Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About DEAR Systems

Suitable for businesses in retail, wholesale, manufacturing, food production sectors that have requirements to manage inventory levels

Learn more about DEAR Systems

Showing 234 reviews

Stefan S.
Financial manager
Furniture, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/05/19

"Dear systems awesome"

Comments: Fantastic. Best inventory system ever.

Pros: Very easy to use sales,purchase. Integration with woocommerce and xero fantastic. Good manufacturing options.

Cons: Would like the option to go with less users then the min of 5.

Alternatives Considered: Unleashed, Cin7 and Sage 100cloud

Reasons for Choosing DEAR Systems: Cloud based, automation.

Reasons for Switching to DEAR Systems: Cheaper then cin7 and has a pos option that unleashed lacked.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/05/19
Samuel F.
Technology & Operations Officer
Plastics, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/02

"Great manufacturing aid"

Comments: Dear lets us manage the extraordinary combination of materials, compounds and product that we manufacture on a daily basis in a straightforward manner. For some of our operations--for example when we create 10-30 batches of a particular material--use of the API is almost mandatory for efficient data entry--but generally the interface does a great job. Our business is on a much stronger financial and engineering footing using DEAR.

Pros: The sales, production and purchasing modules provide an excellent integrated platform for our manufacturing operations. We stock over 300 chemicals to make hundreds of rubber compounds that we use in production of custom rubber products and Dear keeps the complexity under control. I love the continual upgrades on the cloud and the easy access from anywhere. Finally, the standard interface is good but the API lets us implement solutions to meet specific needs at various points in our production.

Cons: While the technical support is excellent I find I occasionally need to reach out to them because the online documentation is not well organized. The reporting module is adequate but often requires off-line processing to get the results you are looking for. They make that easy with excel exporting but it is impossible to create a report that is self-explanatory. For example, you can build complex filters to get specific results but you can not re-title the generic report with a specific name, or include the filter values to explain your data. I also wish the date fields would accept time information so that we could capture real-time production data in the system--at the moment you can only enter a start and stop date when you create finished goods.

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 2020/04/15

Hello Samuel,
Thank you for your review. We are continually striving to improve the service we provide to our valuable customers. As a part of the improvement, we will be restructuring our knowledge base to reflect the module structure in the inventory application so that it will be easy for our customers to find information quicker. As we release more features we update the current knowledge base on a weekly basis. We have taken your reports suggestion into consideration. Please check our roadmap for updates when it will be released to production.
Best Regards,
DEAR Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/02
Derek M.
Quality & Business Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/20

"It does not exactly suit our business model,compared to other software in the market it was the best"

Pros: The fact that it can be accessed from anywhere and that the information available is reasonably accurate

Cons: We transfer stock between locations on a daily basis eg. receipts, transfer to work in progress, then assembly and then to finished goods in more than one location and then it gets sold. when looking at a stock movement report of Raw Material, all that I want to know is receipts + stock on hand-assembly = Stock on Hand. The inventory totals in inventory do not balance with the Trial balance figures as the trial balance picks up transfers as many as three times. So the Raw Material and Finished Goods are never correct in Dear and because of Synchronisation in Xero.
second point is the introduction of the Advanced Purchase Module and discontinuation of cloning without any prior warning and with no video training module available. I have so far been unable to use that module and am working with the simple purchases module, keeping it in draft, and manually adjusting stock levels when receiving stock. I then use a new Simple Purchase to deal with the supplier invoice. Ideally, the system should be able to tell me what stock is required, but the is no correlation between Assembly and Inventory. We use about 8 to 9 different Raw Materials in different quantities to produce our finished goods, so you can understand how frustrating this all is.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/20
Minal D.
Client Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/24

"Flexible and Comprehensive Cloud Inventory Solution"

Pros: DEAR's extensive functionality proves to be an exceptional inventory solution for businesses with complex and established workflows. We at Business Continuum have had extensive experience working with DEAR, and the comprehensive yet easy to use solution has been a selling point for many businesses. After implementation, end users are left with role based permissions, a clean single page view for each function of the system, and an active support team that actually answers your questions and takes on potential changes. A clear road map with regular developments is constantly being updated to improve the system. We have seen businesses of all sizes and natures effectively use DEAR to streamline their processes and gain important insight into their inventory management.

