REALTRAC Reviews

by Realtrac Holdings

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4,1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4,4 /5

About REALTRAC

Manufacturing software provider for make to order manufacturers and job shops in many industries. Offering Total Shop Floor Control.

Learn more about REALTRAC

Showing 78 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Vice-President
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/16

"Finally a shop management program that works for a Job Shop"

Comments: Realtrac has really helped organize our shop without creating extra work for our employees.

Pros: It is extrememly customizeable - You determine how much of each portion of the program really applies to your situation.

Cons: Would really like to see a way to archive old Jobs. Our daily backup is over 50Gb

Vendor Response

by Mindbridge Systems on 2018/11/20

Hello,

Thank you for posting your review. We have noticed that you posted as private, but i would like to reach out to you to show you how to archive the old jobs that you speak of as a con. This is a very easy process. Please contact me at 734-793-3816 when you have a moment.

Thank You,
Jeremy Klosowski

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/16
Keith B.
President
Machinery, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/31

"A long look, great decision"

Comments: Amazed at how they train. No need to guess, no need to carve out days of forgetful training. Instead Training is as fast as one can absorb. Training is built upon the previous steps. Allowed our business to dictate training direction. Several times before a training session looked at my question as trivial. Considered it would be a waste of their time to show me one thing. In minutes of working together, letting me drive proved to quickly develop and understand the how and why's. The complete process expedites muscle memory, building the retention for a successful implementation.

Pros: The likes, In short, the ability to build and track multi level BOM's while having Shop management, inventory visibility and scheduling features. These have long been the desirable features.

Cons: Same as in all software, time to build the data. The choice was to not drop all past data in but to build from this point forward. This means at times go back and enter data from the past system. Our choice, it was not a requirement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/31
Jaclyn E.
Operations Support
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/16

"CNC Manufacturing"

Comments: [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been very helpful with an questions or issues. I have used other ERP softwares (most exposure to Epicor). Realtrac is a more simple ERP as far as user friendly application. Also since last update, software is slow and sometimes glitchy. And have had to exit and then re-open the job screen to get any attachments to show.

Pros: Rightboard is in real-time so changes are able to be seen quickly by shop personnel.

Cons: There is no option to see transaction history of parts on the inventory side. When we have an issue, we can't see what transactions took place prior to see where the problem occur to make our qty off or see any negative qty's.
Also, status of "incomplete" for finished goods is pointless for how Realtrac treats it once moved to a job to make the part complete. Just better off making a consumed material part number, which means several more parts numbers for each finished good that are left at incomplete stages.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/16
Erik J.
Operations
Machinery, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/22

"How Realtrac changed the way we do business"

Comments: Overall Realtrac has given us a different perspective on how we do business. Jobs now have routers detailing step by step production processes. It has also changed how we manage our inventory by consolidating our warehouse. Realtrac has proven to be an effective tool and everyone in the office enjoys its ease of use.

Pros: I enjoy the ease of use and how efficient it is when it comes to tracking job statuses. The inventory management module is also great and it allows us to input inventory locations and statuses. So if we have 20 parts that are partially done in stock we can flag them as partially completed. Realtrac has essentially changed our entire business into a more efficient company.

Cons: The only issue I have is the loading times when it comes to selecting different modules.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/22
Jay A.
VP OPERATIONS
Defense & Space, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/01

"Good at Big Picture, Some Shortcomings and Missing Features"

Comments: Overall it does what we need it to do by tracking jobs through the shop, but the costing being "broken" for our use makes it a purchase I may not make again if I had to do over.

Pros: It's user friendly for ShopFloor logging in and out of jobs and recording time. Timeclock is easy for HR, and tracking down where a job is in the manufacturing process from a remote location is easy as well.

Cons: My primary beef with RealTrac is that there is no feature (or wasn't a few versions ago) that allows me to SPLIT AN OPERATOR'S TIME when they are logged into two jobs. If an operator is running two machines, or three, or four, all at once there should be an option (if not a REQUIREMENT) that their loaded labor cost and hours are divided amongst the machines they're concurrently logged into. In my company, one operator ALWAYS runs more than one machine in a bank, so not having their time split makes all my costing metrics utterly useless until I manually go into the work sessions to interrogate the data. This is nearly a deal-breaker making me consider another software. (Customer Service / Tech Support informed me this was intentional so that when looking at historical jobs you never under-bid a job). If this is incorrect, someone please call me ASAP! The "Quality" feature is a horribly conceived module, slapped together as an afterthought, and the default reporting within there is awful, has poor formatting, and doesn't integrate well at all with the rest of the system. There hasn't been an update on this module in forever, but new PAID features (RightBoard) are being added and updated all the time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/01
Matthew W.
Program Manager
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/19

"Review"

Comments: The biggest benefit is the costing records.

