates, so I'm sure it will be possible in the next month or so.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/16
Cristina P.
Office Administrator
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/27

""Excellent Costumer Service""

Pros: It's a friendly user application, easy to navigate yourself through it. Additionally, they have an amazing costumer service team always willing to solve any issues in a timely manner.

Cons: Lack of flexibility in terms of amending an already approved leave request.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/27
Patrycja P.
Producer
Computer Games, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/25

"Reliable, easy to use, user-friendly software that helps save time"

Comments: I introduced Calamari (Leave Management only) to 2 companies, every time the process was smooth and support was really friendly and consumer-oriented. Calamari is a tool that, once set up, just works. It saved me and my colleagues a lot of time and headaches when we counted days off for each employee in a spreadsheet. It's foolproof and people got used to it very quickly. Both companies had simple and straightforward policies for days off and Calamari fits in wonderfully.

Pros: + intuitive, simple to use
+ helps save time
+ super friendly and helpful support
+ modifiable acceptance flow
+ mobile app

Cons: Overall, I am very happy with everything it has to offer and the way it's designed. I never felt it's missing something.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/25
Caterin D.
administrative and marketing officer
Nanotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/09

"Great app!"

Comments: contacting customer service is pretty easy and helpful, they are very quick responding and they are always willing to help you! had a talk for about 2 hours where they guide me through all the software

Pros: easy to adjust your company's preferences and the mobile app makes it accessible for all your employees

Cons: it has a loot of features, that some times it is a bit confusing so you will need someone ( in my case) to help you to understand it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/09
Julia M.
Co-founder, Chief Revenue Officer
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/03

"excellent leave management system!"

Pros: * Easy to setup
* Intuitive dashboard
* Extremely useful for leave management for teams in different countries
* Really helpful support team (Customer Success Specialist)

Cons: * More features for mobile app (attachments, calendar, availability)

Vendor Response

by CHROBRUS on 2018/04/05

Hello Julia!

Thanks for a feedback, actually we are working on new features and improvements every day :) :) Eg. attachments from the mobile app are available now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/03
Verified Reviewer
Office Assistant
Construction, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/31

"Made time management and team tracking easy"

Pros: As an office assistant, I was also tasked to keep track of our team’s presence for meetings, team building events, company assemblies, office seminars and other company official get-togethers. Calamari helped me track attendance and time in and out of everyone part of the team. I have also suggested this software to our HR officer for tracking leaves, absences and others. The software is easily learned and easy to navigate. Integrations are possible with some other software which makes it easier to monitor attendance.

Cons: Not much to complain about at this point in time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/31
Verified Reviewer
CEO
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/29

"Positive review"

Comments: It is good.

Pros: Easy to use, integration with other services

Cons: I would like to have more features, without paying additional money. It is to expensive in my opinion.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/29
Rachael G.
Quality Control/secretary
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/19

"I honestly haven't had any problems with Calsmari. Easy to use. Very inexpensive."

Pros: It's super easy to navigate. Foolproof. Simple. My rep is super helpful, friendly and patient. My employees love it. It's seriously as easy as clicking a button. Anyone can use this software.

Cons: I wish there was a way to see more of the GPS feature. It's hard to know exactly where the clock in/out is because it only shows a small area. I also wish there were representatives in the US for quicker help.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/19
Lucie M.
Financial manager
Events Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/25

"Efficient and adaptable"

Comments: good

Pros: easy to use
modern interface
possibility to set up complex rules for each employee and to customize everything easily

Cons: Birthday alerts on Slack when an employee gains one year of seniority

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/02/25
Grzegorz T.
Manager
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/16

"Calamari Review"

Pros: Because is easy and have all functions that we need

Cons: I like very much that I have all information about my works. When Have holidays, when they are in work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/16
Gino M.
COO
Computer Games, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/14

"Excellent Leave Management software. Note that the Clockin module is not used."

Comments: Excellent. They made the transition easy and helped to implement the one-off transition work. Their service when you need guidance is superb.

Pros: Integration with Slack and Office365. Highly configurable and easy to use.

Cons: Some of the on-screen instructions and prompts could be a little bit clearer, but it isn't a significant issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/14
George C.
General Manager
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/07

"Easy to use"

Pros: easy to use, the calendar to see who is in the office

Cons: it is a bit awkward that you have to be redirected to pay via paypal instead of t

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/07
Thomas S.
Program Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/16

"Osnium Software"

Comments: This tool definitly helps out with keeping track of employees days off, vacation balances and person/sick days very easily. Have not had an instance where the software has carshed which is great

Pros: It is very easy to use and keep track of everyone's days off, applications for days off, and to see what is their remaining allowance is

Cons: No con's at the moment as it is simple to use. Sometimes the request for days off for the user logged in or having to select "On behalf of" is not always super intuitive

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/16