Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,3 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,4 /5

About PagerDuty

Cloud software that connects people, systems & data into a single view for visibility and actionable intelligence across operations.

Learn more about PagerDuty

Showing 187 reviews

Corey F.
Manager, Incident Management
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/13

"Bye Bye to old school on-call practices"

Comments: Issues that use to "fall through the cracks" or receive no attention/acknowledgement at all have been almost eliminated totally. The time for a technical resource to be alerted to an incident and acknowledge it has gone from 15-25-35-45mins to 5 minutes or less. Teams are now proactively alerted to issues that may turn into something big before the customer notices any impact.

Pros: PagerDuty is incredibly easy to setup and use. Creating new teams, on-call schedules, and escalation policies can be done in a matter of minutes. You can go from manually looking up people via a google calendar or an excel sheet, to engaging an on-call resource in 2 minutes or less from the great app while you are on the beach. The integration with Slack is great, no other way to say it. Very useful for incident notifications for those teams that rely heavily on Slack.

Cons: The reporting functionality of PagerDuty needs some further enhancements. Obtaining certain data such as "what users are using which contact methods" for example still needs to be provided by contacting their Support team. The filtering of the Visibility console needs work and is currently limited to "All Teams" or a single team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/13
Manas M.
Senior Software Engineer
Retail, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/19

"Get alerted when your services go down or on urgent mails from the customer, and track it"

Comments: PagerDuty has continually helped us in identifying the unusual issues and edge cases, now our product is stable, and we ensure high availability of our services , it has been a great experience with it

Pros: You can use pager duty for different purpose to get alerted and track the alert till the alert was addressed,
we use it for the alert on service down and failures, so that the product issue can be addressed and fixed at the earliest,
Pagerduty serves this purpose good, it alerts in different mediums and at different levels, and there is a rotation policy, if a level 1 user dose not addresses then it alerts the level 2 user and this rotation gos on till the issue is properly addressed, and there are good features like time tracking, historic analysis , team groping, different alert policies, scheduling the users to be on call, snoozing the alert, escalating to other user, etc

Cons: some times the web UI becomes slow, the app version dose not have all the features that the web version has

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/19
Tom E.
President
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07

"Helps me sleep at night"

Comments: PagerDuty keeps my entire team in the loop when something goes wrong with our app. We couldn't deliver the level of service that we do without PagerDuty

Pros: I love that Pagerduty has integrations with all of the application monitoring tools that we use. If anything starts to act up, Pagerduty makes sure we are aware of it.

Cons: Nothing really. The pricing is fair, the reliability is flawless.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07
Monish K.
senior software engineer
Computer Software, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/27

"Ensure High availability of your product to the end user by integrating it with PagerDuty"

Comments: PagerDuty helped our product to become highly stable and it ensured high availability to the end user, overall had a great experience with it.

Pros: PagerDuty is used to send alert notifications to developer,
We can use it in a way that when ever failure occurs notify the developer who is scheduled to be on-call,
Even a customer escalation to a email can trigger a pagerDuty notification alert, when the receiver email ID is subscribed with PagerDuty,
PagerDuty has escalation policies , in which multiple users can be in different level, if level 1 failed to resolve the issue, the level 2 dev gets a alert etc ..
and the dev's can be scheduled to rotate there levels in fixed time intervals, like weekly bases,
It Dose a good job of maintaining the issue states & the alerted issue has different lifecycle such as triggered, acknowledged , resolved, snoozed, It maintains analytical dashboards on dev's which shows the responsiveness of the developer , like how many issues they have resolved and what is the average resolution time or have they escalated it etc .. it maintains history of alerts, it has good customer support,
the resolution note's can also be added against the alert,
We can configure the alerts as Low and High Urgency , based on which we can have different type of notifications, types of notifications are phone call, message, email, push notification in pd app etc ... pagerDuty deduplicates the alerts with same message, if a incident is in open state and if same incident occurs again and again , it will not be raised.

Cons: Sometimes when i resolve the alert on web, i still get a call on phone, If the incident was resigned by the developer to a other user who is not in the escalation policy and if he did not answer the alert the escalation chain stops, instead it should be thrown back to older escalation policy from ware it begun

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/04/27
James M.
Director of Information Security
Education Management, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07

"The best option if you need to be alerted for when things go down"

Comments: We were tired of paging everyone all the time on things going down or coming back up. Now it pages one person during business hours only. Also if the server comes back up it'll close the ticket for us and resolve the call. Our admins can now sleep at nights and not have to respond to every page with people trying to figure out who is handling the situation.

Pros: Most? There are so many features with pagerduty. I like it only alerts one person on call instead of the old way we use to page people. We use to page everyone on everything. Now it's just the person on call and he doesn't respond it goes to the next person. Very nice setup.

Cons: Scheduling times is a bit difficult for me to grasp, but once you figure it out you only have to set it up once.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07
James E.
Sr. Systems Engineer
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18

"The standard in on-call notification"

Comments: I have used pagerduty for years, and I have to say I use it as the gold standard for other notification services. So far, competitors either don't have nearly the same level of features, or cost a fortune.

Pros: Easy to set up. Inexpensive. Reliable. It has a number of integration options for various monitoring systems, and they are always adding more. They also have generic versioned APIs for any custom software you might bring to the table.

Cons: The Mobile app sometimes has issues refreshing when there is a lot of activity.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18
Danny C.
Product Support
Information Technology & Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07

"Excellent Product"

Comments: Having PagerDuty set up to trigger alarms to will notify my team is truly priceless. Whether we are on duty, or in an On-Call scenario, PagerDuty is always around to let us know when things go wrong.

Pros: I love how reliable PagerDuty is. My company has PagerDuty implemented for not only our On-Call regiment, but also with alerting. Since we've been using PagerDuty, we've ALWAYS been notified of issues that we've created alerts for. Sure, it's not always fun to receive a call when On-Call, but we can always rely on PagerDuty to be functioning correctly to ensure we are informed in the most critical of moments. Keep up the good work!

Cons: No cons to report, honestly. Other than having a critical moment where PagerDuty is having to be utilized. However that is no fault of the PD Team!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07
Saurabh S.
Lead Software Eng
Entertainment, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/08

"Functional, and reliable"

Comments: Fairly good, minus top drawbacks. Mostly gets out of my way.

Pros: Extremely reliable, gets out of your way, lots of integrations

Cons: Confusing why there are schedules, teams, rotations etc. too much burden and it’s not simplistic to setup for first time use. Setting overrides and viewing on call schedule should be at the forefront. Should have out of office integration

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/08
James B.
Senior Technology Vendor Manager
Information Technology & Services, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18

"Great but complex pricing and add-ons"

Pros: PagerDuty has helped our business bring global teams onboard as we've completed several acquisitions this year. We've found onboarding to be easy and pain free.

Cons: The billing model and optional extras are both confusing and expensive. With over 500 users on our account, if I want just a select few to be "Super Admins" with access to the advanced analytics, I can't. I would need to upgrade all 500 users at a tremendous amount of money.
I think PagerDuty need to do a better job at user segmentation and profiling, allowing upgrade and bolt-ons for selected users only.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18
Verified Reviewer
Systems Engineer
Computer Software, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/05

"Simple, but powerful..."

Comments: Our experience has been good, but it all depends on your implementation. If you don't plan your implementation and set your rules properly, you're going to have a bad time. Read through the implementation guides and best practices before you pull the trigger on making this product live.

Pros: PagerDuty makes it so easy to set up your paging rules and schedules as well as integrate it with your monitoring solution. We use it with What's Up Gold and it does a wonderful job of making sure that the right people are informed of an outage.

Cons: Sometimes if there are multiple alerts in a short amount of time, you can get overwhelmed with notifications and phone calls. I've been in the situation before where when being paged multiple times at once, I couldn't actually acknowledge the pages because my phone kept getting called over and over again for different alerts.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/05
Alex R.
sr manager engineering
Retail, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/12

"great way to allow teams to self manage their notifications"

Comments: easy to onboard, flexible to use. simple but does what its supposed to do and does it well!

Pros: teams can manage their own schedules, including flexible overrides when they need someone else to cover. lot of notification/escalation options, and for each user they can specify how they prefer to be communicated with.

Cons: adding users to an existing schedule can cause unexpected issues if you are not careful. also I sure wish that pagerduty app was able to override do not disturb settings on my phone, would love to be able to disable calls and other notifications but still get my PD alerts when I go to bed!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/12
Abhishek S.
Member of technical staf
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/08

"PagerDuty to the Rescue"

Comments: Really good, anywhere I go I would recommend PagerDuty .

