15 years helping South African businesses
choose better software

About JIRA Service Management

Jira Service Management is an ITSM software that unlocks high-velocity teams to deliver great service experiences fast and together.

Learn more about JIRA Service Management

Pros:

Offers a wide variety of customization options making it easy to tailor to multiple business needs. Dashboard shows you what cases you have open and the stages the cases are in.

Cons:

Custom domains, multiple email handing, enhanced portal customization, the basics... all missing.

JIRA Service Management ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

JIRA Service Management has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 668 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used JIRA Service Management before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (668)

Dawit
Dawit
IT Administrator in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Effortless Collaboration and Task Management: A Closer Look at JIRA Service Management

5.0 last year

Comments: My overall experience with JIRA Service Management has been exceptional. The platform has revolutionized our incident management process and significantly improved collaboration among team members

Pros:

One of the aspects I liked most about Jira Service Management was its exceptional incident resolution efficiency. The platform truly excels in streamlining the incident management process, enabling our team to respond swiftly and effectively to any issues that ariseWith Jira Service Management, we were able to create a centralized incident ticketing system that provided complete visibility into ongoing incidentsThe automation capabilities of Jira Service Management were a game-changer. We were able to set up predefined workflows and triggers, ensuring that incidents were routed to the appropriate teams and escalated as needed

Cons:

While Jira Service Management offers a plethora of robust features, one area that I felt could benefit from improvement was its reporting capabilities. Although the platform provides basic reporting functionalities, there are certain areas where additional enhancements would be valuable

Lillian
Lillian
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

We track incoming work with Jira Service Management

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: I prefer Jira Service Management because it is very similar to Jira software; If you are familiar with Jira software, you will have no problem using this one. Concise but effective.

Pros:

First of all, Jira allows us to manage customer support requests in an organized way. They can be tailored to individual squads and relatively easily monitored. All relevant details can be stored in one location in a Jira request. Jira is an easy-to-use tool and request tracker for teams, with features including customizable dashboards, access permissions, and time/effort monitoring.

Cons:

Inadequate translation of Jira Service Management into other languages is one of its biggest drawbacks, as it results in an unnatural hybrid between English and the selected language.

Anonymous reviewer
Computer Software, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best choices for a customer service desk

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Highly customisable service desk portal, from the fields to the UI. We can set up a new portal in minutes for every new project and easily tie the tickets to our internal Jira Software projects keeping internal and external discussions separate.

Cons:

SLA management should be made easier as well as the reporting options. Naturally the easy integration between the service desk and the software issue tracking system occurs if you are using Atlassian, good luck with other tools.

Alternatives Considered: Redmine and Azure DevOps Services

Switched From: Redmine and Azure DevOps Services

Nick
Nick
Senior Product Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great for Smaller Businesses, not for the Large Enterprise

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Service Management is very easy to get going "out of the box" for small organizations. We stood this up apart from our enterprise's main service management tool because we had special needs for our intake forms and this allowed us to do the customization needed without going through rigorous development through the enterprise level tool.

Cons:

Form design for your main portal can sometimes be wonky, as navigating through the options takes a bit of getting used to and aren't the most intuitive at first. Workflows are also very simple and complex decision-making based on external data is not readily available.

Alternatives Considered: ServiceNow

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management: Service Management ultimately was chosen because it integrated perfectly with our Jira instance and allows for seamless story/epic creation from internal customer requests, porting the information over was made very easy by this fact and the workflows you can create between the two are very useful.

Mohammed
IT Specialist in US
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira Service Desk Management

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall I have been using Jira Service Mangement for 6 years and I love finding about new features and integrations.

Pros:

I like the analytics and incident management part of the Jira service desk management and of course the ease of locating tickets and updating them.

Cons:

I feel like JQL is necessary for important searches which not everyone has experience with.

Laura
Laura
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Simple and effective task management software

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: It's useful for monitoring progress and coordinating the many tasks that have been delegated. In fact, the tool's progress track can be used to make estimates for the deadlines themselves.

Pros:

We utilize Jira to proactively guard against issues, notify clients when they are discovered, and monitor their progress and enhancements. Having the assignor's identity and that of the assigned person clearly shown also helps establish trust.

Cons:

I had trouble finding older tickets or finding out who else had been assigned to the key I was working on; an internal chat function could greatly benefit those of us waiting for clients to respond to comments.

XUAN MAI
Product Manager in Germany
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very satisfied overall, however there is still room for improvement

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall I'm pretty satisfied with JIRA service management, except for some missing functionalities as described above

Pros:

The ticketing system is very easy to use and intuitive.

