Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,2 /5

About Fishbowl

Industrial strength inventory control for QuickBooks users, wholesalers, distributors, retailers and manufacturers.

Learn more about Fishbowl

Showing 657 reviews

Hilary C.
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/01

"Asset to Our Company"

Comments: They have done a wonderful job in taking care of us from learning to use it to just small mistakes here and there. The support is outstanding.

Pros: Fishbowl is a great asset to our company. It has been wonderful in helping us manage inventory for our warehouse and tracking errors. The customer support is always amazing. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] our representative is one of the most helpful people. He goes above and beyond to make sure we are satisfied with the product.

Cons: Some reports cost extra, but I understand that it takes them time to write it. The turn around is usually fast.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/01
Tom H.
Controller
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/29

"overall good experience and easy to use once you understand the logic."

Comments: Since our business depends on inventory movement of over 4,000 items, it has helped tremendously in time, effort & accuracy.

Pros: Logical progression of activity and inventory movement. System is reliable and like anything else if it is used properly, you can rely on the results for inventory verification, PO status and exporting to QuickBooks.

Cons: the reports feature needs work to better assimilate data as I find the need to get outside help to write reports that I like to see but is nice to see that it assimilates in the system

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/29
Joseph M.
Ecom & Digital Consultant
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/18

"Excellent customer support on integration project"

Comments: We were fortunate to work with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] in our integration effort connecting our new Shopify Ecom site to Fishbowl. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] took an active and very patient approach with our team as we figured out all the various configuration options. The fact that we could work with him over the span of several video conference calls to get everything set up properly made all the difference - [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has an excellent personality for this type of task, I highly recommend working with him.

Pros: Once we got our two disparate systems integrated the software worked well.

Cons: The user interface is difficult to navigate and make sense of

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Adam J.
Logistics and Inventory Manager
Farming, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/04/11

"In the knick of time!"

Comments: Fishbowl Inventory was a great success in our first year of utilization. The biggest and easiest improvement was the vast reduction of manual order duplication, as we were able to have orders submitted from our website directly into Fishbowl, and then have sales orders pushed directly into Quick Books on the back end of the system. As we learn to better use Fishbowl, we are more accurate with reporting to our customer's accurate data, and also keep our sales representatives up to date with inventory levels, pricing, and order tracking on behalf of their customers. For the record - our small seed company grew with the help of Fishbowl Inventory!

Pros: We really like the data transfer capabilities with an API interface from our website order platform, and the data push into Quick books on the back end. So much time has been saved from manual data entry duplication. The ability to have multiple users from all over with remote hosting allows sales reps from TX to MT to place orders and see inventory availability prior to order placing. Having the opportunity to write our own I-reports to meet our specifications.

Cons: We haven't been able to make mobile applications work yet for our systems. We still have challenges with the real time tracking of inventory between locations with using bar-codes, scanners and mobile devices.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/04/11
Morton D.
Materials Manager / Purchasing Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/08

"Materials Manager"

Comments: One thing that I am most grateful for is that we chose a software package that is actively being improved... constantly... that is a real plus.

Pros: The company is continuously improving the product. They listen to their customer's suggestions... and also keep abreast of changing ways in which businesses function in our changing world. When they detect 'bugs'... they fix them!

Cons: As with most all software packages... the reports are not the most robust... However, there are 3rd party programmers who partner with Fishbowl. I run our entire business relying on reports that I have designed and then paid the 3rd party programmers to produce... the cost is very reasonable. This isn't really a 'con'... as almost all software has generic reports due to the fact that there is such a diverse user group.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/08
Beverly L.
Owner/Accountant
Machinery, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/04

"Good program. Poor support."

Comments: We have used Fishbowl for 10 years. Until a year ago we had very little problems and required hardly any support. We have always purchased the annual support package. Now they have grown and their support team seems to think I should be a computer guru or have someone working for me that is a guru. I just want the program to work so I can run my business. I don't want to learn how to FIX their program. My last successful export was Oct 21. It is now Nov 4. Can't run a business this way. Fishbowl is causing us to lose money in our busy time of year.

Pros: Great software when it is working.

Cons: Support that I pay for

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/04
Sebastian S.
National Account Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/15

"Good software once you know how to use it"

Pros: Utilizing the all of the features, reports, and support of this system will help your company grow to be successful. Being able to make groups for customers is extremely helpful especially in the field that I'm in because we have state contracts and different pricing structures for different customers.

