AIM Reviews

by Tri-Technical Systems

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,5 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,1 /5

About AIM

AIM is a complete point of sale, inventory management, accounting and business software for the retail industry. (AIM is EMV-ready)

Learn more about AIM

Showing 170 reviews

Megan H.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/05

"AIMsi has more and more to recommend it as we learn more about it"

Pros: This is a great POS for our instrument sale and rental business. There's just enough flexibility in it without having to do everything freeform. The more we use it, the more we learn about new ways that it can help us. And the support option is great. Their staff is very knowledgeable and has been of tremendous help to us on several occasions. We've used AIMsi for years already, yet we're still finding new ways that it can help our business. The designers seem to have anticipated most of the needs of a shop like ours. Whenever we decide we want to do something new, we find there is an option in AIMsi for exactly that. That's a great sign of a well-designed product.

Cons: There are a couple of features that would be nice to have (ability to refund an initial rental payment in the system, reverse an approval return, etc.), but they're just things that would be helpful to us specifically. The only other thing that we really find irritating at all is that the formatting on the straight-to-email option isn't really compatible with Gmail recipients, so the large number of our customers with Gmail get invoices and the like that are very difficult to read and not very professional-looking. We get around that by printing them to PDF instead, but it would be nice to have it work in one step.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/05
John D.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/12

"Outstanding product and tech support!"

Pros: The product I use has made tracking over 12,000 consigned items a manageable endeavor. In addition to the impeccable tech support I receive, the ability to track each and every product in the store, from intake to settlement, has made this business venture a pleasure. I probably only use 50% of the features, but those I use make my job easy. I can readily identify all pertinent information regarding an item, track notes on the consignor's item and sale preferences, and easily upload all information at the click of a button to my website. A few of the key features I use most are the abilities to associate similar items to one another, to produce reports for each consignor on items sold and still open, to create accounting reports on daily activity, to retrieve a customer's information for mail merge at settlement time, to track my inventory on both quantity and revenue generated to determine my seasonality and busiest days, and to un-publish items from the website once they reach quantity zero (can you imagine doing this manually?). I also enjoy the easy of use in the Aesys admin system. I've been able to manage and tailor the website to suit my needs with little help from the web support team (another great facet of the product). The ability for real-time lookup of shipping costs and credit card processing made the integration of these items a breeze.

Cons: There are times the system will crash if I have the SA Inventory, customer info, receive batch consignment, and the sales invoice windows open at the same time. There are times I need to have these available in the dynamic environment I've created, and the "Swordfish" errors can be a hassle. Also, there are some canned reports in the catalog that don't seem to work, and creating reports with the wizard is not the easiest or the most intuitive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/12
Sharon M.
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3,5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/06

"Best product available to Music retailers at this time."

Pros: That it captures customer info; examines things like staff sales, top customers, sales totals so I know how my business is growing.

Cons: the fees that you charge for anything extra that could support us.The fact that any type of webinar, workshop or video costs so much even though we pay monthly fees for support. I don't like the fact that even if we pay a monthly support fee we're screwed on the weekend if the system errors and you can't use it. paying an extra fee for the weekend seems like a another gouge. Not enough free tips and support about general usage, considering you only get a month of "free" support to learn how to use the system. If there are other places to get info then you need to get that info out to your customers.
The email module having no support in the way of setting it up - you're on your own having to know outgoing info and whatever else. I had it working once and now it doesn't and when I ask support that admittedly say that's not there area to help with and you have to call your internet provider. Plus when it does work, depending on your provider you can end up getting blocked from using your email for 24 hours.
That I can't look up a serial number to see it's repair history.
That you didn't ask your customers how they felt about your product and get their input -thanks for listening to my request in the email I sent a few weeks ago.

Vendor Response

by N/A on 2014/09/16

Our Support Manager spoke with Sharon and showed her how to look up the repair history on any serial number, and also stepped her through correcting her port number for emailing out of AIMsi.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/06
Andrew H.
Technical Director
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/16

"A Small Music Store's Best Friend"

Comments: I used this software as a salesman at a local music store. It worked great to keep track of inventory (sales/ordering/receiving), salesman commissioning, time cards, and it made band rental season easy to manage.

Pros: It's very easy to use for all point of sale needs including transacting sales, sales history, band rentals, gear rentals, powerful customer account features, ordering and receiving. We used it to track salesman commissions and it worked great for that as well.