Cons:

While it is very easy to write the description for a ticket and edit it later, it is also highly error prone because anyone could just accidentally click on the description area and accidentally change something in there. However, there's no built-in tool to revert the accidental changes.

Mark Joseph
Customer Support in Singapore
Outsourcing/Offshoring, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

JIRA Service Management Review

5.0 last month New

Comments: Overall, usage of this tool helps a lot for task managment.

Pros:

What I like the most about Jira is the management of tasks. You can monitor real-time the tasks assigned to you and work on them.

Cons:

When you have lots of tasks it can be overwhelming to look but priority system can help manage and organize the tasks that was created.

Ruchir
Cloud Support Engineer in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to use bug tracking system

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Its an effective tool for tracking and managing bugs. Tool is intuitive and easy to use for beginners.

Cons:

The search functionality can be improved. Searching for issues becomes challenging sometimes

Peejay
Business Development Representative in Philippines
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Ticket Management Like No Other

5.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Seamless Collaboration and Communication

Cons:

I do not see any negative feedback about Jira during the 9month-span that I was using it.

Nathan
Network Infrastructure Manager in UK
Retail, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira Service Management a Powerful Ticket System

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: Overall when the software works it does the job, it's a bit of a nightmare to configure and the costings are not the cheapest but not as expensive as competitor products, i.e. zendesk, freshdesk etc.

Pros:

Works very well as a ticket system, it's very customisable and uses JQL for custom queries if you're inclined towards detailed reporting. Third Party Addins available online in their marketplace and bountyful automation features.

Cons:

It's very difficult to setup requires alot of time and effort and the software is not userfriendly so if you're implenting for a team that isn't IT literate then perhaps include some extra training days.

Alternatives Considered: Freshdesk and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management: We outgrew spiceworks and required a real ticket system

Switched From: Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management: Functionality was near identical it came down to price and the fact we already used Jira for our Dev enviroment.

Thomas
Junior Software Engineer in UK
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very happy 2+ years use of JIRA.

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Pretty much everything to do with ticket management and notifications from our internal 'customers'

Cons:

The search functionality could do with some work when looking for older tickets and the searching of 'similar requests'

Alternatives Considered: Zoho Desk and Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management: More customization that some of the competitors but not so much so as to make it confusing to set up.

Dan
Support Analyst in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to try, full of tools and solutions

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: So far, with their free trials and tiers, it has be remarkably easy to get a proof of concept project built and to start migrating into the cloud.

Pros:

Jira Service Management provides a ton of tools to build out you customer portal and internal ticket platforms. It has filled all of the holes in our previous solution right out of the box.

Cons:

It is built for large, multi-team organizations so much of the power is not needed for a smaller company who requires a custom build but without all the hierarchy.

Jack
Software Support Specialist in US
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

JSD has a lot to offer, but requires a lot to learn

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: JSD offers a lot for any company needing to maintain a service desk to manage the support requests it handles from its clients/customers. Because it is a Jira (Atalassian) product, it is most likely utilized along with other Jira tools, and plays quite well with those. Due to this integration aspect, thought, the layers of security necessitated within user settings requires a considerable amount of learning/training, which is not easily attained without paying for it from Atalassian. And, while I understand, respect (and even applaud) the market-oriented principle of this, it does seem a bit intentional that there are no reliable helps available outside of Atlassian (for example, any tutorials you will find on YouTube for assisting with certain user configs, settings, steps, etc. are applicable to much older versions of the software, and to a great extent, are not applicable to the current version). This would not be a negative aspect if Jira did a much better job at keeping their own internal (free) help docs, etc. up to date, so as to apply to the current version, as well. Instead, if one wants highly dependable "helps" it appears the best way to achieve that is to pay Atlassian for their training courses (at prices that are obviously calibrated toward larger companies/corporations. And blindly undertaking such would seem risky if judged by the extent to which their free user tools are kept up to date. This is not, to my knowledge, the common experience with most apps.

Pros:

- Lots of tools in one place - Integrates well with other apps (especially other Atlassian products) - UI is clean and user friendly (customizable to a sensible extent) - Contains useful metrics that are easy to configure and gain reports from - Has multiple layers of user settings available for custom configuration to correlate to preferred levels of access among agents, customers, etc.

