Jira Service Management Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,3 /5

About Jira Service Management

Jira Service Management is an ITSM software that unlocks high-velocity teams to deliver great service experiences fast and together.

Learn more about Jira Service Management

Showing 275 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Vice President, HR Operations and Insights Manager
Banking, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/09

"Great Service Desk for Human Resources"

Comments: Jira has transformed our 12-person HR department. We can now easily track incoming requests, are not reliant on email for communication, can create canned responses for consistency and efficiency, and we have the ability to operate 100% paperlessly.

Pros: Jira is extremely customizable, scalable, and easy to implement when compared with other SD platforms. Out of the box, it can be used as a tool to track incoming requests, however, paired with the thousands of compatible plugins, it is unparalleled. Jira SD has allowed our HR team to take our daily operations to the next level, transitioning antiquated, clunky paper processes into a 100% paperless experience.

Cons: My only complaint is when custom fields are added, you have to update every field configuration you have, individually. This is extremely time-consuming when adding multiple custom fields in an effort to create "forms" within Jira.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/09
Andrea C.
ICT Solutions
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19

"Best on premise"

Comments: We use on premise version. Software administration can be burdensome for a small staff, updates and monitoring can require quite a lot of time. Price raised two times since first purchase. Apart from this, the tool has enabled us to precisely structure the service desk, reducing by 70% the number of phone calls and emails to better filled forms on the customer portal and the use of a chat addon.

Pros: - High Control
- Wide choices of features
- Confluence Integration
- Very rich suite of addons on premise version...

Cons: - ...which requires extra costs
- Some features are too basic and pretty much requires addons
- Learning Curve for admin requires effort

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19
Jonathan C.
Senior Software Engineer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/21

"JIRA Service desk is integral to our customer support, even though extensibility is a problem"

Pros: I think my favorite feature is the internal comments. It's simple, but really helps to have a side conversation with your peers about an issue before commenting to the customer.

Cons: I'm also an Atlassian plugin developer, and the JIRA Service Desk Java API is pretty awful to work with compared to the APIs for JIRA Core and JIRA Software. That makes extending JIRA Service Desk way harder. I also don't quite like the stripped-down UI offered to customers through the customer portal. As a regular JIRA user, I resent missing features, like being unable to edit my own comments or being unable to see a preview of any rich text that I might add (such as *bolded* or _italicized_ words). I have also heard from my peers that SLA calculations are really tricky to get right, and often behave in ways you wouldn't expect.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/21
Bill C.
Director of Marketing
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/23

"Marketing Team Uses JIRA Service Desk to Handle All Requests for Marketing"

Comments: Our marketing team knows exactly the status of any request of our team. And so do the requesters.

Pros: JIRA Service Desk is a great way to enable everyone at our company to request things from Marketing with tailored forms for each type of request .... for example, business cards, collateral for events, changes to our website, updating sales enablement content, go-to-market support, schwag requests, etc. No more emailing stuff. Employees just fill out a form and can keep up with the status of their request. Our Marketing team just goes through each queue a few times a week and delivers a transparent and trackable service. We know the status of everything....especially the requests that are behind....waaay behind. Which is great.

Cons: It takes some expertise to set it up to suite a team's particular need. Most teams will need some JIRA/JIRA Service Desk expertise from someone to set it up. Once that happen, using it is easy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/23
Luisa R.
Database Officer
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/31

"Jira Service desk review"

Comments: I was a very happy user of Jira on the whole, and I am certainly missing it now that I have moved onto another product. I felt that it allowed many users to be involved in the issues raised, which kept all of the discussion in one central location, rather then firing off in email chains that it's easy to be omitted from.

Pros: This is a very useable service desk, as it allows users to communicate freely if the issue that needs to be required impacts more people than the original poster.

Cons: At time, Jira can be a little restrictive, but that is more to do with the way the product is set up by each organisation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/31
Verified Reviewer
Deskside Support Specialist - Teamlead
Law Practice, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/27

"High Level ITSM Service Desk"

Comments: We required moving towards on-prem solutions and Jira Service Desk Server Edition allowed us to use first-rate features while maintaining our data.

Pros: Out of the box, Jira Service Desk allows a team to start up a working service desk with a few clicks. Some of its strongest features is building out a front-facing portal for end-users, linking to the knowledge base (with Confluence). Since it's part of the larger Atlassian ecosystem, there are a lot of tools and features that can be used to provide greater customizations.

