15 years helping South African businesses
choose better software

About OTRS

Fully-managed service management solution with ticketing, workflow automation & notifications for ITSM, Customer Svc and Security.

Learn more about OTRS

Pros:

And if you need some more juice, there is their API: integrate it with other systems like odoo or vTiger. Also, it helps you to manage billing hours, SLA, remaining support time for the customer.

Cons:

This is an open source tool, so you get what you pay for.

OTRS ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4,3
Customer Service
4,3
Features
4,4
Value for Money
4,5

Likelihood to recommend

8,7/10

OTRS has an overall rating of 4,5 out 5 stars based on 94 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used OTRS before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (94)

Susan
Susan
Merchandise Planner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Strategic business planning application

5,0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: My role has been solid with efficient decision-making choices since I started using OTRS. The central information system has enhanced data transparency.

Pros:

OTRS gives me an opportunity to plan and organize sales and marketing tasks. It has enhanced effective monitoring of workflows and implementation of set projects. The customizable service delivery unit has created close customer relations.

Cons:

There is no negative alert that I have observed from the performance of this platform.

OTRS Response

2 weeks ago

Thanks for sharing your feedback, Susan. Glad to hear OTRS is supporting your workflows and customer relationships.

Minu
Manager in India
E-Learning, 1 001–5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

OTRS is a scalable and highly configurable service management tool.

5,0 last month New

Pros:

OTRS has the ability to automate numerous service management procedures, including reporting, escalation, and ticket routing. This can assist you in cutting expenses and increasing efficiency.

Cons:

There aren't many options for commercial support because OTRS is an open source solution. For businesses in need of assistance with installing, configuring, or utilizing OTRS, this could be problematic.

OTRS Response

3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts, Minu. Just to clarify for others, OTRS is not open source. There is an older version - ((OTRS)) Community Edition - that is open source. However, OTRS has evolved quite a bit in recent years to include additional security measures, customizable dashboards, etc...In any event, I'm glad to hear that ((OTRS)) Community Edition is working well for you.

Mohit
Consultant in India
Information Technology & Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Basic Ticketing tool for customer desks

3,0 6 years ago

Comments: Basic software for small organization without advanced features of ITIL.

Pros:

I used it for sometime in one of my assignments. It was a very basic tool with minimum customization. It just does its job and do not provide advanced features of ITIL framework. Reporting was not effective and so was its UI. We replaced this with more advanced CA Servicedesk. However as a freeware, it was good for initial use.

Cons:

It is basic application and nothing much can be expected put of this. Ours is a ITIL compliant organization and need a more robust application.

OTRS Response

5 years ago

Hi Mohit. Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts on OTRS, and I'm glad you found a solution that fits your needs, I did just want to clarify, for other people reading, that OTRS is ITIL-compliant, and we have 6 ITIL-verified processes for incident, change, problem, knowledge and configuration management. Of course, we can't claim that for the ((OTRS)) Community Edition as that's our free unsupported version: in that case, compliance is in the hands of the user - and it can certainly be tough to configure that solo. But, our fully-managed version of OTRS is ITIL-compliant. Thanks again for the review.

Sanskriti
Manager in India
E-Learning, 1 001–5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

OTRS is a dynamic service management solution.

5,0 last month New

Comments: The ability to customize OTRS makes it possible to design a ticket system that is suited to the particular requirements. OTRS is a highly flexible and scalable service management solution that can be tailored to meet the unique requirements of any organization.

Pros:

The reporting tools in OTRS make it easier to monitor service management effectiveness and pinpoint problem areas. Encryption, access control, and auditing are just a few of the security features that OTRS has to offer to keep your information safe.

Cons:

To install, configure, and maintain OTRS, you need some technical skills. For businesses without a dedicated IT team, this can be difficult.

OTRS Response

last month

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're glad to hear that it works well for you and your team.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best IT ticket handling

5,0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

It has all features that requires for our ticket system to have the best customer support. Tickets can be easily to manage and track the progress. Not to tell that it also does not take time of implementation with a clear documentation. The dashboard provides a great view to work on.

Cons:

We rarely get issues with it. Only the customization need to be improved as well as the technical support from OTRS

OTRS Response

2 days ago

Glad to hear that OTRS is working well as your IT ticket handling system.

santosh
Business Head in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

OTRS is a Ticket to Success

5,0 2 months ago

Comments: OTRS helped our business to track the effectiveness of the customer support operation and helps in finding the areas of development.

Pros:

The best part about OTRS is it can be fully customizable, it is a flexible and scalable platform that can be personalized to meet the particular needs of a business.It can be easily integrated with other CRM Software.

Cons:

OTRS is complex for new users.OTRS is an open source platform where the vendor cannot provide official support which can be difficult.

OTRS Response

2 months ago

Thanks for your input, Santosh. It sounds like you're likely using ((OTRS)) Community Edition. OTRS is a bit different.

