Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,3 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,2 /5

About Zoho Books

Simple, easy-to-use accounting software to help you manage your business finance in a smart way!

Learn more about Zoho Books

Showing 430 reviews

Deepak B.
Chief Operating Officer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/09

"Great Collaboration"

Comments: Great experience although after 2 years we are still learning, it is good for indian accounting system

Pros: The statement download from bank and reconciliation option is great
GST filing options are great
Dashboard is very well designed
Android application is very useful

Cons: I would have prefered if it has quotation sending options also
Process sometimes seems too long for creating manual vouchers

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/09
Unenabasi godwin E.
MD/CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/22

"Incredible Accounting Software for Freelancers and Startups"

Comments: Zoho helps my business keep accurate accounting records, bill customer and drive down receivables.

Pros: Zoho captures every aspect of my company's finances. The tool makes it easy for you to create estimates, and invoices, capture bills and expenses as well as monitor business health. The muti-user feature lets business track expenses and movement of funds between departments and business teams. Another incredible feature that makes Zoho stand out is their customer support. They have an amazing support team that responds quickly. Plus, they help you valuable suggestions to help you navigate difficult accounting operations.

Cons: Zoho does not have an offline capability. The software is cloud-based so you must have an internet connection to access the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/22
Rick K.
Owner
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25

"Very good, but lacks some of the basics"

Comments: Switched from Quickbooks to ZohoBooks. Overall, ZohoBooks is very good. The site is always up and running very quickly. Tech support is excellent in both speed and quality. The software is actually fun to use. However, it does lack some of the basic functions that seem should have been in there from the beginning such as ability to print deposit slips, and there's no running total on the side of accounts so when you're looking for a mistake, it makes it very difficult to find. One feature that our business desperately is ability to pre-send invoices to people on a recurring basis before their due date. Quickbooks has had this ability back since the days of DOS (20 years ago). We're limping around right now trying to work without these basic needs in hopes that they will soon come. On the otherhand, Zoho does keep adding new features on a consistent basis. Sometimes just simple design changes but at least you get the feeling they are still working on it. -Highly recommended, however proceed with caution because there are some very basic things missing and they don't seem to be in a hurry to resolve this. It's almost the year 2017 and I'm adding up deposits by calculator and filling in deposit slips by pen. Shouldn't be ;-\

Pros: Excellent/fast support. Interface can be fun to use and is quick to respond.
Development seems to be ongoing.

Cons: Lacks basic functions like deposit slip printing (and automatically transferring those funds to bank from Undeposited Funds), ability to pre-send recurring invoices, inability to set simple defaults such as default account to accept payment to (always need to manually select Undeposited Funds when accepting checks) and no running total in account ledgers such as Undeposited Funds (how are you supposed to find and fix errors, mistakes?)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25
Steve P.
independent contractor
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/21

"for a 1 man shop, it's a nice, inexpensive alternative"

Comments: in the ~2 years i've been using the software, i've seen dramatic improvements over all (it felt very "beta" when i started, it now feels much more robust).

Pros: cost and the ability to build your own integration tools. compared to other options (unnamed here, but you know who they are), it is VERY cost efficient and effective. depending on options chosen with alternatives it costs anywhere from 25% to 75% of what The Other Guys offer. i've even been able to write some integrations with it (using some powerful and reasonably well documented REST APIs)

Cons: the interface is a bit clunky - things like matching take a bit of getting used to. banking integration only allows one sync per 24 hour period.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/21
Jaime W.
Owner/Photographer
Photography, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25

"I have been using Zoho for years"

Comments: When I first started my photography business I needed an invoicing program and I stumbled upon Zoho in my search. It had everything I wanted and was free. Here I am 6 years later still using it. Back then I only needed Zoho Invoice, but through the years I needed more organization than the invoicing program offers so I upgraded to Zoho Books. At that time I didn't realize that it wasn't truly it an upgrade, but rather a switch from one to the other. I was being double charged. It was a bit challenging contacting Zoho support (in 2013), but once I did they were happy to fix the problem and refund my duplicate payments for the two months prior. Setting up Zoho Books was a bit challenging and my only true complaint about Zoho is that the support system is very much lacking. I struggled to reach Zoho Support. When I finally did they were helpful, but it is a challenge to actually ever reach anyone. Other than that Zoho is AMAZING. I have referred MANY friends to this program through the years.

Pros: Ease of use

Cons: Customer Support and the lack of detail in payments received. My bookkeeper struggles to reconcile my PayPal payments because the fees aren't identified.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25
Prosper S.
Finance Manager- Managing a team of 4
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/25

"Very easy to setup and use. Zoho allow interactions with non zoho products"

Comments: Easy upload of invoices and expenses, tracking my tax transactions and easy maintaining of accounting books

Pros: Recurring Bills
Mass uploading of transactions
cloud based
transactional approval
Tax compliant
Live bank updates
Price list feature
comprehensive details for contacts
Reminders

Cons: Reconciliation of previous transactions: when there is a mistake in of the previous months reconciliation history, all other reconciliations has to be deleted till the date you want to make the change.
Does not support retail with multi-location. It means each location will have to be setup up as a separate company. There should be a location or class feature on each transaction and same should be reflected on the reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/25
Mumin H.
Chief Financial Officer
Graphic Design, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25

"Great product. It's worth it!"

