Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3,7/5
  • Ease of Use
    3,8/5
  • Customer Service
    3,5/5

About MaitreD POS

Offers specialized POS software solutions for table service and quick service restaurants, bars, hotels and resorts.

Learn more about MaitreD POS

Showing 36 reviews

Kenzo N.
sales
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/05

"fast and reliable, easy to use "

Pros: this software is simple to use for everyone. Everything is well explain no matter the levels of knowledge.

Cons: I really dont know what to say about negative from this software. I really loved this software. Thank you MAitre D

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/05
Mary G.
Jill of all Trades
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/13

"Tech guys are awesome!"

Comments: Great but a little difficult setting up for menu items.

Pros: Support was awesome...no matter what time of day or night - someone was always there to help out any problems we'd be having. It wasn't made for communicating with our hotel software but they made it work. The software does a lot more than we actually use it for.

Cons: Problems with interaction for room charges in the hotel...not always a problem with the software though but a hardware problem on our own end.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/03/13
Scott B.
Manager / Dinnere Chef
Restaurants, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    2/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/27

"SYSTEM IS VERY OUTDATED AND THE OLDER IT GETS IT SEEMS TO BE A MAGNET FOR GLITCHES"

Comments: I am curious what the user life of this product is. Our's is 11 yrs old and runs windows xp in the dining room "touchscreen & credit cards" , and my back office is running windows 7.1. The system is slowing down, running sluggish and recently we had a serious networking problem that ruined our Friday Night all you can eat Fish & Chips. 2 managers were on the phone w tech support for hours. The first call was made on Thursday evening and they responded Friday around 415pm. The call was made far enough in advance. Another time the power went off and when restored I couldn't reload the system because it "locked" and made me get a new product code to proceed. Again it was at 6pm and we had a full house. I had to purchase this code i know i didn't need over the phone with my credit card just to get my POS up and running. I had several outstanding tables that needed to be finalized and cashed out. I will say when i needed to get that unlock code there were no hold ups or waiting like when I needed tech support. They answered right off in person and were very eager to take my payment. The initial start up cost was ten thousand dollars cash up front. I consider that a big investment. I'm still paying and paying for insurance on hardware and software upgrades. My fear is it's going to get too old and out of date and I will be forced to purchase an entire new system. If I get both front and back pc's running windows 10 at the same time I will be very surprised. 10 is supposed to be the next operating system that's going to give us almost 20 yrs like XP and XP Pro did. we will see.

Pros: It's a user friendly and training waitstaff is very easy. Big bold buttons and colors on the screen

Cons: When I call TECH support I need support NOW not tomorrow. When POS is down my business doesn't Run!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/06/27
Jase L.
IT
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/23

"Happy"

Pros: Easy to set up, Great corporate head office module. Can add new items in multiple locations within minutes.

Cons: Has its fair share of bugs, but which software doesn't. Need to communicate without th support to fix the issues which takes time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/03/23
Fernando E.
Manager
Entertainment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/18

"it is a nice easy system"

Pros: simple.

Cons: no support, extremely expensive when you get and if you get it. it looks like there is only one tech in the whole city, phone support takes days for a call back if they call back.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Amanda R.
Assistant manager
Hospitality, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    2/5
  • Value for Money
    2/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/30

"Difficult "

Comments: Work at a hotel in BC
Crashed all the time, slow
Froze
Was not very easy to make it our own

Pros: I guess the good thing was easy to train people on

Cons: Old school! Very basic program we used
Crashed al the time

Vendor Response

by Posera on 2020/01/07

Hi Amanda,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have just released the newest, most powerful Maitre'D version packed with all of our latest features for faster and smoother operations. We are offering for a limited period, free software upgrades to all our existing Maitre'D customers.

Please contact us to set it up!
https://www.posera.com/claim-your-free-maitred-upgrade/

Wishing you a great new year,

The Maitre'D team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/06/30
Amine B.
GM
Food & Beverages, 10 001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/08

"POS MaitreD"

Comments: It had good functionality and layout, but it was outdated.