Cons: The Jira Service Desk, while customizable has a high learning curve and will take a while for administrators and agents to be able to change workflows. The agent side can do with a UI facelift.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/27
Prateek M.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/20

"Best solution in market for any Digital/IT company"

Pros: 1) Extremely well thought of ticket management via Epic links, project buckets etc
2) Issue collector functionality that can be directly embedded to websites and web portals
3) Tickets can be linked with other Atlassian products like a Conflience page or bit bucket
4) Easy to create and manage sprints

Cons: 1) Third party integrations are not available/limited like that with google drive etc.
2) There are few free solutions that offer something similar. Not as rohbust as JIRA but might still do the job for few.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/20
David F.
Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/27

"Very flexible. Integrates great with other tools."

Pros: The configuration is easy and most flexible concerning workflows, screens, fields and so on. There are many add-ons available in marketplace to enhance it's functionality.

Cons: You can not disable or customize the Welcome-E-Mail for new customers by configuration (there is some workaround by coding, but that can't be it!). Definitely an absolute no-go. Please fix asap!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/27
Verified Reviewer
IT Helpdesk Technician
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/21

"Service desk that works well with other JIRA tools"

Pros: Since we use JIRA Software, it was just a matter of time until we decided to implement JIRA Service Desk. So far it's worked fairly well and gives us a central location to manage our helpdesk requests from our employees. Being a JIRA product, you know it's powerful, but you also know that it takes a bit of work to get it up and running. You also know it's not going to look too sexy ;) It does it's job and gives us a good place to manage our tickets and gives our users the option to leave feedback, which helps us do our job even better.

Cons: It's JIRA, it's not the most aesthetically pleasing tool, but it does what it advertises and help us more easily manage our tickets.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/21
Verified Reviewer
Software developer
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/26

"Best service desk tool in market"

Comments: Client's problem solving, service desk functionality usage, see who are ticket solvers, who does more work etc

Pros: Jira Service Desk is very well customizable tool for different team sizes. Atlassian products work very well, contain awesome Lucene search functionality, which means you can search text string and it will look up all text fields and give you service desk ticket match. Very helpful tool.

Cons: Jira Service Desk works very well, it takes time to change it accordingly to team's needs. But it is totally worth it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/26
Verified Reviewer
Office Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/07

"Powerful service desk tool"

Pros: Lots of integration between the JIRA tools which makes JIRA SD an easy choice. Customizing workflow is easy and it's fantastic at keeping all our requests in order, too. The collaboration function is awesome. Several people are able to work on the same ticket at the same time which is essential to solving more complicated issues. User portal is pretty intuitive and makes it easy to file tickets.

Cons: Customizing your reporting is a learning curve and can be frustrating. When the system is being updated it goes down entirely, which can be a pain if that doesn't work for your schedule. These are usually done in the evenings and weekends, however, so it's not that big of an issue. On occasion, lag can be an issue. JIRA SD may not be a good choice for smaller businesses because it is on the expensive side.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/07
Thomas E.
Atlassian Consultant
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/21

"Jira Service Desk offers first class customer support and perfect internal collaboration."

Pros: Linked issues to solve customer needs. Easy communication to the customer. Workflows to track the status of Issues. More than fair licensing options and several deployment possibilities.

Cons: Some features can only be added via additional marketplace add-ons that unfortunately cost additional money.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/21
Verified Reviewer
Applications Support & Project Analysis
Political Organization, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/30

"Robust, but complicated"

Pros: This is an amazing tool for managing both our day-to-day incidents as well as higher-level enhancement/sprint-level work. It has just about everything you need to manage your workers, resources, solutions, etc.

Cons: The only reason this is rated less than a 5 for ease of use is that it requires a certain amount of external knowledge on project processes in order to get the most out of the tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/30
Tim M.
Software Engineer
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/16

"How I source quality work requests"

Comments: I'd recommend Jira Service Desk to any developer of team of developers looking for a way to better manage their work requests.

Pros: As a software developer, Jira Service Desk allows me to source high quality requests -- answering all the questions I might usually have to correspond over. Having a dedicated inbox for these requests helps me prioritize them and stay focused on what is in front of me.

Cons: There's a lot to like about Jira Service Desk -- My only complaint is that it can be hard to find the 'resolve ticket' button in the UI at times, which is frustrating.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/16
Joshuah W.
Lead DevOps Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/16

"Great Software for managing IT Helpdesk tickets"

Pros: We use JSD for a IT Helpdesk ticketing system involving a wide variety of workflows. These workflows are easy to create and manage. Using the actual workflows is easy the UI making it really easy to follow.

Cons: The ticketing queue doesn't automatically refresh. We have to add a browser plugin to ensure we're viewing the latest ticket information.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/16
Nic L.
Network Administrator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/18

"I'm in love with Atlassian"

Pros: Does everything we need, reporting is great, support from Atlassian has always been good, team was already used to Jira so this was an easy switch.