Comments: Zoho Books is one of the vital programs we use in our business. It is very easy to use and really has lots of awesome features that help you with your accounting needs. Of course, just like any other software, it doesn't have everything you will need or you can think of, but the most important ones are there. The mobile app could be improved, some reports are not accessible such as the tax summary and recording payments does not allow you to record bank charges in the app. But overall, it's an awesome product and would definitely recommend you use it.

Pros: I like that it's very user-friendly. Almost all the necessary things you need for your bookkeeping is there.

Cons: The mobile app is alright but can be improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25
Bo sparsø T.
CEO & Partner
Real Estate, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25

"Zoho Books"

Comments: Before switching to Zoho Books all of our company accounting was done in a outdated none-cloud accounting program with limited features.
With Zoho books our company owners are able to access our accounting anytime and anywhere, restrict access to certain confidential information that our bookkeeper does not need access to and set up alerts in case postings not living up to our guide lines are entered into the system.

Furhermore we can view all relevant attachments such as invoices and expenses directly in Zoho Books and all of our clients can log into the customer portal and view all details of their customer account.
Switching to Zoho Books has enabled to take book the control of our accounting and provides us with a transparency that we did not have before. Zoho Books therefor comes highly recommended by us. We use a wide range of apps from the Zoho App Suite and Zoho Books is one of our favourites.

Pros: cloud based, feature rich, simple to use, has user profiles, has customer portal, good customer service,

Cons: no budgets,

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25
Verified Reviewer
Finance
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/25

"Zoho the best small business accounting software with great CRM integration"

Comments: Our business has enjoyed servicing clients who use Zoho. A great software to work with.

Pros: Zoho is cloud based therefore all your team members can work from anywhere. even from their cellphones. Zoho books comes with inventory management and other management tools for customer support and management. It is easily integrated with ecommerce platforms specifically shopify. Being cloud based we do not have to do back ups for Zoho clients.

Cons: Zoho has a very low pricing structure in the first year which then increases very much in the second year onwards.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/25
James K.
SENIOR EDITOR AT MEDIA MAX NETWORK LIMITED
Broadcast Media, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/29

"A great tool in managing your business expenses"

Comments: It makes work easier to business people in managing their stores. The customer support is always available to assist.

Pros: This is one of the best accounting tool for your business in counting all your expenses. It is easy to install in your computer. It is the most affordable accounting tool currently in the market. I like how it give all the details of the cash flow in every business. This helps in making the right decision for better running of your company. It helps you in preparing various financial reports for your business within a certain period.

Cons: It lacks budget module feature like it is in other accounting software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/29
Kelly G.
Recruiter
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/11

"LOVE Zoho products"

Pros: I tried Quickbooks and several other software types to help with invoicing and AR/AP. Nothing was as easy at Zoho. Their customer service is amazing and the price point is perfect for me and my needs!

Cons: Nothing that I can think of, honestly. I have experienced no issues, the interface is incredibly intuitive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/11
Mohit S.
Sales Manager
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/27

"Your personal accounting assistant."

Comments: overall I'm very happy with Zoho books and recommend all small businessman to go for zoho books.

Pros: Zoho Books is very easy to use and don't require deep knowledge of accounting. it suits your small business as you want with online bills, tax calculation and payments. zoho always provide updates to keep it more smoothly.

Cons: importing and exporting should be more easy sometime importing to excel sheet lose many contacts details.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/27
Verified Reviewer
Director, Learning Technology and Development
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/27

"Great for Consulting Work - SIngle Employee"

Comments: It's been great, actually and I would do anything not to EVER work with QuickBooks (or their customer service) again.

Pros: The cost is great and, for the features, it's really all I needed to do invoicing, keep track of expenses, and also access a quick Dashboard feature that gives me an idea about monetary performance.

Cons: I ran out of "vendors" with the simple version. I'm not sure why this is a limitation, but I simply streamlined how I was using the Vendor feature and used the Notes field for the actual vendor name. I didn't think the additional money was worth adding vendor names.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/27
Verified Reviewer
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/31

"Excellent, affordable, accounting software"

Pros: Reasonable price for a lot of features.
Instant chat support is helpful.
Snail Mail service is reasonably priced.

Cons: Recurring invoices don't send via snail mail.
You can't see when someone views an invoice unless they have portal access setup.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/31
Sheldon T.
CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25

"Really Issue to Use"

Comments: I have been shopping around the right tool to manage my business when finding Zoho books the interface design and how things were layout was straight forward as such I had no problems in setting and and start using the software right away. It is now 3 years and I am satisfied.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25
Conor W.
Advertising Manager
Media Production, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25

"We would be lost without Zoho Books!"

