PagerDuty Reviews

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About PagerDuty

Cloud software that connects people, systems & data into a single view for visibility and actionable intelligence across operations.

Learn more about PagerDuty

Showing 189 reviews

Stephen W.
Senior Solutions Engineer
Computer Software, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/07/04

"Essential part of the support stack"

Pros: PagerDuty is a simple but critical piece of our monitoring and support solution. We use it for two purposes, sending alerts to support when urgent customer requests come in, and sending alerts to engineering / SRE teams when something is wrong with our SaaS. It's easy to define the hierarchy of how the alerts should cascade. Integration is simple since PagerDuty supports many common platforms like BambooHR and OneLogin. Oneboarding process is straightforward and simple.

Cons: For colleagues in some regions, PagerDuty requires VPN to access which can be somewhat inconvenient. However that's more a reflection of the region versus PagerDuty. Pricing for the highest tier is expensive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/07/04
Pankaj R.
Engineer
Online Media, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/12

"Great product, helps us a lot"

Comments: As much as i hate to see a call from pagerduty, i know its doing its job. Its served the purpose well, its rare that we have to login and change settings since you can ack and resolve from phone, or slack.
You could add snooze option to the slackbot, that would be awesome!

Pros: - The flow of events, mainly. How it goes from Triggered, to ACK, to resolved with snooze options, it feels natural.
- Notification flow: How I can set up to notify my phone, wait two minutes before texting me, and wait five minutes before calling me.
- Slack integration

Cons: - Configuration can use some redesign. Its hard to find some settings sometimes. I told a coworker about updating notifications, and it took them a while to figure out where they can do that.
- Some important features are hidden behind a higher tier plan, eg: analytics.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/12
Tom E.
Tom E.
President
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07

"Helps me sleep at night"

Comments: PagerDuty keeps my entire team in the loop when something goes wrong with our app. We couldn't deliver the level of service that we do without PagerDuty

Pros: I love that Pagerduty has integrations with all of the application monitoring tools that we use. If anything starts to act up, Pagerduty makes sure we are aware of it.

Cons: Nothing really. The pricing is fair, the reliability is flawless.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07
Mahesh K.
Lead Analyst
Retail, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/05/09

"Be alerted when your process or application fails, to ensure high avilablety"

Comments: This is a good way to keep our applications in a highly available state, it is really useful and great tool to have

Pros: This Tool is simple and effect, the sole purpose of this tool is to alert the developer, and keep track the alert was resolved or not, so , there are escalation policies that can be defined, such that when a primary user dose not acknowledge the alert, it wold be escalated to a other user in the list ,order wise there are different type of alerts hards and soft, so we can set different notification methods for both, supported notification mediums, phone call, SMS, app notification, email etc.. We can add note for all alerted insedents, we can see the history of alerts and to come to a conclusion and fix it for a long term, they have a great support team

Cons: I don't see any issues with the service, some times even if we resolve the alert in the web UI, we still receive the call

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/05/09
Chris G.
System Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18

"Pager Duty"

Comments: Helps monitor critical systems and alerting

Pros: The alerting, even when you turn the volume down on your phone if an alerts triggers the volume will get turned back up for that alarm

Cons: After a few years the price started to increase.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18
Vedarth K.
Tech Lead
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19

"Value for money"

Comments: Web application is seamless and we had to contact support for any kind of question.

Pros: Seamless workflow management, once the workflow is setup everything works just as expected. PagerDuty has many integrations which allows us to setup alerts just by choosing the application, which is a great thing for small teams where development costs are very high.

Cons: Cannot think of anything from my standpoint, we are a small team and PagerDuty has everything we need and it works as expected every single time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19
Saurabh S.
Saurabh S.
Lead Software Eng
Entertainment, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/08

"Functional, and reliable"

Comments: Fairly good, minus top drawbacks. Mostly gets out of my way.

Pros: Extremely reliable, gets out of your way, lots of integrations

Cons: Confusing why there are schedules, teams, rotations etc. too much burden and it’s not simplistic to setup for first time use. Setting overrides and viewing on call schedule should be at the forefront. Should have out of office integration

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/08
Saurabh V.
Engineering Lead
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18

"Excellent tool"

Comments: We have been able to create escalation chains because of which we are not missing any alerts now. With the reporting feature, we are able to target are the most common issues and bring the count down.