Ethan
Ethan
Network Security Engineer in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent workflow management software

5,0 last month New

Comments: The product has enhanced efficient implementation of projects and reliable management of workflows. It has enabled the organization to execute effective service delivery to our customers.

Pros:

OTRS provides effective tools for monitoring workflow progress. It sends notifications to my teams on tasks and reports based on real time performance. It can be easily customized to suit our workflow programs.

Cons:

I have not experienced performance downtimes since deployment.

OTRS Response

last month

Glad to hear OTRS provides help to your team with workflow management. Appreciate you taking time to review.

Abhishek
Abhishek
Assistant Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 501–1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Powerful Tool for Ticket Management

4,0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Its Low cost and very Effective tool for Managing Customer service. Repoting and monitoring service is very Effective.

Pros:

Its help to Create automation flow of Ticket Management. Its User-friendly. Finding and tracking issue made easy for resloving Issue.

Cons:

Can't handle multiple ticket at same time its slow down or Crashed.

OTRS Response

3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking time to share your insights, Abhishek. I'll share your feedback about the multiple tickets with the team too.

Mridun
Mridun
Student in India
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Best experience

4,0 2 months ago

Comments: The versatility and adaptability of the system and the system has a server to manage incidents in an optimal manner

Pros:

OTRS's ability to generate new processes and to change those that become obsolete within the system.

Cons:

many modifiable options causing confusion when have to fix a problem.clicking on several links to get on one path

OTRS Response

2 months ago

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Bandaru Sai Ganga Durga Ram
Student in India
Higher Education, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

OTRS : Good Tool For Ticket Management and also Low Cost.

4,0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Experience with OTRS is great. It is very helpful for small organisations.

Pros:

It having great flexible features for small and medium SMEs. It is an open source or cloud based wall.

Cons:

It having more complex configurations. It having limited features because of low cost.

OTRS Response

2 days ago

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts. I'm glad to hear that OTRS is working well for you. Just one clarification note: ((OTRS)) Community Edition is open source. The modern professional solution, OTRS, is not.

Lukas
Head of Call Center in Slovakia
Telecommunications, 501–1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very useful SW fo customer service ticketing

5,0 2 years ago

Comments: I recomend it for customer support.

Pros:

The possibility of different ways how to definy customer request and how to edit it. The reporting is also very relevant and helpfull.

Cons:

Sometimes I have to click a lot of categories to get somewhere or to fill something.

OTRS Response

2 years ago

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts.

Jorge
Consultant in El Salvador
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

OTRS one of the best ticket management system for IT Teams

5,0 last year

Pros:

OTRS is a powerfull and complete tool to help IT engenieers to assist customers and internal enterprise clients.

Cons:

May be the price and the features associated with no commercial versions, Other software with community editions has more options and other kind of level prices for small business.

OTRS Response

last year

Thanks for the review, Jorge. It sounds like you're using ((OTRS)) Community Edition. If you're interested in the commercial versions, they fall under the OTRS name specifically and information is available at OTRS.com. Appreciate you taking the time to review.

Georges
Service Manager in Luxembourg
Telecommunications, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

With ITSM awareness and maturity, OTRS can be successfully adopted and adapted.

4,0 5 years ago

Comments: Organize and Improve Desk and Operation functions. The value and level of services delivered by our department/team is better understood internally. Customer expectation is managed properly, therefore leading to improvements in customer experience.

Pros:

Adaptability to agents organization and processes. ITIL orientation for ops processes and inclusion of Configuration and Knowledge management.

Cons:

Ticket to C.I. links can be better clarified and improved (impact of the relationship) C.I. Features on Customer portal (e.g. missing search function, latency to refresh large CMDB)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1 001–5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Open source ITSM tool

3,0 last year

Comments: It was very difficult to deploy OTRS, you need a very skilled team to achieve a minimum useful configuration

Pros:

Once you had it configured, the ticketing functionality worked well.

Cons:

The user portal was not user friendly at all, it created a lot of desafection with the users. The learning curve was too high for deployment and configuring any functionality or module.

OTRS Response

last year

Thank you for taking time to share your experience, however the open source option that you're referring to is ((OTRS)) Community Edition. Rather, OTRS is actually a product supported by the manufacturer and separate from the community edition.

Binu
Application Support Manager in India
Consumer Goods, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Better than Remedy

5,0 5 years ago

Comments: Change Management and incidents are easy to manage with this tool

Pros:

This is the only Open Source Ticketing tool that I have used and I should say I'm surprisingly impressed. The change management process flows are easily implemented and easily configured

Cons:

There are no cons that I can talk about. This product is as robust as remedy or any other ticketing system

OTRS Response

5 years ago

Hi Binu. We're glad to hear that the process workflows are helping out. Thanks for taking time to review OTRS.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

OTRS - Makes life easy

5,0 5 years ago

Comments: We can manage everything better with tools like OTRS so go give it a try. They offer free demo too.

