Cherwell Service Management Reviews

by Cherwell Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,3 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,3 /5

About Cherwell Service Management

Easily maintain and configure IT processes across your organization with Cherwells comprehensive ITSM solution.

Learn more about Cherwell Service Management

Showing 155 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Applications Administrator
Financial Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/05/20

"An all-in one service management package that works but has issues"

Comments: Overall, Cherwell Service Management has fulfilled its requirements. However, upgrades are finicky and deep customization really can take a lot of work. Some of them are straight forward and some really require a lot of time to get going, more so than you would expect for similar products. (Similar product are, less customizable, however, take less of a lift on what you can do with them which is a trade-off you need to understand going into it.)

Pros: While not always easy or straightforward, this service management product is highly customizable and can be used for a variety of areas such as a knowledge database, help desk, incident tracking, change management, etc.

Cons: Customization can take a lot of work and upgrades can often break functionality with no eta or workarounds aside from downgrading or waiting for a future upgrade (which could be a year+ away.)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/05/20
Verified Reviewer
Business Systems Specialist
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/31

"Standard functionality but horrible UX"

Comments: We use Cherwell as a ticketing system for the help desk as well as change management system. The user interface is challenging, to say the least. There are frames within frames that have to be scrolled through separately to see all of the information. The text box containing the user's message is so small, it show the tiniest portion of the message. To expand it, you have to pop open a new window, which automatically inactivates the main window so you have to trick the system in order to see multiple tickets at once.
The emailing functionality is clunky - the initial email you send to a customer uses one link but replies after that need to use a different "email" button that is oddly hard to find. When a customer sends a reply, the ticket displays in a different color, but that is the only notification. So if they send multiple messages, you wouldn't know unless you fully open the ticket and that is cumbersome.
There's an inactivity timeout that may not apply to everyone, but it's a hassle. The system times out after an hour of inactivity but it isn't consistent - sometimes it will run for days with no activity and not sign me out and other times it's at 60 minutes on the dot. Also sometimes when I'm logged out automatically, it doesn't actually log me out so when I try to log back in, I'm locked out.
Overall, with the current UX, it would have to be the cheapest option available for me to recommend it to anyone.

Pros: Help desk tickets are tracked
Released changes are tracked

Cons: User experience
Look and feel of the software
Search functionality
Notification process
Inactivity timeout

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/31
Chris T.
IT Application Analyst
Banking, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04

"Cherwell is a powerful, flexible software that is great out of the box"

Comments: We did not have an ITSM software in place prior to implementing Cherwell, so we did not come in with any preconceived notions. The implementation was smooth and the PSO helped us customize the software during the process. I have found it to be very easy to maintain, upgrade, modify, and enhance. The Cherwell customer community is vibrant and the company listens and incorporates ideas and requests from its user base. Support is very friendly and helpful, and always willing to help me with implementing any ideas I come up with. I also very much appreciate their emphasis on participating in their community and supporting organizations who have a positive impact on our world.

Pros: The product allows for a high level of customization and is very easy to use, both from user and administrator standpoints.

Cons: The built in report writing leaves something to be desired. However, reporting through dashboards and searches within the system is a great alternative.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04
Steve H.
Service Desk Manager
Environmental Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Cherwell just works and I love to tell others about it"

Comments: From the moment that we met the Cherwell folks in 2014 we knew that they were the right fit for us. They listen to their customers and they truly care about our needs and they encourage user input and interaction. There hasn't been a need that we've thought of that we either haven't been able to do or haven't been able to find an answer from the user community.

Pros: It's extensibility. There hasn't been anything that we haven't been able to find an answer for so far.

Cons: When building a new business object there are so many options and check boxes (that's good). The problem customers face is that we don't know exactly what all those check boxes do so would like to see additional documentation on those.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Robert S.
Professional, Tech Ops
Information Services, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Widget disparity between client application and web browser"

Comments: All widgets are available in both the client and web parts of Cherwell, however, the widgets viewed in a web browser lack the same visual quality that you see in the client. Mainly graphs and grids differ between the client and web so much so that either widgets are doubled to accommodate the differences or separate dashboards entirely.