Pros: As a 24x7 operations team, we heavily rely on Pagerduty to route alerts from a number of our monitoring systems to the right person in a shift.
Pagerduty provides with API integrations with almost all major monitoring tools to make the setup really easy.
We also use the reporting feature to do an incident review to look back on what were the alerts that happened over the week.

Cons: UI for creating schedules is not too user-friendly. Yet to explore all features but so far so good.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18
Drew K.
Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/08

"PagerDuty"

Comments: The software and infrastructure that we support are mission critical to our clients. We need to be able to detect and alert our urgent response team as soon as we have an issue. PagerDuty has given us the flexibility to provide that high level of support and is flexible to meet our needs in terms of rotations and routing of issues.

Pros: I love how easy PagerDuty is to configure and it's flexibility to support a number of escalations, services, and rotations. We've used PagerDuty for quite some time now and although no one loves to receive an alert it has revolutionized our ability to provide 24/7 support to our clients. The email and API integrations allow us to customize when we receive alerts and who they are routed to. Working smarter, not harder.

Cons: N/A - For real, I really like this software

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/08
Verified Reviewer
DBA
Information Services, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07

"PagerDuty review"

Comments: We have been using PagerDuty for more than 6 years. It is a great product in terms of availability of integration, timely alerts, mobile version, ability to select your teams info only, scheduling, and setting up services.

Pros: PagerDuty helps in everyday business by providing fast and accurate notifications and alerts for live systems. It has integrations with Slack and email, which helps a lot in notification and resolving incidents collaboratively. The mobile version is a great help as well.

Cons: PagerDuty mobile version lucks some essential features that are available on a full version, like scheduling a maintenance window.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07
Stuart K.
Lead Architect
Entertainment, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/12

"It’s great"

Pros: Ease of alerting and notifications. Very easy to use.

Cons: The roles was not very granular initially.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/12
Kevin V.
Software Architect
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/21

"Solid solution for on call devops"

Pros: Pager Duty overall is a great solution for handling on call escalations for server and environment issues. It makes it easy to integrate with third part solutions to generate actionable alerts for on call engineers. If you are using a product that doesn't natively integrate with Pager Duty (which is rare), you can use their email integration to submit issues that way.

Cons: The interface for adjusting the on call schedule could be improved - when updating a schedule to cover an engineer while they are on vacation, it can be really confusing to setup.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/21
Patrick W.
Patrick W.
IT Consultant
Computer Software, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/22

"Bring all your monitoring tools together"

Comments: We have been able to roll out this tool to our team as well as others that we work along side. It has made it much easier to communicate alerts that are received. It has also significantly lowered the amount of noisy alerts that we receive as well as assist us in not missing alerts when we are not at our desks. A very convenient tool to have.

Pros: This tool makes monitoring so much easier by bringing everything into one place.
Easy to use, easy to set up, and already integrated into a lot of existing tools.
Notification preferences, and schedules, and escalation policies make life SO much better!

Cons: The terminology is a little hard to wrap your head around.
Has elements that are dependent on others and makes it hard to clean up after you have already set it up.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/22
Verified Reviewer
Director Of Customer Success
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/24

"After hours queue management hasn't been easier"

Comments: If you don't have a 24-hour support center/team, this is a great tool to manage your queue in after hours scenarios.

Pros: Very simple to manage and make adjustments to the operational flow for our team. The app is straightforward and works well. Text message and phone call features also are very hepful.

Cons: The setup wasn't the easiest. Integrating our support took a little time to ensure that it was functioning correctly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/24
Verified Reviewer
Internet
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2015/04/30

"Crucial and Fantastic"

Comments: I'm not really sure how I lived without PagerDuty. Once I started using it, I can't imagine not using it. Our ops group was/is small, and we needed eyes on at all hours, with a failsafe way to make sure someone got woken up. PagerDuty has been dutifully letting us know things are broken for 3 years, for a fraction of the cost of a manned "NOC".

