Alloy Navigator Reviews

by Alloy Software

Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Alloy Navigator

Alloy Navigator is a real-world solution beautifully designed for real-world customers, built by real-world IT people just like you.

Learn more about Alloy Navigator

Showing 49 reviews

Granville B.
IT Associate
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/03/19

"Alloy Navigator - Marvelous tool for Network Inventory"

Comments: My experience overall with Alloy Navigator is been very good overall. The technical support are very courtesy, knowledgeable, and professional. The migration process to Alloy Navigator 8.1 was smooth and took a few minutes to complete.

Pros: The most impact about this software to view if workstation has out dated OS or C drive is low that will have issues with users capability to work. Another feature I like about Alloy software you can exclude devices that are not connected to the network.

Cons: The least thing I like about alloy software it's difficult to find the version of software on workstation i.e if a user looking for a specific software like Revit 2019 it will become difficult unless you have assistance from Alloy technical support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/03/19
Jeff B.
Systems Administrator
Construction, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/11

"Alloy Navigator 7 and Discovery 7 - Very useful software product"

Comments: We are very satisfied with this product because it does everything we expect it to do when properly set up.

Pros: We use the Help Desk feature in Navigator and Machine Inventory in Discovery primarily. They allow us to efficiently handle user problems and requests of all kinds and keep track of company assets such as computers, servers and software installations.

Cons: The software is extremely powerful and flexible but because of this it is also very complicated to configure properly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/11
Laurence L.
PC Technican
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/16

"The software is easy to use and is loaded with features."

Pros: This software is very easy to use. It keeps track of all our work tickets and inventory very well.

Cons: The Asset Management feature could be a little easier to configure. It also seems a little redundant when you setup a new asset.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/16
Arnaud G.
IT CTO
Oil & Energy, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/10/19

"Fully functional ITSM out-of-the-box and highly customizable tool"

Comments: This tool is much more user-friendly and efficient than our previous ITSM tool

Pros: Out-of-the-box the tool can be used almost immediately. A lot of parameters are provided to suit your environment particularities. You can easily integrate your IT existing tools with API. You can purchase discovery tools in option.
The tool can be customized very quickly and with efficiency. Customization could replace a lot of development hours. You can define your own actions, alerts, notifications and triggers.

Cons: International support could be improved.
Multi-currency and multi-language need important customization to be implemented.
Project management and Calendar have limited functionalities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/10/19
Eric O.
Eric O.
IT Support Specialist
1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/30

"Alloy does the job"

Comments: The majority of our IT department lives inside Alloy. It is simple to use for the average technician and the user portal is good as well. The integration of software allocation and databases of all hardware on our network is a must.

Pros: - Alloy user portal and technician portals are easy to use
- Runs quickly and smoothly
- Easy to import users from AD
- Email integration for alerts on new tickets and updates on existing tickets
- Training that Alloy offers is well thought out and contains tons of information.

Cons: - Customer Support can take 1-3 days to get back to you
- The backend of Alloy is very confusing. Trying to change simple things can be extremely difficult since there is no search functionality and no documentation online.
- If you want custom features added it is going to cost a decent chunk of money.

Vendor Response

by Alloy Software on 2018/08/06

Thanks for providing a review! We're happy you enjoy using our solution!

I apologize for the experience you had with Support. However, I'm positive it was an isolated situation. A review of your company's 138 tickets since 2015 shows an average response of 2hrs 19mins with average resolution under 24 hours. Given that I expect your next experience will be a positive one.

For online documentation, I would strongly advise the use of our Support Portal. Our product help and admin guides are all online along with our searchable Knowledge base.

The admin part of the product does have a learning curve, but you'll find the ratio of flexibility to ease of use to be unmatched. Other products provide a fraction of the power or they require programming knowledge to leverage the same results. Use the search workflow feature to find what you're looking for or press F1 anywhere for contextual online help.

Please reach out to us if you need anything and thank you for using our solution!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/30
Craig P.
Craig P.
Director Of Information Technology
Construction, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/11

"A flexible product for any IT Department"

Comments: Asset tracking, ticket management, knowledge base articles and full asset library reservation system.

