Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,5 /5

About YouTrack

The issue tracker designed for agile teams. An agile project management tool that can be customized to your business processes.

Learn more about YouTrack

Showing 50 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Digital Content Manager
E-Learning, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/17

"Excellent tool for tracking product development projects"

Comments: We are using it to communicate with our overseas development team in order to complete work on our digital learning platform. We use it to track features, bugs, and other user stories, and discuss those stories with the team. It has proven invaluable for this project since we are using an Agile sprint methodology.

Pros: I like the ability to see Agile Boards related to our product sprints. I like being able to add screenshots or videos of bugs easily for our development team to use. I like that if I forget to save my work on a task, when I come back to the task my work is auto-saved and available to continue working on, even if I closed my browser.

Cons: It would be nice if the feature for a particular task was automatically added to a sprint when a sub-task of that feature was added to the sprint. Right now we have to tag the sprint manually for every feature.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/17
Juan carlos R.
2D Technical artist and Art manager
Computer Games, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26

"Best solution for project management"

Pros: -Easy to use
-Web based
-Free for less than 5 people
-Not really expensive on the next point (15 users)
-Able to add cards to backlog
-Custom status pointers
-Sprints are super easy to create and automatically brings the unresolved issues back
-Customization of user profile
-Easy drag and drop cards on different status columns
-Can add images/files/media in cards and can add comments to the same
-Simply perfect for scrum

Cons: -Design wise is not really appealing
-Can get buggy when multiple people try moving the same card around
-Needs to be refreshed from time to time to see changes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26
Aman S.
HR
Human Resources, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/18

"Manage all your projects tickets in one place."

Comments: 1. It works just awesome for me and fo my team.

Pros: 1. The best thing i like the most is that you can set the priorities of your tickets like Critical, Major verify, Major, Normal so a developer can easily find out that on which tickets he/she have to work first.
2. If you are developing a project in a team then you can assign the tickets to the developers so that developer can easily work on those tickets which has been assigned to him/her.
3. After fixing the tickets you can also change the state of those ticket as Fixed and then after support team can easily test it and if it is fixed then tester can easily change the state to veified.

Cons: 1. Still i did not find any cons in YouTrack.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/18
Martino P.
full-stack developer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/08

"Let's track your task"

Pros: It's very customizable, basically you can do what you want

Cons: It's very powerful but... there is a lot of stuff to learn!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/08
Tim F.
Systems Engineer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/07

"YouTrack is a very powerful but easy to use issue tracking system."

Pros: The best part of YouTrack is how easy it is to get started. You can opt to run the software on your wn server or subscribe for a cloud-hosted instance. YouTrack is extremely powerful without being hard to use and it is very easy to integrate into your apps. Date-based swimlanes are a really useful feature.

Cons: Overall I do not have any gripes but, for some, the options available can be a bit overwhelming. Fortunately this complexity is shielded from software end users and just has to be managed by the technical support and development staff.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/07
Verified Reviewer
AVP Product Management
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/22

"Steep learning curve but well worth it"

Pros: Projects are almost infinitely malleable and customizable

Cons: The solutions are not always right in front of you - a softer UX would help

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Somnath R.
Secretary
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/12

"Excellent tool for modern agile software development"

Pros: Excellent integration with Git. Customisable according to our needs and easy issue assignment or reassignment.

Cons: The UI can be a bit better so as to help with the steep learning curve. Slightly costly software for small startups.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/12
Verified Reviewer
Chief Operating Officer
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/13

"Developer-centric tool for user stories and agile boards"

Pros: YouTrack is very detailed to manage user stories/cards on boards and customizable for our business needs. There is also a free version to continue using YouTrack till our team grows. Before YouTrack, we were using project management solutions which did not fully meet our needs as we transitioned to lean and agile/scrum.

Cons: Our team uses Slack and integration with Slack would be great. Also, the learning curve for YouTrack is a bit high so we would have appreciated guide walkthroughs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Malachi W.
student
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/26

"Great Tracker"

Pros: The clever search is very useful and it is great for keeping track of projects. One thing that is also very useful is the shortcuts which makes everything easier to use.

Cons: I like all the software by JetBrains and don't have any issue with this one, It is another great software developed by them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/26
Hang X.
Senior Software Engineer
Biotechnology, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/15

"there's better options"

Pros: it's some how configurable, it's really hard to list what I like the most about it

Cons: nice try JetBrain! YouTrack is part of the JetBrain family, but i don't see the same quality in YouTrack in other software like PyCharm, this is hard to use, and you have to learn new query language to be an advance user

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/15
Joshua S.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/09

"Perfect for teams of any size"

Comments: We use it at work and it's great. It's quick, got a lot of keyboard shortcuts, and extremely customizable. We've used it when we had just a few developers and continued to use it effectively as more individuals were added to the team.

Pros: Easy to use, highly customizable, quick to set up, free to try

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/09
Dan O.
Founder
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014/11/17

"I'm Addicted"

Comments: I love YouTrack! I can't live without the Agile Board. The new reports are very helpful. I rely on YouTrack everyday. I have recommended it to many other people.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014/11/17
Dayne E.
Customs Compliance Specialist
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/12

"YouTrack helps keep projects on track"

Comments: The business I work for uses YouTrack effectively to track problems and projects to keep people on task and aware of what their responsibilities are at any given time.