Pros:

- OTRS allows you to keep track of your requirements and all the incidents in terms of tickets. There is no way you can lose something or miss something. With the help of SRX number you will find everything in few seconds. No matter how many years old, those records are. - You can customize your own process and according to you Ex – standard time to meet the SLA - The support team is available 24/7 for help and with every new update.

Cons:

- I don’t like that feature of OTRS when on every single email it creates new ticket. Besides that, I honestly don’t have any complaints about OTRS.

OTRS Response

5 years ago

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts. We appreciate it.

Francis
ICT Service Desk Manager in Switzerland
Consumer Goods, 1 001–5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great to tailor to a good ITSM tool, after a first learning curve one can be efficient

5,0 5 years ago

Comments: Solid Incident management process rolled out

Pros:

email inbound capabilities are great (maybe unique!) Easy to rollout, once you have a couple of basic admins, customising is quite powerful

Cons:

Reporting is difficult to make work out of the box, SLA functionality complete only if you pay extra functionality

OTRS Response

5 years ago

Thanks for taking time to send in a review, Francis. We appreciate your thoughts.

Roberto
Roberto
CTO /CISO in Italy
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

In our organization OTRS is used by one hundred operators of IT, Business, Reception, Helpdesk

4,0 5 years ago

Pros:

Is very flexible, adaptive to almost every kind of organization. Easy for users. Many features available where to pick the more suitable for your needs

Cons:

Quite complex the administration, especially when is necessary to change the standard settings. Some features are not easy to implement.

OTRS Response

5 years ago

Thanks for taking time to review OTRS. Your thoughts are helpful to us.

syed
tech engineer in India
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 5 001–10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

otrs review

5,0 last year

Pros:

the most i liked about this software is it is a fastest communicating have best response with in sec which makes our daily usage more and give the best expirence in front and has the fastest resolution from the otrs tech team if any issues are given

Cons:

there only one dilike it doesnt have the productive analysis tool is it has the option it will make a best software in the filed

OTRS Response

last year

We appreciate your input.

Rajesh
Sr.Manager in India
Information Technology & Services
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A Very Economical Ticketing Tool

4,0 7 years ago

Comments: This product is using from 3 years.We started from a trial version and later customized to meet our requirements.Its meeting almost all requirements,compared with highly paid other tolls.The major advantages are the unlimited number of agents and customers can create in this.
We could develop all the required features in this and happy with the product.

OTRS Response

7 years ago

Thank you very much for your review.

mukhtiyar
mukhtiyar
IT Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ITs an amazing OpenSource Application that can be used as a ticketing Tool

5,0 5 years ago

Comments: Being in the IT Service Desk it helps me track all my Tickets

Pros:

We use it daily at the Service Desk. We can track Service Requests and Change Request very effectively. We can also implement ITIL based concepts on OTRS

Cons:

As many would agree, the GUI is very basic and could use some uplift. There are other tools in the market which has better interface.

OTRS Response

5 years ago

Thanks for your review, Mukhtiyar. Your thoughts are appreciated.

Pam
Business Support Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Awesome Ticketing Tool

5,0 5 years ago

Pros:

I have been using this for the past 3 years. Just the easiest way to keep a track of customer feedback .

Cons:

It slows down sometimes, but a reboot always works

OTRS Response

5 years ago

Thanks for taking time to review, Pam. Glad to hear it's going well for you.

Soma
Soma
Talent Acquisition in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Ticketing Tool

5,0 5 years ago

Pros:

I have used this for about 2 years and it is a very simple and powerful ticketing tool. We use it to track our IT Assets aswell.

Cons:

This is an open source tool, so you get what you pay for. I did not find any other negative points.

OTRS Response

5 years ago

Thanks for your feedback, Soma. In case others are reading, there is also a fully-managed version of OTRS.

Manisha
Manisha
HR Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1 001–5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

OTRS an Amazing Tool - Easy and Efficient

5,0 5 years ago

Comments: Problem Management tickets were easy to track

Pros:

Easy to configure and Easy to implement. One of the best applications to track incidents and change requests

Cons:

I have never had a negative experience while using OTRS

OTRS Response

5 years ago

Thanks so much for the review, Manisha. We're glad to hear it's helping. Much appreciated!

Nadia
Administrative Coordinator I in US
Education Management, 1 001–5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent Ticketing System

5,0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall, I had a really great experience with this program and would definitely recommend this program.

Pros:

I'm currently using the OTRS-6 system for submitting work order tickets. Before using this system, I would submit a work order and the response time was slow. There was no way that I would have known whether or not the However when I submit a work order request under the OTRS-6 system, I immediately receive a confirmation email and the response time is pretty quick.

Cons:

The only con that I see with this program is that there was no user guide available; however, the program is pretty user-friendly.

OTRS Response

4 years ago

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts.