Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,4 /5

About YouTrack

The issue tracker designed for agile teams. An agile project management tool that can be customized to your business processes.

Learn more about YouTrack

Showing 42 reviews

Dayne E.
Customs Compliance Specialist
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/12

"YouTrack helps keep projects on track"

Comments: The business I work for uses YouTrack effectively to track problems and projects to keep people on task and aware of what their responsibilities are at any given time.

Pros: The thing I like most about YouTrack is that it gives users great tools to stay on track with projects. For example, a user can identify a bug in our processing software and create a ticket. IT can then triage the ticket and assign it to the correct developer to begin the process of investigating the bug and fixing it. That developer can post on the ticket asking for more information or indicating that it's ready for QA testing, etc. Every step along the way is catalogued for future reference.

Cons: I dislike that users (not the IT people, the lay person) cannot edit their own tickets after submitting without IT enabling the option.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/04/12
Amr H.
technical lead
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/05/03

"iam happy by using YouTrack"

Pros: the user interface and supporting agile are wonderful on this tracking system

Cons: nothing everything is ok I am using it daily for tracking my team tasks

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/05/03
Silvio B.
Software developer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/17

"Probably the best tool for task tracking"

Comments: Very nice experience I would definitely suggest it especially to a team that likes to tinker with their tools in order to make them tailored to their needs

Pros: I like the possibility to customize heavily this product. I've been working also on its workflow functionality which I've found very useful and complete. Also the docs are great and exhaustive which is a huge pro often overlooked.

Cons: I really wanted to add custom styling to our kanban board in order to change the colour of the cards from green to red based on their due date but I had no way to do it with the youtrack provided functions so I had to inject a custom script. Would be nice to have this feature!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/17
Juan carlos R.
2D Technical artist and Art manager
Computer Games, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26

"Best solution for project management"

Pros: -Easy to use
-Web based
-Free for less than 5 people
-Not really expensive on the next point (15 users)
-Able to add cards to backlog
-Custom status pointers
-Sprints are super easy to create and automatically brings the unresolved issues back
-Customization of user profile
-Easy drag and drop cards on different status columns
-Can add images/files/media in cards and can add comments to the same
-Simply perfect for scrum

Cons: -Design wise is not really appealing
-Can get buggy when multiple people try moving the same card around
-Needs to be refreshed from time to time to see changes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26
Martino P.
full-stack developer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/08

"Let's track your task"

Pros: It's very customizable, basically you can do what you want

Cons: It's very powerful but... there is a lot of stuff to learn!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/08
Robbie D.
Senior Software Developer
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/14

"Great task manager for agile development"

Comments: We've been using this for a little over a year for all issue and task tracking. It has a basic interface which admittedly could probably do with a little cleaning up but it works great. It provides all the features you need such as comments, time tracking (with different types), git integration and email updates.

Pros: git integration, comments system, time tracking, easy re/assignment.

Cons: slightly dated site styling

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/14
Walid D.
2nd Level Support Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/27

"Best tracking system"

Comments: Youtrack is Software That Make your Work easier.

Pros: Ideas Board , Developement Board , agile proces

Cons: Changing from project to others you need to rework the template

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/27
Sanford G.
Data Center Technician
Banking, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/10

"Good Ticketing System"

Comments: We respond to other teams requests within my organization. I also have requests within my own team that are manged with this tool. Overall I am liking it so far.

Pros: This software is easy to use and doesn't take too long to learn. I was up and running within an hour of getting my rights to it.

Cons: I have not come across anything that I feel is negative about this software but I think the admins here might need more training because I am not getting all of the notifications I need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/10
Verified Reviewer
Marketing Manager
Insurance, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/04/17

"No bad but still have many glitches"

Pros: We tried a free version. It has many great tools for project management. Even for big projects.

Cons: It is buggy and it wasn't easy to implement it, so I think the software still needs in improvements

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/04/17
Joshua S.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/09

"Perfect for teams of any size"

Comments: We use it at work and it's great. It's quick, got a lot of keyboard shortcuts, and extremely customizable. We've used it when we had just a few developers and continued to use it effectively as more individuals were added to the team.

Pros: Easy to use, highly customizable, quick to set up, free to try

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/09
András P.
Lead Developer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/29

"It is a very capable ticket and issue management system and easier to set it up than JIRA"

Comments: I'm glad it exists, it looks nice enough to convince the management and knows enough to satisfy most of the developers too.

Pros: Ease of deployment comes first, the integration with TeamCity (CI) and the IDEA IDE itself is another thing worth mentioning, I also like the Android app. But the greatest thing is that you can freely use it with user limits on your own servers.

Cons: The upgrade process between different distributions like, war, jar, docker is not always the easiest.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/09/29
Craig S.
Manager, Clinical Systems & QA
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/13

"YouTrack Review"

Comments: overall good, good toll for defect/enhancement tracking

Pros: *mostly intuitive
*multiple projects
*ticket linking

Cons: *user profile set up not intuitive
*Field set up not consistent

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/13
Amol A.
QA
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/07

"Useful for bug tracking"

Pros: the filters that can be written to get the results and flexibly can filter the results to generate reports in various formats

Cons: the time report charts are not easy to build.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/07
Verified Reviewer
UI Designer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26

"A great agile tool but lack of usabilities"

Comments: so far we are use this for our agile tool and kanban.

Pros: We use this for our daily tracking task. And i love the concept of this product.

Cons: I think the value of the price and lack of usabilities this web app can be improved more.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/26
Somnath R.
Secretary
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/12

"Excellent tool for modern agile software development"

Pros: Excellent integration with Git. Customisable according to our needs and easy issue assignment or reassignment.