Cons: DEAR's complexity requires dedicated time to learn the system - however, the reward is immense. Certain functions and settings require intimate knowledge of the system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/24
Stephen J.
Head Of Supply Chains
Packaging & Containers, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/13

"DEAR Systems Software"

Pros: Online Cloud Based
Simple but functional

Cons: Functionally a few things dont make sense

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 2020/04/21

Hello Stephen,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Best Regards,
DEAR Team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/13
Arnon L.
Apparel & Fashion
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2014/06/02

"Xero Integrated, Well Priced, Cloud Based Inventory System"

Comments: Our company are wholesale distributors of apparel, footwear and accessories. We moved to Dear Inventory as it was a well priced, cloud based, pay monthly (SAAS) system that integrated with Xero. Other systems we compared over the years that integrated with Xero were either too expensive, had huge setup fees, were limited to 50,000 sku's or didn't meet our other main requirement...
Aside from Xero integration, our other requirement was the ability to create multiple variations within one SKU, what Dear call Product Families. For example we have a style or sku, but need to be able to break this up into sizes and colours to be tracked individually. Without a system like their product families which automatically creates these variations, we would need to create on average 24 different sku's per style. Additional to this, they have recently adjusted their import system to include product families meaning that we are now importing 5000 sku's within hours; something that use to take us days.
We use this system daily for sales orders, purchase orders (generated automatically from back ordered sales orders which is brilliant!), picking, packing, despatching and invoicing. These processes are all well thought out and simple to use in my opinion. The system also has good multi level user access meaning we can setup our agents in the system to enter the sales orders themselves, yet limiting their access to other areas of the system that we do not want them to see.
I believe Dears greatest attribute is their customer service. They have an excellent response time (usually within 2 hours) and questions, requests or issues are resolved quickly. I thought perhaps I was just lucky with the service I had received but after reading other reviews on Xero's website, I realised I wasn't special :) Hats off to the support team.
This system is consistently evolving and I would recommend it to any company with similar requirements to our own. I also think it is extremely well priced and a g

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2014/06/02
Kelly W.
Company Secretary
Paper & Forest Products, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/31

"DEAR systems"

Comments: Stock reports and ease and speed of quoting/invoicing/picking stock to allocate, are priceless for us as a small business, where time is of the essence.

Pros: Ease of use and functionality.
Customer service has been faultless.

Cons: Delay on implementation of new features.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/31
Philip R.
CDO
Food Production, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/16

"Best tool for the price!"

Comments: Great — our team understands the tool and this greatly improves our order process! Wish I found a 10% off discount when I signed up! If you are new, use this for a discount:
E83FAB41-9FA7-4D40-A78E-E5B68E59855B (Enjoy!)

Pros: This is a great tool for us. We needed something that integrated with QBO that also handled BOMs, Lot Tracking, and multiple warehouses. For the price, this is really the best tool I have found. There are some changes I want to make, so I am active on their support desk. (Their email support is good too)

Cons: Syncing to QBO has problems when old invoices or orders need to be changed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/16
Mark lester B.
Proprietor
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/01

"All features that I need from an Inventory management software is already in DEAR!"

Comments: I've been using DEAR to manage my inventory and integrate the system with Xero and Shopify. The integration setup is so easy and you don't even need an adviser to perform those set up for you. Before when I just have Shopify alone, doing a manual update of stocks is really a pain which causes some loss and might even result to losing your customer. Their integration works perfectly, I can create my products variation and listed on Shopify real time, orders and fulfillment process is very smooth and I can even add multiple Shopify shop integrated, that's really a cost saving feature. I would highly recommend this system.

