Dynamics RMS Reviews

by Microsoft

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,1/5
  • Ease of Use
    4,1/5
  • Customer Service
    3,9/5

About Dynamics RMS

Retail management tool which enables customer flow increase through cash-in and lines speed up.

Learn more about Dynamics RMS

Showing 61 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Student
Higher Education, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/18

"Best for Retail Management"

Comments: Microsoft Dynamics RMS is a simple software with many functionalities and a SQL database. However, it is pricey, slow and has a less user friendly interface.

Pros: The software can be used to perform almost every function related to retail management such as inventory management, purchasing, pricing, point-of-sale capabilities etc. The software is also easy to use and can be used by any type of business. It also has a functional SQL database. The software also gives customized options.

Cons: The software can be said to be quite expensive mostly as its used by small and medium business. Also, there are responsiveness issues and the software freezes at times. Furthermore, the software lacks visibility and also the interface is not very user-friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/18
Al C.
Computer Consultant
Computer Networking, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/08

"Wonderful but unfortunately Obsolete"

Comments: Microsoft like many large companies do purchased QuickSell RMS and made it part of their Dynamics line. The software is well written with lots of reporting and connectivity options. It fit well in the "run everything on Windows" environment that existed before Wifi everywhere, smart phones with NFC and chip-and-pin credit card transactions. One license is required per register but manager seats are "free".
The Headquarters package isn't required but allows you to manage and report on multiple stores simultaneously. Everything required from sales tax withholding and reports for your accountant are included naturally but you will still need an accounting program.
When it comes to features you will be hard pressed to find a more developed package.
Microsoft has abandoned development for this platform so I can only recommend that companies already using it continue to use it while it is supported. Others should be looking at a cloud based (possibly e-commerce integrated) solution. PCI compliance will be a function of your credit card processor (device or software) as RMS no longer processes credit card security transactions. Look for processor software that integrates from your merchant bank.

Pros: Runs with SQL Server or (free/included) SQL Express.

Cons: No cloud features, no migration path.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/08
Sam S.
Automotive
  • Overall Rating
    3,5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3,5/5
  • Customer Support
    2,5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/07

"MS retail system"

Pros: I have been using Microsoft RMS for seven months. Overall, the product is really good. It is better because of the Microsoft partner that I use for support. The software is very flexible, if you know how to use it. Our partner has been able to tweek the software to meet almost every need. We use almost every possible feature. We have a website and ship internationally, four retail stores, open house accounts for customers, use gift cards and transfers from one store to another. We have had a few issues; however, our partner has helped us work out most of them so far and is still working on the few that we have. He has customized this to meet our needs. Out of the box, I don't think we would get the same results.

Cons: It's limited in what it can do. Basic functions are omitted, and if you want something fixed, most of the time they say that cannot be done because it is hard-coded. It crashes once in a while, and even after install, they still cannot get credit voucher to load a year later.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/07
Denis R.
Leader of center excellence procurement
Retail, 10 001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/30

"Review DRivera Dynamics RMS"

Comments: In general the tool is a good options to control and manage request of internal users

Pros: It is very easy to set up, easy access with or without internet connection, with this tool We can to have statistic information very fast to take decisions and improve the services

Cons: Some inconveniences during the instalation time and also could be expensive for small companies, some times is not enought efficient

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/30
Elizabeth H.
Owner
Apparel & Fashion, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/12

"I have really enjoyed using MS Dynamics RMS POS but am sad to hear it is no longer supported"

Pros: It is easy to use, tracks inventory and sales and pretty much everything I need it to do. It also has great reports.

Cons: It is no longer supported and so if the system ever permanently fails/crashes I am in trouble. I thought I had permanently lost it this past year, but thankfully we were able to get it up and going again on our own.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/12
Gino P.
director
Retail, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/27

"dynamics retail "

Pros: Features, functions and integration with ecommerce, banking, and qb financial increasing accuracy and reducing efforts in a secure manner

Cons: Dynamics retail rms is end of like, but is a very stable solution. With end of life new development has been halted.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/27
Cynthia S.
GENERAL MANAGER
Retail, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/06

"MICROSOFT RMS"

Comments: WE CHANGED OVER TO RETAIL HERO A FEW MONTHS AGO AND HAVE FOUND THE RMS PROGRAM WORKED MUCH BETTER FOR US. WOULD LOVE TO SEE RMS RETURN IN PLACE OF RMH.

Pros: WE FOUND IT EASY TO USE AND GAVE ACCURATE REPORTING.

Cons: WE WERE MOSTLY HAPPY WITH ALL PARTS OF THE PROGRAM

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/06
Kyle S.
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2011/11/10

Comments: Naturally Healthy is a new retail store in downtown Philadelphia. We specialize in everything all-natural & organic. Including cosmetics, skincare, shower & bath, aromatherapy, whole food vitamins & supplements, candles, and more. We were looking for a POS system with ease of use, efficient reporting, reliability, and the right price. Because we are a new store and didn't have the experience, time or money to make a bad choice...we needed help narrowing our choices and Software Advice made that happen.

Software Advice couldn't have made shopping a POS any easier. Within days all of our choices were calling us to demo their product. After narrowing our search to a handful, a few conversations and demos helped us to decide on Microsoft Retail Management System (RMS). Implementation of Microsoft Dynamics RMS couldn't have been any easier! The software was installed on the hardware before arriving to the store. We plugged the cords and had a 3 hour walk-thru of the entire system and were up and running 3 weeks after purchasing.
Training for new employees on Microsoft Dynamics RMS literally takes minutes before they are ringing a customer out. The reporting has been all that we expected. If we had to manufacture a complaint, it would be creating custom reporting isn't as easy as advertised. In conclusion, Microsoft Dynamics RMS is a winner and Software Advice is the right component before making such a big decision.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2011/11/10
Mary love F.
Supply chain planner
Wholesale, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/31

"Nice software indeed!"

Pros: As a medium-size business, this software really helps in terms of monitoring and scheduling purposes which is efficient in every way.

Cons: Having trouble when multiple tabs are open. Not sure if my PC or just the app is not intended for multi-tasking.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/31
Kgaugelo M.
Engineer in training
Mining & Metals, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/20

"Dynamics RMS Reveiw"

Comments: I'm generally happy with it, but since it will be phased out soon, I don't rrally recommend it.

Pros: It's user friendly- very simple to add and delete products, it's easy to search UI. The grey and white lines on the point of sale systems interface make it clear for one to see the items on the screen. The customer panel interface allows one to look at the history of the customers purchases and store credit.

Cons: Loading can take some time. If network fails work can be lost. It needs to be updated a bit, although, it will no longer be in use very soon, so big ups to microsoft for the next upgraded product

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/20
Marie kris S.
Process Engineer
Wholesale, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/23

"Effective Microsoft Retail Management System"

Pros: Easily manage the stock level of the items. As a small enterprises this software is very efficient and effective. Very convenience to small and medium enterprises.

Cons: As of now, the only problem that I see in this software is the price but this is very helpful to us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/23
Laidine C.
Sr. Sales Specialist
Apparel & Fashion, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/31

"Great Tool"

Pros: This software can be use for small and medium enterprises. It can easily manage the inventories of the business. I can save time using this tool.

Cons: Not good for large businesses but it can improve to use by everyone. Overall I can organize my inventories on time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/31
Jomarie A.
Capacity Planning Engineer
Wholesale, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/16

"Helpful and Easy to use"

Pros: I like this product because it is very helpful in handling and monitoring of inventory. It is easy to set up. Overall this product is so nice and good.

Cons: So far, I can't see any cons about this product because it is very helpful to small and medium enterprises.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/16
Mary grace E.
Unit Head
Wholesale, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/17

"Easy Managing System"

Pros: I like this tool because I can easily manage the stock level of the inventory. Very efficient in handling inventories.

Cons: Good for small and medium enterprises only. But overall very helpful to us. They have a little issue on the features but still works good.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/17
Mardy A.
Operations Head
Wholesale, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/13

"Manageable Microsoft RMS"

Pros: Using this tool I can easily manage and organized the stock level of my business. The features and functions is good and very user friendly.