Pros: The application is incredibly customizable. You don't have to figure out how to cram a custom process into a fixed application, you just create your custom process with all and only the things and functions it needs, but still have the capability to link it to existing objects and processes

Cons: The lack of web browser compatibility development. However Cherwell is a company that actually listens to it's customers and they are constantly improving.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Catherine S.
Director, ITAC
Higher Education, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/01

"Cherwell"

Pros: Flexibility and customization - if you have the time, you can build it.

Cons: ADA, mobile and browser apps (thick client for PC only)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/01
Michael D.
Director of User Support
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Best solution... even for the little guy!"

Comments: Cherwell is the best solution for ITSSM on the market -- even for small businesses or schools. Cherwell is easy to configure and intuitive to use. Unlike other ITSSM vendors, it is flexible enough to handle anything without needing costly customizations. As a company, Cherwell is like a family. They truly care about their customers and their customers' success. In my experience, this is VERY rare among other ITSSM vendors.

Pros: Easy to use and customize. Extremely scalable without the need of costly vendor or 3rd-party professional services.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Jason H.
Sr. User Support Specialist
Retail, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/02

"Great product!"

Comments: Very good

Pros: Easy to use once you are trained. Easy automation.

Cons: Can be difficult to work around the "codeless" design for those with coding backgrounds

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/02
Justin C.
Service Desk Supervisor
Information Services, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Cherwell Review from Cherwell Conference"

Comments: This has been an amazing experience. Very informational and well presented. I am excited about attending next year as well!

Pros: Ease of use and incredible versatility.

Cons: Because of the versatility it is easy to overestimate your abilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Brendan M.
Service Delivery Analyst
Consumer Goods, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04

"Cherwell Service Management Is an excellent, scalable ITSM tool."

Comments: Cherwell deployment and implementation went reasonably well. More requirements assessment and UAT on the front end would have been better. A great tool for ITSM.

Pros: The adaptability to different processes

Cons: Some features (printing, reporting) are more complicated than they should be.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04
Bernie B.
Change manager
Higher Education, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Flexible and plays well with others"

Comments: CSM offers a truly flexible platform that allows mapping your business processes regardless of complexity or size. This enables your work flow, not what just the tool does. CSM also integrates with any REST api as well as offering its own. So what ever you want to do is possible.

Pros: Flexibility and integrations

Cons: Mobile client

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
George A.
Sr IT Consultant
Higher Education, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/01

"Cherwell is Great"

Pros: Ease of administration and support when issues arise

Cons: Many options. Difficult to decide where to go next

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/01
Julie B.
Director, IT
Hospital & Health Care, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Cherwell is changing the way we deliver IT"

Comments: The service portal allows us to bring together our disparate forms and request processes into one central service request portal. This has, and will continue, to reduce the user request impact on the help desk. It also allows us to begin to provide our users with an "Amazon-like" experience. Anything is possible with the Cherwell Service Request Portal!

Pros: Ease of use. One single platform capable to be built out to fulfill any incoming request.

Cons: Not as "pretty" as other competitors. Mobile app leaves something to be desired.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Danny P.
Applications Analyst
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/07

"Lots of Features."

Comments: The ticketing function is working as expected. The software is functional.

Pros: It seems like this ticketing software has the ability to become very powerful analytics tool. It also provides basic functionality.

Cons: Your mileage may very depending on how much time and resources you want to use to make this extremely useful. The options are there it just takes research and time with product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/02/07
Jason S.
Data Center Tech
Consumer Goods, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/12

"Implementing Cherwell took longer than expected but the results were worth the wait."

Pros: I enjoyed the support user experience. The layout is customization and easy to configure to fit the needs of each team that uses it. The permissions are granular, I was able to configure views for several teams while keeping the content team specific. The Knowledge Base management is put together very well. I found the asset tracking out of box experience pleasant also.