Cons: No real cons from a salesman/user perspective. It functioned to meet all of the needs of a small, local music store.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/16
Tim S.
Manager
Logistics & Supply Chain, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/26

"A Good Alternative"

Comments: When I arrived in the organization, AIMsi had been recently installed for a small chain of retail stores in the organization. The sales floor was able to pick it up quickly, which was the real concerns. Basic metrics became readily available to everyone, and it was an overall success. That being said, it had a few crashes, and more complicated reporting for accounting, purchasing, and maintenance needed more work to be really functional. Nonetheless, it was a good buy for the organization.

Pros: Front-line users got up to speed quickly due to a slick interface and limited administrative options/noise. This included users with limited computer skill. The point of sale functionality was great.

Cons: Higher-view reports were clunky and difficult, they needed some help to get in shape for upper management. Crossing over data between the sales floor and the other functions of the business needed a lot of learning for even advanced users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/26
Mathew S.
IT Manager
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/07/12

"Amazing, flexible software that can do anything"

Comments: We have been working with TriTech and using AIMsi for years. They are a great company that packs so much into their software. It's flexible and can do anything!

Pros: the flexibility that it has to do so many functions

Cons: waiting for an update as the interface is a bit dated

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/07/12
Sheila L.
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/04

"AIMsi review from That Music Place"

Pros: Sales, inventory, accounting, rentals, and lessons are all in the same program. Popups for customer notes and inventory add-ons are extremely helpful. Messaging other users has improved our communication with each other.

Cons: The lesson module needs improvements. There are too many steps to entering an absence and then a makeup lesson. The absence screen needs to be merged with the schedule screen. It could be easily done by adding columns to the schedule screen for an absence checkbox and the reason box. The program has a lot of errors that causes it to shut down. Using the the inventory update Min/Max is confusing, especially with seasonal inventory. Training on this would be helpful. The help instructions seem to need to be updated and aren't always helpful.

Vendor Response

by N/A on 2014/09/16

We completely redesigned the lesson scheduling and billing module, and we set Sheila up as a beta tester. Our Support Manager also spoke with Sheila about the inventory min/max procedures.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/04
Mark H.
President
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/07/12

"Deluca Music AIMsi review"

Comments: Probably the best software on the market for a store of my kind. There is a module for everything I need to run a retail music store and academy.

Pros: Seamless operation between modules

Cons: The price.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/07/12
Rick G.
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/07/12

"Best POS for Music Stores"

Comments: Great folks at Tritech. Great product. Very happy customer! Great for rentals, repairs, online sales, and inventory control.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/07/12
Christopher C.
Inventory Control
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/20

"Easy to use,Intuitive, Great Product"

Pros: Integrates POS, AP, AR, inventory, and invoicing, all in one program. They offer complete training and on-site set up, for a price.

Cons: When printing statements, it prints old accounts with no address. Apparently there is no way to filter the ones with no address out so I have to manually remove them. Occasionally one slips past and they are returned to us by the Post Office.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/20
Mike P.
Manager
Retail
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/05/03

"Best Music Retail POS System"

Pros: One of the few full service Point of Sales systems for Music Retail. Has the ability to tie into a companies e-commerce. Active-e, Bto B, and C to B are very useful

Cons: As with all POS systems/software. Bugs and version updates can create issues. Sometimes Tech support doesn't have a good solution to the problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/05/03
Mike D.
Owner
Retail
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3,5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4,5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/07/12

"War and Peace"

Pros: The software covers all aspects of the retail music business

Cons: The AMSi software integrates nicely with the Storefront internet module but Storefront is an extremely difficult platform to work with. People that program web sites for a living have no clue on how to use the program. Its not intuitive and the have to learn Storefront from scratch.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/07/12
Bill B.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    3,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/05

"Not perfect, but headed in the right direction"

Pros: The product works correctly with few errors. Technical support is easy to reach and can often provide answers or solutions to issues as they arise. The company provides regular updates and upgrades to the software to correct errors or add functionality.

Cons: Certain portions of the program are incomplete or not well thought out. Some tasks are much harder or more complicated than they should be. The lack of support for current software is disappointing. Excel is limited to the 2003 format, and the program is built on Visual Fox Pro 9, a program discontinued in 2007.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/05
Mark B.
Owner
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/10

"Aimsi Review"

Comments: This is my first package. I checked many out and this seemed to be a great value. It has a TON of functionality of which I use only a small part. But the customer service is outstanding and the flexibility is huge. You'll have to narrow down what parts you want. It is a full accounting program also if you're doing accrual accounting. Most of the preset are for music stores, hobby shops, etc. I had to set it up specifically for shoe repair but it went well.