Cons: The UI can be a bit better so as to help with the steep learning curve. Slightly costly software for small startups.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/12
Verified Reviewer
Chief Operating Officer
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/13

"Developer-centric tool for user stories and agile boards"

Pros: YouTrack is very detailed to manage user stories/cards on boards and customizable for our business needs. There is also a free version to continue using YouTrack till our team grows. Before YouTrack, we were using project management solutions which did not fully meet our needs as we transitioned to lean and agile/scrum.

Cons: Our team uses Slack and integration with Slack would be great. Also, the learning curve for YouTrack is a bit high so we would have appreciated guide walkthroughs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Verified Reviewer
Lead Backend Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/06

"Possible up and coming competitor in Issue Tracking software."

Comments: I'd offer that you give this software a try, but JIRA may ultimately be the winner if you're looking for Issue Tracking software.

Pros: YouTrack looks like it has a bag full of punches for other software in the space like JIRA. The UI is 10x faster than JIRA, although it still isn't the prettiest. The price is cheaper than JIRA and they offer more customizable reports.

Cons: After initial setup, it was kind of hard to set up users and create issues off the bat. Their UI was a little confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/06
Verified Reviewer
Software Developer I
Computer Software, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/16

"Nice product"

Pros: 1) Creating dashboard widgets is super useful.
2) It’s easy to use for programmers, product managers and QA people alike.

Cons: A feature for entering how to recreate the problem could be most useful and appreciated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/16
Dan O.
Founder
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014/11/17

"I'm Addicted"

Comments: I love YouTrack! I can't live without the Agile Board. The new reports are very helpful. I rely on YouTrack everyday. I have recommended it to many other people.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2014/11/17
Verified Reviewer
Data Analysis
Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/21

"Holds great promise , allows you to stay on top of things, but leaves a few things wanting"

Comments: Perfect for small teams to be used primarily for bug tracking, and sprint planning. Easy to setup and use without having to jump through any hoops.
The interface and the whole system is rather intuitive which comes in handy especially for companies where teams work on multiple projects at the same time and more often than not each is tied with another project in one way or another. Comes with plenty of integrations so one can customize as needed.
Everybody at our company loves this product.

Pros: compared to the various bug tracking softwares, this one is super simple, and easy to set up and get going.
The interface is intuitive and helps keep sprints clean and organized.
Performance is good as long as the setup has been done properly, else you will experience lags.
Best for small teams which don't want to deal with the complexities of using JIRA.
Pricing is based on storage so that is really very helpful.
you can do custom queries to search for bugs, and my team uses it every day during the agile meetings. It comes in really handy.

Cons: Not cons per say but
1. Features keep changing under your legs. For example, the option to search by `Assigned to me` has altogether disappeared from the main menu. Now you have to specially navigate to find that tag.
2. The url is rather long: mycompanyname.myjetbrains.youtrack.com
3. Comment boxes under tickets look rather medieval.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Ashi A.
Product Manager @ eMusic
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/22

"Simple and useful but not without some annoying glitches"

Pros: It's a web based product, which means that teams in different regions can use it very easily without the use of any VPN connection to a central location.
Its Dashboard widgets and agile boards are super useful and easy to use.
Many of the fields are super configurable to allow for a very personalized integration.

Cons: Still has some bugs, glitches and UX issues that can be rather annoying at times.
Has less integration possibilities with other products than bigger and more known products like Jira.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Jaimyn M.
Head of Software Engineering
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/24

"Excellent Product"

Comments: YouTrack is an effective tool for managing our software development lifecycle.

Pros: YouTrack is a nice to use, fully web based issue tracking and project management tool. The configurability is fantastic and allows our software development team to customise it exactly to our needs.

Cons: The user interface (mainly for configuration) is a little confusing at first, but after a while it's easier to get used to.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/24
Verified Reviewer
Developer
Sports, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/01

"Functional work manager"

Comments: With this software we have finally succeeded in giving a dimension to our work, being able to estimate with an ever more accurate precision the time of realization of the tasks, further raising the level of organization.

Pros: It is a software that allows you to fully customize your work, creating panels that show tasks that meet certain requirements (assigned to you, incomplete, testing ...). The task management is optimal, being able to choose the category, to whom to assign it, forecasting time to finish it, actual time, as well as title, description, comments and many other things. In general it is a complete software and it lacks nothing.

Cons: The main downside of youtrack is the lack of learning facility. It took me a long time to figure out how to use it to the fullest, to take advantage of the enormous potential right away. It has so many features that are often "hidden", there are small links or buttons that you don't notice.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/01
Purvika M.
HR
Human Resources, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/21

"Manage your project simply with YouTrack."

Comments: 1. I used to manage my company projects and the activity of the developer done by on that day on YouTrack.

Pros: 1. Manageability of your projects issue is really good that you can manage your or create issues or new functionality to be add as a priority bases.
2. A developer can change the ticket or issue to it's fixed state after fixing it.
3. You can also merge multiple ticket by duplicating it.
4. A developer or any one who is a user of YouTrack can comment below the ticket so the tester can easily known about the ticket.

Cons: 1. There is nothing to dislike in YouTrack it is best for my company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/21
Joey N.
Software Developer
Computer Software, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/27

"Youtrack slow and tedious to navigate"

Comments: What the hey*

Pros: Predictive text. Can be better than a 1990's issue tracker.

Cons: "Youtrack issue" issues: Sand Watch icon has to be the only thing highlighted in order to enter time. Why am I playing a small game of Myst with the new Youtrack Navigation Zone? Boards work funny. Attributes are a pain to update even more so. From a user perspective it's annoying. From an API developer perspective, it's annoying.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/27