Cherwell Reviews

by Cherwell Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4,3 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,3 /5

About Cherwell

Easily maintain and configure IT processes across your organization with Cherwells comprehensive ITSM solution.

Learn more about Cherwell

Showing 166 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Service Transition Manager
Information Technology & Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/01

"Great product with high upside"

Comments: Overall the process with Cherwell has been great. The product is fantastic with very few hiccups.

Pros: This product allows us to customize it in a way that makes it so we can bring all departments within the same system (finally!).

Cons: Implementation and additional integrations can be difficult (as with any product).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/01
Verified Reviewer
Business Systems Specialist
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/31

"Standard functionality but horrible UX"

Comments: We use Cherwell as a ticketing system for the help desk as well as change management system. The user interface is challenging, to say the least. There are frames within frames that have to be scrolled through separately to see all of the information. The text box containing the user's message is so small, it show the tiniest portion of the message. To expand it, you have to pop open a new window, which automatically inactivates the main window so you have to trick the system in order to see multiple tickets at once.
The emailing functionality is clunky - the initial email you send to a customer uses one link but replies after that need to use a different "email" button that is oddly hard to find. When a customer sends a reply, the ticket displays in a different color, but that is the only notification. So if they send multiple messages, you wouldn't know unless you fully open the ticket and that is cumbersome.
There's an inactivity timeout that may not apply to everyone, but it's a hassle. The system times out after an hour of inactivity but it isn't consistent - sometimes it will run for days with no activity and not sign me out and other times it's at 60 minutes on the dot. Also sometimes when I'm logged out automatically, it doesn't actually log me out so when I try to log back in, I'm locked out.
Overall, with the current UX, it would have to be the cheapest option available for me to recommend it to anyone.

Pros: Help desk tickets are tracked
Released changes are tracked

Cons: User experience
Look and feel of the software
Search functionality
Notification process
Inactivity timeout

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/31
Cliff T.
Java Software Engineer
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/14

"High level of accurateness and flexibility"

Comments: Cherwell Software offers one ITSM product which is aimed at companies with medium and high level of maturity. If you are interested in integrating a flexible and adjustable solution in your organization, then Cherwell Service Management is exactly what you require.

Pros: The company has expanded its ITOM capabilities and supports a wide range of third-party integrations and extensions. For instance, the example of such a platform can be Exchange Mergeable Application. In a few words, this application gives various opportunities for third-party developers to host their applications. In general, the vendor pleases us with the new program’s opportunities and abilities rolling out pretty frequently. We have given our preference to Cherwell Service Management because of its great visualization capabilities, user-friendliness of the program’s interface, powerful reporting, etc. With its help, our team has automatized numerous processes and tasks. The platform pleases with its accurate dashboards and incredible search abilities.

Cons: The company has a tendency to reassign account people. Maybe, the reason for that is the high speed of their self-development, who knows. But still, it may cause little difficulties. Where we see problems with Cherwell Service Management is that this program requires a lot of computer memory to run correctly. In addition, the program will be a real pain without a strong infrastructure from your side. What’s more, this solution does not have any web version.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/14
George A.
Sr IT Consultant
Higher Education, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/01

"Cherwell is Great"

Pros: Ease of administration and support when issues arise

Cons: Many options. Difficult to decide where to go next

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/10/01
John L.
IT Service Management Lead
Law Practice, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Unparalleled Flexibility"

Comments: The application allows non-developers to create their own scenarios and solutions, and engage your users with highly-configurable dashboards, reports, and forms. With some more advanced knowledge, you can easily turn a basic ticketing system into a full-featured platform for your company.

Pros: The flexibility and ease of use. The licensing model is extremely flexible and makes sense in nearly every business case.