Cons: The thing that I like least about this product is that it runs extremely slow. We have about 8-15 users and sometimes it's a painful process. If it was ran on the cloud it would be much more efficient.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/15
Eddie L.
Owner
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/09

"good software but I need unlimited inventory number"

Pros: The software are included all POS feature that is needed and very easy to learn and to use. The Matrix inventory item setup is very simple and not confusing. I would pick this POS over other if not the inventory number is limited.

Cons: We need to create more inventory item, but Fishbowl is capped the inventory item number and require customer to purchase high package to get more inventory item number available. If your industry is required many inventory items and keep on grow, you are better ask for the price before moving over to use Fishbowl.

Vendor Response

by Ian on 2019/01/30

Fishbowl does not have, and never has had any limitations on numbers of items or transactions. A larger, more expansive feature list that confirms this can be found at https://www.fishbowlinventory.com/files/documents/fishbowl-warehouse-product-info-sheet.pdf. Fishbowl does offer two different versions of the award winning software; Fishbowl Warehouse and Fishbowl Manufacturing, but again - neither contains any limits on items or quantities. As the number of items is not capped in any way, there is no need for or options available for additional purchases to increase item limits. Please feel free to reach out to us at 800-774-7085 for help if you are in need of any training or assistance regarding use of the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/09
Mike D.
Everything
Logistics & Supply Chain, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/09

"From Chaos to Control"

Comments: Fishbowl is a robust, powerful and stable software. It took our company out of the chaos of inventory control and streamlined almost our entire operation. We are more organized, focused, and even relaxed as a company. Wonderful plugins provide absolute control over online stores. Customer support is impeccable. Timey communication with real and pleasant humans that know the software inside and out.

Pros: A powerhouse for inventory control. Works well with ecommerce. Customer support is second to none.

Cons: Moderate learning curve. (But, you'll get over it). Its a little bit ugly looking. There are a lot of updates. But, that isn't so bad. Don't be lazy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/09
Anh dung P.
Office Supervisor
Wholesale
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/16

"I used this program for more than 2 years."

Pros: It really good at keeping tracking of inventory when you have multiple locations . It helps control and keep track the inventory much better than Quick books, It also can create automatically point of order, so that you are never out of stock under normal circumstances.

Cons: It is difficult for accounting department to use the credit of the customer. At first, it is a hassle becasue Fishbowl does not let you cancel a order when it is completed. The last update changes it. Now you can cancel the order if the order is mistakenly placed in or customer cancels it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/16
Kelly C.
Director of Accounting Services
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/13

"We love Fishbowl!"

Comments: I work with Travis mostly on the Central Support Team. He is always very pleasant and helpful. He is patient and knowledgeable about Fishbowl.

Pros: This product is easy to use and the reporting is very helpful in our business. We plan on improving our internal processes to be able to use more of the Fishbowl features.

Cons: Sometimes we have issues with sales orders that get stuck but hoping this gets better in newer versions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/02/13
Josh B.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013/05/23

Comments: Fishbowl was a great find for us! We wanted to take our growing metal repair fabrication and manufacturing shop with parts store (yes we do it all in our small community) forward with technology and were excited to find software that worked with Quickbooks. After asking many of our vendors which software they use and not once finding any two companies that ran the same software we knew we wanted to find software that was designed for many different companies. We knew we were going to drastically change how we did business so we might as well find software that was more advanced than our current state. We looked at having a database software company design us custom software but decided why design software for our current inefficient state. We are on a long journey from handwritten invoices and parts information to part numbers and PO's processed through fishbowl. Currently our owner (59) and his wife(59) are entering sales and purchase orders as well as our lead technician (54). I was very concerned that the learning curve would be too great for our "seasoned" staff but all of them have commented on how simple Fishbowl really is! We are very glad that we purchased Fishbowl and look forward to implementing more and more features each year! Favorite features:
Help manuals straight from each module - no searching required!
Quickbooks integration. Our accountant and our book keeper are grateful.
Links to websites and local documents straight from most modules.
A product from a proactive company that is constantly improving the software features.
Simple interface
Enjoyable company to be associated with.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013/05/23
Verified Reviewer
Mechanical Design Engineer
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/29

"Packs a Punch for the Price"

Comments: From a usability standpoint, FishBowl is very competitive. What it lacks in a 'complete solution', it makes up for in custom report writing, and software flexibility.

Pros: Integrations with QuickBooks can be incredibly useful for companies already based in QuickBooks. It makes training for accounting much easier. From a manufacturing perspective, FishBowl is a fairly powerful tool that can track inventory and assist in production planning.