Pros: First and foremost, that it works as advertised. The core product has done what its supposed to do without fail for us. Additionally, the ability to effortlessly set overrides to schedules is something I've found very helpful.
But perhaps more than anything, honestly, are the people. Everyone I've interacted with, be it emails with support, or discussions with our rep on the phone has been fantastic. They're enthusiastic, know the product, and eminently helpful.

Cons: I can only think of one minor thing: the phone number that alerts come from has a tendency to change. In some senses though, this is a bit of a "pro". From discussion with support, this changes because of the redundant outbound calling facilities used. So I'm happy to trade the minor inconvenience of occasionally not recognizing a number as being PagerDuty in return for knowing that my alerts will go out.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2015/04/30
Akash R.
DevOps Engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07

"Makes our life easier"

Pros: Mobile app most I like about the pagerduty.

Cons: There's nothing I don't like about the software. But I would like to see more additional features in the mobile app like scheduling maintenance for few services etc

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07
Liron H.
DevOps
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/12

"Great support and intuitive interface"

Pros: Ease of use
Walk through
Customer success
Integration with 3rd parties

Cons: Couldn't find disadvantages, they are listening to their customers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/12
Fred C.
Sr Director, End User Services
Telecommunications, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/22

"Great Notification Tool"

Pros: The ability to customize scheduling for individuals on call or notifications based on various use cases.

Cons: Would like to see more integration options with the RingCentral Application(s)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/22
Bryan F.
Information Technology & Services
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2015/04/30

"Invaluable Service, Great Team!"

Comments: PagerDuty has been one of the most useful services we've purchased as a consulting firm. Our company does 24/7 monitoring of customer systems, and the ability to have an automated system contact us whenever there is an urgent issue has really helped push our service to the next level. The application is very easy to work with, changes take minimal time to implement, and if you have any questions, the product team is always incredibly helpful.

Pros: - Let's you set up on call rotations with multiple users.
- The product can be set up to contact you in various ways sequentially (eg email first, then text, then call).
- Lots of useful integration with other apps, and a developer API.
- Incredibly cost effective for how important the service is.
- Reliable! In three years I've never once ran into an issue where the system failed to contact a person, or where the application configuration was unavailable (that was unplanned).

Cons: - The only con i can think of is that setting up escalation levels is a little confusing at first. After working with it for about half hour it makes sense and you'll be setting up on call schedules quickly and easily.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2015/04/30
Sidd K.
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07

"Great application monitoring product"

Pros: Integrations with cloud providers and other softwares.

Cons: None at this moment. The software works as designed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07
Jared S.
Lead Engineer
Computer Software, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/15

"Just Works"

Pros: Simplicity, the core features just work.

Cons: Too few alert sound choices. They all give me anxiety now.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/15
Daniel U.
Systems Analyst
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/20

"Mostly positive experience. I believe the functionality could be enhanced further."

Pros: I like that it's simple to use and does it's main job well. I get alerted properly and it's easy to acknowledge incidents.

Cons: I believe the functionality could be a little cleaner and more enhanced. I'd like to see it integrate with our ticketing system better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/20
Dmitriy T.
CMTS
Computer Software, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/06/02

"Excellent software"

Comments: Excellent software, very user friendly

Pros: Allows to get notification about bugs, urgent issues, problems in production. Supports different channel of notifications such as email, sms, mobile

Cons: Sometimes get notification too late, or notification already processed on one channel, but still later notified on another channel

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/06/02
Payne (.
Payne (.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/04/20

"Moved to PagerDuty from Nagios"

Comments: In my previous job I helped maintain and manage our Nagios alert system. In my current job we use PagerDuty but I am not the maintainer of the system. I have found the phone app to be excellent. It is super nice to have a suite of tools that work with the system without many major configs or complex setup. I found that maintaining and pruning alerts to be pretty easy. It is nice to have pretty granular controls over who the alerts go to and when they escalate. It is also really nice to be able to control how I receive my alerts without having to talk to a sys admin.

Pros: Control over my alerts
Controls for team members and roles
Integrated mobile app

Cons: Third party login used to be really rough to work with but it has improved a ton in the past few months.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2016/04/20
Darin M.
Director
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18

"Too Pricey"

Pros: Quality, full-featured, and simple to configure.

Cons: The pricing model is nickel-and-dime. 5 users is $350, which is a far cry from what they advertise.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18