Pros: - DEAR has unlimited user and multiple warehouse
- DEAR have multi currency with no additional cost
- Integrated to most popular e-commerce such as Shopify, Magento, Ebay, Amazon, Woocommerce, Bigcommerce and others
- Free data conversion and template customisation for annual plan subscribers
- Integration to Xero/QBO is almost complete
- Free trial for 14 days upon sign up
- They have live chat support, appointment for products demos and email support is 24/7

Cons: - Mobile Applications for Android/IOS but browser is already good not really a big impact

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/01
Buddy D.
Director
Automotive, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/19

"Have been using dear for approx 24 months now, has helped us better manage our products."

Comments: Better inventory management

Pros: For us the biggest advantage is the multi layer assembly features in the BOM structure, As a manufacturer we ustilise many common parts with sub assemblies used between items. Though not always perfect but when stock level data is maintained the software works well.

Cons: Have not had any major stand out negatives with the software, the biggest issues we have is maintain the data in regards to incoming goods.

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 2017/12/22

Hi Buddy,

Thank you for your review we are glad to hear everything is going well for you.

Best Regards
DEAR Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/19
Patrick M.
Production Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/22

"Great software for the price"

Pros: -Constantly making improvements and has come along way over the last few years.
-The support team is helpful and responsive.
-Easy to use and understand

Cons: -The reporting is VERY slow and could probably use a complete overhaul
-Won't allow you to fully delete old products (deprecated products still show up in reporting)
-Inability to do partial stocktakes
-Not able to save notes on orders when a stocktake is in process

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/22
Alison C.
Operations
Consumer Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/29

"Toto"

Comments: Amazing experience. I was very intimidated when I first started using the program but it didn’t take long to feel comfortable and confident using Dear.

Pros: We are a newish company that switched from Sage to Dear a couple of years ago. Sage was a very confusing system; there is no comparison for ease of use. Dear is very consumer friendly. It’s straight forward to use and if something arises which one needs help with, the help desk is prompt in responding to concerns or questions and is very thorough in their answers.

Cons: I really don’t have any complaints with Dear Systems.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/29
Philip V.
CEO
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/14

"I am a Dear Partner in the Xero integration community and Dear Systems is the only inventory system I recommend to prospective clients."

Pros: Great integration with other software, including Xero. Intuitive. Stable and quick to load (well hosted). Good email support. Innovative features.

Cons: Would like greater visibility as to which user did what for all processes on Dear.
Would like to see greater engagement from Dear's side on the user forums and more regular notification of all feature releases that are made.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/14
Kevin L.
director
Logistics & Supply Chain, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/14

"Mostly rich functionality with good coverage of our business processes"

Comments: We run all our business operations on this software

Pros: Good range of functionality; Xero integration; clean interface; API;
additional attributes

Cons: Weak support for shipping; additional attributes limited; strongly accountant view not business view; lots of annoying gaps

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/14
Christo K.
Christo K.
Systems Specialist
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/10

"Great cloud-based inventory and manufacturing app"

Pros: Dear offers good functionality, ease of use and top of the line customer service. It integrates with Xero, has a robust POS app, B2B portal and many other great integrations inluding CRM and e-commerce sites. Dear is constantly evolving and updating which is a great sign for any software package.

Cons: Updating document templates can be difficult, but they do have a great template department to assist you with updating.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/10
Angela S.
VP - Strategy and Operations
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/28

"Pre-sales support was fantastic and made all the difference. We are new users but so far going well."

Comments: Have a integrated view of our inventory and production, which is connected to our sales management function as well as accounting.

Pros: Support, support! Online, within the software, live chat, pre-sales. Our processes are quite unique and finding a software that could meet most requirements was really hard.
The API is quite open and documentation is clear and complete. We were able to build an integration to Salesforce thanks to that.
Readily available integration to Xero is a great plus.
Ability to create assemblies, and assemblies within assemblies is very important for us.