Pros: The software is relatively easy to learn and setup with minimal training.

Cons: The cost analysis within a job only considers the cost of the piece price, not tooling, setup, expedite fees. Additional line items other than the piece cost should flow through on cost tab. Not all jobs are just piece cost. Production on going jobs are not met with ease on this software, the software seems to be geared towards lot qtys or one time orders.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/19
Nicole B.
Project Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/23

"Realtrac Rocks"

Comments: Realtrac has made our daily tracking much easier and quicker!!

Pros: I am completely satisfied with how easy it was to get this new software set up with the help of the Realtrac Technical Support Team. Since we installed the newest version of software we have found so many new ways to utilize the program and make our lives much easier to track progress.

Cons: The only issues I have ran across would be the new fields and how to move around and find the correct reports I need to run.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/07/23
Bill H.
owner
Aviation & Aerospace, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/02

"realtrac ERP"

Pros: We have used this software since 2005. The new owners and all the improvements of the software have made it one of the best investments we have made. It has enabled us to more easily attain our ISO certifications, and improve our performance for our customers.

Cons: We would like a better reports software. One that can access more fields across the different modules. And possibly output different data formats.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/02
Jacob L.
Owner
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/01

"JD Ellen Mfg Feedback"

Comments: We have grown with Realtrac over the last 8 years. We have appreciated the improvements made. We would enjoy it if we could have it programmed to fit our product flow.

Pros: Organized filtering for job tracking. Purchasing and RFQs. Estimates are nice.

Cons: Scheduling can be a challenge for us. I believe that has to do with how training is provided.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/01
Al M.
President
Aviation & Aerospace, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/03

"President"

Comments: It keeps track where my jobs are and I haven't used it yet in it fullest capacity.

Pros: Its a very powerful program. Realtrac also listens to their users and will update their software all the time for the better

Cons: That you need to purchase extra licenses for additional users.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/08/03
Marie kris S.
Process Engineer
Mining & Metals, 501-1 000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/09

"Ease to manage"

Pros: My work made easier when started to use this tool. I can easily track and manage the inventories. Great features and functions.

Cons: I highly recommend to upgrade the interface but it can still good. Expensive but worth it in tracking.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2018/10/09
Mandy M.
Operations Coordinator
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/27

"Good once you learn it"

Pros: Has multiple functions if used correctly
Are able to link information well

Cons: Has glitches/issues more frequently than preferred
Takes quite a while to learn and understand all of the modules and how they connect

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/27
Lynn H.
office mgn.
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/31

"lynn's review"

Pros: more features. faster to use.

Cons: had few issues with transferring my into to peachtree software

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/07/31
Abbey S.
Administrative Assistant
Building Materials, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/10

"Realtrac"

Comments: Our over all experience has been great. They have been willing to work with us to much and to teach us how to us the system .

Pros: There customer service is amazing they are always willing to teach you about there system .

Cons: I would say there not user friendly. Its difficult to use. There are too many ways to do the same task.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2020/11/10
John H.
Owner
Sporting Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/24

"A great WIP software"

Comments: We are a small manufacturing company and they have worked with us diligently and helped us get the program up and running. They listen to any suggestions to improve the program, plus the customer service is responsive and knowledgeable. It has been a great experience working with Realtrac and the support team!

Pros: Well thought out, great features and you can adapt it to your needs.

Cons: A couple of sorting features that need adding.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/24
Helen J.
  • Overall Rating
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013/04/22

Comments: J & L Turning, Inc has had Realtrac software in our plant for approximately 20 years. We are a manufacturing company that manufactures custom designed tools, therefore every job is different. Keeping track and researching jobs was a nightmare. We found Realtrac extremely user friendly and adaptable to anything you want to monitor on your plant floor, plus it intergrates with our accounting software. If you run into a problem, help is always there when you need it. I certainly would recommend Realtrac to all businesses that want to monitor their production, inventory, costs, sales all of it. Easy to use, easy to learn - a winner.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013/04/22
Jeff P.
  • Overall Rating
    4,5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013/03/27

Comments: Talsco has been using Realtrac for the past five years. The software is very easy to use and to learn. We currently utilize all modules available and are more than satisfied with the software. We manufacture 100's of different part numbers and without Realtrac it would be a nightmare tracking all of those jobs. Customer service is excellent! If we have a question regarding the software it is extremely easy and quick to get an answer. I would recommend Realtrac to all shops and businesses looking for a functional and easy to use MRP system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 2013/03/27
Mary F.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/23

"Realtrac Review"

Comments: Overall satisfied with the program. There are some things that could be better, but it generally suits my purposes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/23
Verified Reviewer
Vice President / General Manager
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/26

"Realtrac review experience"

Comments: Using Realtrac is not my first ERP experience. I found moving into Realtrac to NOT be very intuitive.