Comments: We run a magazine and charge our advertising clients through Zoho Books. Since we started using it our clients have started paying on time and they love the ease at which they pay through the online link on their invoice. Setting up sales orders, estimates and invoices is a breeze and the functionality for reporting is simple to use. Its integration with Zoho CRM makes sure that all of our client details are up to date. We have used TAS Books and Quickbooks in the past, Zoho Books is by far the easiest and best to use for our business.

Pros: Design, ease of use and customer support.

Cons: A functionality for budgeting would be very helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25
Verified Reviewer
Online STEM Tutor
E-Learning, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/16

"Zoho is my accounts manager"

Comments: Kind of mixed experience with Zoho Books but overall recommended for new startups.

Pros: It manages my finances and make invoices in no time plus it helps to coordinate between different departments to save time and cost.

Cons: It can't be integrated into other softwares and slightly lack something that other competitors have.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/03/16
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Graphic Design
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/10

"Zoho Books is Superb"

Pros: If you use Zoho CRM, Inventory, etc then Zoho Books is a no brainer. We've been using it in conjunction with Zoho CRM and Zoho Inventory and it makes processing customer invoices off of sales order instantaneous. Additionally, the reports within Zoho Books are great at providing both fast and indepth data.

Cons: It's a little feature lite when compared to something like Quickbooks. However, as long as you know your requirements and Zoho Books will work, then it's by far the best.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/10
Ralph B.
Owner
Consumer Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/30

"Great Program, easy to use."

Comments: Ease of use.

Pros: I was a long time Quickbooks user for over 20 years and had been looking for something cleaner and easier to use. Zoho fit the bill Set up was straight forward and easy. It was also very easy to set up my invoices and accountants. I also love that they give me a heads up for my billing date before they charge my card.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/30
Thomas M.
CEO
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25

"Perfect Platform for StartUps, Entrepreneurs and Small, Medium Business"

Comments: We are using Zoho Books in many ways. We not only use it for our own Organization but we are also recommending Zoho Books to all the Entrepreneur, StartUps and SME's to streamline their business.

Pros: Easy to use, Great User Interface

Cons: -

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25
Subathra M.
Support Manager
Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/05

"Best Small Business cloud accounting for Indian Customers"

Pros: All in one small business accounting application. We can generate Purchase order, invoice, Estimate. Maintain Inventory and expense. Easy to fetch bank account details and reconcile. Best suited for Indian customers for the GST Invoice. Android & IOS mobile application also available to check anywhere.

Cons: It is best suited for the small and medium business users. For Enterprise we need to link different zoho application together as per the requirements.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/05
Reinier D.
Director
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25

"Awesome Accounting software"

Comments: Very easy to work and easy to understand. We like teaching our clients how to use Zoho and this makes submitting expenses and project

Pros: Easy to navigate and easy to understand for non-accountants

Cons: Nothing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/25
Sujit B.
Software Engineer.
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/19

"Its very easy to use and I did almost all the GST returns with my own. I am not an accountant."

Comments: Major benefit is I saved a money of GST filing.

Pros: Upload data to GST portal in one click. Then data export in JSON format. GST Calculations and Report are very easy to create.

Cons: no notification for every GST return. Need more work on different types of notifications. Also SMS notification is not available there.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/19
Lance M.
CFO
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/05

"For the most part, ZohoBooks has potential to do well. Only if their management listed to customers"

Comments: Recurring billing is included, and that is the only thing keeping our company with Zoho Books. We have more frustrations than benefits right now.

Pros: -Recurring Billing is included with the software
- Unlimited users for one price
- Partial integration with Zoho CRM
- Client Portal
- Customizable e-mail templates to customers
- Customize invoices, estimates, and sales orders design
- Square integration

Cons: - Lack Budgeting feature and they are ignoring the many requests for it for the past three years.
- Forced to use Alvera Tax.
- No true integration with ZohoCRM, If you want to create a sales order in ZohoCRM, you're going to have to create one in ZohoBooks
- Lack of integration to other services for Business Intelligence software
- Lack of listening to customers feature requests. They seem to build what they feel we need
- Unable to Journal entry from the bank account, which doesn't allow you to easily process payroll unless you use their payroll service which lacks a lot of features.
- Good reports, their reports are horrible and you can not customize the to work the way that you want or need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/07/05
Abhishek A.
Senior Product Manager
Entertainment, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/24

"Smart Accounting Tool"

Pros: - Simple and affordable accounting software
- Easy to manage day to day accounting
- Support provided by zoho is great
- Keeps a detailed track of the cash flow
- Support for Multiple currencies and country

Cons: - The flow is broken when multicurrencies and countries are involved
- The system has to be more robost as it supports day to day accounting activities
- Few features are not upto the mark
- Too many updates and time consuming

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/24