Cons: The depth. While this isn't generally considered a negative, the software is so deep that you tend to realize there are a half dozen ways to do the same thing, and if you're of the mindset where you constantly tweak your apps, you'll always find a better way to do something, even if you don't have the time/resources to do so.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Catie D.
IT Support Analyst
Machinery, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Cherwell - The Best"

Comments: We implemented in 2014, and it was the best decision we could have made. Cherwell is great. It gives us the functionality that we need, and we don't have to be programmers to make changes. It offers integration with so many other applications. It can be used for so many different uses. It goes above and beyond our expectations, and we have been able to use it for more than just IT. We only wish we would have found Cherwell sooner.

Pros: The fact that it has so much functionality, and you don't have to be a programmer to make changes.

Cons: There's almost too much you can do with it, and not enough time to accomplish it all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
John K.
Technology Operations Manager
Government Administration, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Excellent Service Management Software"

Comments: Cherwell is an excellent service management platform and can be used for just about anything you want to track and record. My organization started using it for ITSM and has expanded to volunteer management, project management and time tracking. The tool takes time to learn but after you understand the principles almost anything is possible.

Pros: The flexibility it provides, excellent customer service, ability to share mApps with others.

Cons: Takes some time using the software to become proficient at making modifications.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Chris G.
Cherwell Product Manager
Higher Education, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Excellent Product, Excellent Company"

Comments: Cherwell is a great company to work with, they are responsive and never leave you hanging. The product is very flexible, we went from a NO organization to a YES organization. When we have requests for functionality we can meet our customers needs using Cherwell. The code-less platform is a great way to customize the program and not hamper our ability to upgrade to the latest version.

Pros: flexible, easy to upgrade, complete vendor support

Cons: After version 7, the theme colors were removed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Katharina G.
Server Application and Security Manager
Higher Education, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04

"Great product out of the box"

Comments: We implemented out of the box and have been able to use the application from day 1 after a 3 week implementation. What is even better is the flexibility of customizing the application in any way and even outside of ITSM.

Pros: Great out of the box, customizable, code less, great company culture

Cons: Expensive licensing for small companies, can take a while to get issues through at the help desk.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04
Sue P.
Sr. Application System Analyst
Hospital & Health Care
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Sue Pip- MD Anderson.org"

Comments: I have using Cherwell Service Management for the past 3.5 years as a Administrator. I find that Cherwell is easy to design basic requirements and also for difficult requirements. I find the upgrades are easy to preform, however they usually come with a few bugs that have to be fixed.

Pros: Easy to use for the end user

Cons: 1st level of Support is not as knowledgeable they need to be when calling in for assistances.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Justin C.
Service Desk Supervisor
Information Services, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Cherwell Review from Cherwell Conference"

Comments: This has been an amazing experience. Very informational and well presented. I am excited about attending next year as well!

Pros: Ease of use and incredible versatility.

Cons: Because of the versatility it is easy to overestimate your abilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Neil A.
Head of Enterprise Service Management
10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/21

"Deployment in large global FMCG"

Comments: Started implementing in early 2016 for multiple business service units HR, Finance and IT finance and IT and now live for all. Approximately 3500 resolvers and agents (including third party outsourcers) and a user base of 50,000 internal consumers.

Pros: Flexibility for all needs
Features
Cloud Based
Licensing model (concurrent resolvers)
Serves HR and Finance as well as IT
Covers our global needs

Cons: Professional services arm is less developed and less experienced in project management
Language translations model proved troublesome for our requirements of many languages

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/21
Bernie B.
Change manager
Higher Education, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Flexible and plays well with others"

Comments: CSM offers a truly flexible platform that allows mapping your business processes regardless of complexity or size. This enables your work flow, not what just the tool does. CSM also integrates with any REST api as well as offering its own. So what ever you want to do is possible.

Pros: Flexibility and integrations

Cons: Mobile client

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
David B.
Database Administrator and Change Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Cherwell is a very robust ITSM and beyond IT software"

Comments: This is a great tool that has allowed us to exceed our initial goals of ITSM needs. We have been looking at other areas to use the tool

Pros: robustness

Cons: robustness

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
M S.
Service Director
Environmental Services
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Most flexible"

Comments: Our ERP of IT and moving beyond IT. Many simple out if the box features or easily create your own with basic knowledge.