Pros: The straight forward approach for an all encompassing program is why we chose this product 13 years ago. We can accomplish our daily ticketing system, maintain a company equipment reservation program and inventory all company assets in one out of the box program. On top of that, the support team is always available to help and always responds in a timely manner to any question or request.

Cons: The programming logic can be a bit confusing at times on the back end. There are lots of logic statements, actions, etc. that can be buried in a specific place that are not always easy to find.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/09/11
Marshall M.
Manager of Network Operations
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/29

"Great Support and Inventory Management Software"

Comments: Alloy keeps our technology department on task, and gives our company's users an easy way to ask for help in solving their issues. The software is near limitless in what you can do with it thanks to the scripting and automation it provides. The automation also helps us manage our inventory, by keeping up with computers and hardware in stock, on loan, etc. We send emails to users to remind them to return hardware they've borrowed, and we've created a process that will create a ticket if our stock of hardware or computers starts getting low. Monthly tasks such as access reviews and computer updates are tracked using tickets that are automatically created. This software is highly customizable, provided you've got the knowledge and imagination to write the scripts and workflow.

Pros: Our favorite part about the Alloy software is the scripting and automation it provides. You can have it create tickets or work orders automatically when certain conditions are met, such as a ticket to order more computers when stock is running low.

Cons: The scripting is a bit hard to understand if you don't come from a SQL background. However, Alloy's support team is excellent and has been able to help with every issue we've given them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/29
Daniel Y.
Desktop Support Specialist
Law Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/30

"Alloy Navigator Experience"

Pros: What I like most about Alloy Navigator is the Library tree, we implemented this tool with our company laptops giving us the ability to track and list who we "loan" the laptop out to. We can also track when we push software updates on our machines. Knowledge base tree is another pro in my opinion, whenever im stuck with an issue I do a quick search in Knowledge base to see if any previous employees have come across the same problem before. This really helps me cut down on troubleshooting time and points me to the right direction on how to solve the problem.

Cons: So far my only Con I have with Allow Navigator is the ticketing system, I feel like users who have issues with something should have the ability to create a ticket from there end. We currently use a system where every call we get we have to input a ticket ourselves in full detail, its not horrible by any means but there is an inconvenient factor to it.

Vendor Response

by Alloy Software on 2019/02/08

Thank you for your review!

Our Self-Service Portal allows users full control over entering tickets with whatever information you'd want them to!

You have complete control over their submission forms just as you do for the technician side, there's a Service Catalog, ability to check-out shared equipment, handle approvals and you can even make knowledge base articles public for the customers so instead of you finding the solution, your customers can do it themselves without having to submit a ticket!

Of course if you'd like, you can have end users submit tickets via our e-mail too! Just setup the Mail Connector and you're good to go!

Contact our services team if you have any questions!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/30
Ron O.
Director of Information Technology
Insurance, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/19

"Great product at a great price!"

Comments: We were looking for a solution to enhance our change management system. Alloy had all the components we were looking for and very happy with the product. In addition, we will also be upgrading our Helpdesk system and Asset management system using Alloy.

Pros: Alloy Navigator is the complete solution to manage IT services and assist in providing controls for changes in the technology environment. It was easy to install and the self service portal was easy to navigate. The best part of it was cost. We looked at several other products ranging from cost to functionality to find Alloy provided more for less!

Cons: Admin settings can be confusing but is organized well enough to navigate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/19
Scott H.
Network Administrator
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/22

"We've used the network inventory and it works great and the support has been top notch."

Comments: We've used the network inventory to scan all PCs weekly and it lets me know if there are any changes going on with our hardware. We keep track of all of our maintenance history so we know the history of all of our hardware. We've done some software monitoring so we know what versions of software are being used.

Pros: I like the network inventory. It lets me know what is going on with our PC's and if anything is changing. I use ANX to input all of our service done on PCs so it's easy to find out the history of a PC

Cons: It takes a little time to get used to how to make modifications but the support has been great and will be looking into some training to be able to use more affectively.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/06/22
Verified Reviewer
End User Support Manager
1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/24

"Mostly positive, with exceptions"

Pros: I really like the variety of modules, and the tech support available to help out. I also like the ease of use for my technicians.