Cons: A little bit pricey but very helpful for small and medium businesses. Good for reporting of inventory.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Catherine G.
Store Manager
Retail, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/04

"Love this POS Syste"

Comments: over all this was the easiest POS system i have ever used in my retail career!

Pros: it is very easy to use, opening in the morning and closing at night everything is right there all in order of the buttons you press so its virtually impossible to not do it right.

Cons: the discount section is small and a bit confusing, i wish there would be a way to categorize it like all 5-50% off in one button and all GWP buttons , i think it would make it a bit easier to navigate during busy times

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/04
Mazen Z.
Procurement Manager
Building Materials, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/07

"Its A Microsoft - Nothing to add"

Comments: Great Software for a successful business

Pros: fully loaded of features covering all needs of small to large business, reliable and very stable its a pieces of Art

Cons: no observed cons, could be more used friendly by adding help popup window which will make control and handling much better

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/07
Olivia marie R.
Planner
Wholesale, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/16

"Good for starters"

Pros: As a newly entry with this kind of business, this software helps me a lot managing the business when it comes to the operations and some finished goods monitoring.

Cons: So far I don't see or encounter any issue/problem with this application or software and hope it will remain like this for the succeeding days and weeks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/16
Jason M.
HR Manager
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/11

"Only use if you like software crashing"

Pros: The software is easy to use for front line staff and is simple to train. Robust reporting capabilities. From the admin side, it does 95% of the things we'd like it to do.

Cons: Crashing, crashing, crashing. We've had the software in place for over 7 years and it's been one of the highest areas of complaints from employees because of the frequency of crashing. The system freezes, won't respond, and then is forced to restart. In retail, checkout speed affects both profitability and customer satisfaction, so adding 2 to 3 minutes of "I'm sorry, my register just crashed..." isn't helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/11
Ela almira P.
Production Planner
Retail, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/30

"Manageable Project Through Microsoft Retail Management System"

Pros: l like the most of Microsoft Retail Management System is the reliability of reports and status updates of the existing projects to monitor

Cons: aside from training that highly required to be able to maximize the use or functionality of Microsoft Retail Management System, it's really worth it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/30
Andrew L.
VP
Retail, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/04/12

"Long in the tooth"

Comments: RMS is very stable. I've never seen it crash in the 4 years we've had it in our retail store. BUT, it's on track to be discontinued by Microsoft and it shows. They only have made minor tweaks and no serious updates since we got it. The interface is "1980s" in places and some reports you'd expect to be included are not. Times you'd expect to drill down, you can't.

Pros: Super stable
Reasonably priced
Somewhat flexible
Standard SQL database

Cons: Being discontinued
Old interface and graphics
Marginal support from Microsoft
Needs broader selection of standard reports
Can't always drill down when you want to

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/04/12
Joshua R.
Owner
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/14

"MRMS Review"

Pros: Does everything you would expect. Great for moderately sized companies. Tons of functionality and very easy to use

Cons: A little pricey and theres a bit of a learning curve, but other than those things the product is great.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/14
Jesus Z.
Process Engineer
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/26

"Efficient Inventory Management tool"

Pros: using Microsoft Retail Management System play a very important role in keeping stock level of our dentures

Cons: You have to really invest a long period of time for training or learning its features for you to be able to maximize it's functionality

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/26
Gessin P.
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/03/03

"Microsoft RMS has far exceeded our expectations!"

Pros: The best part of the Microsoft RMS is how easy it is to set up and start using. Within an hour we had everything registered and running without any issues. We called support to assist with a custom install and they were extremely quick and precise.

Cons: This is not recommended for enterprise businesses. Small and mid-size is what benefits the best. That would be our only complaint - the scalability of the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/03/03
Mohamed R.
project manager
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/22

"Microsoft RMS"

Comments: it's great but short one.

Pros: great retail management software
fit many businesses
easy to use and to implement.
has a great POS

Cons: dose not has it's back office or native integration with one of Microsoft ERP

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/22