Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3,9/5
  • Customer Service
    4,5/5

About YouTrack

The issue tracker designed for agile teams. An agile project management tool that can be customized to your business processes.

Learn more about YouTrack

Showing 37 reviews

Dayne E.
Customs Compliance Specialist
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/12

"YouTrack helps keep projects on track"

Comments: The business I work for uses YouTrack effectively to track problems and projects to keep people on task and aware of what their responsibilities are at any given time.

Pros: The thing I like most about YouTrack is that it gives users great tools to stay on track with projects. For example, a user can identify a bug in our processing software and create a ticket. IT can then triage the ticket and assign it to the correct developer to begin the process of investigating the bug and fixing it. That developer can post on the ticket asking for more information or indicating that it's ready for QA testing, etc. Every step along the way is catalogued for future reference.

Cons: I dislike that users (not the IT people, the lay person) cannot edit their own tickets after submitting without IT enabling the option.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/12
Silvio B.
Software developer
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/17

"Probably the best tool for task tracking"

Comments: Very nice experience I would definitely suggest it especially to a team that likes to tinker with their tools in order to make them tailored to their needs

Pros: I like the possibility to customize heavily this product. I've been working also on its workflow functionality which I've found very useful and complete. Also the docs are great and exhaustive which is a huge pro often overlooked.

Cons: I really wanted to add custom styling to our kanban board in order to change the colour of the cards from green to red based on their due date but I had no way to do it with the youtrack provided functions so I had to inject a custom script. Would be nice to have this feature!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/17
Verified Reviewer
Digital Content Manager
E-Learning, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/17

"Excellent tool for tracking product development projects"

Comments: We are using it to communicate with our overseas development team in order to complete work on our digital learning platform. We use it to track features, bugs, and other user stories, and discuss those stories with the team. It has proven invaluable for this project since we are using an Agile sprint methodology.

Pros: I like the ability to see Agile Boards related to our product sprints. I like being able to add screenshots or videos of bugs easily for our development team to use. I like that if I forget to save my work on a task, when I come back to the task my work is auto-saved and available to continue working on, even if I closed my browser.

Cons: It would be nice if the feature for a particular task was automatically added to a sprint when a sub-task of that feature was added to the sprint. Right now we have to tag the sprint manually for every feature.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/06/17
Verified Reviewer
Data Analysis
Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/21

"Holds great promise , allows you to stay on top of things, but leaves a few things wanting"

Comments: Perfect for small teams to be used primarily for bug tracking, and sprint planning. Easy to setup and use without having to jump through any hoops.
The interface and the whole system is rather intuitive which comes in handy especially for companies where teams work on multiple projects at the same time and more often than not each is tied with another project in one way or another. Comes with plenty of integrations so one can customize as needed.
Everybody at our company loves this product.

Pros: compared to the various bug tracking softwares, this one is super simple, and easy to set up and get going.
The interface is intuitive and helps keep sprints clean and organized.
Performance is good as long as the setup has been done properly, else you will experience lags.
Best for small teams which don't want to deal with the complexities of using JIRA.
Pricing is based on storage so that is really very helpful.
you can do custom queries to search for bugs, and my team uses it every day during the agile meetings. It comes in really handy.

Cons: Not cons per say but
1. Features keep changing under your legs. For example, the option to search by `Assigned to me` has altogether disappeared from the main menu. Now you have to specially navigate to find that tag.
2. The url is rather long: mycompanyname.myjetbrains.youtrack.com
3. Comment boxes under tickets look rather medieval.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Juan carlos R.
2D Technical artist and Art manager
Computer Games, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26

"Best solution for project management"

Pros: -Easy to use
-Web based
-Free for less than 5 people
-Not really expensive on the next point (15 users)
-Able to add cards to backlog
-Custom status pointers
-Sprints are super easy to create and automatically brings the unresolved issues back
-Customization of user profile
-Easy drag and drop cards on different status columns
-Can add images/files/media in cards and can add comments to the same
-Simply perfect for scrum

Cons: -Design wise is not really appealing
-Can get buggy when multiple people try moving the same card around
-Needs to be refreshed from time to time to see changes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26
Ashi A.
Product Manager @ eMusic
Internet, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/22

"Simple and useful but not without some annoying glitches"

Pros: It's a web based product, which means that teams in different regions can use it very easily without the use of any VPN connection to a central location.
Its Dashboard widgets and agile boards are super useful and easy to use.
Many of the fields are super configurable to allow for a very personalized integration.