Pros: The intuitive user interface along with the supported apps on all other platforms really help in keeping track of events. Moreover PagerDuty has never been down which really speaks a lot about the effort that goes in to making this amazing piece of software

Cons: I cannot subscribe to a specific type of pager, or pagers which should get escalated to only me instead of the on-call person.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/08
Verified Reviewer
Director Of Customer Success
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/24

"After hours queue management hasn't been easier"

Comments: If you don't have a 24-hour support center/team, this is a great tool to manage your queue in after hours scenarios.

Pros: Very simple to manage and make adjustments to the operational flow for our team. The app is straightforward and works well. Text message and phone call features also are very hepful.

Cons: The setup wasn't the easiest. Integrating our support took a little time to ensure that it was functioning correctly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/24
Joe D.
Dir
Computer Software, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18

"Great software for smaller teams"

Comments: With a small team supporting a global workforce we needed a way to enable our VIPs to get help at anytime without exposing to the general employee base. The features and functionality enable us to so this and enabled us to grow our services as the company grew.

Pros: That it was easy to setup and configure. The cost was a driver.

Cons: It is not the easiest to obtain additional licensing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18
Gabriel B.
Head of engineering
Computer Networking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/12

"PagerDuty helps us keep track of our incidents"

Pros: PagerDuty helps us keep track of our incidents efficiently and saves us money by allowing us to quickly escalate events and respond to emergencies as soon as they occur.

Cons: I have no complaint about PagerDuty, everything works as expected and the customer service is very efficient.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/12
Laura C.
IT Specialist
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/01

"Pager Duty is powerful tool used for production support in a best way."

Pros: Pager Duty consists of quite simple set up. It provides quick alerts for all sorts of incidents. It is integrated with the most common and famous monitoring and technology sites which is considered to be the most interesting feature. This is the straight forward app that works very well. It's feature of text messaging and phone call are equally helpful. Simply by login on call process, one can easily see schedule for all the team workers involved.

Cons: There are not any downsides of this software. One of the issue is setting up escalation levels in the beginning seems to be difficult. While integrating our support, it takes quite long time to make sure whether it is working correctly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/01
Dana R.
Systems Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/13

"Good tool for after-hours calls"

Comments: We use Pagerduty for our after hours emergency on call. It serves its purpose.

Pros: ease of use.
integration into existing systems
uptime and availability

Cons: I do not have any known cons. If i do have a suggestion it would be to make more integration features available for an enterprise edition.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/13
Liron H.
DevOps
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/12

"Great support and intuitive interface"

Pros: Ease of use
Walk through
Customer success
Integration with 3rd parties

Cons: Couldn't find disadvantages, they are listening to their customers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/12
Fred C.
Sr Director, End User Services
Telecommunications, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/22

"Great Notification Tool"

Pros: The ability to customize scheduling for individuals on call or notifications based on various use cases.

Cons: Would like to see more integration options with the RingCentral Application(s)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/22
Ronald A.
Manager, Software Engineering
Computer Software, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18

"PagerDuty - for when I don't want to think about work but something might need attention"

Comments: PagerDuty is fantastic. I'm able to manage a rotating on-call schedule for my team. My team members can schedule their own overrides. We are able to easily integrate with our products so that alerts flow seamlessly from the failing service to our monitoring to PagerDuty to the on-call person.

Pros: 1) It allows me to be away from work but still reachable
2) I don't have to share my personal contact information with work folk
3) Easy to schedule overrides
4) Layered scheduling

Cons: 1) It wakes me up - this isn't really a con, since when it does wake me up something needs immediate attention

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18
Chen D.
Software Engineer
Marketing & Advertising, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07

"PagerDuty Review"

Pros: Great features and easy to use interface. Notification can be configured with multiple sources.

Cons: Some functionalities can be improved with more clear instructions

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07
Ravitheja M.
Systems Engineer
Computer Games, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19

"The best app to integrate server monitoring to your phonr"

Pros: I love how it provides 3rd party api integration and has a very user friendly interface

Cons: should have included a CLI tool to work with and make our own integration

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/19
Sidd K.
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07

"Great application monitoring product"

Pros: Integrations with cloud providers and other softwares.

Cons: None at this moment. The software works as designed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/07
Hong G.
DatabaseEngineer
Information Technology & Services, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18

"the software meet my expetations"

Comments: I would say it is a nice experience.

Pros: the pager duty have multi-layer notification settings to make sure I wont miss the call.
the feature of easily view /change/overwrite pd schedule also works great and I love it.

Cons: the error massage in the first page of pager duty is kind of generic and not straight forward.
I expected to know what's the error is on the first sight instead of click/drill down multiple links to get the details.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/11/18