Cons:

- Email bounce in frequently fails (bugs?) - Depth of Jira admin user knowledge required for strong mastery of this app; time consuming to acquire a reliable user knowledge (which is necessary to utilize the app with the least bit of efficiency) - Help docs, support mechanism unreliable/outdated (needs to be fresh and current to be applicable to present version of app) - Confusing settings requirements for some user modifications needs (esp. where mapping/editing workflow schemes are concerned) - Completely inadequate amount of general helps/tutorials available outside of Atlassian (YouTube, Google search, etc. for example) which seems a bit suppressed by design. Atlassian offers extensive training, but at a premium cost. - Costly for the overall effectiveness it provides, after factoring these negatives along with the user time required to really learn the application.

Justin Alex
Technology Consultant in US
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Highly customizable and integrates well with the Atlassian ecosystem

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Customization, integrations, workflows, SLAs

Pros:

Newbies to JIRA Service Desk can get a service desk project up and running in less than 30 minutes. If your organization is already using JIRA for issue tracking, then having a help desk with Service Desk is a no brainer. It allows you to integrate software teams and IT teams better within the same ecosystem. The benefit of JIRA Service Desk, when compared with other help desk tools, is the customizability of your workflow. You can set up a workflow to be simple (with Open > In Progress > Closed statuses) or complex (with other statuses like On Hold or Waiting for Customer). SLAs are highly configurable, with the power of JIRA's JQL functionality. So one can conjure up a query to fit their SLA needs. With the addition of custom fields, a Service Desk administrator can create fields to capture important information to streamline the help desk process. Having Confluence also provides more benefits in which you can integrate an existing knowledge base space to a help desk project and self-serve your customers. Finally, being in the Atlassian ecosystem enables you to add additional functionality and enhancements with the use of Apps. There are close to 1500 apps available for JIRA, and many are constantly updated by the app developers.

Cons:

Administering JIRA Service Desk (and JIRA in general) can be daunting for a new user. With a number of customizations that one can do in a JIRA application, there will come a time where there can be a performance impact on the environment if the application is not governed well. The Customer Portal (customer facing interface) is spartan in terms of customization. You can only customize so much, but it is limited in terms of branding it to suit your company's design specs.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cumbersome and slow, but no challenger

4.0 last year

Comments: We're using Jira to manage our tickets and it works well. There are solid alternatives and competitors in the field, so I'm not sure for how long we'll keep using jira.

Pros:

The feature set of Jira is very wide, it is possible to achieve a lot. The ticket management system works, and it is possible to customize it a lot. Custom fields, custom status, sceens shown in transitions, automation rules based on triggers, ...Jira being extremely famous, it has the advantage of being easy to connect to virtually anything: sentry, aws, circle ci, slack, notion, figma, github, ...

Cons:

The UI is confusing, slow, and sometime very painful. For instance, for the longest time they did not support the markdown syntax in the text boxes. I consider myself very experienced with Jira and yet, I still get lost. Especially when it comes to managing boards or project or admin settings.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Tool for driving ITSM processes

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall we are very pleased with Jira Service Management and have implemented incident management processes using it.

Pros:

User friendly, easy to learn, integrates well with Atlassian eco system, roles based access control, licensed based on service agents

Cons:

Dashboard and reporting gadgets can be improved further to provide better trend reports for the incidents, marketplace plugins can become overwhelming.

Alternatives Considered: ServiceNow

Switched From: Freshservice

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management: Better pricing and Atlassian ecosystem

Andrea
ICT Solutions in Italy
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best on premise

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We use on premise version. Software administration can be burdensome for a small staff, updates and monitoring can require quite a lot of time. Price raised two times since first purchase. Apart from this, the tool has enabled us to precisely structure the service desk, reducing by 70% the number of phone calls and emails to better filled forms on the customer portal and the use of a chat addon.

Pros:

- High Control - Wide choices of features - Confluence Integration - Very rich suite of addons on premise version...

Cons:

- ...which requires extra costs - Some features are too basic and pretty much requires addons - Learning Curve for admin requires effort

Alternatives Considered: ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Switched From: Lansweeper

Niall
Head of Information Systems in Ireland
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A good option for Service Desks but check your requirements carefully

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: A stable, performant platform for customer support is critical and JIRA Service Management has delivered that.

Pros:

Easy to set up and deploy, configuration is relatively easy, the platform is stable and performant. There is a good 3rd party marketplace for additional apps that can be installed. Security options like SSO are available. Customer Support is responsive and knowledgeable.

Cons:

Reporting on SLAs is poor, overall reporting is ok but could be better. Costs ramp up significantly as Atlassian Access is required if you want SSO, this is an addtional charge per user. The pricing is done on a per user tier level e.g. 101-200 users is a price so you have to pay for 200 user accounts even if you only have 101 actual users.