Cons: How much back end maintenance I have to be involved in. I would prefer a solution that is able to smartly manage itself out of the box OR more accurately describe what errors are causing an issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/24
Mike F.
Systems Engineer
Legal Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/20

"Excellent inventory and ticketing features"

Comments: We are having success consolidating information for tickets, assets and knowledge. Keeping all of these in a single place has helped us.

Pros: I like that we are all on board with Alloy for ticketing and inventory. Solution adoption can be a struggle for some teams. We collaborate and share ideas and then implement our own best practices for ticketing and inventory. We are building on this into the knowledge feature also.

Cons: Thus far I do not see a con. We need to dedicate more time toward any automation we can build into the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/20
Laura M.
Manager, Information Technology
Law Practice, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/28

"Alloy"

Pros: The asset tracking of our hardware, the location and owner

Cons: Configuring to pull from Active Directory and such is not intuitive

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/01/28
Doron P.
IT Manager
Architecture & Planning, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/01/29

"Doron's Alloy Review"

Comments: Overall the application is solid, reliable. I have used it for the last 10 years and don't have plans of changing anytime soon.

Pros: Software is reliable, user friendly and you get the results quickly.

Cons: Some built-in features are limited and require alterations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2021/01/29
Jörg M.
IT-Engineer
Education Management, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/17

"Alloy Navigator - our daily help - thank you!"

Comments: We are responsible for the IT infrastructure of the schools affiliated to us in the canton of BL (Switzerland).
We have been using Alloy Navigator as a ticketing system (incident, service request) for many years.
We keep discovering great functions that are very helpful. The knowledgebase is used extensively to provide instructions for us IT, but also for teachers and students.
The purchases of hardware as well as software and services are authorized and processed via Alloy Navigator.
We are currently introducing the use of Alloy Navigator's project management and are learning to work with it.

Pros: All of our Service Requests, Incidents, Announcements and instructions for inquiries are centralized and can be linked as required.
The purchasements of hardware, software and services can be managed centrally. If necessary, different permits can be configured as a condition prior to purchasements.
Sub-tasks of Service Requests, incidents or projects can be managed clearly.
If you want, adjustments to workflows, masks, etc. can also be made.
Alloy Navigator's webinterface is very good, most or almost all of the work can be done in the web browser. This is really fantastic!

Cons: Alloy Navigator is very good software. I can't find anything that we can call a disadvantage.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/08/17
Caroline M.
Program Analyst II
Public Safety, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/08

"Extensible Incident Management, Asset Management, and Incident Workflow Management"

Comments: Our shop has been using this software for years because it has excellent value, with good customer support. We use the product everyday to manage our support desks, manage our hardware inventory, and provide a web interface to our agency users. We are continually improving our efficiency by automating tasks, and we manage an extensive knowledge base with hundreds of articles for either end-users or tech support staff. Our clients also find the system fairly easy to use to submit tickets and interact with the technicians. There is always more we could be doing with this system. I am impressed with its capabilities and flexibility.

Pros: We have found Alloy to be highly customizable to meet our needs - we can track the life cycle of hardware assets, we can remotely manage machines directly from an incident case, we can link incidents and problems to the computers history, and and we can automate many simple and complicated tasks from resetting a password to requesting an RMA from a hardware vendor. I have used many other Enterprise IT incident management software products and this is still my software of choice.

Cons: The system is very powerful and with power comes complexity that requires training and understanding of how the underlying database interacts with the software in order to get the most out of the product. Understanding the hierarchy is important when setting up your service desks if you support more than one technical team. We have an IT Support Desk as well as a Facilities Support Desk, and a Supply Order Desk.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/12/08
Mike G.
Infrastructure Manager
Building Materials, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/05

"Fully featured and still developing"

Pros: The flexibility is endless, this product is capable of doing anything you design. It can output to batch files, automate tasks and digitise forms. The only limitation is your imagination. Treat this as a very advanced GUI for SQL

Cons: You do need to get a full understanding of the administration side if you wish to use this product to its full potential

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/05
Dan D.
Dan D.
Infrastructure Architect
Construction, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/03

"Great software"

Pros: Great software for ticketing and inventory needs. Customer service is extremely helpful in customizing the solution to best fit your needs. Software does everything you need for helpdesk and servicedesk operations.