Pros: The thing I like most about YouTrack is that it gives users great tools to stay on track with projects. For example, a user can identify a bug in our processing software and create a ticket. IT can then triage the ticket and assign it to the correct developer to begin the process of investigating the bug and fixing it. That developer can post on the ticket asking for more information or indicating that it's ready for QA testing, etc. Every step along the way is catalogued for future reference.

Cons: I dislike that users (not the IT people, the lay person) cannot edit their own tickets after submitting without IT enabling the option.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/12
Silvio B.
Software developer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/17

"Probably the best tool for task tracking"

Comments: Very nice experience I would definitely suggest it especially to a team that likes to tinker with their tools in order to make them tailored to their needs

Pros: I like the possibility to customize heavily this product. I've been working also on its workflow functionality which I've found very useful and complete. Also the docs are great and exhaustive which is a huge pro often overlooked.

Cons: I really wanted to add custom styling to our kanban board in order to change the colour of the cards from green to red based on their due date but I had no way to do it with the youtrack provided functions so I had to inject a custom script. Would be nice to have this feature!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/17
András P.
Lead Developer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/29

"It is a very capable ticket and issue management system and easier to set it up than JIRA"

Comments: I'm glad it exists, it looks nice enough to convince the management and knows enough to satisfy most of the developers too.

Pros: Ease of deployment comes first, the integration with TeamCity (CI) and the IDEA IDE itself is another thing worth mentioning, I also like the Android app. But the greatest thing is that you can freely use it with user limits on your own servers.

Cons: The upgrade process between different distributions like, war, jar, docker is not always the easiest.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/29
Verified Reviewer
Developer
Sports, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/01

"Functional work manager"

Comments: With this software we have finally succeeded in giving a dimension to our work, being able to estimate with an ever more accurate precision the time of realization of the tasks, further raising the level of organization.

Pros: It is a software that allows you to fully customize your work, creating panels that show tasks that meet certain requirements (assigned to you, incomplete, testing ...). The task management is optimal, being able to choose the category, to whom to assign it, forecasting time to finish it, actual time, as well as title, description, comments and many other things. In general it is a complete software and it lacks nothing.

Cons: The main downside of youtrack is the lack of learning facility. It took me a long time to figure out how to use it to the fullest, to take advantage of the enormous potential right away. It has so many features that are often "hidden", there are small links or buttons that you don't notice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/01
Jeff H.
Customer Success Consultant - Software
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/19

"Super easy way to log issues with software and track progress!"

Comments: Makes it easy to get issues filed for our software right when I hear about them.

Pros: I like that I can quickly create an issue for our software and search for other issues related to mine.

Cons: The layout is a little "clunky" so takes a little bit of time to get the "hang of it" in terms of what you need to do to submit the issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/19
Steve R.
Chief Revenue Officer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/02

"De facto standard for ticketing system"

Pros: It's very intuitive and makes keeping track of engineering tasks incredibly simple no. The search is fantastic also.

Cons: The search can be made very accurate when you understand some shortcuts to type into the search area. There was a learning curve with this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/02
Enrique R.
CTO
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014/11/28

"Awesome product, ahead of the competition"

Comments: sWe tried a lot of issue/project tracking product (Jira + Greenhopper, Pivotal Tracker, LeanKit, among others). YouTrack was firts in all out categories, like: easy to use and administrate, flexible, powerful and reporting system and value (features/cost). We have been using YT 6 months already and no complaints here.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014/11/28
Verified Reviewer
Customer Success Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/24

"Gets The Job Done But Clunky With Limited Views"

Pros: Working with engineering team is effective this way

Cons: Monitoring, tracking and searching for work is difficult.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/24
Binigya D.
Game Developer
Computer Games, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/19

"YouTrack - Track Everything"

Comments: My time with YouTrack has been very pleasant. Apart from its few shortcomings, I have grown really fond of it, and it is really helpful in tracking and managing projects, even if you are coordinating with an external team.

Pros: YouTrack is in my opinion, THE best project management and tracking tool there is. While it doesn't have a bucketload of features, or does not come on the cheap side, it does what is does extremely well. I love its UI and UX, it really makes using YouTrack a pleasure. I love its take on making tasks and managing them via boards. It is so easy to create a task, assign it's priority and notify the people concerned. I also especially love its Git integration, which makes working it with a second nature when you are coding and you want to make a commit. If you are serious about getting a project management tool, please try this once. You will love it!

Cons: I really dislike that there is not an integrated communication platform like Basecamp in YouTrack. But it has a Slack integration, which is handy and useful. I also don't like that you don't have much theme choices, as for a tool that I will be using everyday, I would like a bit more of layouts, customizations and themes. And also, sometimes uploading files can be a buggy experience. Videos may take a long time to play, some files are indicated as uploaded but you can't view them immediately. These occur very rarely, but are a nuisance for sure.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/10/19