Pros: Very functional.

Cons: Maybe too much for a novice. Trying to figure out what to use and what not to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/10
Steven C.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/10/29

"Seven year AIMsi user"

Pros: The software itself feels rock solid. Most problems I experience are a result of our ISP and our IT guy being off premises.

Cons: On rare occasions, our printer has connection issues, but a restart usually fixes it. I'm not sure if it's a problem with AIMsi or if it's external. I would like a change in how emailing a receipt works. You have to print a paper copy to email. The biggest drawback is the cost for each module. I know it's business software and anything that works well is not inexpensive. As long as it works as well as it does, it's an accepted trade-off.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/10/29
Stefanie S.
Manager
Retail
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/07/13

"Tech support is not knowledgeable"

Pros: It is the only software specifically designed for the needs of a music store. It is convenient that you can call and get assistance with a question on how to use the software.

Cons: Their tech support. They are polite but clueless! The service we were getting years ago with the standard support was much better than what we get now for the same money. We feel that the people we talk with do not know the software very well and are making wild guesses on how to solve the problem we are inquiring about. Many times we are given conflicting advice from different tech guys on the same issue. Numerous times we have been on hold for up to an hour waiting for their tech guy to figure out how to solve a problem or just answer a question we have about using a certain feature from their software. It is very frustrating and it is waste of our time. Also, you have to pay for every single new module or improvement they make. Unfortunately once you buy their software and start paying every year to add a new module, you do not have a choice to cancel since you have invested quite a lot of money.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/07/13
Pam L.
manager
Sporting Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/19

"Great product"

Comments: I have been using this AImsi for several years and find it very easy to use and the tracking and follow through is great. I use the Accounts payable and receivable features plus purchase orders and it all works great together. The Point of Sale feature is so easy to use and understand, makes it great for new hires. Inventory control is made easy with this product also, searching for items in inventory is made simple.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/19
Phoua L.
Supermarkets
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/04

"AIMsi within the Asian Markets."

Pros: I really enjoy working with Tri-Tech's friendly and skilled technical and sales staff over the phone every time I call in for questions and concerns regarding the AIMsi software and its related hardware.

Cons: There's nothing that I would think of at this particular time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/04
Thomas M.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/10/18

"Consistent performance"

Pros: From a POS perspective, AIMsi gives me consistent performance with little or no problems.

Cons: The reporting capabilities could be tweaked. It would be advantageous to set inventory levels and be prompted when it is time to reorder.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/10/18
Jean (dale) L.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/04

"AIMsi's First Gun Shop Program"

Pros: The product has worked wonders for our business. From the installation to upgrades, AIMsi has provided us with expert technical assistance, as well as personal help and advice from their staff.

Cons: AIMsi has performed at or above our expectations. From the get-go, we have felt confident that AIMsi would be there for us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/04
Lee S.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4,5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/10/28

"AIMsi review"

Pros: I like the access I have for both customer and inventory history and how it merges them. I get a response of "We can do that" and they do.

Cons: When searching for a customer and I type the account number in and the program is asking me for last name. When I change it to search by account number, the number is gone when I make the change and I have to reenter the number.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/10/28
Donovan B.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/08

"Tri-Technical Systems AIMsi - POS & Inventory Control Software"

Pros: I'm a music instrument retailer, and AIMsi covers every aspect of my business.

Cons: Because the software is so powerful, the learning curve is more difficult than something like Square. Also, the database technology is dated and somewhat limiting compared to the newer platforms.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/08
Rachelle B.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/07/11

"Great software!"

Pros: This software is completely able to be personalized, which is great for our business because whenever we need something added to the program, they're able to add it for us.

Cons: I haven't found anything I don't like yet.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/07/11
Rich J.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    3,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3,5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/04

"AIMsi has greatly improved our abilty to run our business effectively."

Pros: AIMsi has allowed us greater access to real-time inventory numbers than we ever had before. Inventory and sales reports allow us to make much better decisions on purchases and forecasting for future needs.

Cons: One major problem is there is not really a user guide.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/09/04
Torin C.
Retail
  • Overall Rating
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3,5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/10/31

"Organization to the rescue"

Pros: This product is always tech supported, has not crashed or caused issue and helps all select locations (stores) stay organized with product.

Cons: I dislike the menu set up and it takes some time to learn how to use the program successfully.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2014/10/31