Cons: Like the rest of the Atlassian suite of software... you need to be ready to spend a good amount of time setting up/testing/documenting your processes before you jump in. If you don't do your homework before diving in, you're going to be in trouble.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/18
Ruth H.
System Administrator Lead
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/14

"I found it very user friendly"

Comments: a complete view of our current team status

Pros: UI is very intuitive. The learning curve was almost non-existent. If it weren't for the couple of cons I'm listing below, I quite satisfied with this product.

Cons: I'm always accidentally clicking on the request name instead of update fields when making changes. I'm not sure how to rearrange it, but it obviously, from my point of view, that the update fields function is not in the right place. I would also like the ability to change issue type rather than creating a new option and deleting the original.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/14
Nabil A.
Network specialist
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/13

"very good product"

Comments: Reduce time to create and customize customer portals.
Track time spent on requests
Track external vs internal requests

Pros: Easy to use
Simple to demonstrate work by category
Simple to customize and add new fields to a project

Cons: Licensing model for server when installed as an add on to Jira
Limited access for project managers, a lot of work is required by system admin to customize a project

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/13
Charlie M.
VP, CTO
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/08/24

"JIRA Service Desk - Excellent for our environment"

Comments: Pros:
Based on JIRA, which we were already using to manage our development and support teams and projects.
Easily customizable - we were able to quickly add fields (free form, pick list, date/time, etc.) to provide quick value for our Service Desk.
Very easy to configure and modify SLA's
Very easy to enroll and manage users
Turn key Web portal and email integration
Easy to relate SD tickets between Service Desks and to non SD projects such as Software Development
Easy to create processes and workflows to route issues between projects (such as a bug reported in SD that becomes a task for the Development team to repair)
Time Sheet capability via Tempo - we use JIRA to track all time against projects, GL accounts, etc.
There are a few basic Service Desk functions that are NOT available in JIRA such as easy ways to create varying service levels for classes of users; ability to assign tasks to roles rather than individuals, direct access to data for detailed reporting (we use Cloud version and there are some critical fields that are not queryable via the Issues Search, plus there is no way to connect to the database using any other tools.) Cons
Sometimes serious issues are not handled in a reasonable time frame. There was an issue with email processing that affected many organizations; it took Atlassian around 4 weeks to repair and it caused a pretty serious impact to us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/08/24
Tara F.
Counselor
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/03

"Jira Service Desk has made prioritizing simple!"

Comments: Jira has been a lifesaver. I know that any tickets that I submit will not be accidentally overlooked and I can check-in at anytime to see where we are in the process. I feel confident that our systems team will be able to effectively take care of our requests without the hassle from having to coordinate emails.

Pros: I most like Jira because it has given our office the ability to prioritize needed projects from team members. Prior to using Jira, we sent emails to our systems team and it caused such a mess in determining what was most important. Often things were lost or overlooked. With Jira, we are able to not only prioritize but also allows the systems team to prioritize where they are for the tickets that we have submitted.

Cons: I do not work directly on the systems team so on the side of requesting ticketing, I have yet to find a negative part of this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/12/03
David W.
VP of Operations
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/25

"Easy to stand-up and get going but also very powerful"

Pros: I like that it has all of the features of Jira along with a modern support desk. We can customize workflows, fields, etc all while maintaining a quality customer experience

Cons: The customer portal needs more branding and customization options. For example, I'd like to use this to build out a content rich landing page to start the support experience.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/25
Jason L.
Industrial IT Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/15

"Strong tool for those following ITSM methodology"

Pros: It is a tool designed to work well within an Atlassian ecosystem. If your development staff is already using Jira, the integration within the tools is great.

Cons: Less robust than other tools. Strong ecosystem with plugins, but some simple functionality should be available within the product itself.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/15
Marvin M.
Operations Team Lead
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/09

"Mr. Fantastic"

Pros: Very flexible tool, very useful in seeking assistance especially to our IT team, very simple and user friendly

Cons: It takes some expertise to set it up to suite a team's particular need. Most teams will need some JIRA/JIRA Service Desk expertise from someone to set it up. Once that happen, using it is easy

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/09
Verified Reviewer
Managing Director
Telecommunications, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/01

"Useful Tool That We Have Come To Rely On"

Comments: We use Jira to manage our development projects and support requests. It's the best tool we've come across for the job.

Pros: Clear presentation of data. Good reporting features. Great collaboration for teams in remote locations.

Cons: Setting up some elements can be a little complicated, but that's all I can think of.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/01
Brendan F.
CTO
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/13

"Great software with an unfair pricing model"

Comments: We are using JIRA service desk to disconnect the business departments from the detail of the IT department. Tickets are logged and then broken down and assigned into the IT team to be completed. Business users have a single interface to work with that is simple and only shows them the information that they need.

Pros: JIRA service desk provides seamless integration of consumer support and back end developer workflow processes.

Cons: The scaling pricing model is not cost effective to small businesses

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/13