Cons: Advanced sale functionality is not yet available through the API.
There is no specific functionality to manage product returns.
Functionality around serial numbers is limited and needs improvement.

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 2017/12/11

Hi Angela,

Thank you for the great review.

Advanced sale functionality will be available through the API beginning of 2018, we are currently in development phase of API version 2.

Thank you
DEAR Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/28
Stephane L.
President
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/07

"Few details to evolve"

Pros: Easy to use, friendly access. No major update to do

Cons: It would be a great added value if we could customize every details in the transaction. Ex. if we could have the last amount of the product paid by the client instead of writing it down every time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/07
Michelle D.
Customer Service
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/20

"Easy to Use/Useful Reporting"

Comments: DEAR allows us to place our POs which sync directly with our fulfillment center. It also allows us to track our sales reporting.

Pros: This software is user-friendly and allows us to collect the necessary reporting for sales purposes.

Cons: The one thing we have trouble with is that it seems to troubleshoot every few months and stops synching our orders which we only notice a few days later.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/20
Mathieu C.
Mathieu C.
CDO
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/05

"Excellent inventory management system"

Pros: I really like all the integrations available. It makes our job so much faster !

Cons: A more native way to integrate barcodes and qr codes would be awesome

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/05
Jennie H.
Administration
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/20

"The changeover to DEAR Inventory was relatively easy and we were up and running the same day."

Pros: It does not take long for anyone to become proficient in using this software. Customer support responds quite quickly.

Cons: Not being able to add extra items to a drop shipment purchase order. Our customers often want to add to an existing order but once a drop shipment PO is created it cannot be added to. Also, while the reports offered are good, not having the option to create your own report from scratch is limiting. A report writer function would be a good addition.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/20
Abigail T.
Inventory Management Specialist
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/18

"Perfect Inventory Management Tool"

Pros: Using Dear Inventory becomes our work more easier. We can analyze large number of data using the information we generate from it. Its also very easy to use.

Cons: I once experienced difficulty in loading, but its not a major issue for me. Dear inventory is still very helpful.!!!!!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/18
Damien A.
Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/01

"Great product and amazing support. Well worth it!"

Pros: Functions, support and API are fantastic. Great Value for money and definitely great features that large programs offer

Cons: Some clunky tasks that need annoying process to complete. Its generally very good but some small things like undoing and re authorizing tasks is a pain

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/01
Sheree G.
Operations Supervisor
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/13

"Great Communication"

Pros: Do not have to be a computer wiz to use it and the viewing options are easy to use. Support is also very helpful and quick in responding

Cons: Reports could be improved - variety and what information they have. Also when suggesting new reports the way in which they ask you to see if a popular option is silly as everyone's business is different and requires different reports

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/13
Kevin S.
Planner
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/13

"Great inventory software"

Pros: I have used a few software with regards to inventory but so far dear inventory is much more of a user-friendly compared to those software. The interface of this software is not that hard to understand.

Cons: I've been using this software for almost a year now and no critical issue being arise so far. Just some minor software crash in few times but still tolerable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Cameron P.
ERP Operations Manager
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/23

"Mixed Emotions"

Comments: It works well for a small company. As we have grown we quickly realized many of its limitations.

Pros: The system is very user friendly and the support team is awesome. They are eager to help and always come through.

Cons: Reporting is limited and acquiring some basic accurate data, like short shipments, can be challenging. Workarounds can be implemented but can also become time consuming.

Vendor Response

by DEAR Systems on 2020/05/20

Hello Cameron,

To serve our customers better with their reporting needs we rolled out a new reporting server to make report generation faster and efficient.
Thank you for taking the time to speak to our Customer Success Manager. Please note the data you wanted can be retrieved by the said report. If you have any difficulty please feel free to contact us via email ([email protected]) or on WhatsApp (+44-1244-940807).

Best Regards,
DEAR Team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/23