Cons: Can be a little slow on a WAN or remote connectivity, I recommend the web interface for those situations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/03
Keith M.
Keith M.
Supervisor of IT Support
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/30

"Our company has grown tremendously in the past two years and Alloy has grown with us."

Comments: Robust help desk solution.

Pros: Almost all the features have customization to fit your business. From device inventory to custom reporting, Alloy helps you get what you need for metrics.

Cons: There is a learning curve on the product. If you do too much customization, like all things, something may break when an upgrade is released.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/30
Diana S.
Senior PC Technician
Insurance, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/16

"I use it daily for tracking HelpDesk Calls, Inventory and Purchasing"

Pros: It has helped streamline our department by having all documents and references in a central location.

Cons: At times it can be a little confusing with what seems to be duplicate areas. But on a positive note these areas can be linked.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/16
Josh D.
IT Manager
Civil Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/15

"consistent and customizable"

Pros: The various auditing options are great with very little impact if any noticed on our end points when processing.

Cons: If I had to pick something, there have been some sql report issues in the past for custom reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/08/15
Allan T.
Consultant senior en technologie de l'information
Information Technology & Services, 1 001-5 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/22

"Alloy doesn't cost a lot and he's making a pretty good job"

Pros: Navigator is a good management tool for IT assets. You can get inventory, service desk and project inside an ITIL framework with this simple and efficient software. It s easy to implement and you can have a CMDB for a low cost.

Cons: You must register on alloy navigator web site if you want to get a price or a trial of the software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/22
Kevin H.
Kevin H.
Network Manager
Insurance, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/11

"Alloy is a very good product for managing IT related information."

Pros: The thing that I like most about Alloy is that it's able to house ALL of our IT related data. One stop shop for whatever information you need to access.

Cons: Sometimes the user interface is a little confusing when it comes to finding a certain help desk ticket or an inventory item. But otherwise it's a really good IT software package.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/11
Jeff W.
Jeff W.
IT Director
Printing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/21

"If keeping track of everything is what you want, this product is for you! And I mean everything!"

Comments: Alloy keeps track of a ll of our inventory, software changes, support incidents, knowledge base, etc. The information in Alloy puts all the necessary information in one place to manage our IT environment easily and efficiently.

Pros: Alloy can be as simple or as complex as you want it to be based on how you set it up. The flexibility and depth are what I love most about it. You can really keep track of everything in your IT environment and you can customize it to fit your specific needs. Other products make you use their preconfigured categories and workflows, etc. While Alloy comes preconfigured with almost everything you need, you can add or remove just about anything you want and build your own workflows to automate the system.

Cons: I find that the more flexible a product is, the more cumbersome it can be. Since Alloy is extremely flexible, the set up can be a little complicated. However, they have a great support team to help you when you need it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/21
Vitaliy E.
Vitaliy E.
Desktop Support Specialist
Law Practice, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/01

"Has good potential"

Comments: My overall experience is good. I went head on into a huge mess that was not very well maintained. When the inventory, locations, and customers are up to date, then its much easier to manage.

Pros: What I liked most about this software is how it can be integrated to sync with Active Directory which allows us to keep the inventory, locations, and customer tabs updated. The more automation, the better.

Cons: The gui is kind of outdated and could be simplified, but that's speaking from being on an older version of Alloy Navigator. There is not enough sync customization that can be manipulated or adjusted for AD sync.

Vendor Response

by Alloy Software on 2019/02/08

Thanks for taking the time to review our product!

Absolutely get yourself on the latest version and take a look at the Technician Web Portal. It's really sleek and easy to use. If you use the Windows client, you'll love the Web Portal no doubt!

Regarding the Active Directory sync, please give our services team a call. I say that because the sync is super flexible, allows you to map any AD field anywhere you want, update records on conditions, import pictures, set managers for automatic permissions and approvals, and its paired with the workflow which is second to none. Maybe there's something you're missing we can help you with.

We'd love to help you get the most out of the product and if there is a limitation anywhere, we'll do our best to address it!

Thanks for being part of the Alloy Software family!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/02/01