Alternatives Considered: Salesforce Service Cloud

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management: Costs, features, configurability

Elen
Elen
Product Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Reliable ticketing system

5.0 last year

Comments: JIRA Service Management offers a robust service desk and ITSM solution with powerful ticketing capabilities, integration with JIRA, knowledge base features, and reporting capabilities. However, organizations should consider the complexity for non-technical users, the learning curve, limited customer experience features, and the pricing structure when evaluating JIRA Service Management for their support and ITSM needs.

Pros:

JIRA Service Management offers robust reporting and analytics capabilities, providing insights into support team performance, ticket trends, and customer satisfaction levels. These metrics help organizations identify areas for improvement and make data-driven decisions to enhance their support processes.

Cons:

Due to its extensive functionality and customizable nature, there can be a learning curve associated with mastering JIRA Service Management. Administrators and users may need time to understand the platform's features and optimize its use for their specific requirements.

Marta
Head of Delivery in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A truly powerful help desk management tool

4.0 last year

Comments: Once past the cumbersome process of agreeing on workflows and setting everything up, the journey with Jira Service Desk has been pretty smooth. I recommend it for teams looking to deal with multiple sources of tickets. Streamlining the process buys more problem-solving time, which users of our application always appreciate!

Pros:

Easy use for the agents (help desk consultants) is why we decided on this tool. The ability to connect tasks to our regular projects in Jira Software is another winner feature because it saves a lot of time and allows better communication between teams.

Cons:

The major downside to Jira Service Desk is customizing it. I don't know if anyone uses it straight out of the box, but for us, it was necessary to spend a couple of days customizing workflows, screens, and general settings.Another rather annoying thing is the vagueness of the agents' assignments which determines how much we pay for licenses.

Guibson
Google Workspace Deployment Lead Engineer in US
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Project Management Tool that enables teams to cross collaborate and become efficient

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: It is very user friendly, once the adoption and the knowledge of what is trying to be achieved, Tasks become a huge help on a daily project lifecycle

Pros:

The most important part of the Jira functionality is the availability to enable teams to create, update, comment, assign, and establish a clear channel, and expectations that are required to complete a project in an organized and efficient fashion, the feasibility of documenting and creating a project status report based on tasks, pre-defined or project tailored tasks.

Cons:

I believe that graphical interface dashboards would help to be robust, meaning, more detailed information, and the availability to generate clear reports is always useful for clients that don't want to access Jira, and just want an insight dashboard or the Project Lifecycle.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Market Research, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Unlike others, doesn't need complex configuration

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: With the help of Service Desk we get feedback from users about the bugs they find in the product. As the result, we fix them really fast. By adding fields that users need to add while submitting bug, we decrease time that is needed to reproduce bug or clarify the issue. Also, we can communicate with user directly if needed.
At the same time user can always get back and see status of ticket they submitted.
Also, it says a lot when you see Atlassian using its own product and using it really well.

Pros:

When you use this application as an addition to JIRA, it is a great tandem. I adviced my company to use Service Desk when we were discussing how to receive bugs and ad-hoc requests. We are using this application fro several years and we do not think about changing it.

Cons:

The only bad point that I can mention about Service Desk is its price. A lot of clients I worked with complained about it. They manage really carefully the number of users that are Agents (users you actually pay for), and get really upset if they were not carefull enough and their bill was higher then they expected.

Shubham Vasantrao
Officer in US
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best Ticket/Bug Tracking Tool

5.0 last year

Pros:

1) We mainly used this tool to plan our tasks for the projects we were working on.2) Creating Sprint Cycles and assigning tickets for each issue is very convenient using JIRA3) We can see the progress made by the ticket owner in the ticket description.4) There is a very brief and concise Audit history which we can track to see how the ticket status has changed5) I like the customization feature for each team and each product. We can choose what statuses and workflow our ticket should go through and select and arrange them very quickly.6) We can even link the BitBucket repo link and confluence link with our JIRA ticket, which is very handy for developers.

Cons:

It can be sometimes overwhelming for newcomers, especially when one is not that familiar with JIRA and its terminologies, and it does have its learning curve.

Mihai
Lead Atlassian Administrator in Romania
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira Service Desk the best tool for support

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: For me JSD was a challenge that thought me a lot. The product is awesome but there is still room for improvement.

Pros:

What I did like the most about JSD is the fact that you have a customer portal, a way to track and view your tickets at any time. You can customize the product to at very last detail without too much trouble.

Cons:

The stability of the software can be a sensitive balance after you reach 500.000 issues created on your instance.

Alternatives Considered: Zendesk Suite