Pros: Large colorful buttons on the screen that can easily be identified.

Cons: Too slaw to start and it does has multiple screens option while you are using it.

Vendor Response

by Posera on 2020/01/07

Hi Amine,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have just released the newest, most powerful Maitre'D version packed with all of our latest features for faster and smoother operations. We are offering for a limited period, free software upgrades to all our existing Maitre'D customers.

Please contact us to set it up!
https://www.posera.com/claim-your-free-maitred-upgrade/

Wishing you a great new year,

The Maitre'D team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/08
Keith L.
Owner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/21

"Great if you need something out of the box"

Pros: This software is great for companies that need something simple to work with and are not looking for propitiatory POS systems.

Cons: At times when using the software at the POS it seems like you have to take more steps then you should to complete certain functions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/05/21
Ken K.
Consultant
Restaurants
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3,5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/06/21

"Independent review by a POS consultant"

Pros: It is a very eliable solution using premises server. Runs on MS Windows instead of requiring IOS.
Hardware isn't as expensive and less costly monthly vs high licensing or hosting fees

Cons: Ours is not wireless tablets. Would like wireless tablets and card swipe at the table.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/06/21
Sabrina B.
Owner
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/31

"This is amazing!"

Comments: This system makes it simple to take care of customers in a timely fashion. The POS terminal is easy to set up and use which made the transition much smoother from the system we were using.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/01/31
Derek W.
Owner
Restaurants, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    1/5
  • Features & Functionality
    1/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/08

"No customer technical support, wait for ever for a call back"

Comments: They also changed their credit card processing policies. Last June (2018) they suddenly made a change to their credit card processing software to make it so it no longer held the card information for use when the guest left. If you swipe a card to start a tab, that information is useless to close the tab with, and the system can't access it. You need to rely on the customer to remember to come back and swipe the card again at the end of their visit. They claimed this was for PCI compliance. When I asked how we should hold tabs open for customers, they instructed us to hold customer credit cards behind the bar to secure their tab. That is the opposite of PCI compliance, and actually breaks many privacy laws. What are you thinking Posera? Down the tubes.

Pros: We used to like the optional features and interface possibilities, until we found out that most of them don't work as promised.

Cons: The live customer support has gone extinct. When you call for the "24 hour technical support" you are usually just getting on a wait list for a call back, or leaving a recorded message for an eventual call back. Waiting right now for a call back, over an hour waiting, with a total system failure. Second time like this in the last 3 weeks. Ridiculous.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/12/08
Krissy G.
Owner
Restaurants, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1/5
  • Ease of Use
    2/5
  • Features & Functionality
    2/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/11

"Horrible "

Comments: They make it so your stuck with a high profile car credit card oteoccesdibg company. System is not user friendly. Cost s fortune to get anything fixed in it and you will have a lot of problems with it

Cons: Can’t switch credit card companies without paying a fortune. You’d trapped into a high price processing company or pay a fortune to be accessible to another company.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2017/10/11
Verified Reviewer
Product Manager
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/24

"MaitreD is great POS for hotels"

Comments: Great POS system for restaurants in a hotel if you have a PMS system that is compatible with it so that Room Charges can be synced.

Pros: This POS is great for our restaurants. It provides good reporting for revenue centers and also a good labor tracking report. The UI is very simple and easy to use

Cons: It uses very old SQL libraries, so not the best way to store data. The system does not easily integrate with different systems, so you are limited due to compatibility.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/04/24
Krista K.
general manager
Restaurants, 10 001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/04/14

"Not the best for the price, also not the worst"

Comments: The interface looks nicer than some other products on the market, but can be slow at times. Although it does look nicer than others, I wouldn't say it is the nicest. It is very user friendly, which I like. I would recommend this if you are okay with the slower system. I hope newer versions will fix this issue. It is also somewhat pricey for my liking.