Cons: Still has some bugs, glitches and UX issues that can be rather annoying at times.
Has less integration possibilities with other products than bigger and more known products like Jira.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Max S.
Director, Customer Success
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/24

"Bugtracker from programmers for programmers"

Comments: Easy to use for administrators, programmers, project managers and issue reporters.
Definitely recommend for small and medium-sized teams.

Pros: - rich support for SQL-like filters and hotkey \ CLI-like interactions
- flexible and customizable
- easy to use

Cons: - some usage scenarios are not very carefully through through, e.g. when one attaches an image it's hard to copy and insert a markdown link (better if each attachment had something like "+" insert into text button)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/24
Aman S.
HR
Human Resources, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/18

"Manage all your projects tickets in one place."

Comments: 1. It works just awesome for me and fo my team.

Pros: 1. The best thing i like the most is that you can set the priorities of your tickets like Critical, Major verify, Major, Normal so a developer can easily find out that on which tickets he/she have to work first.
2. If you are developing a project in a team then you can assign the tickets to the developers so that developer can easily work on those tickets which has been assigned to him/her.
3. After fixing the tickets you can also change the state of those ticket as Fixed and then after support team can easily test it and if it is fixed then tester can easily change the state to veified.

Cons: 1. Still i did not find any cons in YouTrack.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/18
Martino P.
full-stack developer
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/08

"Let's track your task"

Pros: It's very customizable, basically you can do what you want

Cons: It's very powerful but... there is a lot of stuff to learn!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/08
Jaimyn M.
Head of Software Engineering
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/24

"Excellent Product"

Comments: YouTrack is an effective tool for managing our software development lifecycle.

Pros: YouTrack is a nice to use, fully web based issue tracking and project management tool. The configurability is fantastic and allows our software development team to customise it exactly to our needs.

Cons: The user interface (mainly for configuration) is a little confusing at first, but after a while it's easier to get used to.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/24
Verified Reviewer
Developer
Sports, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/01

"Functional work manager"

Comments: With this software we have finally succeeded in giving a dimension to our work, being able to estimate with an ever more accurate precision the time of realization of the tasks, further raising the level of organization.

Pros: It is a software that allows you to fully customize your work, creating panels that show tasks that meet certain requirements (assigned to you, incomplete, testing ...). The task management is optimal, being able to choose the category, to whom to assign it, forecasting time to finish it, actual time, as well as title, description, comments and many other things. In general it is a complete software and it lacks nothing.

Cons: The main downside of youtrack is the lack of learning facility. It took me a long time to figure out how to use it to the fullest, to take advantage of the enormous potential right away. It has so many features that are often "hidden", there are small links or buttons that you don't notice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/01
Ignacio S.
Lead Web Developer
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/21

"Complete control over your team work."

Comments: Is very awesome. It reduce the time needed to organize the team.

Pros: Youtrack isn't the easier tool to use, I must recognize it, but we need to understand that, with all of it's features that is a necessary circumstance. Youtrack can help you a LOT when you are working with groups of people, you will know what are doing, when and who, you can measure the productivity of your team, create goals and many other things. Forget to think that it is only for programming or teams of programmers, you can use Youtrack in every scenario out there.

Cons: Lack of some integrations, I think YouTrack is as good as Jira but need some extra integrations with others useful tools.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/21
Purvika M.
HR
Human Resources, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/21

"Manage your project simply with YouTrack."

Comments: 1. I used to manage my company projects and the activity of the developer done by on that day on YouTrack.

Pros: 1. Manageability of your projects issue is really good that you can manage your or create issues or new functionality to be add as a priority bases.
2. A developer can change the ticket or issue to it's fixed state after fixing it.
3. You can also merge multiple ticket by duplicating it.
4. A developer or any one who is a user of YouTrack can comment below the ticket so the tester can easily known about the ticket.