Pros: Easy and powerful

Cons: Documentation, though they are wirking hard to enhance

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Jared W.
SR IT Support Technician
Hospital & Health Care, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04

"Cherwell can be awesome"

Comments: Cherwell seems to have a lot of awesome features. Implementation is a problem at a big institution such as ours.

Pros: Easy to incorporate all different areas of the institution

Cons: Frequent crashes

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04
Verified Reviewer
Help Desk Anapyst
Information Technology & Services, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/09

"Requires alot of cutomization"

Comments: Software needs a lot of backend work and creates more issues then it resolves.

Pros: User limitation and liscensing. Lots of flexibility in reporting and searching.

Cons: Required lots of cutomization. Slow to run searches. Lack of ability to customize alot of setting that are important but ability to customize some that are kind of pointless.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/09/09
Kyle K.
Computer Systems Analyst
Information Technology & Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"CGC16 Review"

Comments: Software has been excellent for our university. We recently finished the implementation and went live before the start of the school semester. It was an easy transition as we had been previously using a frontrange product which had a lot of similar features. We are a few months in now and we feel like we're just scratching the surface of of the software! Being new to the software this is also my first Cherwell conference and it is well beyond expectation. It is an extremely positive environment that and everyone is very friendly. I look forward to coming back and working more with the software!

Pros: I like how versatile and adaptable the software is to your needs

Cons: I haven't found anything to complain about. There are multiple ways to accomplish your goals so the power is really in your hands.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Jason S.
Data Center Tech
Consumer Goods, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/12

"Implementing Cherwell took longer than expected but the results were worth the wait."

Pros: I enjoyed the support user experience. The layout is customization and easy to configure to fit the needs of each team that uses it. The permissions are granular, I was able to configure views for several teams while keeping the content team specific. The Knowledge Base management is put together very well. I found the asset tracking out of box experience pleasant also.

Cons: I would like to see more UI themes. Managing the AD integration was very difficult without third party support. It is very import that a qualified consultant is used with setting up and configuring Cherwell to fit your needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/09/12
Martin L.
IT Process Architect
Furniture
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Cherwell Service Management"

Comments: The corporation I am a member of is a new customer of CSM. The Cherwell Team stood by it's statement that their customer's are important to them. We had some bumps along the way with an external consultant and when we asked Cherwell to help, they stepped in and got us back on track. For the first time, I am able to have confidence and ability to say "yes" our ITSM tool has the capability to achieve what is requested.

Pros: Ability to configure the system and utilize workflows to accomplish automation without programming skills.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Nejen R.
Application Support Tier 2
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/03

"Cherwell Review"

Comments: Cherwell is the CRM being used to track ticket submissions and acts as a KCS tool.

Pros: Cherwell is great from an end user point of view. Provides the functionality to create tickets and work though an escalation flow with ease.

Cons: It is very tedious to setup with many manual steps required. To do small things like set up a dashboard multiple mini steps are required.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/01/03
Susan L.
Assistant Directore, IT Support Services
Higher Education, 10 000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"New Cherwell Customer"

Comments: We just made the decision to implement Cherwell Service Management to replace our existing system. Throughout the RFP process, they were the leading vendor. They have the functionality and flexibility we need, but most importantly, their sales, engineering, and support teams are very customer focused and honest.

Pros: Distributed administration, multiple integrated service catalogs, mergable Apps, great Customer Service!

Cons: Nothing to see here!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Chris H.
IT Support Lead
Mining & Metals, 5 001-10 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05

"Cherwell Software"

Comments: We came from Remedy 7 and cherwell is a breath of fresh air. Easy to use and the user community is a really awesome feature.Really looking forward to seeing how expandable Cherwell really is.

Pros: The flexibility and endless use of the product.

Cons: Have not found any yet

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/05
Dawn G.
IT Service Manager
Information Technology & Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04

"Go Cherwell!"

Comments: We went live with Cherwell in August of 2016. While we are still learning the tool and it's capabilities, so far it has been amazing.

Pros: Automation

Cons: N/A

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/04