Pros: The interface is nice looking
Very user-friendly

Cons: Nice, but not nicest looking interface
Pricey compared to competitors

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/04/14
Connie H.
Second cook
Restaurants, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/10

"Modifications"

Comments: I've been working in kitchens for more then 10 years and Maitre'd is definitely one of the best systems for efficiency and high turn-over services.

Pros: Easy to modify orders quickly, everything is available to see anytime (guest numbers, bill prices, daily sales etc.)

Cons: A bit difficult to do preliminary training, easy to "get lost" in it if you're not used to it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/12/10
Hannah L.
Manager
Entertainment, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    1/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/24

"Not worth it"

Pros: Easy to use with minimal issues on the floor front. Easy to train others to use. Very server friendly.

Cons: Way too expensive for what you're getting. Long wait times for customer service and credit card processing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/24
Steven R.
Sales Director
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2011/07/20

"User friendly and easy to use"

Comments: A great buy for any restaurantor that is looking to
get the most profits out of his business and increase
customer satisfaction with faster and more efficient service

Pros: Great user interface easy to use.
Easy to install, great customer service .
Very stable and robust software
Very flexible can be adapted to any type of rerstaurant.
Great reporting.
PCI compliant software.

Cons: Nothing bad to say about it, Seriously!!

Vendor Response

by Posera on 2011/07/20

Thank you for the great review!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2011/07/20
Matthew B.
Equipping and Discipleship Director
Retail, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/31

"So simple!"

Comments: The simplicity of implementation is what sold us. Yes, it's easy to use for the line staff, but the initial setup was so great. Great customer support when we've had questions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/31
Alisha B.
Assistant manager
Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/28

"POS"

Comments: Overall this wasn't my favourite POS system, although it did have all the functions I needed I thought there was just better products on the market compared to this one.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/11/28
Nina B.
Restaurants
  • Overall Rating
    4,5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4,5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/15

"Maitre'D Review"

Pros: Maitre'D can do a lot to help a restaurant be successful: inventory, time and attendance, accounting, scheduling, and real time reporting.

Cons: They are a great company and have been around to help and support for many years.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2015/01/15
Beej D.
President & CEO
  • Overall Rating
    2/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    1/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/09/02

"It's time to say goodbye"

Comments: We purchased a hotel that used MaitreD and continued to use it until early 2014, when we decided we would switch to Aloha by NCR. We had seen issues with MaitreD but the company convinced us that those issues would be solved by upgrading to their newest release. Alas, for a variety of reasons, we did not switch, but rather, upgraded our MaitreD system to the latest version and purchased new hardware to support it. Installation was done by Fleischer Sales in Vermont, and we thought we'd be better off than before. Wrong. Service and reliability have been awful, with frequent crashes, the need to pay for every single issue from day one, and an inflexible setup that is killing our restaurant. It is so bad that we will dump the system well before the three year lease is up. This POS isn't Point of Sale, it's a Piece of... Good riddance.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2015/09/02
Manoj S.
Project Manager
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2011/08/23

"MAIITRED POS"

Comments: Good software compared to other similar softwares available in market for POS.

Pros: Easy to configure.
Modular design
Cost effective
Compatible with most of standard POS hardwares
Good reports

Cons: Not a centralized software.
Build on older version of database.
Screen navigation disign is poor
Inventory management screen designs are poor
Masters import from excel not available

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2011/08/23
Doug K.
Vice President
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2011/11/10

"Vice President"

Comments: Outstanding new version, easy to upgrade and it's what our chain accounts want and need.

Pros: The new SQL version of Maitre'D proves that POSERA is committed to ongoing upgrades and they have committed the company to invest in the system , rather than sit back as others do use 20 year old datastructures.

Cons: All new versions have issues but the issues we had we all resolved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2011/11/10
Jacqueline K.
Owner
Retail, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/25

"Great product "

Comments: Easy to use, quick set up, great customer service,

Pros: Easy

Cons: None

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/25
Josh H.
Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10 001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    3/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/09

"Review"

Comments: Excellent product, worked exactly as described and exceeded expectations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2016/10/09