Cons: 1. There is nothing to dislike in YouTrack it is best for my company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/21
Verified Reviewer
Software Developer
Information Technology & Services, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/23

"Best issue management so far"

Pros: For me this is the best issue management software so far. I've used others like Jira, but I really enjoy using Youtrack. Especially the query language is quite cool.

Cons: I really can't think of any, maybe the settings page, it could use some redesign.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/23
Tim F.
Systems Engineer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/07

"YouTrack is a very powerful but easy to use issue tracking system."

Pros: The best part of YouTrack is how easy it is to get started. You can opt to run the software on your wn server or subscribe for a cloud-hosted instance. YouTrack is extremely powerful without being hard to use and it is very easy to integrate into your apps. Date-based swimlanes are a really useful feature.

Cons: Overall I do not have any gripes but, for some, the options available can be a bit overwhelming. Fortunately this complexity is shielded from software end users and just has to be managed by the technical support and development staff.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/07
Amol A.
QA
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/07

"Useful for bug tracking "

Pros: the filters that can be written to get the results and flexibly can filter the results to generate reports in various formats

Cons: the time report charts are not easy to build.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/07
Robbie D.
Senior Software Developer
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/14

"Great task manager for agile development"

Comments: We've been using this for a little over a year for all issue and task tracking. It has a basic interface which admittedly could probably do with a little cleaning up but it works great. It provides all the features you need such as comments, time tracking (with different types), git integration and email updates.

Pros: git integration, comments system, time tracking, easy re/assignment.

Cons: slightly dated site styling

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/14
Craig S.
Manager, Clinical Systems & QA
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/13

"YouTrack Review"

Comments: overall good, good toll for defect/enhancement tracking

Pros: *mostly intuitive
*multiple projects
*ticket linking

Cons: *user profile set up not intuitive
*Field set up not consistent

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/13
Verified Reviewer
AVP Product Management
Entertainment, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/22

"Steep learning curve but well worth it"

Pros: Projects are almost infinitely malleable and customizable

Cons: The solutions are not always right in front of you - a softer UX would help

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Verified Reviewer
UI Designer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26

"A great agile tool but lack of usabilities"

Comments: so far we are use this for our agile tool and kanban.

Pros: We use this for our daily tracking task. And i love the concept of this product.

Cons: I think the value of the price and lack of usabilities this web app can be improved more.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26
Walid D.
2nd Level Support Engineer
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/27

"Best tracking system "

Comments: Youtrack is Software That Make your Work easier.

Pros: Ideas Board , Developement Board , agile proces

Cons: Changing from project to others you need to rework the template

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/27
Jeff H.
Customer Success Consultant - Software
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/19

"Super easy way to log issues with software and track progress!"

Comments: Makes it easy to get issues filed for our software right when I hear about them.

Pros: I like that I can quickly create an issue for our software and search for other issues related to mine.

Cons: The layout is a little "clunky" so takes a little bit of time to get the "hang of it" in terms of what you need to do to submit the issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/12/19
Steve R.
Chief Revenue Officer
Computer Software, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/02

"De facto standard for ticketing system"

Pros: It's very intuitive and makes keeping track of engineering tasks incredibly simple no. The search is fantastic also.

Cons: The search can be made very accurate when you understand some shortcuts to type into the search area. There was a learning curve with this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/02
Somnath R.
Secretary
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/12

"Excellent tool for modern agile software development"

Pros: Excellent integration with Git. Customisable according to our needs and easy issue assignment or reassignment.

Cons: The UI can be a bit better so as to help with the steep learning curve. Slightly costly software for small startups.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/12
Joey N.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/27

"Youtrack slow and tedious to navigate"

Comments: What the hey*

Pros: Predictive text. Can be better than a 1990's issue tracker.

Cons: "Youtrack issue" issues: Sand Watch icon has to be the only thing highlighted in order to enter time. Why am I playing a small game of Myst with the new Youtrack Navigation Zone? Boards work funny. Attributes are a pain to update even more so. From a user perspective it's annoying. From an API developer perspective, it's annoying.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/27