Cons: I would like to see more UI themes. Managing the AD integration was very difficult without third party support. It is very import that a qualified consultant is used with setting up and configuring Cherwell to fit your needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/12
Swetha S.
Integration Specialist
Higher Education, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/14

"This is our ticketing system"

Comments: We track trouble tickets and have cases that are attached to the tickets that way we can keep track of work

Pros: Keeps track of incidents and cases that have been created and we use this to help people with any kind of trouble tickets

Cons: It's very hard to integrate with. The options don't always work and once the incident has stayed you can find that it doesn't exist even if it has numbers. The customer reps aren't always helpful

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/14
Verified Reviewer
Developer
Insurance, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/26

"All solutions in one place - Best Service Management Software"

Comments: Incidence tickets are nicely cataloged. and faster retrieval of information of these tickets, all productin incidences are handled through Cherwell.

Pros: Best thing about this tool is everything is at one place, change request,incidence ticket , knowledge ticket, etc. The search option is good, only request number is required and it gives you all tickets and referred tickets from that request number. Also it is easy to use. User friendly GUI.

Cons: As of now there is nothing that comes in this section. All features are good.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/05/26
Forrest P.
Developer
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/11

"Bane of my existence"

Comments: I would seriously consider NOT working for a company that uses this software for change control.

Pros: There isn't anything I DO like about this software.

Cons: It's slow, clunky, looses my actions constantly. Submitting a change request is an arcane ritual of pain and suffering to ensure it gets through all the channels.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/07/11
Martin L.
IT Process Architect
Furniture
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Cherwell Service Management"

Comments: The corporation I am a member of is a new customer of CSM. The Cherwell Team stood by it's statement that their customer's are important to them. We had some bumps along the way with an external consultant and when we asked Cherwell to help, they stepped in and got us back on track. For the first time, I am able to have confidence and ability to say "yes" our ITSM tool has the capability to achieve what is requested.

Pros: Ability to configure the system and utilize workflows to accomplish automation without programming skills.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Nejen R.
Application Support Tier 2
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/03

"Cherwell Review"

Comments: Cherwell is the CRM being used to track ticket submissions and acts as a KCS tool.

Pros: Cherwell is great from an end user point of view. Provides the functionality to create tickets and work though an escalation flow with ease.

Cons: It is very tedious to setup with many manual steps required. To do small things like set up a dashboard multiple mini steps are required.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/03
Spencer B.
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/25

"Cherwell Review. Great Experience so far."

Pros: This product is very flexible in such many ways. And it also has creating multiple threads for multiple projects.

Cons: Not so much, I would love if the interface can be more editable or costumizable, it will really helps the user a lot.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/25
Jon H.
Network Analyst
Information Technology & Services, 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04

"Great software"

Comments: We transitioned from another service desk software over 2 months ago for our IT needs. Cherwell is leaps and bounds ahead of our previous system. The portal designer and setup is much easier and more straight forward. The configuration is much easier without the need to reboot the whole system after making a database change. The professional services group of Cherwell was amazing and really helped us get up and going. Unlike other contractors our professional services guy had us coding and configuring the system ourselves before we even finished the roll out.

Pros: Easy to use and configure

Cons: None

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04
Chris H.
IT Support Lead
Mining & Metals, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Cherwell Software"

Comments: We came from Remedy 7 and cherwell is a breath of fresh air. Easy to use and the user community is a really awesome feature.Really looking forward to seeing how expandable Cherwell really is.

Pros: The flexibility and endless use of the product.

Cons: Have not found any yet

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Kelsie C.
IT Service Managaement Lead
Higher Education, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04

"Browser/Rich Client Parity"

Comments: We were forced into a VERY short implementation which could account for many of our struggles in getting off the ground. but moving forward, the disparity between the browser and rich clients has been the number once source of our issues. From not being able to reliably send emails to flat out not being able to sue certain functionalities. Being a university, we are BYOD so we can not mandate people use windows, so being able to use the software on any device has been a struggle for our users for the switch.

Pros: The potential in the customization is through the roof.

Cons: The browser client not being up to snuff

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04
Evan W.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04

"Cherwell Experience"

Comments: Over the last two years we have implemented Cherwell into our Company and it has been a game changer for us. We now see metrics and solutions we did not see before. The ability to use and create dashboards have given management insight into the day to day functions of our organization and insight on what is working and what needs to be worked on. It has been a joy working with Cherwell and their partners.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04