Cons: Since we are a manufacturing company that sells to distributors, one of our core 'ERP' requirements is storing quotes to distributors/customers for parts/products. If FishBowl had some sort of CRM, it would make the software more robust.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/29
Sammy S.
Manager
Wholesale, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/14

"Fishbowl is a great software"

Pros: Ease of use and friendly UI, Great customer service. Solid Quickbooks link, MYSQL database makes the program run alot better

Cons: Seeing as its not geared to specific industries. We found it complicated to do some of the things we do on a daily baisis. This required us to find our own loopholes to make our operations fit the software

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/14
Christina C.
Office Manager
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/09

"Great for manufacturing and inventory management"

Pros: Fishbowl and Fishbowl Go make it easy to process product from anywhere in your facility. The ability to receive or cycle/scrap inventory anywhere streamlines the process.

Cons: If a user does not have proper training it can definitely create issues and inaccuracies. Training and review is extremely important.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/09
Robert A.
Vice President
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/24

"Fishbowl changed how we run our business. Great product"

Comments: Finally got a handle on our inventory

Pros: Ease of use and setup. Love the visual aids in identifying status of orders. Integration with Quickbooks is excellent and seamless

Cons: Nothing comes to mind. If I had to include something here I would say could use some minor improvement on import/export functions

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/24
Thomas R.
IT
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/04

"Great Support Team"

Pros: Ease of use for day-to-day operations. Customer service that actually picks up the phone and returns emails in a timely manner (much appreciated).

Cons: Creating custom reports are not the easiest. There are a large number of database tables that make understanding the system difficult.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/04
Sandra J.
Assistant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/02

"Great Program"

Pros: Ease of use and great customer service! When ever we have needed help with an issue someone is always there to answer our questions.

Cons: Would like to have the ability to make changes to areas when needed. Sometimes when the program needs to be updated it is not always user friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/02
David R.
Fishbowl Admin/Materials Support
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/23

"Works very well"

Comments: Travis in support was very helpful on the phone.

Pros: Great interface and a very intuitive organization of features. Things seem to make a lot of sense to new people we train.

Cons: Can be picky about certain things and there's not a great deal of customization in certain areas, but there's ways around that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/23
Trisha R.
Office Manager
Mining & Metals, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/13

"Fishbowl covers it all!"

Pros: Everything is in real time, the basics of fishbowl are very user friendly, lots of useful reports, great support team.

Cons: There is so much the software can do, but its hard to utilize everything it offers. I definitely suggest more training hours or on site options that cost a little less.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/11/13
Antonio R.
Warehouse Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/05

"Teaming up with CJ Global"

Comments: Kenyon Flake was very helpful in training us on fishbowl. He showed us in depth how to create reporting and new functions we can use. He was able to answer all our questions as well as solutions to issues we were having.

Pros: Fish bowl is very is easy to navigate and to learn. On day one you are already become very productive in your job.

Cons: Wish our scanning was more at a case level. Right now when we pick it scans multiple boxes at once. This can lead to accidental miss picks

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/05
Shelley H.
Bookkeeper
Retail, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/09

"The support staff was very helpful and got my problem solved quickly."

Pros: Great inventory tracking and keeping orders straight. Your customer service crew is very friendly and explain things in words and actions.

Cons: Not very user friendly. Not easy to find answers to things that I don't understand. Not easy to fix a problem without the help of customer service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/09
Kevin H.
President
Computer Hardware, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/05

"Horrible Company, they use to be good now they are just completely useless"

Comments: This company use to be good, now the software crashes constantly including Fishbowl anywhere, they want us to pay for hosting and constantly pay for services. In the past, it was working fine but now is just completely useless, don't waste your money and find something better. Once Fishbowl didn't export properly, good luck with your quickbook data as it will throw all your accounting off.

Pros: If you do simple wholesale, this is fine if you don't need their support.

Cons: 1) Constantly crashing and supports wants money for bunch of error codes when doing export to Quickbook
2) Tons of data always didn't get exported and FB is no where for help
3) Can't pull accurate report on inventory valuation summary, excel export is garbage and hard to sort, can't sort valuation summary by date, and all reporting feature are just bad
4) They will ask for a lot of money when their software constantly crashes and hard to reach anyone to help
5) Very difficult to use for manufacturing such as selecting bill of material and etc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2020/05/05
Kurt W.
CEO
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/30

"Fishbowl review"

Pros: Great customer support, fairly easy to use and learn. The software can accommodate the specific needs of my business which is great!

Cons: Sometimes all the features and capabilities are overkill and over-complicate the situation. Slightly difficult to add customizations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/05/30
Berj G.
President
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/24

"Great experience with the customer support team."

Pros: Our favorite part of the software is the reports that are generated. We also like the ability to create custom UOM and conversions.

Cons: Picking module is not as flexible as we would like. We wish we could change the UOM in the picking module.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/01/24