Pros: The Load Charts are easy to use and helpful. Drag and drop of drawings and other documentation is easy and helpful.

Cons: Materials and inventory management is difficult to manage. It should be possible to assign multiple units of measure to a part. Often we buy in one UOM and then use or sell using a different UOM. MRP should be able to give you a list of what is needed by vendor. One should be able to purchase from MRP. When doing an estimate, we should be able to do a Complex Estimate. Report screen should only show the reports one can print, not a bunch of reports one can't print.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/26
Kylan H.
Vice President
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/16

"Great System, Everything We Needed Without the Crazy Complexity"

Comments: We are very pleased. They've got a great system and fantastic to work with.

Pros: 1. Easily track the amount of time spent and cost of individual jobs. People out on the shop floor don't mind clocking in and out of operations because it's so quick and easy.
2. It is everything we needed without the unnecessary complexity. Finding that balance between functionality and complexity is hard and RealTrac nailed it.
3. Developers are very responsive to feature requests or the rare glitch. Great people to work with. They're very active in bringing useful updates.
4. It's a network license, you can put RealTrac on as many computers as you want. Plus logging in past your number of licenses still gives you up to 10 minutes, thus nobody gets automatically booted. Some network licenses (from other companies) won't even let you log on which means you have to go find who left the program up on a random computer. RealTrac's gives you grace, which is great.
5. Training is not pay by the hour, it's basically unlimited, plus we are easily able to do remotely; both of which saves thousands of dollars.

Cons: 1. Lacks a central analytics center for mining all the data we create (different sections of the ERP can create reports). However, as I write this I know they are releasing a new reporting platform to hopefully address this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2018/11/16
Shane M.
Director of Operations
Semiconductors, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/27

"Realtrac ERP being used in a CNC machine job shop environment."

Comments: Realtrac has been a great resource for quickly estimating upcoming projects and large scale bids on a variety of machines, work types and work stations. We offer many post-production processes at our facility that include a combination of some or all of the following: cleaning equipment, manual equipment, manual labor, ongoing consumable items and a variety of packaging materials and clean room supplies. The ability to affix real known costs to all of these things for any specific job has helped ensure that we are quoting our cost very accurately and not unexpectedly raisin our customer's pricing on subsequent orders.

Pros: Work step customization. Attaching files to jobs or part numbers.

Cons: 1) Time card time display is inaccurate and not fixable, therefore not being utilized. 2) For estimating Bill or BOM items, there is no way to uniquely identify per unit cost based on associated quantity discounts from suppliers. 3) Overall look and feel of the software and reporting sheets feel antiquated, like it was developed in the late 90's.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/02/27
Kevin C.
owner
Furniture, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/15

"Frustraded"

Pros: have had program at least 5 years , support is decent. I am not a computer guy, and I find it easy to navigate

Cons: I have called in the past to complain, and I did get up the pole pretty far ,but they say they can't do anything. The program shuts itself down at the end of the day and starts up in the morning - beautiful . However it starts every Saturday and Sunday as well.adding to peoples hours who are not working, which in turn make trying to find the cost of manufacturing useless. the only thing the program is good for is to know where items are in the production process. The reason I originally purchase the program was to try and get the true cost to manufacture the parts - it can not be done on this program. - Also on the main list screen you should be able to see what employees are working on each project, without leaving the screen

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2019/08/15
Sam P.
President
Medical Devices, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/03/27

"REALTRAC for small lot production in a small shop"

Comments: We have used REALTRAC for several years managing production and inventory of repeat items in our business. The software performs well and for the price, the functionality, support, and responsiveness of the REALTRAC team is unbeatable. There is something of a learning curve to the software, but with disciplined use, we have found it to be very flexible and effective at capturing at and managing the data we need without imposing an unnecessary waste of effort or time.

Pros: Low cost, high functionality, responsive customer support!

Cons: It's a little bit of a hassle to setup and changes/updates to certain data have to be made in several locations. Inventory management could also be a little more intuitive and user friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 2017/03/27