SongShow Plus Reviews

by r-technics

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8/5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5/5
  • Customer Service
    3.8/5

About SongShow Plus

Worship management solution that helps churches create custom slideshows, broadcast live videos, schedule requests and manage content.

Learn more about SongShow Plus

Showing 12 reviews

Bill B.
volunteer
Religious Institutions, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/12

"Kitchen sink presentation softwarer"

Comments: Have used it since the mid-2000s every week. It gets the job done. We rely on it to produce a service where technical glitches do not distract from worship. Apart from the video issues which we are still troubleshooting, it's a workhorse.

Pros: If I need it in our church service, Songshow can do it. It may not always be obvious or handy, but the capability is there. Song lyrics, picture and video backgrounds, Bible quotations, video projection, Powerpoint, multi-screen handling, we use it all. We create programs for upcoming services and use them at practice, making mods as we go. Updating lyrics, reordering songs and announcements, importing slideshows and videos are all fairly straightforward. The software is reliable, the only problems we have had during a service were network or media related, not SSP itself.

Cons: The display is almost infinitely customizable, but finding the setting you want can be difficult. We have had problems with stuttering and freeze-ups when projecting video, but we're not sure if it's the program or the network. Normally the database is on a file server connected by Gigabit ethernet. Video projection improved when we moved the database to a local drive, but then we can't share it among presentation workstations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/12
Matthew L.
Tech Director
Religious Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/22

"An Industry Pioneer"

Comments: I used SSP weekly to both plan and execute up to 4 church worship gatherings. It was used to display song lyrics, informational slides, presentation notes/points and audio/video elements to a gathering of up to 200 people.

Pros: I purchased SSP for my organization when it first came out and I have to say it was cutting edge for its time. I love that it is built from the ground up for churches and worship environments. It made managing service planning and database information much easier.

Cons: Although it was cutting edge initially, I feel that the software has not kept pace with industry shifts over the years. Specifically as standard resolutions, frame rates, and aspect ratios have changed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/22
Rex A.
Lead Pastor
Religious Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/25

"A little clunky but got the job done"

Comments: I used this software at two different churches, and it was a much better option at the time than PowerPoint. It ran on Windows computers, so the interface mimicked Windows. It was a little clunky to use but it was reliable and got the job done. There are better options out there now, but at the time this was the best option.

Pros: We were able to get the lyrics on the screen without having to use PowerPoint.

Cons: It was a little clunky to use, but got the job done.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/25
Paul F.
Church Planter
Religious Institutions, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/07

"SongShow Plus"

Comments: I loved using SongShow Plus for our church services. It was convenient and a useful resource to make the service flow seamlessly.

Pros: I liked that this product had so many features to create a service. It also became easy to use after some practice.

Cons: The one downside of this product is that there is so much it can be overwhelming when first using it. However, after a little practice, it is easy to see just how much can be done with this product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/07
Matt H.
Lead Software Engineer
Religious Institutions, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/31

"Terrible product for churches"

Comments: When we started using SongShow Plus around 20 years ago, it was a decent system--about as good as others out there, though probably not quite as good as ProPresenter. However, the company seems to have no vision as to what church presentation software should be, so they just keep making small, almost worthless updates a few times a year. There have been no major releases in recent history. The entire product needs an overhaul, but it seems unlikely that such a thing will happen any time soon. The past ten years or so have been frustrating in terms of using this for our services, and thankfully we finally replaced it with Faithlife Proclaim, which has been a MUCH more pleasant experience.

Pros: The song database organization was designed decently, in that you could have multiple collections of songs within a database, and could easily create copies, duplicates, etc when needed. You could also customize aspects of a song within a particular service without impacting other places it might be used. Songs were also built using Verse/Chorus/Bridge/etc parts vs. just throwing words on a slide, which made it easy to pick any part of the song you wanted for quick display.

Cons: There are many reasons not to choose SongShow Plus. First, it is buggy. We've had it crash numerous times in the middle of or just before a service. Once a service was running, we tried not to make any changes to the database, as that could cause the entire application to hang without warning. Sometimes it would recover, other times it wouldn't, thus leaving you stuck. Overall, things operated very slowly. Second, the provides an extremely poor UX. SSP has evolved over time to incorporate various features, but the UI has been the same for 20 years. It's hard to find what you're looking for, UI elements look old and pixelated, and screen real-estate is used poorly. Finally, r-technics (the company that makes SSP) seems to be making minimal updates to the software at this point, while still charging hundreds of dollars per year to keep it up to date. You don't have to pay the support fee if you want to stay on the current version, but then you don't even get bug fixes. There are much cheaper options out there that provide better value.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/31
Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/20

"Works Well Running on Windows"

Comments: I recommend for Windows users if your budget allows. If on a Mac, try the trials of native Mac software.

Pros: This is a great way to stay organized and quickly change slides to the correct verse when you make a mistake. Powerpoint integration is also nice. Being able to backup is important. I also like being able to setup a sequence of the different verses, bridges, choruses, etc. so you can practice with the band and figure out the correct order. There are plenty of background options though black with white letters is always the most readable. Sometimes I would add snowflakes.

Cons: I wish it ran native on a Mac. Our church has to run VMWare Fusion in order to use this software. Also exporting to additional formats would be nice for if you ever switch applications (have not tried the latest version of this software, so exporting may be improved).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/20
Mike L.
Pastor of Worship and Creative Arts
Religious Institutions, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/31

"Former User"

Comments: We experienced some significant issues with customer support with resolving technical problems.

Pros: Had basic functionality of most presentation software. Easy to use.

Cons: Was not able to provide advanced features needed for our application.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/31
Tim M.
Pastor
Religious Institutions, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/27

"Great product"

Comments: able to project graphics and information on a screen during services.

Pros: Our church has been using Song Show for several years to project song lyrics, announcements, sermon notes, etc. during the services. Those who use it really like it, and we haven't really had any complaints.

Cons: It could be a bit more user friendly. There is a bit of a learning curve but once you get the hang of it, it's not too bad.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/27
Paul G.
videographer
Media Production, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/31

"A solid choice."

Comments: It allows us to show slides on a screen and it is specifically designed for a worship setting.

Pros: This software does everything you need it to. It gets slides on the screen and has pretty good song management.

Cons: Compared to its main competitor, it is slow, clunky, and under featured. While this may accomplish everything you need it to, consider looking elsewhere.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/31
Dany H.
Pastor
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/25

"It's presentation software."

Pros: SongShow does what it's supposed to do. It has some features that some of the competition does not have.

Cons: Main reason we use something else is we run Macs across the board. Also some of the features available with SongShow seem a little impractical and pointless.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/25
Craig S.
Admin
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/30

"I love this program. It makes adding worship programs easy and fun."

Pros: The program works well and it is easy to use. I love the fact that you can easily modify existing program and move slides around and reorder programs.

Cons: I do not like the fact that you cannot have multiple background images per slide to customize your program according to the song you are displaying.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/30
Verified Reviewer
Production & Media Manager
Religious Institutions, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/29

"Simple software for presenting during church surfaces"

Pros: This software is crazy easy to use. Putting together a simple service takes just a few mins

Cons: It doesn't have the robust features and system that ProPresenter does.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/29